Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

What a win and finish from Mo! ****ing chuffed watching it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,597 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

No room for aoc,keita,lallana,shaq??

I'm just naming the best balance of 3 there. Fab and Gini are there without question and for me that final spot has to be Hendo or Milner if you're looking for your best, most balanced midfield.

Lallana (if he's ever fit again for more than 2 games in a row), and Shaq are great options, but in more of a horses for courses kind of way, where we expect to have tonnes of possession, and don't expect much threat, so can get away with fielding an unbalanced team in favour of the attack.

Ox and Keita would be my long term replacements for Hendo and Milner, but Keita hasn't shown enough to name him in our best balanced team yet, and Ox i'm just not counting for this year for obvious reasons. From next year (assuming he comes back as good as he was) he would certainly be my go-to for that all action driving role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I’m sure it’s been mentioned somewhere else by now, but Chelsea’s week is much tougher than ours leading up to our match on Sunday week. Just to compare:

Liverpool:
    Away to Southampton on 5th April (470 mile round trip)
    3 days rest
    Home to Porto on 9th April
    4 days rest
    Home to Chelsea on 14th April

Chelsea:
    Home to West Ham on 8th April
    2 days rest
    Away to Slavia Prague on 11th April (2 hr flight each way, plus buses to and from each airport)
    2 days rest
    Away to Liverpool on 14th April (220 mile journey up, journey back is irrelevant)

So on top of us being the better team this season, we have an extra three days rest in total and we’re at home. On paper, it looks like a decent advantage. Hopefully we can make it count.

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Our best midfield has to be Fabinho and Henderson ... and one other.
    I've said it before but you don't get to be captain of Liverpool if you're not an outstanding player. I'm amazed to see, even now, that fans still don't see what he brings to the team. The guy is an unbelievable footballer with so much passion and energy for our club yet still keeps getting the put downs.
    Would absolutely love to see him lift the league trophy in May to finally shut the haters up.

And even more than that, an outstanding character. it sounds like a brendism, but it counts for so much. Rafa was a huge believer in it too. Getting leaders that make the difference when games are tough and tight and things are going against you. Masch, Alonso, Kuyt, Bellamy, Torres, Agger, Lucas.

It's a pure nebulous concept, but when you need something through sheer grit and determination, i'd have a Hendo on the field over a Pogba or a Jorginho every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Henderson will start more game than Fabinho and Keita next year because Klopp knows at minimum Henderson can cover more ground than both as well as everything else he brings. His biggest criticism is he does everything simple, yes he does but you know what none of the midfield did today, keep it simple! Misplaced passes, missed tackles, biting on simple dummies, tracking runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Tonight,naby breaks his duck.

GTFI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Grand National & LFC top of the league. Now try to pick a winner in the big race. Happy Saturday reds! Let’s keep enjoying their team & title race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Our goal difference has been edging closer to City’s over the last few weeks.

Be a nice time for Mo to start scoring again regularly. A very nice time. And mo better man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭mosstin

martyos121 wrote: »
    I’m sure it’s been mentioned somewhere else by now, but Chelsea’s week is much tougher than ours leading up to our match on Sunday week. Just to compare:

Liverpool:
    Away to Southampton on 5th April (470 mile round trip)
    3 days rest
    Home to Porto on 9th April
    4 days rest
    Home to Chelsea on 14th April

Chelsea:
    Home to West Ham on 8th April
    2 days rest
    Away to Slavia Prague on 11th April (2 hr flight each way, plus buses to and from each airport)
    2 days rest
    Away to Liverpool on 14th April (220 mile journey up, journey back is irrelevant)

So on top of us being the better team this season, we have an extra three days rest in total and we’re at home. On paper, it looks like a decent advantage. Hopefully we can make it count.

Also, since we're going in to such fine detail, apparently 63% more of Chelsea players live in two-storey houses than our lads, thus facing those gruelling upstairs/downstairs trips that almost 2/3 of our squad will be able to avoid in their custom-designed bungalows. Those Chelsea boys will be knackered when they get to Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,949 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Be a nice time for Mo to start scoring again regularly. A very nice time. And mo better man.

We havent at all ,
    City won there last 3 games by 2 goals , We won last night by 2 but the two before that by 1 ,
    So in the last 3 weeks they have gone ahead by a futher 2 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Morning fcukers :D. I hope you all slept well :)

Spotted this on Twitter

“20 goals in the final 15 minutes of games this season, more than any other PL side.

16 points from losing positions, more than any other PL side.

Top of the league.

82 points from 33 games.

Only 1 defeat.

