Overrated burger restaurants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Cleaver East do a decent burger and On the pigs back on capel st is a great independent
    burger joint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

Five Guys is nothing special at all. Wowburger is fine I guess, but I'd only really go there is Bunsen was packed.

El Grito do the best burrito in Ireland. And the best tacos. Used to be in Temple Bar, but moved to Mountjoy Square, so handy for culchies with slightly more exotic eating habits up for the day in Croke Park.

Its very rarely I'm in Dublin so anywhere that's Dublin only isn't much good to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Five Guys is nothing special at all. Wowburger is fine I guess, but I'd only really go there is Bunsen was packed.

You do know that you can reserve a table if it's busy and they'll text you when it comes available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

Berserker wrote: »
    You do know that you can reserve a table if it's busy and they'll text you when it comes available.
    Usually I go to Bunsen at lunch time, so have fairly limited time to get food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Captcha

Bring a can of coke and just get the burger in 5 guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Bunsen is just around the corner from me here in work so I went there for the first time a few weeks back but wasn't too impressed. It's fine.

Wowburger is also around the corner and I went shortly after my visit to Bunsen and have been back since. Service is a lot faster, staff a bit friendlier and the chips are better. To be honest, I though the burger was tastier too.

Tried Five Guys out in Dundrum when it first opened and found it to be a tasty burger and decent enough.

So overall I would say Bunsen was the least tasty of the three but I will give it another go. Not sure what it is people see it in though and at the end of the day they're just burgers, you'd swear they were a difficult thing to do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Bunsen is just around the corner from me here in work so I went there for the first time a few weeks back but wasn't too impressed. It's fine.

Wowburger is also around the corner and I went shortly after my visit to Bunsen and have been back since. Service is a lot faster, staff a bit friendlier and the chips are better. To be honest, I though the burger was tastier too.

Tried Five Guys out in Dundrum when it first opened and found it to be a tasty burger and decent enough.

So overall I would say Bunsen was the least tasty of the three but I will give it another go. Not sure what it is people see it in though and at the end of the day they're just burgers, you'd swear they were a difficult thing to do well.

What I see in it is that the meat is always way way better quality than the likes of Eddie r or wowburger. Havnt tried 5 guys as yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

There was more meat in my Bunsen burger than the others (that I mentioned, haven't eaten a burger in Eddie's in years) but I didn't find it any tastier.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Bujo in Sandymount for me is the best burger. Bunsen a close 2nd.

The counter, Five guys, Wowburger and Eddies are a level below the top 2 but better than your McDs and BKs and chipper burgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

I found Bunsens burger very good. Would have no problem returning there.

I've not tried Bujo but would like to.

Cleaver Easts Pornburger is delish as the burger from the Rustic Stone.

Wowburger not all that wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Pornburger? EW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Tried Smokin' bones recently enough on a groupon deal. It was rank, one of those frozen pre-bought 'big al' type patties, eughh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

McDonald's simple 2e double cheesburgers, 3 of those some chips and liter of coke is enough to feel cardiac arrest :D

paid 10+ for fancy burgers but having dribble tower which needs to be dissected with fork and knife worth it once at best, to realize you pay for same frozen patty and ton of toppings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,644 ✭✭✭Cordell

I don't get tower gourmet burgers that you need to eat using the fork and knife, wtf are they? Why don't get a proper dish meal if you need to not use your hands? Also, way too many topping in them, usually not going well together, but if you must...

Bun, quality cheese, a thick quality patty which is not overcooked and not 50%+ non-beef filler, 1-2 topping max, that's a proper burger. The kind that just needs a bit of squeezing to go into the average mouthhole opening and not this https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwjq4Nb_iq_hAhWVShUIHUhLCAsQjRx6BAgBEAU&url=https%3A%2F%2Fknowyourmeme.com%2Fphotos%2F1387843-reaction-images&psig=AOvVaw3jSHVqX6dwBAsDMvTHUPGw&ust=1554214672410501

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 144 ✭✭Marcus Rashford

I’m sorry, but the “Bunsen is rubbish, I prefer Five Guys, the chipper, or McDonald’s” stuff is just ridiculous.

They are not similar products.

The other three are proper fast food made from cheap frozen patties.

Bunsen is a premium product; the others aren’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

as was wisely said in the dublin forum thread, anybody not rating bunsen needs to tell us how they get their burgers cooked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

This here. I don't think I could be less interested in something that is hyped, be it a burger, a kebab, a pub, whatever, as pretty much everything that is hyped beyond belief is decidedly bang average.

In Dublin the most hyped kebab is Iskanders (joint with Zaytoon, who I've never had). I only had it once and I thought it was terrible. Burned, tasteless, wrap bread tasted bland, for all the hype the worst kebab I've had in Dublin (well, chipper kebabs are usually fairly bland, but that's not their primary business so I'd let it slide)

The most hyped burrito is Boojum. The wrap was nice, but the beef was stringy, dry, sauces were average, I wouldn't be going back. Yet there was a queue out the door when I went on a regular weekday afternoon.

Romayo's is the award winning chipper. It's certainly nice enough, but I wouldn't rate it as good as a few of my local ones and others I'm familiar with.

