Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,813 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Is Allison's bravery in doubt a little, the headed back pass from vd that he pulled out of last wk and again today when he came out to clear the ball and ducked out of it when he saw milner coming in, he was very lucky to get away with that today and it doesn't look great

I wouldn't worry about his bravery

giphy.gif

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Drop the genius part and you're good to go mate!

My stream froze. It was great defending Van Drijk blocked the pass still think if it was Son and not Sissoko running at Van Dijk they would of scored. Looking at it again maybe I was harsh on Allison not coming out but I still think hes overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭PhuckHugh

A great day for sport yesterday - Limerick winning the league + poor Mayo (god help us) getting a trophy ... and a lovely last minute winner when Spurs looked like the team well on top.

It's a no brainer now- but Fab has to start.... that midfield trio must not start again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

wasn't around yesterday and was looking forward to reading the match thread. There is none. Things are getting serious when neither us or them set one up for such a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

PhuckHugh wrote: »
    It's a no brainer now- but Fab has to start.... that midfield trio must not start again.
    Yesterdays mid did really well in the 2nd half of last season, but I was very surprised to see Fab dropped for yesterday. When he came on he actually won the ball high up the pitch, which we didn't do at all in the 2nd half.
    Gini (who did another disappearing act when we were under the cosh) seemed to be the one highest up the pitch, and never closed down Sissoko, who was left turn time and time again. Hendo played well in the first half, but really bad in the 2nd. Milner wasn't far behind Hendo.
    The failure to get Naby playing well and cemented into the team has not helped. Klopp obviously saw that that's an area of need with Milner getting older, Lallana injuries, Henderson not the ideal No6 and the injury to Ox.
    City will go top again mid week, so need to get the mid right for the Fri game to keep the pressure on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Have to say I'm having great craic so far this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Of course the best thing about beating Spurs, aside from the 3 points of course, is that it puts Spurs under more pressure to take something from their game with City considering the battle for the top 4 places. I had a feeling last week that Spurs wouldn't lose both games and was hoping the one they didn't lose wasn't against us so I'm relieved we got the result.

Now watch City beat them 3-0!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Just looking at the fixture list and if we can get over Soton and Chelsea then that is all our 'difficult' games over for the season whereas City have to play an FA Cup semi then Palace away followed by Spurs three times and Utd once. If we can get the six points in the next two games then it puts City under serious pressure to get six of their own. If they're going to drop points you'd feel it will be between now and the 24th of April when they play Utd. Just gotta hang in there and keep the pressure on and the pendulum could very well swing. Friday's game is going to be massive, 3 points are essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Just watched MOTD2, and it looks like that ball wasn't even stationary when Kane took the freekick for Moura's goal? Apologies if that's already been discussed, just catching up here!

It was ALMOST stationary, but fair play to him for looking for the quick attack. I'd applaud our players if they did it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,869 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Trent is the best right back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

On the subject of Allison and his bravery.... anyone else think he should have gone at moura's goal with his hands instead of his feet?
    Think he's done this a few times now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,869 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Date Team TV
    5th Apr Southampton (a) Sky Sports
    9th Apr Porto (POR) BT Sports
    14th Apr Chelsea Sky Sports
    17th Apr Porto (POR) (a) BT Sports
    21st Apr Cardiff (a) Sky Sports
    26th Apr Huddersfield Sky Sports

Date Liverpool Man City
    3rd Apr Cardiff
    5th Apr Southampton (a)
    6th Apr Brighton FA Cup SF
    9th Apr Porto (POR) Spurs (ENG) (a)
    14th Apr Chelsea Palace (a)
    17th Apr Porto (POR) (a) Spurs (ENG)
    20th Apr Spurs
    21st Apr Cardiff (a)
    24th Apr Man Utd (a)
    26th Apr Huddersfield
    28th Apr Burnley (a)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Oh, and VVD is the one truly world class player we have. World class is a very arbitrary and debatable term. Suarez was undebatably world class, there are probably others over the past 20 years you could debate were world class...but you can't debate VVD, he just is.

His movement for the 2:1 with Sissoko and Son was class. In a split-second needed to decide who the biggest threat was (Son) so continually cut off the pass, forcing Sissoko to take on the shot when he clearly didn't want to. You'd just know the likes of Lovren would've dived in on Sissoko outside the box leaving Son a 1:1 with the keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

fyfe79 wrote: »
    His movement for the 2:1 with Sissoko and Son was class. In a split-second needed to decide who the biggest threat was (Son) so continually cut off the pass, forcing Sissoko to take on the shot when he clearly didn't want to. You'd just know the likes of Lovren would've dived in on Sissoko outside the box leaving Son a 1:1 with the keeper.

