Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overrated burger restaurants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Jayferg

Got 5 burgers in my local butchers earlier. Better quality meat and tastes better than any burger I've got in some sh**y overpriced h*****r burger bar. People queueing up for crap just to say they did. Bunch of w*****s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Jayferg wrote: »
    Got 5 burgers in my local butchers earlier. Better quality meat and tastes better than any burger I've got in some sh**y overpriced h*****r burger bar. People queueing up for crap just to say they did. Bunch of w*****s

Jesus you're angry, and because somebody you don't know eats in a place you don't like? That's odd...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

Tried 5 Guys Burgers and I don't get the hype. Seems to be another case or Krispy Kreme hysteria - people who somehow got fixated on a US brand while on their J1 and then it doesn't taste the same at all when it's taken out of context of a mad summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭cocaliquid

Anteayer wrote: »
    Tried 5 Guys Burgers and I don't get the hype. Seems to be another case or Krispy Kreme hysteria - people who somehow got fixated on a US brand while on their J1 and then it doesn't taste the same at all when it's taken out of context of a mad summer.

If the first legal weed cafe opening up in Dublin. There would be no hysteria like this. Makes you wonder whats in them to make people act like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭bassy

harry ramsden :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭cocaliquid

Jayferg wrote: »

The type of people who queue up for the latest apple phone. Makes me happy i am not one of them. If i see a big queue i just come back in hour or two when it not busy in everyday life.Get something to eat or go read a newspaper while having a coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

travist wrote: »

If people believed newspaper reviews (or any reviews tbh) wed never eat anywhere and never listen to any music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,738 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Bunsen have opened their fifth store in...Barcelona.

Walked past it the other day a few days into the soft opening and there wasn't a soul in the place. Charging exact same price as Dublin which might hurt them over here.

Would have thought Galway would have been a safer, more logical choice.

Bunsen have opened their fifth store in...Barcelona.

Walked past it the other day a few days into the soft opening and there wasn't a soul in the place. Charging exact same price as Dublin which might hurt them over here.

Would have thought Galway would have been a safer, more logical choice.

Explains why here

https://fora.ie/bunsen-burger-barcelona-open-4566558-Mar2019/

Zaph wrote: »
    Well I hope it's better than the one in Cork, that was one of the worst burgers I've had anywhere over the last few years.

:eek: coqbull is one of my favorite places to eat when in cork! Savage burgers!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Maurice Yeltsin

vicwatson wrote: »
    If you are talking about Borzas this was closed down, is it back open?

This would have been up to about June 2018 as I was working nearby for a few months.

Strange that it closed, you'd think in the cities at least a chipper would never go out of business unless it was serving up dire food. Maybe poshos just dont do chippers, there certainly seems to be less of them about in better off areas.

In hindsight it was never particularly busy at lunchtime save for a few workers on lunch, most of them would be rammed with schoolkids on lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭DaSchmo

5 Guys is far and away the most over priced and over rated place I have eaten in Dublin. I have left feeling ripped off and disappointed a couple of times and can safely say I won't be back.

If in town then it's got a be Wowburger or Bunsen

The best of the lot is Box Burger in Bray though, well worth the trip out there.

Did you ever read the story of how yer man Gleeson set out to create Bunsen?

He’s a chef. He spent around a year travelling the world with a view to researching and putting together the ultimate burger. They mince high quality meat on site daily (hence the ability to serve rarer). The bun is a specific Jewish type of bread he found in New York. He piggy-backed Heston Blumenthal’s work on the optimum type of cheese. I could go on.

So for someone to say “ah my chipper is better” is just patently ridiculous. It isn’t. How can a cheap processed patty made in some factory for the lowest price possible be better?

It’s up there with “I hear ya with your Charlize Theron being good in the scratcher, but Angela Merkel is really the one for me”

Depends on the mood really.

I'd probably eat the artisan burgers no more than 5 or 6 times per year.
    I'd get one in the chipper maybe twice per month. Twice per month in BK or McD as well.

Sometimes I prefer a pizza from a chipper or an artisan, sometimes there's something delicious about the mass produced blandness of a Dominos.

