Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

PressRun wrote: »
    Bout time Darren Coen was taken off. A day to forget for him, unfortunately, from the sounds of things.

Wouldn’t agree with that at all, he had his man bate up a stick, won all but one ball that went into him

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

And breathe 🤘🤘😝😝😂
    What a win. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

Green&Red wrote: »
    Wouldn’t agree with that at all, he had his man bate up a stick, won all but one ball that went into him

I think the reality is somewhere in between
    End of the day he did win a lot of backlash but scored nothing

If we are looking for a score to win an AI I would not have much confidence bringing him on to get it .
    Cillian can’t come back soon enough

On a positive note I have doubted Bolands physicality for the last few years but he stood up well today
    And brings a different dimension to our attack with his kick passing
    A genuine option now
    Pity mcdonagh was injured

Regan - waste of time for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

km79 wrote:
    On a positive note I have doubted Bolands physicality for the last few years but he stood up well today And brings a different dimension to our attack with his kick passing A genuine option now Pity mcdonagh was injured
    Carr was a key to the come back. Thought he was unlucky to be taken off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

km79 wrote:
    Regan - waste of time for me

Did he even touch the ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Did he even touch the ball?

Pretty sure he was involved in the run up to Treacys goal, part of the bit of keep ball at that stage. He might have kicked a shot wide too. Aside from that I didn’t think he did too badly. He didn’t have the same impact as his club mate to be honest!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

Stoner wrote: »

I’d say he had run out of legs
    Huge occasion for him

He has certainly provided another option in attack

It’s all very well lads doing it in the FBD but when chips were down in Croke Park he delivered

That’s what i want to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭Blackjack

km79 wrote: »
    I’d say he had run out of legs
    Huge occasion for him

He has certainly provided another option in attack

It’s all very well lads doing it in the FBD but when chips were down in Croke Park he delivered

That’s what i want to see

This. He certainly didn’t look like a lad who you’d wonder about his place on the panel. Proved his worth there today I thought. Perhaps unlucky not to have been awarded a penalty at one stage.

So who do we think will be the championship panel. Let's cap it at 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Let's drink 30 pints instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Congratulations Mayo, well done.

Why wasn’t David Clarke involved, injured?

Yip injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,402 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Huge congrats from a Waterford fan

Stayed on too watch the football today and loved it. Some passion from fans. I swear too God I thought a mayo guy near me was going too burst out of himself screaming and shouting. A cup win in Croke Park is massive and hopefully it's the start of something bigger for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

His sister got married yesterday AFAIK which could explain his absence. Slingermann looks about 50

Really impressed with Carr, he’s a big lad, strong runner, not an easy match to get ur first start in

Donie was by far the worst Mayo performer I thought.

Very impressed with Horan, stuck with his policy of hacking a few young lads every game and when it was in the mixer he brought on young lads as well. Tactically got it spot on. Maybe he’s learned from his first period

Green&Red wrote:
    Very impressed with Horan, stuck with his policy of hacking a few young lads every game and when it was in the mixer he brought on young lads as well. Tactically got it spot on. Maybe he’s learned from his first period

People weren't thinking or saying that at halftime though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Guy from Clare here was delighted ye Got yer win today at least for the fans travelling each match fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

There was 44 thousand in croker today and I'd say 40 thousand of them from mayo. The place erupted when we finally got our hands on silverware in croke park. Let's hope that the monkey is off the back now and we can push on and lift Big Sam in August. There's another title run in this team and they can beat any of the big boys. Dublin are no shakes this year. This was one of the best games of football I've seen since the dublin mayo finals of 16 and 17. The sport isn't dead yet.

Special mentions to moran and lee keegan. But Lads , as a servant of Mayo, no man more deserving of a winners medal today than aidan O shea. An absolute colossus of a man, the roman gladiator of the West. He has gone to the well many times for this county and once more again today he came up trumps. He will get his hands on a celtic cross I've no doubt. The boys will be rocking in West port for the week to blow off the steam and then they'll be back at it full kilter to banish the ghosts, Bury the curse and raise the big one at long last. Maigheo Abu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Stoner wrote: »

Yeah I thought he did really well. Kicked a super point of his left, then won a mark and kicked it over with the right. Mattie Ruane looks like a veteran in midfield already. Crazy how he didn't even get a look in last year.

RedDevil55 wrote:
    Mattie Ruane looks like a veteran in midfield already. Crazy how he didn't even get a look in last year.

I think possibly he wasn't really mentally ready to give the necessary commitment. Also he seemed to be constantly carrying some form of injury until mid last year.

Commitment definitely not an issue. He has been unfortunate with injuries these past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭Panrich

Plenty to add to the players who were togged today.

Cillian, McDonagh, Hanley and Durcan for a start will add even more competition up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I don't know about you guys but the manner of winning this title is the most pleasing thing - to bury a goal at the death to seal the win is a real sign of a killer instinct.

Super team, great supporters and now we need to win connaught and sam. It will be the best year since never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭kerry37

kerry37 wrote: »
    Delighted to see Mayo get there today. Love a good Kerry v Mayo battle in croker. Looking forward to it.

