Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A record number of young people aged between 18-35 are single than ever before

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

Hilarious. I don't think even one man has offered to cover the bill in the time I've been dating (not that I would accept it, I always pay my half). I go on dates usually to pubs or craft beer places, go up to the bar when it's my turn and get the round in and pay for it. If we eat any dinner, we'll split it and put half on each card. This idea that women are princesses expecting to be showered with gifts and dinners is utterly alien to me and every woman I know.

I'm starting to wonder if some of you people ever actually leave the house.

Sounds like you've been on a lot of date's.

Nothing wrong with a woman who wants to be a princess and she meets the guy who adores her and has the finance's to look after her.
    If he's happy out doing that, more power to him.

And if she's happy with being showered with gift's, then more power to her.

When I'm away or out I'll bring my partner back a gift, she loves surprises.
    Thoughtful gifts are nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

BBFAN wrote: »
    Lainey stop it now, I'm a woman but you're going too far.

You claim to have a wide network of friends and yet you've never met anyone like this??

Doesn't ring true. Lots of the instagram generation expect this. Have you never seen the "relationships goals" posts. Get off the stage. I'm much older than you and I'm wise to this crap.

Maybe you're network of friends is not as wide as you think?

No, I don't know any gobsh1tes like this in real life. I'm not in the 'Instagram generation', or at least I don't think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

No, I don't know any gobsh1tes like this in real life. I'm not in the 'Instagram generation', or at least I don't think so.

So you don't know all the women in the world so, that's okay. As long as you admit that. :rolleyes:

No, I don't. I can say out of the ones I know, and believe me, it's a lot, not a single one goes on like that. I've cousins of 25 and younger and they don't do it either. Maybe I associate with nicer people than you seem to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

No, I don't. I can say out of the ones I know, and believe me, it's a lot, not a single one goes on like that. I've cousins of 25 and younger and they don't do it either. Maybe I associate with nicer people than you seem to.

So you can't dismiss men's concerns then can you?

That's the only point I'm making.

I know you and all your friends are the perfect females Lainey, doesn't give you the right to dismiss mens concerns left right and centre.

You really need to look at your attitude towards men if you're ever going to move on in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Dalomanakora

There's no need to get snide with the poster, she's making a valid point.

I associate with lovely people. Doesn't mean I don't know any of the princess types mentioned above. I know quite a few of them, who want the romance of being wined and dined without reciprocating.

Unfortunately, there are plenty of women like that. There are men like that too though. My ex LOVED that i was the type of woman where if I saw something in the shops and knew he'd like it, I'd surprise him with it, and I'd happily pull out my purse for dates.

Unfortunately that turned into him always being broke despite earning nearly triple my salary, never reciprocating, and eventually having me pay for absolutely everything :pac:

There are plenty of that type of person in any gender, but it does seem far more common amongst women in my experience. Any other guy i dated was very happy to go dutch and occasionally treat me, thankfully.

Reading this thread makes me kind of glad I'm single tbh. Between men who want revenge on a flirtation, groping and money grabbing, it seems far easier to be single these days :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Imo dating in the western world is broken

As opposed to where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I’ve dated women who insisted on paying the bill wholly. I’ve dated women who assumed they’d pay nothing. Often it reflects who has spare money, not anything more political or profound than that.

Of course there are women who go for money, but they’re the minority. The best thing you can do is learn how to identify undesirable traits like that and actively look out for them when you meet someone.

So you can't dismiss men's concerns then can you?

That's the only point I'm making.

I know you and all your friends are the perfect females Lainey, doesn't give you the right to dismiss mens concerns left right and centre.

You really need to look at your attitude towards men if you're ever going to move on in life.

What, because I can't live and enjoy my life without a man? :confused:

There's no need to get snide with the poster, she's making a valid point.

I associate with lovely people. Doesn't mean I don't know any of the princess types mentioned above. I know quite a few of them, who want the romance of being wined and dined without reciprocating.

Unfortunately, there are plenty of women like that. There are men like that too though. My ex LOVED that i was the type of woman where if I saw something in the shops and knew he'd like it, I'd surprise him with it, and I'd happily pull out my purse for dates.

Unfortunately that turned into him always being broke despite earning nearly triple my salary, never reciprocating, and eventually having me pay for absolutely everything :pac:

There are plenty of that type of person in any gender, but it does seem far more common amongst women in my experience. Any other guy i dated was very happy to go dutch and occasionally treat me, thankfully.

Reading this thread makes me kind of glad I'm single tbh. Between men who want revenge on a flirtation, groping and money grabbing, it seems far easier to be single these days :pac:

Are they not the really, really goodlooking ones who get away with it because they're so hot that men will put up with it for the chance of a ride? The same way that the best looking men get away with awful behaviour? Because they can? I really don't believe it's representative.

I’ve dated women who insisted on paying the bill wholly. I’ve dated women who assumed they’d pay nothing. Often it reflects who has spare money, not anything more political or profound than that.

Of course there are women who go for money, but they’re the minority. The best thing you can do is learn how to identify undesirable traits like that and actively look out for them when you meet someone.

