Personal injury claims closing Playcentres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,116 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

How the hell is it a contradiction to say that different factors apply in different circumstances? I’ve already pointed out to you that business owners do not have the same responsibilities as as parents, and vice versa, and same goes for any potential liability!

You didn’t sue the for your child’s injury, but so what? What’s that got to do with anyone else’s decision in their circumstances? They shouldn’t sue because you didn’t sue? Erm, I’m not sure what you’re looking for if I’m being honest, it’s not something I think is worthy of any congratulations. It’s entirely your own business. In the same way it would be another person’s business and entirely their responsibility if they decided to sue in the same circumstances.

It's relevant because you claimed that schools were preferable places for children to do sport in, and I'm asking why you think that. Do you think they're perfectly safe? They aren't, but that's because there is no such thing as zero risk for physical activity, contrary to your claim.

And no, why would I need praise from you or anyone here. The point is it happened, that's all. Because gymnastics is a dangerous sport. By your logic, it should not even be possible, or else you are applying different rules to schools as to private play centres. Why?

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

volchitsa wrote: »
    That's not what I said either. We weren't discussing whether schools needed more money as an absolute so do try not to wander off down other paths just because you've made an eejit of yourself, there a good chap.

I misinterpreted what you meant the first time, but that time, it’s exactly what you said!

On topic, the only question is, do you think that schools have (or could have) a zero risk policy for school sports activities? How would you see that working?

Spoofing. Because all irrelevant to the actual issue in the thread which is about whether insurance rates due to personal injury claims closing private companies down.

Second paragraph contradicts the first. This is clearly going nowhere when you’re telling me not to wander down other paths, then wander off down another path yourself, then tell me your own wandering down another path is irrelevant. How the fcuk is anyone supposed to keep up with that? I’m done trying tbh.

I misinterpreted what you meant the first time, but that time, it’s exactly what you said!
    No clue what you mean here. You went off on some weird personal rant about parents not being willing to pay for swimming classes for children, and I have no idea how that related to my points. Now you're trying to tell me I'm wrong and that it was somehow relevant, but it wasn't. Can we keep at least vaguely on the topic here?
    Second paragraph contradicts the first. This is clearly going nowhere when you’re telling me not to wander down other paths, then wander off down another path yourself, then tell me your own wandering down another path is irrelevant. How the fcuk is anyone supposed to keep up with that? I’m done trying tbh.
    No it doesn't. You brought in schools as being suitable places for children to do sports in, but your suggestions as to how this would happen are impracticable even by your own admission.

And they still don't address the issue of how you would avoid children getting injured while playing or doing sport, which is, let us remember the only way in which school sports are relevant here.

If you can't answer that point - and it seems you can't - then your point about schools being suitable alternatives to play centres fails, and you should accept that.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

No clue what you mean here. You went off on some weird personal rant about parents not being willing to pay for swimming classes for children, and I have no idea how that related to my points. Now you're trying to tell me I'm wrong and that it was somehow relevant, but it wasn't. Can we keep at least vaguely on the topic here?

We can try I suppose, which would make what you’ve written beneath it irrelevant to the discussion, which leaves us with this then from your earlier post -

the actual issue in the thread which is about whether insurance rates due to personal injury claims closing private companies down.

Personal injury claims aren’t closing businesses down. Businesses close down because their proprietors are unwilling to spend the money required to reduce the risk to children’s health and safety while at the same time charging a premium rate for the use of their facilities. In those cases, I don’t have any issue whatsoever with a business which is established with the intent of providing entertainment for children closing down when they’re putting their own profits before children’s welfare.

We can try I suppose, which would make what you’ve written beneath it irrelevant to the discussion, which leaves us with this then from your earlier post -

Personal injury claims aren’t closing businesses down. Businesses close down because their proprietors are unwilling to spend the money required to reduce the risk to children’s health and safety while at the same time charging a premium rate for the use of their facilities. In those cases, I don’t have any issue whatsoever with a business which is established with the intent of providing entertainment for children closing down when they’re putting their own profits before children’s welfare.

More unfounded claims from you. You claimed that zero risk was possible when it self evidently isn't. That being so, any company that doesn't achieve the little impossible aim you set it is "putting their own profits before children’s welfare" - because they could spend 100% of their takings, never mind their profits, on safety and still have a child who gets injured.

Your example of supposedly zero risk policies actually included deaths among professional employees, yet you claim to think children can be stopped from ever getting even a scratch.

They can't, so all those places will never fulfill your requirements for safety.
    That's a loss to children, and your solution to that is regimented running around a field - oh, and a rant about (other) parents.

