Personal injury claims closing Playcentres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Boggles wrote: »
    Absolutely. I never suggested there wasn't.

But that data you referenced over a 9-10 year period does not go next to near explaining a 300% increase in 12 months.

If I got the increase of 300% I would assume they have to give me an offer but don't want to insure me anymore. I'm sure they did their risk assessment of the area and decided it's not worth it. I think kids also have longer time frame to claim so that increases the risk too.

We had no claims in last five years, and one for 8000 in last 10 years. We were told our insurer doesn't want to offer insurance in the sector we are in. They were London based consortium, years before you could get quotes from Quinn or similar. If I remember correctly haven't seen an offer from Irish insurer since Quinn went bust and it's increasingly harder and more expensive to find outside insurers. Best offer our usual broker could find was 100% increase and 6000 excess. In the end we did get another one which was cheaper from broker who deals with more companies in our sector but it wasn't easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

meeeeh wrote: »
    Just to make it clear that was only my speculation but there is some data to support that number of claims and awards are increasing. ...

The insurance companies and the legal system work together to make it easier to settle rather than prosecute fraudulent and frivolous claims. This has created a claim culture with whole groups and families living off these claims.

Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If I got the increase of 300% I would assume they have to give me an offer but don't want to insure me anymore. I'm sure they did their risk assessment of the area and decided it's not worth it. I think kids also have longer time frame to claim so that increases the risk too.

Is that statute of limitation longer for children? I'm not so sure. I imagine the payouts are probably largely for children.

But even still they didn't just come to this stark realization.

But you are spot on they didn't want to insure them for their own reasons.

So it wasn't fraud, or the legal profession or soft claims exclusively that closed this business it was the insurance companies ultimately.

Personally I don't think that should be allowed happen.

The whole industry needs to be torn apart and built back up again, that includes all the players, for me they are all as culpable as each other.

I would start with motor insurance and regulate it within an inch of it's life, how a private industry can clusterfook a "product" that is illegal not to have is pretty unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭sdraobs

Anyone question that the insurance was the actual reason playcentres are closing down?

i know the one in rathfarnham used to have free parking, now you have to pay. it put alot of people off going there as it was in a bad location in rathfarnham village. most centres are in industrial estates with loads of parking and less traffic. the one in rathfarnham had to offer deals on groupon type sites to get some business. i have my doubts that the reason is insurance that they had to close.

its a bad time for playcentres, they were empty last summer because of the hot weather.

Saying all that they are great, so i hope they dont disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Is that statute of limitation longer for children? I'm not so sure. I imagine the payouts are probably largely for children.

But even still they didn't just come to this stark realization.

But you are spot on they didn't want to insure them for their own reasons.

So it wasn't fraud, or the legal profession or soft claims exclusively that closed this business it was the insurance companies ultimately.

Personally I don't think that should be allowed happen.

The whole industry needs to be torn apart and built back up again, that includes all the players, for me they are all as culpable as each other.

I would start with motor insurance and regulate it within an inch of it's life, how a private industry can clusterfook a "product" that is illegal not to have is pretty unique.

Well you can't force insurance companies to operate at a loss. And whew insurance constantly opertes at a loss taxpayer will end up covering the losess with another insurance levy as we do for Quinn.

I'm certainly not excusing insurance providers and I do think they get away with murder. But reforming insurance sector without reforming how claims are processed and without limiting awards will not achieve anything. They will just leave the market or go bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

beauf wrote: »
    The insurance companies and the legal system work together to make it easier to settle rather than prosecute fraudulent and frivolous claims. This has created a claim culture with whole groups and families living off these claims.

Well done.

It depends on the insurance companies and the entity being sued. CIE aggressively contest every claim and Aviva have been to the forefront of challenging car injury claims. Others seem to work on the basis that the cost of settling is worth it. Unfortunately it is that which emboldens some to try their hand at a claim. The legal system IMO is just as culpable in all of it as there is far too much money to be made.