I don't think it's remotely acceptable for any adult to expect an adult to pay for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭chuchuchu

Actaully that happens quiet often so much so they invented a word for it called 'sneating'.

her.ie/life/sneating-new-dating-trend-nobody-ever-ever-443471

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

This thread just reeks of Incels and MGTOW nonsense.

Lots of blaming women, society, porn and everything else. Maybe if you're getting rejected a lot, you're the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Who says?

I don't think I've ever met a woman who expected to be showered with gifts and dinner. Who are these people? :confused:

I've never encountered it in my relationship's. But I see it with work colleagues and friends of my misses.

A work colleague of mine would say some nasty things about a man not paying for diner

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Sonics2k wrote: »

Lots of blaming women, society, porn and everything else. Maybe if you're getting rejected a lot, you're the problem.

Sure that can me be the point. But I once got ridiculed for asking a girl if it would be ok to kiss her. She laughed at me, and made a remark that asking her that was strange...that would be sexual assault these days. Sometimes it's impossible

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

Guys always start talking about feminism as you are finishing dessert and the bill is called.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

I think there's plenty of men and women who've had sh*tty experiences with the opposite sex.

I wouldn't be so quick to pin everything on the lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

888.jpg

MGTOW sounds like a bad reality TV programme.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I think there's plenty of men and women who've had sh*tty experiences with the opposite sex.

There's a whiff of both misogyny and misandry from some posters here.

I think the discussion has been good though and I appreciate the responses. Think men not having as much interest in relationships and increasingly preferring being single has definitely played a part.

I mean if men really wanted sex, and actually bother to put some effort in, they could get it, but alas I don't think a lot of millennial men do, and fair play to them if that's how they prefer to live their lives.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Sure that can me be the point. But I once got ridiculed for asking a girl if it would be ok to kiss her. She laughed at me, and made a remark that asking her that was strange...that would be sexual assault these days. Sometimes it's impossible

Here's where I think 'me too' is problematic, fwiw.

The guys who were rapey and entitled before are still rapey and entitled, because they don't recognise themselves as such and think it doesn't apply to them. This is the type who thinks 'me too' is a load of bollix and women are overreacting. They never see themselves as the predators they are.

The guys who were never rapey and entitled have taken in all this 'me too' stuff and are now absolutely petrified of being inappropriate when they never really had any reason to worry. These guys are the ones who are afraid to make any kind of a move in case it isn't welcome. I've seen it with my own eyes. Guys who would have reached to hold hands or gone in for a kiss a few years back now wait for the woman to make the first move. And if she doesn't, nothing happens.

I think 'me too' is along the same lines as the drink driving shock tactic ads on the telly. Those who are horrified by them would never do it and those who need them sneer at them and think they don't apply to them. This is the same thing.

I've had quite a few lads ask if they can kiss me over the last while, and I found it a bit odd, but sweet. Otherwise people just tend to go in slowly after building up some physical contact (hand on knee, brushing arm, etc.) and give you plenty of time to say if you don't want it. I've had men in the past literally grab my head out of nowhere and stick their tongue down my throat - THAT is verging on assault. I don't think you need to worry about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭el diablo

Hypergamy.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

el diablo wrote: »
    Hypergamy.

I'll take "words that incels say" for 500, Alex.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

I mean, without context on asking her that, what do you want me to say? For all I know she was some random in a club, in which case her response is totally fair.

Yup, people have had bad experiences, but there's still a whiff of the incel or angry lads coming from this thread. I never pinned anything on the lads, I just pointed out the comments in here have a certain tone to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,277 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I'm starting to wonder if some of you people ever actually leave the house.

I'm starting to wonder if you have ever written a post that doesn't include the words "I" or "me"...

It's a discussion forum where people post about their own experiences. What word do you want me to use?

From the last few posts
    I mean, without context on asking her that, what do you want me to say? For all I know she was some random in a club, in which case her response is totally fair.
    I'll take "words that incels say" for 500, Alex.
    I mean if men really wanted sex, and actually bother to put some effort in, they could get it, but alas I don't think a lot of millennial men do, and fair play to them if that's how they prefer to live their lives.

Really grasping at straws, aren't you?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,277 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It's a discussion forum

That part is correct. Strangely enough though, some people can discuss topics without constantly talking about themselves.

No doubt of course that you personally will know loads of people who say otherwise.

That part is correct. Strangely enough though, some people can discuss topics without constantly talking about themselves.

No doubt of course that you personally will know loads of people who say otherwise.

It's called relating to the topic.

Yeah, let's just talk about why a record number of young people are single, and not mention our own experiences, or those of anyone we know. Let's just hypothesise based on....nothing.

Got it.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Spleerbun

:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Telling a 30 year old virgin that sex is not all it's cracked up to be is like telling a man on starvation rations that sirloin steak is overrated.

Welcome to boards!

Interesting that you've decided to make your first post about my virginity.

Surprisingly yes, some of us get by ok, at least we have self combusted just yet. The option of paying for it is always there but I've never felt comfortable about doing so.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

I don't think it's remotely acceptable for any adult to expect an adult to pay for them.

Have you ever decided to pay for something for someone else ?

Without them having to feel like they owe you something ?