Or got himself sent off and miss another 3 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Who sh1t themselves when they saw Lovren strutting out to protect the lead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Lovren would have dived straight in at Sissoko & very likely got a red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

VVD was excellent for that 2 on 1. The only defender I'd trust with that situation. He cut off the pass instead of diving in. If we had another defender of his level, we'd never concede again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Wheety wrote: »
    VVD was excellent for that 2 on 1. The only defender I'd trust with that situation. He cut off the pass instead of diving in. If we had another defender of his level, we'd never concede again :D

There isn't another defender on the planet on his level and I'm serious

Mr.H wrote: »
    He said he is probably going to play the 23'S against city so theyll be fresh for the next game. Im sure the interview is on sky by now.

Don't think he meant as resting his players for another game, think it was more throwing the toys out of the pram because of the decisions that went against them.
    Is Allison's bravery in doubt a little, the headed back pass from vd that he pulled out of last wk and again today when he came out to clear the ball and ducked out of it when he saw milner coming in, he was very lucky to get away with that today and it doesn't look great

Do you want him to take his own players out? He was shouting at Milner to leave it.

There isn't another defender on the planet on his level and I'm serious

Well I'd take his Netherlands partner De Ligt then. VVD can mentor him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,650 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

just a quick note on yesterday.

huge. fúcking huge. i honestly thought we were done, but I'm consistently heartened by the cojones this team has.

Salah has had a lot of focus on him from critics and some fans, but even Neville said it in commentary yesterday. even though he looked absolutely desperate to score, he was our most dangerous player. he is just so direct that he must always be occupied by one defender, and a second normally has to at least be keeping a close eye.

i can't say anymore about VVD. he basically psyched Sissoko out, telling him that he knows he won't score on his left side. just amazing. yes, Sissoko should've done better, obviously, but VVD couldn't have handled that situation any better and with such calm.

one last thing i want to mention is about the second goal. it's a small thing, but if Robbo wasn't MOTM anyway, this moment, and the fact it lead to the goal swung it his way. when corners were getting cleared, our players were constantly hitting it first time back into the box. but on that one, it comes to Andy, and his touch out to TAA was sublime. it can't be overstated how perfectly calm and weighted that touch was to allow TAA put a second ball in from out wide. it really is the little things that can make a huge difference. if Robbo does the panicky thing and hoists it into the box, it's a draw. the fact he had the presence of mind, and the skill, to make that simple looking play was brilliant.

yes, i've gone a bit OTT on my eulogising of a 10 yard pass. so sue me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

The replay clearly showed Alisson calling for the ball and Milner doesn't stop.

Alisson could have taken out his own player or let what happen happen and catch the ball looking awkward doing so which was better that taking out his own player.

Milner was terrible again yesterday and if anything had come of that it would have been on him for ignoring his goalkeepers call.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,782 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Some amount of clutching at straws in the other teams threads on here, its fecking hilarious.
    You have to love Monday morning meltdowns :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,307 ✭✭✭doc_17

Warnock will hardly play his u23s? Not that I really think it matters, but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

The replay clearly showed Alisson calling for the ball and Milner doesn't stop.

Alisson could have taken out his own player or let what happen happen and catch the ball looking awkward doing so which was better that taking out his own player.

Milner was terrible again yesterday and if anything had come of that it would have been on him for ignoring his goalkeepers call.

Going by the replay Allison leaves it too late in calling it, Milner is practically on top of him by the time he's yelling. Then he ducks out. He didnt need to come for the ball in the first place anyway. Allison's been excellent all season but yesterday wasn't one of his better games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

doc_17 wrote: »
    Warnock will hardly play his u23s? Not that I really think it matters, but still.

Warnock could play his U18's, U21's, U23's, Reserves and first team on the pitch at the same time and City would still pump them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

How good has Matip been since the turn of the year guy hasn't got nearly as much credit he deserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Dickerty wrote: »
    It was ALMOST stationary, but fair play to him for looking for the quick attack. I'd applaud our players if they did it...

JH should have blocked the attempt to take a quick one....wasnt convinced it was afoul either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

doc_17 wrote: »

Of course he won't. They have a chance of staying up, they cannot throw away 3 points like that. They also have a 9 goal difference deficit on Burnley, which is like another point behind. This is the time that every game is a battle for anything.

Plus, after Wed, they don't have a game for 10 days.