And a good battle it was. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,038 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Well done to Mayo. Fully deserved.

We were saying on the way home, in this decade there has been some cracking games between us in Croker. From the semi final in 2011 to the League semi final (extra time game), to the drawn semi finals it's been high octane, high scoring stuff in most of them.

Wouldn't be surprised if we see another one in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭irishgeo

great win. Finally. The joy on the faces of the lads was great. Lets keep it going. The break last summer might be the best thing ever.

I had a guy screaming in my ear" let it in" for the whole of the first half. Then he nearly lost his mind when someone shot from distance in the second half and before the ball got near the posts. What a waste , why did he shot from ...... Oh great score . I had a wry smile.

It's a much nicer trip home with a smile on your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

An absolute day to savour,have'nt tended to come along too often.

Too punch drunk with joy to elaborate further today.

Just watched the 2nd half there again, as you do before having to be up for the 5:30am train...

Who said they weren't bothered about the League??? :)
    Great to see so many great servants and young hopefuls leave Croke Park with silverware.

Hennelly first up for me. And delighted for him. We only lost 1 kick-out in that 2nd half and quite a few of his long bullets resulted in scores/great chances. With Ruane & O'Shea well able to field them, they're a launch pad for scores. Fantastic save from him in the final mins to add to high passing many high ball tests. My No.1 but I know others won't be as sure.

Defensively we were super in the 2nd half. Keegan was put on Stephen O'Brien for the third quarter. A great switch by Horan. Boyler went on him when he came on then but tbh I would have left Keegan there. For all the talk about their other forwards, O'Brien was the main dangerman today. Should probably name them all but it's late. Barrett didn't let size stop him keeping Walsh quiet. Walsh was a worry after Tralee but we got the matchup right.

Aidan & Mattie are forming a nice duo. Aidan has been a giant in this league campaign.

Diarmuid gave a real leaders role, those couple of points and the goal were the winning of it. Was really impressed with Carr, he'll be the real find of the League I feel despite leaving it late. His two points with either foot after HT set the tone and showed his class. He did everything right for his goal attempt just after, it was a great save.

Boland growing into it with every game. I don't see Coen challenging the starting 15 but he gives an option. Regan must be a superstar in training, couldn't believe it when he came on.

Way too late for this, many more deserving of mentions. We should have won easily given our dominance I felt. Plenty to still work at but if you said we'd have a league without Cillian and a few more a year ago, you'd be laughed at.

Hard luck to Kerry. They'll be back but work is needed at the back and in the gym tbh and that has been the story for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Is it likely TG4 will put the full match on their player? Would love to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

PressRun wrote: »
    Is it likely TG4 will put the full match on their player? Would love to watch it.

It's up there now. I just watched it despite having to be up for work in 5 hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

PARlance wrote: »
    Just watched the 2nd half there again, as you do before having to be up for the 5:30am train...

Who said they weren't bothered about the League??? :)
    Great to see so many great servants and young hopefuls leave Croke Park with silverware.

Hennelly first up for me. And delighted for him. We only lost 1 kick-out in that 2nd half and quite a few of his long bullets resulted in scores/great chances. With Ruane & O'Shea well able to field them, they're a launch pad for scores. Fantastic save from him in the final mins to add to high passing many high ball tests. My No.1 but I know others won't be as sure.

Defensively we were super in the 2nd half. Keegan was put on Stephen O'Brien for the third quarter. A great switch by Horan. Boyler went on him when he came on then but tbh I would have left Keegan there. For all the talk about their other forwards, O'Brien was the main dangerman today. Should probably name them all but it's late. Barrett didn't let size stop him keeping Walsh quiet. Walsh was a worry after Tralee but we got the matchup right.

Aidan & Mattie are forming a nice duo. Aidan has been a giant in this league campaign.

Diarmuid gave a real leaders role, those couple of points and the goal were the winning of it. Was really impressed with Carr, he'll be the real find of the League I feel despite leaving it late. His two points with either foot after HT set the tone and showed his class. He did everything right for his goal attempt just after, it was a great save.

Boland growing into it with every game. I don't see Coen challenging the starting 15 but he gives an option. Regan must be a superstar in training, couldn't believe it when he came on.

Way too late for this, many more deserving of mentions. We should have won easily given our dominance I felt. Plenty to still work at but if you said we'd have a league without Cillian and a few more a year ago, you'd be laughed at.

Hard luck to Kerry. They'll be back but work is needed at the back and in the gym tbh and that has been the story for a while now.

Agree with everything except for the bit sbout keegan and stephen obrein. Even though he wasnt great in the 2nd half,clifford absolutely scared the ****e out of me anytime he got the ball. So dangerous, but it would have nullified keegan if he was put back.

Big players stood up today, aos, higgins, hennely, diarmuid. When the game was in the melting pot, they stood up and were counted
    Aidan was foolish for the red though.

One of the best moments in CP in years. Atmosphere was terrific