Nah, it's still a pathetic argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

It is a very difficult country to run a successful business in, with the high cost of insurance, energy, high taxes etc. Few people working in such enterprises would enjoy public service levels of pay, pensions, security etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

Gone are the days of playgrounds with tarmacadam, broken glass and lots of laughs.

There wasn't a week that passed without someone falling off a swing and getting 4 stitches and wearing those 4 stitches into school as a badge of honour.

Even better status if you fell off the top of the monkey bars and hit every bar on the way down.

Oh it was great times, living on the edge and having a happy fearless childhood....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Maurice Yeltsin

JMNolan wrote: »
    Rest assured OP, the only thing we'll do about this is to vote the same shower of fools into the Dáil again to ensure nothing changes

That's a bit paradoxical.

I'm assuming you think the answer is to vote for one of SF, PBP/ Solidarity.

Yet if you got the names of 100 persistent nuisance claimants, and isolated those claimants that vote in general elections, I guarantee the vast majority, in fact probably all of them bar some older eccentric types, would be voters of....you guessed it, SF or PBP/ Solidarity. Or Gemma O'Doherty's new grouping, as it seems to be attracting plenty of former left voters who somehow didn't realise their views on immigration differed from their own.

Waster parties attract wasters who waste our time and money making wasteful compo claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

2011abc wrote: »
    What the heck is with all the ‘Oh sure we’re awful chances / compo culture ‘ etc posts ?!Clearly the greedy insurance companies are behind this ( ably abetted by lawyers )

You do realize insurance companies do not benefit at all from people making extortionate and exaggerated claims? Quite the opposite in fact.

If anything they do all in their power to avoid having to pay such claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭Infini

They really, really, REALLY need to clamp down on ****ing parasitical chancers in this country being firstly able to sue for ridiculously shady reasons and getting RIDICULOUS amounts of money for the effort.

It's getting out of hand now they need to clamp down on this behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

How the hell is it a contradiction to say that different factors apply in different circumstances? I’ve already pointed out to you that business owners do not have the same responsibilities as as parents, and vice versa, and same goes for any potential liability!

You didn’t sue the for your child’s injury, but so what? What’s that got to do with anyone else’s decision in their circumstances? They shouldn’t sue because you didn’t sue? Erm, I’m not sure what you’re looking for if I’m being honest, it’s not something I think is worthy of any congratulations. It’s entirely your own business. In the same way it would be another person’s business and entirely their responsibility if they decided to sue in the same circumstances.

Or the States and judiciary’s responsibility to ensure that are reasonable laws on compensation.

I can’t see that happening any time soon tbh -

Solicitors against plan to cut injury awards

I’ll fully accept though they would say that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

None of Jack's claims are backed up by anything apparently. I think it's just about him not backing down, he's contradicted himself several times about childcare and safety requirements. Despite wanting nothing less than a literally impossible zero risk for play centres it's still fine to have neighbours mind your children for no payment at all, because you know them well enough apparently.

Of course lots of people thought they "knew" people very well who turned out to be actual child abusers, so I'm not sure how good a measure that is as to whether they have the same obsession about allowing kids zero risk as Jack appears to!

And he still hasn't explained what any of his proposals about school sports have to do with excessive insurance costs for play centres. He seems to imagine PE is a zero risk activity. One of my sons injured his neck very badly doing gymnastics at school. Should I have sued? I didn't.

Business as usual for OEJ, then. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

We like to think we’re a great nation.

But we’re full of scammers, chancers, thieves, and in general very selfish people.

And whose job is it to set the parameters and reform the legal system.

That's right, our ****ing joke of a government many of who are characterised by what you describe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭PaulKK

I laughed at the line about kids needing these centres to play in.
    As a child these didn't exist. We were able to play and have fun without them.

Just because we didn't have things as children doesn't mean they aren't good facilities.

Some people seem to think only lazy parents bring their kids to these places. Some are and just want to sit with coffee for 2 hours, but most parents bring their kids there so that they can get good exercise on a rainy day, meet other kids and interact.

Many more people live in towns and cities these days than 20/30 years ago. Where else can my 1 year old learn skills like climbing etc safely?

I see too many little cotton wool wrapped brats these days who won't go on a swing or slide because they are afraid. These places give kids a bit of sense of adventure and not be afraid to have a tumble etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

Tacklebox wrote: »
    Gone are the days of playgrounds with tarmacadam, broken glass and lots of laughs.

There wasn't a week that passed without someone falling off a swing and getting 4 stitches and wearing those 4 stitches into school as a badge of honour.

Even better status if you fell off the top of the monkey bars and hit every bar on the way down.

