Drew Harris armoured jeep flung into the air at Garda HQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,198 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

[HTML][/HTML]
    Amirani wrote: »
    Yes. Sure US secret service personel are all armed whenever US presidents visits. There's lots of precedents.

Bit of a difference between the US President and this guy in fairness, and there was armed Gardai escorting him from the border so it will be interesting to see whether the PSNI would have been allowed to be armed in this jurisdiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

[HTML][/HTML]

Bit of a difference between the US President and this guy in fairness, and there was armed Gardai escorting him from the border so it will be interesting to see whether the PSNI would have been allowed to be armed in this jurisdiction.

I read about this incident earlier and the official line was that he psni lads protect him in norn iron, but when they cross over they're not armed so by that logic they must have either thrown their weapons out the windows on the way down or they mustn't have been armed up above in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

bubblypop wrote: »
    Wrong
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/security-scare-at-garda-hq-raises-questions-on-role-of-psni-1.3852361
    The commissioner lives with his wife in a residence on the Garda Headquarters grounds in the Phoenix Park in Dublin while security work is completed on a private residence elsewhere.
    did he move in this week then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

pure.conya wrote: »
    I read about this incident earlier and the official line was that he psni lads protect him in norn iron, but when they cross over they're not armed so by that logic they must have either thrown their weapons out the windows on the way down or they mustn't have been armed up above in the first place

I think it would be safe to assume they don't all travel in a single car. Armed support is likely in a second vehicle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

This man is still governed by the oath of allegiance and the official secrecy act in the UK.
    This overrides the oath he took commencing Garda top job.
    Serious conflict of interest never should have appointed to this job.
    Running with the haire and hunting with the hound

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭TomasMacR

Who cares. Is his private residence in the north or the republic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,028 ✭✭✭✭kippy

This man is still governed by the oath of allegiance and the official secrecy act in the UK.
    This overrides the oath he took commencing Garda top job.
    Serious conflict of interest never should have appointed to this job.
    Running with the haire and hunting with the hound
    Did they play Rock, paper, scissors to determine which oath overrode which?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

kippy wrote: »
    Did they play Rock, paper, scissors to determine which oath overrode which?

If you don't believe me look into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

Fair play to the Garda that activated the security barrier. Promotion please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

6541 wrote: »
    Fair play to the Garda that activated the security barrier. Promotion please.
    Promotion to the file room me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Dog walking duties.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

TomasMacR wrote: »
    Who cares. Is his private residence in the north or the republic?

You tell us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭TomasMacR

pablo128 wrote: »
    You tell us.

I don’t know, that’s why I’m asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,723 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I
    Open to correction here, but the psni have no jurisdiction in this state, so once they crossed the border they essentially become armed men, as opposed to armed police.

Do the Secret Service have jurisdiction here when they come with the POTUS? Out of interest, like.

for doing her job?

fullstop wrote: »
    Do the Secret Service have jurisdiction here when they come with the POTUS? Out of interest, like.

I'm taking a wild guess here but i reckon the potus secret service have their ducks in a row long before they get here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I don't know if the message being relayed back or not will matter much if it actually transpires that the commissioner allowed himself to be escorted to Garda HQ with armed men from another jurisdiction.

Open to correction here, but the psni have no jurisdiction in this state, so once they crossed the border they essentially become armed men, as opposed to armed police.

Garda sources say it is not unusual for PSNI officers to travel south of the border in this and many other instances, such as when they are escorting the Chief Constable, senior judges or other personnel who require security to attend conferences or other business here.
    They also say there are procedures in place to allow police officers from other countries to carry firearms here while part of a close protection detail, such as exists for visits by the US President, the UK Prime Minister and other foreign dignitaries.

I wonder was there someone else in the jeep too that Harris wanted to talk to, that would at least make some sense. Otherwise the idea the PSNIers were a 'close protection detail' is an embarrassment

If you don't believe me look into it.

Why should he need to? Prove it.

pure.conya wrote: »
    I'm taking a wild guess here but i reckon the potus secret service have their ducks in a row long before they get here

That wasn't the question, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Just thinking about it here, if the Commissioner were to get out of a PSNI vehicle at border and into a Garda vehicle at border, then this exchange point would be the most vulnerable point for an attack on him. Is it a regular enough occurrence that vehicles belonging to police forces either side of the border do indeed cross the border for agreed specific purposes like this and that this has just come into broader public knowledge by this occurrence?

In very unfortunate circumstances I was obliged to take a lift in a PSNI vehicle about 13 years ago. The officers apologised for their inability to bring me any further than the border for "obvious reasons" in their words.

As I've pointed out in a different thread, there is just no way armed forces from another state can simply enter into the Irish republic without fear of arrest and trial.

It doesn't matter if it's Dublin, Cork or Blacklion, 100 miles or 100 yards. An inch is a mile in these matters.

fullstop wrote: »
    That wasn't the question, though.

they're american, they don't understand jurisdiction

https://www.thejournal.ie/us-army-uniform-shannon-4117778-Jul2018/

In very unfortunate circumstances I was obliged to take a lift in a PSNI vehicle about 13 years ago. The officers apologised for their inability to bring me any further than the border for "obvious reasons" in their words.

As I've pointed out in a different thread, there is just no way armed forces from another state can simply enter into the Irish republic without fear of arrest and trial.

It doesn't matter if it's Dublin, Cork or Blacklion, 100 miles or 100 yards. An inch is a mile in these matters.

unless you were being carried to the border on close protection detail this is nothing like the drew harris affair, just so you know I'm not exactly fond of the whole incident but you can't compare the 2 vastly different situations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

maybe in garda world phones etc havent been invented yet.
    they are bloody backward imo.

Sounds like an embarrassing breakdown in communications that Garda HQ did not know their own head was approaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

can't wait for this story to hit the international newspapers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Tomas81

TomasMacR wrote: »
    I don’t know, that’s why I’m asking.

He lives In Holywood, outside Belfast.

Usual he is collected by PSNI land rover driven to Newry/For then taken by ARU. Personal matter arose he didn't use ARU but PSNI conveyed him in. Miscommunication ensued and this was the outcome.

For a start PSNI shouldn't of been on official business within the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

The Gardai should have been paying for any protection iof the Garda top knob n this state. Those armoured Suv are not cheap. I wonder who will be paying for the damage to it by the Garda? Did any occupants suffer personal injuries or whiplash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Going to be discussed on Newstalk with Pat Kenny next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Going to be discussed on Newstalk with Pat Kenny next.

What did you think, Johnny?

The main points I got from it were breach of protocol, internal Garda matter and political parties shouldn’t be trying to score points by calling for Harris to explain.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Tom Cloonan saying that PSNI carrying weapons in the Republic is illegal no matter what way you look at it. What a mess. I wonder who leaked the story too, I'd say Harris has his enemies within HQ