Have you ever had an online/real life stalker?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Ex boyfriend. I was 17. back in the late 90s so there was no internet really to speak of.

He literally followed me around. Threatened my friends, threatened my family, damaged our property. He would appear out of nowhere no matter where I was.

He would hide in our back garden late at night and move bins around, take washing off the line etc to let us know he'd 'been'.

Pulled my Mothers flowers up out of her flowerbed one morning and arranged them like a wreath on top of her car.

Total fruitcake.

Got a barring order on him in the end. I was fortunate enough to have a neighbor who was a guard and had witnessed a lot of his ****ery so it was a simple enough process.

I haven't seen him in years. No sign of him on social media. I have a feeling he might be dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Some of these stories are fascinating!?
    Like I'm sure we've all been a wee bit jealous and even kinda infatuated with a member of the opposite séx,but some of these guys/gals are seriously foooked in the head....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

What happened to the wedding she was planning?

And was it in sports club?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

A small bit online but jeez nothing like the stuff recounted on this thread. :eek:
    Marengo wrote: »
    Yes a mad Russian poet who was fascinated with hurling and wanted to promote it on a worldwide basis.

I don't disbelieve you by the way - just found the above line amusing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The internet has made it easier for people to stalk someone without having to go out and hide in a bush for hours waiting to lunge at them while they pass. I'm still not motivated enough for even the online stalking, and everyone is boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Kamili wrote: »
    He still badmouths and says nasty things about me, and I'm sure this is not finished, but its been nearly 5 years of hell. The guy is unhinged.

Oh and the fiance is still with him...

Jay. Zuss. That's appalling. He sounds barely functioning. How does he maintain this campaign and seem kinda okay to friends & colleagues??

You have my sympathies - what a dreadful ordeal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭holliehobbie

I have been and am still being harassed to this day even though we're divorced for years now! I even had to change my phone number due to him. Turned up at my work trying to serve papers on me once. And there is nothing the Courts can do as we obviously don't live together and it's not physical violence. Mental torture is nearly worse though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

A small bit online but jeez nothing like the stuff recounted on this thread. :eek:

I don't disbelieve you by the way - just found the above line amusing. :D

Totally mad.. In 2012 Henry Shefflin won his 9th hurling all Ireland medal. She rang me and called in person to my work place as she wanted to write a book with me (I'm involved in research) called 'Henry IX' basically Henry the 9th little Play on Henry VIII.

Also wanted me to lead a walk/March with her from Wexford into Waterford singing hurling songs. Most unusual person I ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Yes a mad Russian poet who was fascinated with hurling and wanted to promote it on a worldwide basis. Originally met me in my place of work. Her name is Mary Duniyva. She launched a High Court objection to the Dublin spire as she wanted her design used, she's a sculpture too. She wanted to paint me in a pair of shorts, no top, with a hurl in a 'Swan Lake' pose! Plagued me ringing work for 2 years and arrived in work a few times.

If you google her you'll find more about her.

Mary Duniyva. There's a name I haven't heard in almost 30 years. I had a three hour encounter with her once, when I was trapped on a train sitting opposite her. I was 8 and half months pregnant and she spent the journey regaling me with horror stories of dreadful labours, epic blood loss and cords wrapped around babies necks. There were no other seats on the train to flee to, and as you can imagine I needed to be sitting. Hahah what a mad ould bag of spiders she was/is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Yeah still continues with the online one blocked some of them but they're still out there crazy adults with routine regular jobs but they still pop up every so often to deride me and my opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 mcgregor2019

I was backpacking through Iran a couple of years ago, doing a bit of couchsurfing to save money, stayed with this guy and his family for two days. Everything seemed genuine at the time, I had already met a lot of really hospitable Iranians, so I didn’t think it was unusual when him and his family were being extra friendly.

Iranians are always willing to help tourists, buying them lunch, coffee, giving them lifts here and there, even strangers invite tourists in from the street and cook dinner for them, tourism in Iran is fairly new, so they spoil tourists.