Up the fcuking Reds. ✊»”

Since the start of March they've actually scored one more than us, in one fewer game :-/

It's a 7 goal difference now with 5 games to play for us and then having a game at hand - if it comes down to goal difference, unfortunately. we won't win. The only way we can realistically get a better goal difference is if city drop a bunch of points and then it becomes a moot point anyway. Shouldn't even worry about it.

Thoroughly agreed on Mo though - and i've a feeling with that monkey off his back in beautiful style, that he'll go on a bit of a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

https://twitter.com/KevOrf_5/status/1114269715512340480?s=19

Robertson gets sold down the river here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Salah will go on a run now.

He will score against Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Mo has never been so emotional after a game, also I nearly pissed myself when while being asked about his first goal in nine mó turns to hendo and says that's OK hendo got his first goal in about 20,and starts laughing, it's been a bit longer then that mó lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Roberston & especially Mane's challenges leading to Salah's goal really summed up how much how much the players want to win this title.

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Mo has never been so emotional after a game, also I nearly pissed myself when while being asked about his first goal in nine mrns to hendo and says that's OK hendo got his first goal in about 20,and starts laughing, it's been a bit longer then that ml!!

Yeah, it seems the pressure of the 50 goal mark, and the drought as he failed to hit it, seemed to really get in his head over the past few weeks. Hopefully now that catharsis of scoring a cracker lifts the weight from his shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭jasonb

Obviously the win and 3 points was the most important thing, but I don't think I could have picked three better goalscorers for us too. Two goals from midfield, Naby gets his first, first goal in ages for Hendo and Salah reaches 50 after not scoring for a few games. Perfect!

As for Goal Difference, I really wish we could catch up with it, though I think it would take us winning games 4-0 and City winning by 1 a couple of times and there just isn't enough games left. The annoying thing about the Goal Difference is that we can't afford to even draw one game. If we did draw one and City even lost a game, they'd still beat us on Goal Difference. Which means we just have to win every single game, us dropping points means they'd have to drop points twice.

It puts a lot of pressure on us (well, on me anyhow!) knowing that each game could be the one that means we won't win the league, and if we're not winning with 10 mins to go it gets very stressful! Would love some comfortable wins just to help my heart!

But it's great to be in this position and to be pushing for the title with only 5 games left (for us). Only 5 games, this **** is definitely getting real. You know it's close when you have memorised the games that are left. I still remember City/Norwich/Chelsea/Palace/Newcastle from 5 years ago, and now it's Chelsea/Cardiff/Huddersfield/Newcastle/Wolves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Fantastic stuff yesterday. The determination was unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

I love the old mentality that used to apply to strikers like Shearer/Owen when they were going through a barren spell. "He'd take any sort of scrappy goal to get the monkey off the back" Then Mo Salah does that. Special times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭Augme

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Yeah, it seems the pressure of the 50 goal mark, and the drought as he failed to hit it, seemed to really get in his head over the past few weeks. Hopefully now that catharsis of scoring a cracker lifts the weight from his shoulders.

Hopefully it also means he starts passing the ball again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

No way on earth we're catching City on GD. If we went +10 in the last 5 games that would be an amazing return, so making 7 goals on city now is not going to happen. No chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

That was my probably my favourite game of the season so far. Such a rollercoaster. Absolutely ecstatic after the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

No way on earth we're catching City on GD. If we went +10 in the last 5 games that would be an amazing return, so making 7 goals on city now is not going to happen. No chance.

Yeah they definitely have the goal difference on us. It would be heart breaking to lose out on goal difference.

Hopefully Salah finally scoring(not that he's been bad or not contributing)gets him back in track and gets another 4 or 5 in the remaining 5 games. It would be a huge boost as mané can't always bail us out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,484 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Hopefully Naby pushes on now as you could see the relief on his face when he scored.

Barely even noticed him on the pitch before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Loved the celebrations last night. Noticed milner jumped into Hendersons arms after salahs goal and they were holding each other tight after hendos one! I feel we got us a budding romance going on! 🙂
    Seriously though, when you see milner jumping into fellas arms you know it's special!
    Loved mane and keita celebrating together too.
    Just a warm fuzzy feeling all round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Also great to have your weekends business wrapped up on a Friday night!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Who's just above Gerrard in the pic?

Ronny Rosenthal.

Chelsea have a seriously busy week. Hopefully they aren't in the mood next weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Hopefully Naby pushes on now as you could see the relief on his face when he scored.

Barely even noticed him on the pitch before that.

I thought he was probably the best of the starting midfield 3, not that that's saying much.