Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The session will be broadcast on RTÉ news now also

secman wrote: »
    Tick tock tick tock... Sepp Delaney 's clock is running down, Christ knows ive looked forward to this day for a long time, how its taken this long is beyond me, but better late than never.

Roll on ...

I think he'll get through today.

It's an Oireachtas Committee, he'll be questioned by publicans and undertakers, surely he'll have too much for them.

He is finished, and it's only a matter of time, but I'd be surprised if that time is today. We may even see one last charge by him.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Alerts set up for Mark Tighe on twitter. Anyone else?

Tony donohue and Emmet molone maybe

Not a huge fan of Noel rock but that story that hit the papers last night looks like a desperate last minute hit job as trump would say

Abbotstown getting nervous?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Not a huge fan of Noel rock but that story that hit the papers last night looks like a desperate last minute hit job as trump would say

Sharks are circling the entire board, they're trying desperately to deflect.

Same thing happened with the Olympic committee in the aftermath of Pat Hickey's nonsense.

They're running scared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Was this supposed chronic underfunding not dealt with a few pages back where it was shown to be blown massively out of proportion? And regardless, even if there is underfunding (despite it being of no relevancy here) why are our other sports bodies ticking along just fine in the same climate? The GAA is its own beast but sports of massively smaller national importance like rugby and even smaller ones like hockey, cricket and boxing all continue to flourish in this supposedly infected evironment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

If that's the best the FAI have, we're gonna be ok

Tony donohue and Emmet molone maybe

Not sure if Ken early himself is following it but second captains are as well

And of course the likes of the off the ball guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

I’d love to see the bank statements for all Delaneys expenses going right back . Would be surprised if it’s in the millions by now .

Also this new role he created for himself shows what type of man he is . Knows he has such a good thing going that taking a huge pay cut just to stay on board, I’m sure he has plenty of things behind the scenesthat will have him earning plenty .

Get rid of him and get someone ineho respects the role and football in the country

Gonad wrote: »
    I’d love to see the bank statements for all Delaneys expenses going right back . Would be surprised if it’s in the millions by now .

Don't think the Oireachtas have the power to really look for this or go after an individual. After they went after Gardai following the Abbeylara shooting, pretty sure the High Court hammered Shatter and co. And rightly so, otherwise you could have McCarthy and the reds under the bed type nonsense as politicians seek to advance their careers.

I think it's pretty clear I don't have much time for Delaney. But little time for politicians and their inquiries too. We had the Abbeylara case, more recently the Angela Kerins case, they're a bit...thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

I think he'll get through today.

It's an Oireachtas Committee, he'll be questioned by publicans and undertakers, surely he'll have too much for them.

He is finished, and it's only a matter of time, but I'd be surprised if that time is today. We may even see one last charge by him.

I feel the same, I never held too much confidence in the committee uncovering too much just by asking questions. Some there today will ask benign questions as well just to make sure they were seen to be interrogating.

I hope Delaney is buried somehow and sometime, but I don't think it'll be today. Happy to see him under the glare and heat of the bulb all the same.

Don't think the Oireachtas have the power to really look for this or go after an individual. After they went after Gardai following the Abbeylara shooting, pretty sure the High Court hammered Shatter and co. And rightly so, otherwise you could have McCarthy and the reds under the bed type nonsense as politicians seek to advance their careers.

I think it's pretty clear I don't have much time for Delaney. But little time for politicians and their inquiries too. We had the Abbeylara case, more recently the Angela Kerins case, they're a bit...thick.

In fairness there’s a few on that committee who aren’t bad by Irish standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Was this supposed chronic underfunding not dealt with a few pages back where it was shown to be blown massively out of proportion? And regardless, even if there is underfunding (despite it being of no relevancy here) why are our other sports bodies ticking along just fine in the same climate? The GAA is its own beast but sports of massively smaller national importance like rugby and even smaller ones like hockey, cricket and boxing all continue to flourish in this supposedly infected evironment.