Well you can't force insurance companies to operate at a loss.

I never suggested you would.

But no private company has the god given right to operate at X profit and if they can't do it with a product that is illegal not to have, serious questions need to be asked.

When you hear the Industry having a moan, it's always about increased premiums and never are taking a hit on profits mentioned.

Maybe if excessive claims started hitting their profits, the culture may change.

But like has been suggested early, it's the legal industry and insurance industry that is causing this, with pretty ineffective governance stuck in the middle being lobbied to death by both.

Of course the insurance industry bang the fraud drum which gives them the excuse to squeeze the títs of the vast majority of customers who are not fraudsters.

It's pretty easy fix, there is no appetite to fix it though. We have allowed them free reign and they have made an absolute bollix of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/men-behind-failed-60000-injury-claims-concocted-plan-to-win-the-lotto-37961429.html

Judge Groarke said Masterson, himself a 32-year-old taximan of Dorset Street, Flats, Dublin, had told the court he was “so overwhelmed” by the collision he was unable to get out of the vehicle, while Deane, a 35-year-old painter, of Saint Mary’s Place, Dorset Street, had been unable to get out because he was “in panic” following the minimal contact accident.
    Judge Groarke said Mr O’Leary, “who is a sensible man who did not pursue his claim,” had been “so overcome” he was unable to move in order to get out.
    The judge told barristers Helen McCarthy, for the taxi owner and driver, and Philip Fennel, for the Motor Insurance Bureau, that it was perfectly obvious from pictures they presented to court that there was no damage whatsoever to the back bumper of the rear-ended taxi.
    “The evidence from each of these two plaintiffs was of a rapidly reached agreement by all three passengers before gardaí and firemen arrived that they would concoct serious injuries which left them incapable of getting out of the car,” Judge Groarke said.
    He said each of the three men had similar type soft tissue injuries and none of them had been able to escape from the vehicle notwithstanding the noise and upset of firemen cutting off the roof.
    “This is as bad a story as I have ever heard concocted and really amounts to deceit and fraud,” Judge Groarke said. “There is no question of these three men having been so badly injured that they were physically incapable of getting out of the car. I don’t believe it for one minute.”

Apparently there has been no prosecution of an individual for making a fraudulent claim and no solicitor has been ever disciplined for taking an obviously spurious case.
    Its likely nothing will happen these 3 chancers. They obviously took the case knowing it was worth a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

In the story I read the center had no accidents with children. Only a small one from an adult.

Is everyone's car insurance increasing because they aren't willing to spend enough to keep people safe.

What a bizarre argument.

Insurance is calculated primarily on the basis of risk, and increases in insurance are based upon a number of factors, including of course if an insurance company is paying out for more cases than previous years, and the cost of paying out for those cases is spread to everyone else who takes out insurance.

It’s the same for any business that they are required to have insurance, and there are a number of different types of insurance they can avail of, depending upon the type of business it is. For example in my own circumstances, I had to have professional indemnity insurance, and because of the type of occupation it was, my annual insurance premium wasn’t that expensive to provide up to €130k of cover if the worst were ever to happen. I was lucky the worst didn’t happen, but having insurance against it gave me peace of mind.

When it comes to providing insurance for any type of business where children are involved, the costs are much greater, precisely because there is a much greater risk of children being injured. It might never happen, but in case it does, it will be a relief to any business owner to know that they are insured, and the cost of an event which was reasonably foreseeable, actually won’t close them down -

Case in the UK, but a typical example of the type of injury that can happen to children in play centres which could have been foreseen and prevented had the owner paid due attention and care -

Accident at a play centre involving a young child £3,250

We acted for a delightful young man (aged only 3 at the time of his accident) who was playing in a soft play area in an adventure centre owned by a company in Swindon, when, he fell from the top of some padded steps, landing on some hard ground. In an attempt to break his fall, he fractured his left wrist. He had to be taken to hospital and a soft cast was applied and he had fully recovered from his injury within about 6 weeks of his accident. He also suffered some minor bruising to his face which also cleared up within a few weeks. No long term medical problems were anticipated. It was our case that:-

the duty owed to our client by the play centre was very high;

the steps in question were steep – it was likely that children might fall;

in light of this risk, the ground was too hard and this type of injury was foreseeable.