Oh it was great times, living on the edge and having a happy fearless childhood....

Had to laugh when I read this. I remember swinging on a chair which broke resulting in 4 stitches in eyebrow. Driven to casualty by a teacher chain smoking major the whole way then dropped off while he went for a couple of jars.
    At home that evening I got eat for acting the maggot in class. The stitches were cool though. Those were the days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

the actual issue in the thread which is about whether insurance rates due to personal injury claims closing private companies down.

In the story I read the center had no accidents with children. Only a small one from an adult.

Is everyone's car insurance increasing because they aren't willing to spend enough to keep people safe.

What a bizarre argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

What the heck is with all the ‘Oh sure we’re awful chances / compo culture ‘ etc posts ?!Clearly the greedy insurance companies are behind this ( ably abetted by lawyers )

How do you figure that? Insurers need to be solvent to offer cover. If unsustainable levels of claims are paid, them premiums need to be charged to cover these amounts. It is not in any insurers interest when they have to raise a premium from €10k (paid last year) to €50k this year (and not getting paid because the customer has gone out of business)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭tigerboon

So it's someone else's fault people claim for injuries that were the fault of someone else. Someone should sue!!

Had to laugh when I read this. I remember swinging on a chair which broke resulting in 4 stitches in eyebrow. Driven to casualty by a teacher chain smoking major the whole way then dropped off while he went for a couple of jars.
    At home that evening I got eat for acting the maggot in class. The stitches were cool though. Those were the days.

Sounds exactly like my P5 teacher, who was a Buncrana man who loved to chain smoke and always had a bag of cans under his desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭tigerboon

I can’t see that happening any time soon tbh -

Solicitors against plan to cut injury awards

I’ll fully accept though they would say that :D

The bigger the awards the more reasonable the legal fees look in comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    And whose job is it to set the parameters and reform the legal system.

That's right, our ****ing joke of a government many of who are characterised by what you describe.

Greedy govt's job to rein in greedy people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The legal profession, fraudulent claims and "soft" claims all play their part in rising premiums.

But none of that explains a 300% increase in 12 months.

The majority of that is the insurance industry acting the bollix towards what seems to have been pretty loyal customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Boggles wrote: »
    The legal profession, fraudulent claims and "soft" claims all play their part in rising premiums.

But none of that explains a 300% increase in 12 months.

The majority of that is the insurance industry acting the bollix towards what seems to have been pretty loyal customers.

My suspicion would be that they expect more claims and don't want to insure in that area anymore. So they quote prohibitively high premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭xckjoo

That would be a lovely theory, if it didn’t completely miss the point of insurance. It didn’t miss my attention either that you suggested such childcare protection policies could potentially have the opposite effect while talking about the reasons why people take out insurance in the first place, and why schools offer parents the opportunity to take out insurance for their children for the princely sum of €8 for the school year.
    Nah. I understand the point of insurance. You just seem to be working under the assumption that if you're sued and insurance pays out (either settlement or in court) then that was the correct outcome. The world is a complex place.
    As for the idea that children are missing out on learning how to fall while young and bouncy, as many times as I’ve witnessed a child fall in the school yard, I’ve yet to see one that could bounce on tarmacadam. If they were unfortunately coordinated, falling on tarmacadam wasn’t going to toughen them up. See my earlier example of children who thought it was a good idea at the time to play chicken with oncoming traffic - it’s a good lesson in physics though, particularly in the laws of motion and density - the child comes off the worst of it each and every single time.
    So your issue is that I used the word "bounce"? Apologies, didn't realise you took every word so literally but in hindsight it should have been obvious. I didn't actually mean that they're bouncy. Call it poetic license if you will. What I meant was they're less likely to get injured in a small fall than an adult. Which is true. They're smaller, lower to the ground, weigh less and are still growing. Some kids will remain uncoordinated but they might learn to walk instead of run or at least fall slightly better. They might never join the circus but it might stop them losing their teeth if they trip on their laces. Learning to fall is 100% a real thing. Learning through play is 100% a real thing. Dunno what you're on about with the traffic. Not voluntarily reading more of your waffle. Don't go running in it though. Although if you get hit you'd probably get a bit of money out of it so clearly the drivers would be at fault.
    Potential issues such as burning off excess energy and the potential risks of obesity would generally be addressed in PE if there were the funds to afford PE equipment, which in many schools there isn’t, let alone room in the timetable to have them run in a uniform fashion around a field. The simple fact is that due to their sedentary lifestyles which are outside the control of the school, it’s more difficult for the school to implement PE when most of the children are coming in with notes from their parents to excuse them from PE. Not a whole lot the school can do in those circumstances when the teachers would only love the children to have the opportunity to burn off the excess energy they have in the classroom. Some teachers are able to handle the more energetic students, and some teachers aren’t. It’s ultimately the responsibility of their parents in those circumstances to decide what decisions they feel are in their children’s best interests, not the school.
    Not potential in the way you're interpreting it. Potential for each individual child but definite problem in their general population. "Handling" energetic students isn't just something you can do. The kids need an outlet for the energy. Telling them to sit quietly doesn't work. Trust me on this, I've one kid with a condition that gives him lots of excess energy. Not sure what any of the PE talk has to do with this beyond the utterly terrifying belief you seem to have that a single weekly PE class should be all that's needed to combat obesity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