I thought so, someone claimed sport was underfunded and then posted links showing Ireland public funding for sport was higher than most (all?) other European countries.

It was only when looking at public v private funding that the government performs badly.

But it was bollox to say the government underfund sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

Delaney's UEFA jacket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

amcalester wrote: »
    But it was bollox to say the government underfund sport.

Kieran mulvey (chairman of Sport Ireland) speaking last week before committee hearing;

“after 2008; my first year...I had to meet with the heads of the three field sports and cut their budget in one year by 30% of all three. It has never been restored to 2008 levels. The FAI at that time were in receipt of approximately 4 plus million. It’s now at 2.565. So now, in a sense over the last 10 years, they’ve been at a steady state. The first year we got an increase in our budget was actually this year...the FAI would have a very strong argument, with us, that we are underfunding soccer in ireland at that level and I would have to agree with them...”

That’s Sport Ireland’s own chairman saying soccer is underfunded.. but if you don’t want to know..you don’t want to know.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Kieran mulvey (chairman of Sport Ireland) speaking last week before committee hearing;

“after 2008; my first year...I had to meet with the heads of the three field sports and cut their budget in one year by 30% of all three. It has never been restored to 2008 levels. The FAI at that time were in receipt of approximately 4 plus million. It’s now at 2.565. So now, in a sense over the last 10 years, they’ve been at a steady state. The first year we got an increase in our budget was actually this year...the FAI would have a very strong argument, with us, that we are underfunding soccer in ireland at that level and I would have to agree with them...”

That’s Sport Ireland’s own chairman saying soccer is underfunded.. but if you don’t want to know..you don’t want to know.

Well they're not being funded AT ALL now as a result of the FAI's own admission that they breached funding regulations...

So who's door does that fault lie at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Live Stream here for the sh1tshow:

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/oireachtas-tv/cr4-live/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Have been watching for about 10 minutes. 2 occasions the FAI have loaded in documents and statements that were not given to the committee, so they have had to recess each time.

Excellent time wasting tactics

Meeting being adjourned for 20 mins as Conway/Delaney don't have copies of their statement....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

FAI issuing new statements like confetti. Previously un-submitted without giving attendees time to digest them.

A good call to adjourn for 20 minutes to read the statements. Bloody Healy Rae saying "sure we'd only need 5 minutes"

This is such a red herring. It's not the issue today.

It is particularly nonsensical coming from a poster who admits he doesn't contribute anything to the sport here and says he has no right to complain... but is now shrieking that the Government should spend our money on it to deflect attention from Delaney's demise...
    To use myself as an example; I am as passionate about the Irish Football team as I am about any other sports entity in this country despite being a GAA fanatic. Yet when it comes to where my money has gone over my life, there is simply no comparison between what I contributed to GAA at national and local level to what I contributed to Irish football. It wouldn’t be even close to 5% of the amount I have given to GAA. I feel guilty about this and cognizant that I have very little right to complain about matters pertaining to Irish football because I simply haven’t contributed enough in return...

In any event, sit back, relax, enjoy watching Delaney's regime crumble. You may not contribute a cent to the game on this island, but we can all get some entertainment out of this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

There's a Healy-Rae at this thing.

About sums it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

There it is "a root and branch review of the FAI to be conducted". All will be good again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

FAI issuing new statements like confetti. Previously un-submitted without giving attendees time to digest them.

An all too common FAI tactic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

A 30% drop in funding and Delaney uses it as a means to reduce salaries but leaves his own remuneration untouched. Can’t be that underfunded.

Oh the keywords... "Irish football family"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

A little lad from austria has not as good spin and pr from these chancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭shanec1928

really trying to milk it now..

F*ck off Conway... Mentioning that attendances are up in the domestic League, absolutely feck all to do with your shambles of a football association!

9 LOI have links with 3rd Level Colleges.... again absolutely feck all to do with your shambles of a football association I'd imagine in all cases!