Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Painters work. Acceptable??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,765 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Juwwi wrote: »
    In this case that finish is a joke then .

The painters job can be sort of fixed right , but because he's done it bad to begin with makes it hard to leave the perfect finish.

Sockets need to be cleaned off with a blade carefully , his thick brush marks needs to be sanded down and then walls re coated .

But to be honest l would be surprised if there's not more shabby work done by the painter you haven't spotted ,a professional painter would spot alot more stuff .

I wouldn't be confident that this painter is capable of putting that job right either by the way.

That would be my stance with the architect and builder tbh...bring in a competent contractor to try and fix it as best they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Done a snag list on my sister's brand new house and the painting was like that and worse.

Blobs everywhere, paint missing, holes everywhere, plaster way off, skirting boards chipped, hand rail on stairs paint chunks gone, kitchen cupboards bits missing from all round etc etc.

I would say they just get anyone in to paint.

I'm painting a sitting room I'm renovating at the moment. It's the first time I've ever kinda taken my time and made a small effort (previous efforts were fire it on begrudgingly and pray for it to end soon).

Painter should have applied a mist coat (ie; a watered down coat) but I know a few painters and a couple of builders who say they never bother with a mist coat, and they do painting at the very end of the project, when the plaster will have dried out a bit, and wont necessarily need it.

2 minutes with some fine sandpaper will remove most blobs and blemishes, and a sharp blade with take the paint off the fixtures (although most painters I know have a pack of baby wipes or a rag or such, so if they get paint on something it shouldn't be on, they simply wipe it off whilst it's still fresh and wet, and it avoids the headaches of dealing with dried-on paint).

Your painter was a cowboy, however, his mistakes can be fixed. If the builder hired him, I'd withhold final payment until you're happy. Builder likely paid a relation of his feck all to fire through it in an attempt to save some money. I wouldn't lose the head with the builder, as has been previously suggested. Chances are the builder will be just as annoyed at the painter as you are (builder is busting his hump on a project for weeks, and then a painter takes the shine off it by cutting corners at the last hurdle, won't make the builder look too good).

Explain to the builder, in a reasonable manner, why you're not going to pay yet, and highlight the issues you want addressed. (don't do this just with the poor painting, but also with anything else that may be wrong that has to do with the builder). Unless you know the builder, chances are once he gets final payment you'll never see him again to address complaints. Literally (in the literal sense of the word) withholding payment is the only power you have over him at the moment. Don't be sweet-talked into 'sure you can pay me now, and I'll get the painter over tomorrow to fix it' because you'll never see the painter again.

But again, don't assume the worst - builder might be just as peeved as you are. Give him a chance to have a look and go from there. Also, if he's coming over on monday, for example, just to collect cash and head off into the sunset, be polite and give him a quick text saying you've a few issues, and would like them addressed before final payment. At least that way he's not being taken off-guard and will be going to meet you with a fairer stance on things. If you catch him off-guard, and word it wrongly, you could end up in a big argument telling each other to feck off, and that will never end well. Calm and polite all the way. And make sure you don't have the money in the house (at least that way you can't actually give it to him or be talked around).

Do subtly remind him that a poor finish makes his work look bad, too, though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭dok_golf

Agree with most of the posts above. I would say that either is the work of a chancer or the work of a labourer employed by the painting contractor. Just to point out, he did mask (around the socket at least) badly, as you can see where part of the tape adhered to the wall. No painter can do a perfect job but the good ones can spot any errors , either at the time or after, and rectify them. If I was the OP, I would show the problems to the builder and get him to get the painter back in to rectify.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭tradesman

My business is conducting snag lists & I must say that the painting in all of the houses leaves a lot to be desired. Architrave edges undercoated but not finish coated. Nails that were sticking out of the wood just painted over. Underside of the window boards never painted - undersides of the window boards usually have plaster snots on them! Paint on the window & door frames, ceiling / wall junction not cut in properly I could go on & on. The actual standard of new build houses today is diabolical! I wonder where have all the tradesmen gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

tradesman wrote: »
    My business is conducting snag lists & I must say that the painting in all of the houses leaves a lot to be desired. Architrave edges undercoated but not finish coated. Nails that were sticking out of the wood just painted over. Underside of the window boards never painted - undersides of the window boards usually have plaster snots on them! Paint on the window & door frames, ceiling / wall junction not cut in properly I could go on & on. The actual standard of new build houses today is diabolical! I wonder where have all the tradesmen gone?

I’d say they all have enough work to keep them going without committing to big projects such as new housing developments etc. Or else they’re so busy themselves that they have lots of people working for them who really don’t care about return business.
    It’s so so hard to get a decent painter, who won’t just paint over the imperfections and hope you won’t notice. The last two painters I’ve had have been s**t, and I’ve gone off recommendations, so haven’t gotten multiple prices, because I trusted the recommendation.

tradesman wrote: »

A large amount have been driven out of business because you just cannot compete. I remember well working on shopfronts for my dad and you would be cleaning and prepping for at least 2 to 3 days, before you even started to paint. Now I see guys put ladders up in the morning and they are done and dusted by the following evening or earlier. That isn't an exaggeration either.

It's the an sure I can get the whole gaff painted for €400 and that's paint included types.

I actually can't understand other then people are that dumb and end up having to do it again much sooner and left with a messy job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭imalwayshappy

By way of an update. The 'painter' came back to 'fix' the issues and was gone by lunchtime. There was a hole about the size of a euro coin in the wall which he wasnt arsed filling or painting. Crazy to think this guy could even class himself as a painter. I am now thinking of withholding funds to find a decent painter to finish. My wife heard sanding earlier and thought it sounded promising however he appears to have painted over the sockets with grey paint to match the wall as opposed to scraping the paint off....

Oh jaysus....

That's no painter.

I know what I would do, but it might be a prosecutable offence. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,523 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

My dad and grandad have had a family painting and decorating business in the family for a few generations. I used to do a bit of work with them over summers as a teenager.

A huge part is being able to cut in around things with a brush as if it's a blade.

We'd mask skirting boards to protect them from any roller speckles, but sockets etc are cut by hand.

If I'd done a job like the photos in the OP at 15 I'd have been kicked up the arse and made an absolute laughing stock.

Seriously OP, I'd be kicking up a massive stink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

he appears to have painted over the sockets with grey paint to match the wall as opposed to scraping the paint off....

That's just unbelievable

You need new sockets now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I am now thinking of withholding funds to find a decent painter to finish.

This is probably your best option now , try and get a recommendation of a painter or look up a local painter to call out and give a rough quote for what it will cost .

Sometimes trying to put bad work right can take as long as just doing the job from scratch .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Juwwi wrote: »
    That's just unbelievable

You need new sockets now .

And an electrician to fit them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭tradesman

I'd swear some painters do not know the difference between a paint brush & a toilet brush! The architrave on a house I snagged yesterday was so rough, I'm guessing the "painter" dropped his brush on the concrete floor , picked it up and carried on painting!