"We're a vital resource for the area and it's a safe environment for kids to come and have fun in.

People rely on play centres and the government just doesn't seem to care."

One would be forgiven for thinking from the way she’s talking that they’re running a non-profit charity, not a business. They’re running a business, and an incredibly profitable one at that, and it’s because these places aren’t safe for children that their insurance is skyrocketing in recent years - precisely because they’re considered a greater risk to provide insurance for than before, because of the number of incidents that happen on their premises.

Rising insurance costs would be an issue for any business, not just the play centre industry, which if they all closed down in the morning, parents would simply find some other way to occupy and entertain their children.

Given the amount of houses going up around the country and poor levels of safe green space within these new estates. It is important that Playcentres are there.

I am lucky to live in an estate with a nice green for the kids to play on - it seems all the new estates that have gone up around me are using green space primarily as drainage with massive unsafe slopes within them .

Kids need somewhere to run around and be kids together safely

meeeeh wrote: »
    My suspicion would be that they expect more claims and don't want to insure in that area anymore. So they quote prohibitively high premium.

Is there any tangible evidence that there is more claims from this type of business compared to others? The 2 examples referenced would suggest not, but that of course is not an overall view. That said if the insurance industry were not so secretive and opened up their books we would have an idea

Seems to me that it was squarely the insurance industry that closed those businesses and it seems the owners frustration is solely with them.

They got the usual fob, of fraud, rising premiums, etc. But none that explains such a stark increase in such a short amount of time.

Something not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Exactly. Like the motor insurance.
    It's a question of making a profit.
    Who in their right mind would insure an 18 year old male based in Donegal who drives a Honda Civic or other load of crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Boggles wrote: »
    Is there any tangible evidence that there is more claims from this type of business compared to others? The 2 examples referenced would suggest not, but that of course is not an overall view. That said if the insurance industry were not so secretive and opened up their books we would have an idea

Seems to me that it was squarely the insurance industry that closed those businesses and it seems the owners frustration is solely with them.

They got the usual fob, of fraud, rising premiums, etc. But none that explains such a stark increase in such a short amount of time.

Something not right.
    Just to make it clear that was only my speculation but there is some data to support that number of claims and awards are increasing.
    And at first glance, Courts Service statistics suggest the courts have become increasingly generous in recent years.

They show a substantial increase in the annual amounts the High Court has awarded in personal injury cases, from almost €22m in 2007 to €147m in 2016.

The corresponding figures for the Circuit Court show an increase from €13.5m in 2007 to €17.4m in 2016.

Those figures relate solely to awards ruled on by the courts. They don’t include settlements reached on the steps of the court.

There is, however, an important caveat: During the ten years from 2007 to 2016, there was a major increase in personal injury litigation, meaning that the numbers of court cases with awards also substantially increased.

In 2007, for instance, there were 133 High Court personal injury cases with court awards. By 2016, there were 390.

But this still means that the average High Court personal injury court award increased from €165,000 in 2007 to €377,000 in 2016.

Medical negligence

However, as the Bar Council noted in a 2016 submission to an Oireachtas Joint Committee on the cost of motor insurance, there has been a surge in medical negligence litigation in recent years, which explains in part the increase in court awards.

Medical negligence, which is beyond the remit of the Injuries Board, is primarily heard in the High Court and can result in substantial payouts.

But the Circuit Court – which infrequently hears medical negligence cases – has also increased payouts.

The average Circuit Court personal injury award was €14,000 in 2007, which jumped to almost €18,000 in 2016, a 27% increase.

https://www.rte.ie/news/investigations-unit/2018/0518/964391-awards/

There is also interesting comparison in awards received between UK and Ireland.

Just to make it clear that was only my speculation but there is some data to support that number of claims and awards are increasing.

Absolutely. I never suggested there wasn't.

But that data you referenced over a 9-10 year period does not go next to near explaining a 300% increase in 12 months.