After sending a letter of claim to the owner of the play centre, their insurers made an early admission of liability which saved issuing personal injury proceedings and we were able to reach an early settlement. As our client is still a young child, the settlement needed to be approved by the Judge at Swindon County Court.

I’m not arguing that anyone can prevent anything they couldn’t reasonably have foreseen, I accept that there is a level of risk involved in allowing children to play in play centres, and people who choose to establish businesses where children are at risk on their premises, also have to accept that risk, and it is their responsibility to try and reduce that risk as much as possible so that their insurance premiums which are already very high, are lower, because of the lower risk to children.

If I don’t see the value in paying a business owner €8 an hour for the use of their facilities, I don’t see how business owners running play centres and charging a premium for their services, have any right to complain about the rising costs of doing business when they’re also being charged a premium by insurance companies who charge a premium for their services.

It’s like I said from the beginning of the thread - they’re a business, not a charity, and if they can’t afford to operate a business, then like anyone else, they have the choice to close down their business. It’s not insurance companies or the people they are offering their services to who are causing play centres to close down at all. In most compensation claims it is simply caused by the business owners own negligence, such as in this case -

Play centre worker awarded €32k for injuries suffered in slip and fall
    A FORMER part time worker in a children's play centre has been awarded €32,000 for injuries she sustained after she slipped and fell on a wet floor while at work.

The award was made to 26-year-old Stacy Lennon against "Fun Fitness Ltd", Total Fitness Complex, Sandyford, Co Dublin, on October 29, 2011.

The company has since gone into liquidation.

The company's defence was struck out in May of last year and Ms Lennon had already secured a judgment in default of an appearance by the defendant.

The case was before the court for an assessment of damages only.

The accident occurred after she was told by her manager to go to a disabled toilet and turn off a power switch for a hand drier.

When walking across the floor of the toilet, Ms Lennon, of St Fintan's Park, Deansgrange, Co Dublin, slipped on liquid on the floor and landed heavily on her left hand.

She sued for damages claiming her employer had been negligent and in breach of its duty by allowing the floor in the toilet to be wet.

There was also an alleged failure to provide her with a safe and proper system of work.

In dealing with an assessment of damages, Mr Justice Anthony Barr was satisfied the liquidator and the company's insurers had been given adequate notice of the hearing date and had clearly indicated their intention not to contest the proceedings.

The judge was satisfied she developed a condition known as carpal tunnel syndrome (CTS) in her left wrist as a result of the accident.

CTS is where the nerve in the wrist is damaged and the main symptoms are pain numbness and tingling which may extend up the arm. It can also result in the weakening of the grip and muscle damage.

Ms Lennon, who was a student at the time of the accident, was let go shortly after the accident because she was unable to work.

The injury, the judge said, was relatively severe in that she had to change college courses.

The injury had also limited her employment options after she qualified, he said. She currently works in marketing.

She was entitled to €32,000 damages plus her costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭jmreire

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/men-behind-failed-60000-injury-claims-concocted-plan-to-win-the-lotto-37961429.html