Anyway, after I had left Iran, I kept in contact with my host, we had each others WhatsApp, we didn’t speak for a few weeks, then he would randomly text me every couple of weeks, it was all small talk, nothing major, just casual conversations.

Then, out of the blue, he began asking questions about moving to Ireland, he then began almost begging me for information, that was all cool, I gave him all of the appropriate information, told him to research some English schools in Dublin, gave him the contact of an English school in Dublin that was well known, told him about the skilled working visa, he didn’t qualify for that one because he didn’t have a skill that was highlighted on the website, I gave him some additional options, like getting a job with an international company, and then, after a few years, ask for a transfer to Ireland.

He thanked me for the information, but kept claiming that the best option, studying English in Ireland, was too expensive. He then began bothering me almost every day, like do you have any Irish friends looking for staff and all of these questions, I kept telling him that they would be unable to provide him with the correct working visa, this went on for a while and it didn’t seem to register with him, then one day he text me saying that he wanted to move close to my parents house in Ireland, at this point I began to get freaked out, I told him that Dublin is a small city, so he’s always only a short bus stop away from wherever he wants to visit.

I then began distancing myself, he would send an average of three texts a week, I rarely replied, but when I did, he then got very deep, telling me about the corruption in Iran and that he needed to get out, I again told him that he should contact a language school in Ireland and they would be able to provide him with a visa, that option was legal and quicker.

After a few weeks of trying to pressure me, he then sent me a message of his friend’s coffin that had just died. He was looking for sympathy almost every day and then tried to make me feel guilty for not trying to help him. I again explained that it was really difficult to get a work visa in Ireland, unless he had a skill, or unless he was willing to study. He then went a step too far, he began telling me that he was in trouble because of a protest that he was involved in. I didn’t reply to his messages, then randomly his wife started contacting me. I didn’t reply at all, he kept messaging me until I finally blocked him, though strangely enough, a few months later, no idea how he found me because I don’t use my real Facebook name, put in a friend request. I immediately blocked him.

It was all such a strange experience and one that caught me by surprise. I met so many Iranians and almost all of them were the complete opposite. It was more of a reality check, now I’m extra cautious about who I give my number to and keep my friendliness to a limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

@metaoblivia that's for real... Funk day sheeeet.
    Thread closed nobody could beat that.

It's America, there are far worse cases.
    I worked with a guy that used to be "problematic" for women in the office and in the general business district where we worked.
    He was good at his job though, so HR would always minimise it.

I have some mad stories about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Graces7 wrote: »
    yep. same here.

Yeah i had one too- what ia up with that?

Yes a mad Russian poet who was fascinated with hurling and wanted to promote it on a worldwide basis. Originally met me in my place of work. Her name is Mary Duniyva. She launched a High Court objection to the Dublin spire as she wanted her design used, she's a sculpture too. She wanted to paint me in a pair of shorts, no top, with a hurl in a 'Swan Lake' pose! Plagued me ringing work for 2 years and arrived in work a few times.

If you google her you'll find more about her.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/legal-actions-aim-to-prevent-anorexic-and-alien-body-being-built-1.185495
    ...and Ms Mary Duniyva, a Russian artist who describes herself as the ultimate woman poet.

Ms Duniyva maintains that the proposed 120-metre stainless steel spire, designed by Ian Ritchie, a London architect, would be "an anorexic and alien body - alien from every angle in material, size, shape and symbolism".

Jaysus, she sounds like a right fecking lunatic!

No, but the afters were ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Yeah I have been.

Drunkingly got together with a woman a moon ago and she pestered me for ages after it. Never got the hint that I wasn't interested and pestered and pestered. Would stand within my shadow in my regular pub and if she saw that I went somewhere else, she would pop up in that establishment not long later.

She even got word of my brother's 21st and showed up uninvited, not knowing anyone. She took to texting me inane questions, such as what was the score of a match that she was at herself, in the hope that I would respond and thus engage in a text conversation.