Many years ago I was in Sydney and there was the apparently greatest ever burgers being produced in a place called Mary's Burgers. It was grand, but best ever my hole. Not to mention, you could see boxes of chips on the floor, feckin McCain frozen chips same as you'd buy yourself in a supermarket!

Bunsen is a grand burger but I wouldn't queue out the door for it like so many people do, and if I were going artisan in town I'd head to Wowburger or 5 Guys over it.

Never had Jo Burger and I believe it has shut. I'm not particularly upset I missed out.

Contrary to popular belief, Coppers isn't particularly wilder or more promiscuous than any other nightclub, it's a myth that has been built around paid adverts disguised as articles by various outlets. Personally I'd rate the grab a granny up in Portobello Hotel as more debauched :pac:

Quite honestly the only time I can recall going somewhere because of hype, and being wowed (apart from nightclubs), is 5 Guys. I trekked to Dundrum at least three times for one, it is truly delish.

So yes, basically, the more I read about something being pimped by Lovin Dublin and Joe.ie the less of a hurry I'll be in to sample it.

No way. Zaytoon is more hyped, rightfully. In my 17 or so years in Dublin, I’ve never heard anyone arguing for Iskanders or even mentioning it much really. It’s seen as drunken kebab place whereas people will happily go to Zaytoon for lunch or dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭smilerf

I don't know if it's still there but when I lived in Sandymount about 15 years ago there was a chipper called Borzas. Very nice burgers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Probably blended ribeye with a leaner cut like round or chuck to get a decent fat content and keep cost down.

In any of the butchers I frequent, ribeye mince (or any fatty mince) is way cheaper than round. The fattier the mince, the cheaper it tends to be. Round mince, despite being bland, is always the most expensive probably because it’s the most popular due to having the highest protein to fat ratio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The only place that really challenges Bunsen in Dublin for a great burger is Featherblade on Dawson Street and they only serve them at lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Counter burger is beauty,
    Amazed it hasn't been mentioned as often as I thought it would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The only place that really challenges Bunsen in Dublin for a great burger is Featherblade on Dawson Street and they only serve them at lunch.

I was in this place called Token a few weeks ago with the two young lads. Thought the burgers were excellent. Heart attack inducing sort of burgers. Meat juices and melted cheese everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

I’m sorry, but the “Bunsen is rubbish, I prefer Five Guys, the chipper, or McDonald’s” stuff is just ridiculous.

Isn't part of 5Guys shtick that the burgers are made in-house? Maybe I'm wrong

Anyway this thread just reminded me of the time my infant daughter projectiled onto the floor in Bunsen a couple of years ago. T'was our first and only visit and I do remember it being very good and not too expensive - I remember thinking at the time that Empty Pockets really lived up to it's acquired moniker in comparison.

I don't get the 5Guys hate here. There's one not far from us here in Essex (Lakeside) and the handful of times we've been there I've left very happy. It's a rule now that if I get dragged shopping, I get to have a burger without any complaints or talk of how many sins it is - although I know she's secretly a fan.

In saying all that, when home I do love a trip to Romayos or the Borza near the parents house for a solid, shove your artisan leanings up your. . ., quarter pounder. Chipper burgers over here are just muck.

I reckon most of these awful burger place do well is the same reason,

Them crap donut places do
    Them SHIIITE day time clubs in Ibiza and Marbella do
    Them god awful runner's people are wearing
    Why every young lads is on the "juice"
    All the other type of stupid trends that make little sense

The reason is " INSTAGRAM"

One of these influencer gob****es post a picture, and every 16- 25 year old has to post the same one ,

I'm convinced they don't even enjoy being in these place but have to stay "ON TREND" in fear of being different or using there own head to decide what's good and what's ****e !!!!!!!

You know the type there whole life is an Instagram story , They don't enjoy it they just want to say oh look i'm doing that thing that is cool now ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

The reason is " INSTAGRAM"

One of these influencer gob****es post a picture, and every 16- 25 year old has to post the same one ,

I'm convinced they don't even enjoy being in these place but have to stay "ON TREND" in fear of being different or using there own head to decide what's good and what's ****e !!!!!!!

You know the type there whole life is an Instagram story , They don't enjoy it they just want to say oh look i'm doing that thing that is cool now ,

I rarely post on Instagram, I have only once posted a food item that had nothing to do with trends (my valentine's gift a few years ago was Smarties all organised by colour and put into 6 jars, one for each colour). I don't think I have ever purposely followed a trend in my life. I enjoy 5 Guys, and Eddie Rockets, and even 4 Lantern's Big 4 burgers, as previously mentioned here.

You just have awful taste in Burger and like to pay over the odds :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

You just have awful taste in Burger and like to pay over the odds :D

Maybe! I do get burgers from my butcher which are amazing and relatively cheap. I think the sauces that go with it play a big part in how much I enjoy burgers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I really don't get this obsession with Bunsen. I really think it's just people thinking they're cool to be in the cool burger joint.

3 times I've been there and each experience was the same.

Being told to come back after getting a text..wtf?

The burger is no better than anything I've tasted before. I do be sitting there just in shock that this is loved so much on boards.ie. The chips are crap (needed loads of salt just to finish them) and I've left unsatisfied and still feeling hungry every time.

The gf has the exact same opinion too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Just because it's not frozen doesn't mean it's premium. Most of their over inflated reputation is due to making people wait for a place at a table as opposed to the food being that great.