Judge Groarke said Masterson, himself a 32-year-old taximan of Dorset Street, Flats, Dublin, had told the court he was “so overwhelmed” by the collision he was unable to get out of the vehicle, while Deane, a 35-year-old painter, of Saint Mary’s Place, Dorset Street, had been unable to get out because he was “in panic” following the minimal contact accident.
    Judge Groarke said Mr O’Leary, “who is a sensible man who did not pursue his claim,” had been “so overcome” he was unable to move in order to get out.
    The judge told barristers Helen McCarthy, for the taxi owner and driver, and Philip Fennel, for the Motor Insurance Bureau, that it was perfectly obvious from pictures they presented to court that there was no damage whatsoever to the back bumper of the rear-ended taxi.
    “The evidence from each of these two plaintiffs was of a rapidly reached agreement by all three passengers before gardaí and firemen arrived that they would concoct serious injuries which left them incapable of getting out of the car,” Judge Groarke said.
    He said each of the three men had similar type soft tissue injuries and none of them had been able to escape from the vehicle notwithstanding the noise and upset of firemen cutting off the roof.
    “This is as bad a story as I have ever heard concocted and really amounts to deceit and fraud,” Judge Groarke said. “There is no question of these three men having been so badly injured that they were physically incapable of getting out of the car. I don’t believe it for one minute.”

Apparently there has been no prosecution of an individual for making a fraudulent claim and no solicitor has been ever disciplined for taking an obviously spurious case.
    Its likely nothing will happen these 3 chancers. They obviously took the case knowing it was worth a go.

So now what happen's? Who pay's the legal teams, on both sides?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 DogKidsHubby

Kids don't do enough exercise at school. They're bringing it in as a leaving cert subject I think, so that might help, though not if it is just the sporty kids that take it. Should be mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Well done.

I can assure you that Solicitors and Insurers have a mutual dislike of eachother and there is no way they collude as you suggest. Insurers see solicitors as leeches and solicitors see insurers as people who unjustly fight to deny their client's rights to claim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 43,006 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The solution to this problem is for play centres to get a solicitor to draft up a contact that must be signed before your kid is allowed in to play.

eagle eye wrote: »
    The solution to this problem is for play centres to get a solicitor to draft up a contact that must be signed before your kid is allowed in to play.

Their solicitor will likely advise them that waivers will not limit their liability if they are found to have been negligent in their duty of care towards the child. Essentially, those waivers? Not worth the paper they’re written on (or in online form either).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,131 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

eagle eye wrote: »

This is what happens where I live and it seems to work fine. It doesn't stop the places being packed every weekend.

Terms and Conditions don't absolve negligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,131 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Terms and Conditions don't absolve negligence.

Nor should they, if someone is injured as a direct result of the company not maintaining the equipment then fair enough, they should be liable. But someone just falling over while running or something, or while climbing somewhere they shouldn't be then the waiver should stop them getting compensation for that shouldn't it?

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Nor should they, if someone is injured as a direct result of the company not maintaining the equipment then fair enough, they should be liable. But someone just falling over while running or something, or while climbing somewhere they shouldn't be then the waiver should stop them getting compensation for that shouldn't it?

That wouldn't require a waiver, at least in this country.

Anyway there doesn't seem to be a problem with erroneous claims or claims at all in Play Houses.

As stated by an owner in the article she had 20,000 kids last year without incident, few bumps and cuts but no one sued.

It would appear they are a victim of the insurance industry trying to get out of the sports and activity market completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Judge Groarke, I like the cut of his jib

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 43,006 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

mikemac2 wrote:
    Judge Groarke, I like the cut of his jib
    Currently President of the Circuit Court. A great judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

It would appear they are a victim of the insurance industry trying to get out of the sports and activity market completely.

And if there was any profit to be made by 'greedy' insurers covering this market, why are they bailing out?

Truth is the claims are rising and when you are dealing with minors, you have as much chance of successfully defending a claim as Nigel Farage has of becoming EU President

And if there was any profit to be made by 'greedy' insurers covering this market, why are they bailing out?

Probably not enough profit being made.

It's hard to tell, I mean we are not dealing with the most transparent of industries.

Well done.

I can assure you that Solicitors and Insurers have a mutual dislike of eachother and there is no way they collude as you suggest. Insurers see solicitors as leeches and solicitors see insurers as people who unjustly fight to deny their client's rights to claim

I didn't say they are colluding. That's your inference. I'm saying their systems together act as a catalyst to encourage fraud. High costs, long delays and complicated process on one hand, means the other side looks for fast turn around and cheaper outcomes. All forgetting that in the long term this is detrimental to both industries.