All depends on the mood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Basically if the meat isn't pink inside cooked to medium, it's not worth eating. Burgers and steaks are the same.

cocaliquid wrote: »
    The type of people who queue up for the latest apple phone. Makes me happy i am not one of them. If i see a big queue i just come back in hour or two when it not busy in everyday life.Get something to eat or go read a newspaper while having a coffee.

Do people still queue for new iPhones?

I remember back around 2012 or so and people used to proudly announce their order on the way on their Facebook, or ask their friends for advice on what colour to go for.

I'd struggle to think of anything more naff and unfashionable to do in 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

this thread should be in the dublin forum.i havent heard of any of these places bar mcds.they must be all in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

this thread should be in the dublin forum.i havent heard of any of these places bar mcds.they must be all in dublin.

Already done

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057880971

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭storker

Eddie Rockets. Last time I was in there I didn't order a burger, but I did go for the hot dog and was expecting something really nice. I would have produced a better hot dog in 5 minutes in my own kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Chili shack was mentioned. If you want to suggest places outside Dublin nobody is stopping you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Bunsen and Eddie Rockets are outside Dublin.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,235 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Then start your own thread on the most overrated snack boxs and ham sandwichs!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭TomasMacR

Then start your own thread on the most overrated snack boxs and ham sandwichs!

Supermacs (nationwide), dingy, dour bogger littered GAA jersey sporting inbreds with a waft of cowshįte coming off them. Poisonous atmosphere of semi comatose lads battling to get to the top of the queue after their daily staple of 12 pints of Smithwicks to get one of the most foul tasting, mayonnaise soaked, soggy miserable looking burgers imaginable. Best avoided.

TomasMacR wrote: »
    Supermacs (nationwide), dingy, dour bogger littered GAA jersey sporting inbreds with a waft of cowshįte coming off them. Poisonous atmosphere of semi comatose lads battling to get to the top of the queue after their daily staple of 12 pints of Smithwicks to get one of the most foul tasting, mayonnaise soaked, soggy miserable looking burgers imaginable. Best avoided.

Proud sponsors of Galway gaa and home of the real big mac!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 TaitsClock

Crock Rock wrote: »
    They are usually frequented by hipsters who pay €50 for a burger where you'd get a much nicer one in the chipper.

The last one I went to (which was my first and final visit to such an establishment) didn't even have regular salt! They had some ghastly yellow powder which only tasted remotely salty and had a weird aftertaste.
    Thank God I tasted a bit from the back of my hand before lacing it on my chips.

im guessing the yellow powder was 'aromat'....havnt had it in years but used to love it on top of a slice of bread with butter. and on chips :D
    Ill have to keep an eye out for it on my next shop!!

TaitsClock wrote: »
    im guessing the yellow powder was 'aromat'....havnt had it in years but used to love it on top of a slice of bread with butter. and on chips :D

Me ma used to be obsessed with that stuff years ago when her sister brought it over from Switzerland!

Soooo fecking salty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

TaitsClock wrote: »

MSG laden crap, I used to love it when I was younger though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭Shred

I think 5 Guy's is delish tbh. I love the burger and the fries - which are a huge portion. Is it expensive, definitely, but it's worth it every once in a while imo. As such, I've had it three times in 2 years - once in Dundrum, once in Belfast and 9 days ago from the George's street branch. The bottom line is it's just a Burger joint, it's not going to change your life. People absolutely go over the top about it and it seems like it's 'cool' to slag it off :rolleyes:

Following recommendations on another thread I went to give Chili Shack a go on Friday at lunchtime and arrived to find a queue of at least 15 people! We popped down to Generator instead and it was reasonably nice but nothing mind blowing (the chips were cold too).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I've had 5 Guys in several US States & always enjoyed it.

Been to the Dundrum branch twice & both times the patty tasted as if it'd been reheated, which I doubt. Discernibly different taste to the product here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Eddie Rockets has gone down hill alright. The burgers have gotten slightly smaller, not as nice.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

dudara wrote: »
    No point in debating with you. You don’t seem willing to consider that burgers could be more than fast food aka McD’s, BK.

They aren't gourmet. It's a sandwich with a cooked filling.