Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

We showed great character to turn that around. Defended like dogs when the going was tough and the likes of Diarmuid stepped up when we needed leaders in the second half. Delighted to see the lads celebrating at the end. Here's to a promising summer ahead, that will do us all the world of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ok, whoever the dickhead steward is who wouldn't let Tom Parsons onto the pitch, he should never be let do a game in Croke Park ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Ok, whoever the dickhead steward is who wouldn't let Tom Parsons onto the pitch, he should never be let do a game in Croke Park ever again.

Saw that on Twitter. Bad form. A mate at the match said Paddy Durcan was giving the steward an earful. I'd have done the same myself if I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

km79 wrote: »
    Bar the one he should have caught easily and punched leading to a point and nervousness for rest of game ?
    He is 21 yards out . Not under the crossbar .Why is he even attempting to punch it
    And isn’t kicking his frees

No thanks
    I’ll stick with the double all star keeper who “only “ commands his box and saves shots thanks

Change your mind? Hon Mayo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

PressRun wrote: »
    Saw that on Twitter. Bad form. A mate at the match said Paddy Durcan was giving the steward an earful. I'd have done the same myself if I was there.

This country doesnt do 'common sense' very well.

ProudDUB wrote: »

That was embarrassing alright but some of these lads doing security in Croke Park haven't a clue. Not GAA men anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

My god can’t believe it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭sliabh 1956

Those stewarts have no cop on maye Mayo should have had Parsons inside on the bench with the subs. The second coming of Kerry is not what we have been led to beleve they are quite ordinary even after Mayo gifted them two Goals If Mayo had lost Shamie would have been savaged what a brain thing to do . Then after the match he is up in the stand kissing his partner . Great man for the limelight is our
    Shamie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭lillielad

I am absolutely buzzing for you guys, savage team over the last few years and never let up!! new additions like Raune and Boland have been brilliant too!! Congrats lads you deserve this more than most.

Seen the steward clip myself absolutely scandalous!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,914 ✭✭✭statto25

Those stewarts have no cop on maye Mayo should have had Parsons inside on the bench with the subs. The second coming of Kerry is not what we have been led to beleve they are quite ordinary even after Mayo gifted them two Goals If Mayo had lost Shamie would have been savaged what a brain thing to do . Then after the match he is up in the stand kissing his partner . Great man for the limelight is our
    Shamie.

His name is Aidan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭lillielad

Shamie.

This is a ridiculous comment....

Shamie.

"Shamie" wasn't playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

Shamie.

What ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭Panrich

Shamie.

A bit early to be this far gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭sliabh 1956

I absolutley agree with you Mayo for Sam and no body in the Country will begrudge ye. The greatest suporters in the Country by a mile and by God ye have travelled a few of them

Shamie.

Aidan you're on about? He was probably Mayo's player of the league and done well again today. Some people love to hate though.

That was embarrassing alright but some of these lads doing security in Croke Park haven't a clue. Not GAA men anyway.

Most of them aren't even Irish, never mind GAA people. In the stewards defense, he may not have known who Tom Parsons even is. If he's under orders to let no one on the pitch, then he's under orders. He's just doing his job. Still, the optics of it looked terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Proud for the lads. Delighted that Horan is in charge to witness it a long overdue national title. That 2nd half had everything that has defined this (and his IMHO) Mayo team since 2011.

Loved the way we finished it off :cool: We're not dead yet. Maigh Eo abú

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Proud for the lads. Delighted that Horan is in charge to witness it a long overdue national title.

Indeed, there seems to be something about Horan and this group. They seem to really relate to him and get confidence from his management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

PressRun wrote: »
    Indeed, there seems to be something about Horan and this group. They seem to really relate to him and get confidence from his management.

Hard tacking and running from deep. A simple but effective game plan. Great to see the hunger is still there.

Shamie.

Go home. You're drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Fantastic turnaround from a stale 1st half performance.
    The half time team talk definitely worked and a thoroughly deserved win.
    Fair play to Horan in using the bench at the right time .
    Onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

If we do win it they will have to go to plan B in the stadium
    No way I’ll be staying cusack side watching on the big screen like today !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Well done Mayo, delighted to see ye win. Great to see ye win it playing a great second half after Kerry seemed to changed their tactics. I was sitting besides an elderly Mayo man whose joy at the end was beautiful to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭thesultan

The introduction of youth has reaped a great injection into this Mayo team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭thesultan

The introduction of youth has reaped a great injection into this Mayo team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Hon Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Brilliant stuff. I didn't want to build it up too much beforehand, but it would have been a disaster if we lost another final. I thought we dominated the game even in the 1st half.

Hopefully a good summer coming up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

What a win. And they deserve it. I was really impressed with Fergal Boland. He is a real workhorse on the pitch. Lots of potential there with these new lads. And we finally seem to have a decent subs bench. I thought Moran was great when he came on.
    This will buoy them going forward, and rightly so.
    I also get the impression that some of the Kerry forwards weren't willing to take a chance for a point. And I'm convinced that there's more brawn than brains going on with Tommy Walsh.

I'd love to see the game stats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Those stewarts have no cop on maye Mayo should have had Parsons inside on the bench with the subs. The second coming of Kerry is not what we have been led to beleve they are quite ordinary even after Mayo gifted them two Goals If Mayo had lost Shamie would have been savaged what a brain thing to do . Then after the match he is up in the stand kissing his partner . Great man for the limelight is our Shamie.

What a stupid and brainless comment.