It's only in recent years the insurance companies are starting to take action. They waited so long that it's putting their customers out of business and of the road. Or people deciding to go without insurance.

The pricing of both insurance and legal costs is a lottery. In both industries can a quote vary by vast sums. This is only possible if part of the process is a dice.

I didn't say they are colluding. That's your inference. I'm saying their systems together act as a catalyst to encourage fraud. High costs, long delays and complicated process on one hand, means the other side looks for fast turn around and cheaper outcomes. All forgetting that in the long term this is detrimental to both industries.

It's only in recent years the insurance companies are starting to take action. They waited so long that it's putting their customers out of business and of the road. Or people deciding to go without insurance.

I don’t see how it’s detrimental to both industries tbh. The thing that’s detrimental to the insurance industry is of course having to pay out for claims, but that’s their whole reason for existing in the first place - they take the risk that they will always take in more than they have to pay out in claims. It’s understandable that they too would complain that awards for personal injury compensation in this country are too high, because it’s eating into their profits.

On the bold part though, high insurance costs aren’t putting people out of business, nor are they forcing people to go without insurance. People themselves decide to go without insurance, and in the industry I was in which is an unregulated industry, there were numerous people operating illegitimate businesses, without insurance, offering their services to the public for much cheaper than I could. They were cutting costs and pocketing the profits directly without even being registered with Revenue for tax purposes, and if a member of the public suffered a loss as a result of their advice or their actions, they had no way of recovering their losses as a result of the person’s negligence.

Those types of illegitimate business owners are generally referred to as cowboys in any industry as they’re thinking only of themselves and lining their own pockets. I particularly detest the type of penny pincher who would put children at risk to save themselves a few quid and line their own pockets.

It's detrimental because it's caused an explosion in fraudulent claims. Costing everyone a fortune.

There's been no suggestion that any of these businesses with massive increases are due to illegal businesses. Sounds like victim blaming to me.

It's detrimental because it's caused an explosion in fraudulent claims. Costing everyone a fortune.

There's been no suggestion that any of these businesses with massive increases are due to illegal businesses. Sounds like victim blaming to me.

Nah, victim blaming would be suggesting that children are responsible when they are the victim of accidents caused by play centre owners negligence. I fully agree with you that fraudulent insurance claims cost everyone a fortune because insurance companies have to make up for the shortfall in their profits. Not for a minute do I think they would pass on the savings to customers if the book of quantum were revised (it’s only ever been used as a guideline anyway), and not for a minute do I think that play centre owners would pass on the savings to their customers - the parents or guardians of children who bring children to their play centres. If anything, their excuse will be “inflation”, even though the costs involved in any business involving children, when done properly have always been expensive.

It’s why people pay almost a third of their salary in childcare costs, not only because of high insurance costs, but the cost of employing qualified staff (as opposed to employing college students on minimum wage), and so many other costs involved in running a business and even breaking even before they can turn a profit. I’ve seen plenty of people go into the childcare business with the best of intentions and their hearts in the right place, but they just don’t have the business acumen required to run a profitable business while maintaining adequate health and safety standards - nice people, but I wouldn’t trust them with children’s welfare.

"We are now one of the most litigious countries in Europe"

"6% of all claims only make it to court"

"no longer insure dance classes or outdoor playgrounds and are considering not insuring sports"

Not fighting claims and lack of profitability due to those same claims being settled out of court. Is a self fulfilling prophecy.

That's the issue. For some reason this thread seems to have turned into a monologue about something else.

"We are now one of the most litigious countries in Europe"

"6% of all claims only make it to court"

"no longer insure dance classes or outdoor playgrounds and are considering not insuring sports"

Not fighting claims and lack of profitability due to those same claims being settled out of court. Is a self fulfilling prophecy.

That's the issue. For some reason this thread seems to have turned into a monologue about something else.