She genuinely ruined many a night out for a while. Finally, when she was up to her usual tricks I told her to 'feck off' and she got the message.

Starting to think she mightn't be all there though as she has been at the same craic with at least two of mates since. Feel sorry for her in a way as she is a single mam with a problem with drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Yes kind of . A man from Limerick. I knew him through a friend who'd never actually met him. As he started chatting away about local abandoned buildings on my friend's thread , I even sent him a friend request myself (I'm wary to the point of trust issues now but that was about 4 years ago when , unless you're in a nightclub or a dark alley, every stranger was a friend I hadn't met yet). So I saw some posts of his when he was (in retrospect ) in manic moods. Realised he wasn't well but that's no reason to dislike someone . Then one night a strange man came right up to me in Tesco and stood so close I thought I must be in his way. I moved back a bit but he stayed there and now his mouth was wide open , eyes bulging and he was staring at my face. I took off thinking ''it must be a full moon'. Next day he said to my other friend on facebook, after a comment of mine, ''guess who I saw in the shop, and yes she is hot in real life ''.
    I didn't have a great feeling from him then and I'm glad it's the only time I met him. He decided I was ignoring him deliberately and made a few comments about setting me on fire etc.
    I have a feeling he caused more trouble for a barmaid in his own village though . He wrote a few posts about her and ranted on about going to the pub because she was there, and mentioned having a gun (which I don't believe ).

It's the first of two bad experiences on fb which i now only use for old friends and family abroad .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭Kamili

It never happened, they are still engaged and living together though.

that was 5 years ago. so go figure.

What kind of ****ed up do you have to be to live with a guy that stalks women and she then begs said stalked woman to talk to her fiance again because she cannot handle him whining about the girl he is stalking.

Thats a whole world of cray cray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

No, in my head it's a Harley Quinn type but no, I must be too boring to be stalked.

First they came for the socialists...

Kamili wrote: »
    It never happened, they are still engaged and living together though.

that was 5 years ago. so go figure.

What kind of ****ed up do you have to be to live with a guy that stalks women and she then begs said stalked woman to talk to her fiance again because she cannot handle him whining about the girl he is stalking.

Thats a whole world of cray cray.

It's amazing what people will put up with so as not to be alone.
    Then again, she could be scared to leave him.
    Horrible situation, I hope they don't have children:(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Jaysus my life seems so boring/normal.. Thank fluck for that.

Reading some of these posts makes me wonder what the hell happened to some of these stalkers to make them act like this. How do they justify acting like this in their own head?

I really do pity people who have to deal with this on a daily basis. Physical abuse is bad, but this type of psychological abuse brings things to a whole new level of depravity.

It's amazing what people will put up with so as not to be alone.
    Then again, she could be scared to leave him.
    Horrible situation, I hope they don't have children:(

no children yet thankfully, but I do hear she wants them.

I also hear he is exceptionally emotionally abusive towards her and uses her want to have kids as leverage.

He would drop her in a heartbeat out on her ear the second something he considers better comes along.

I feel bad for her, but by the same measure she is as nasty and conniving as he is.
    ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Jaysus my life seems so boring/normal.. Thank fluck for that.

Reading some of these posts makes me wonder what the hell happened to some of these stalkers to make them act like this. How do they justify acting like this in their own head?

I really do pity people who have to deal with this on a daily basis. Physical abuse is bad, but this type of psychological abuse brings things to a whole new level of depravity.

In my case I strongly believe the guy is at a minimum has narcissistic personality disorder, but I suspect more so that he is a sociopath as he brags about being one like a badge of honour on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    J

sad lonely people with too much time on their hands me thinks :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I had a lot of hassle from an ex boyfriend after I dumped him. It’s years ago now so I can’t remember all the details, but he was texting a lot, calling round, writing to my workplace and actually slept in his car outside my apartment. Eventually had to get the guards to have a word with him. It was pre smartphones so I couldn’t block him from my phone, I contacted Vodafone st the time and they wouldn’t do anything without getting a request from the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

fryup wrote: »
    sad lonely people with too much time on their hands me thinks :cool:

Not always or just that. Some of these stalkers go on to be murderers or violent, some have serious anger problems. Did you see that lovely looking girl who had the head kicked off her by her ex recently enough, it on the papers and TV, I think? The CCTV footage of that assault was absolutely horrible. He lay in wait for her - in other words he stalked her.
    I have zero problems with people who are sad, zero problems with people who are lonely - these are very ordinary, human conditions which we all will experience to lesser or greater extents and they do not provoke most people to stalk. Although, it is true that in some people they may provoke some minor preoccupation. But people who seriously stalk are unsettled in other ways, me thinks, and sometimes they are very dangerous people.

Zorya wrote: »
    Not always or just that. Some of these stalkers go on to be murderers or violent, some have serious anger problems. Did you see that lovely looking girl who had the head kicked off her by her ex recently enough, it on the papers and TV, I think? The CCTV footage of that assault was absolutely horrible. He lay in wait for her - in other words he stalked her.
    I have zero problems with people who are sad, zero problems with people who are lonely - these are very ordinary, human conditions which we all will experience to lesser or greater extents and they do not provoke most people to stalk. Although, it is true that in some people they may provoke some minor preoccupation. But people who seriously stalk are unsettled in other ways, me thinks, and sometimes they are very dangerous people.

I agree 100% here. have a google of revenge obsession.

Horrible horrible stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

I had a lot of hassle from an ex boyfriend after I dumped him. It’s years ago now so I can’t remember all the details, but he was texting a lot, calling round, writing to my workplace and actually slept in his car outside my apartment. Eventually had to get the guards to have a word with him. It was pre smartphones so I couldn’t block him from my phone, I contacted Vodafone st the time and they wouldn’t do anything without getting a request from the guards.

Yeah, my story is similar. Nothing too crazy but I was so uncomfortable with it at the time.

I went out with a guy for a few weeks in college, it was nothing serious - we didn't even get around to having sex. It was for a very short time. I broke it off with him because he was a bit full on and I wasn't really interested. He had dropped out of our course by this stage so I thankfully didn't have to see him in college.

After that he'd call me whenever he was drunk and leave voice messages crying about how heartbroken he was and abusing me if he thought I had been with other guys. Then the next day I'd always get a text message apologising and saying he couldn't remember calling me and trying to start a conversation. I sent one message back once asking him not to contact me again and after that I ignored all of it.

I started going out with another boy and he heard it on the grapevine and that sent him in to overdrive with the voicemails for a little while.

He'd turn up "randomly" at things I was at when nobody had actually invited him along. This was pre social media (even bebo!) so I'm not even sure how he knew where I'd be. I think he was pumping people for information.

At the end of the college year, about 6 months after we'd "broken up" he went out of his way to go in to the college to check the exam results which were posted on a noticeboard. He'd memorised my student number and went to see how I'd done (the results were listed by number only). I'd failed an exam and he couldn't resist texting me about it gloating. He told a classmate he'd done that and the guy told him that was a really weird thing to do (it was great he had my back) and after that the calls and messages stopped and I think he moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Yes, I had to leave my whats app on account of a former friend who kept sending me crazy and often abusive messages. The guy has mental problems and believes in all kinds of conspiracy theories and became a right nuisance. I dont know if counts technically as stalking but sending 50+ messages a day of all hours of day and night just became too much to handle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Yes, I had to leave my whats app on account of a former friend who kept sending me crazy and often abusive messages. The guy has mental problems and believes in all kinds of conspiracy theories and became a right nuisance. I dont know if counts technically as stalking but sending 50+ messages a day of all hours of day and night just became too much to handle

You just perfectly described the WhatsApp group I'm in with my best friends.......

They are not stalkers thankfully, just mental cases who like to discuss conspiracy theories and annoy me with 99+ notifications of absolute sh1te-talk when I'm busy at work......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Some loon followed me around on youtube for years. He used to post 'Go on my son' after all my comments.