Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Madeleine McCann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Placing people into pro McCann or anti McCann camps is more than a little silly, and is quite inaccurate. It isn't a football match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

drkpower wrote: »
    It isn't a football match.

You must be new here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Tomw86

Something Else
    Placing people into pro McCann or anti McCann camps is more than a little silly, and is quite inaccurate. It isn't a football match.

Then why is there a poll? It very much is about people having one opinion or another.

It is the same way politicians are placed in a POLL for elections.

You are either for them or against them.

limnam wrote: »
    You must be new here.

If you don't especially like the McCanns, don't discount the possibility of their involvement, yet don't believe there is any evidence that implicates them, which jersey should you wear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Honest question do you not think its strange after all the man power FBI, Scotland yard, all the money involved that nothing has ever shown up on Maddy , that no one has ever talked,

Think of all the people arrested and charged with these kind of crimes and all the pictures recovered and not one person has had any info on her ?

Do you not find that strange ?

Not as strange as the idea that the parents were involved in the death/disappearance and have some how managed to fool Portuguese Police, FBI and Scotland Yard with all their resources and years of police investigation experiencing as you have pointed out?

Do you not think it's strange that the police don't consider them a suspect but that all the keyboard detectives have managed to crack the case from the comfort of their computer screens but the Portuguese Police and Scotland Yard haven't despite their years of experience and direct involvement in the case?

Do you not think it's strange the seven people who were at dinner that night, who were all supposed to be involved in a cover up and lied to the police have not come forward and told the police what really happened or that the FBI, Scotland Yard and Portuguese Police have not been able to get them to turn on one another and poke holes in their story?

Do you not think it's strange that the parents have successfully lobbied for Scotland Yard to re-investigate the case in which they were supposedly responsible to the disappearance?

Do you not find any of that strange?

Tomw86 wrote: »
    Then why is there a poll? It very much is about people having one opinion or another.

Speculating as to what happened doesn't make you pro or anti McCann; you can believe there was an abduction and be anti McCann. Although granted, the reverse would be much trickier.

If you don't especially like the McCanns, don't discount the possibility of their involvement, yet don't believe there is any evidence that implicates them, which jersey should you wear?

You could be the VAR assistant. :pac:

Not as strange as the idea that the parents were involved in the death/disappearance and have some how managed to fool Portuguese Police, FBI and Scotland Yard with all their resources and years of police investigation experiencing as you have pointed out?

Do you not think it's strange that the police don't consider them a suspect but that all the keyboard detectives have managed to crack the case from the comfort of their computer screens but the Portuguese Police and Scotland Yard haven't despite their years of experience and direct involvement in the case?

Do you not think it's strange the seven people who were at dinner that night, who were all supposed to be involved in a cover up and lied to the police have not come forward and told the police what really happened or that the FBI, Scotland Yard and Portuguese Police have not been able to get them to turn on one another and poke holes in their story?

Do you not think it's strange that the parents have successfully lobbied for Scotland Yard to re-investigate the case in which they were supposedly responsible to the disappearance?

they didn't fool the Portuguese police.

They did however jump ship when they were made suspects instead of staying to look for thier child...

Something Else

I don't even know where to start......

1) FBI and Scotland were not allowed to investigate any other scenario other than a kidnapping - this is fact.
    2) The police did make them suspects, or arguidos, which if you look it up means they are persons of interest/suspects in Portugese - this is fact.
    3) Those 7 people would all be charged with purgery if they came forward and changed sworn statements - this is fact.
    4) I do find that strange, but see point 1 above.

I also think of the 7 people at dinner with the McCanns, I doubt they all know for certain what happened. I would think the lies were firstly to protect themselves from looking like parents who didn't care about their kids and left in unlocked apartments doing sporadic and incomplete (not actually seeing the kids) checks.

Something Else
    Speculating as to what happened doesn't make you pro or anti McCann; you can believe there was an abduction and be anti McCann. Although granted, the reverse would be much trickier.

Ok, granted, I see your point above. I more meant in relation to the outcome, as I think some peoples opinions on the McCanns would sway their decision.

I have no feelings for them either way as I do not know them - that's the sort of person I am.

But I do have opinions on the case and what I think is the most likely scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,125 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

She wandered out herself, something happened (car accident/paedo)
    they didn't fool the Portuguese police.

They did however jump ship when they were made suspects instead of staying to look for thier child...

You are not telling the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I also think of the 7 people at dinner with the McCanns, I doubt they all know for certain what happened. I would think the lies were firstly to protect themselves from looking like parents who didn't care about their kids and left in unlocked apartments doing sporadic and incomplete (not actually seeing the kids) checks.

But they had already been caught leaving their kids alone, everyone had found out about it, so they had no reason to lie or protect the McCann's.

They were guilty of the exact same negligence as Kate & Gerry, only luckily for them none of their children disappeared.

There was nothing to protect, because they had already been caught.
    So I don't see what motivation they'd have had to lie to cover Kate & Gerry. The damage was done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I most certainly would not be pro Mc Cann . I think they let the child down . I think they were selfish parents and reckless with their childrens safety . I think they lied to cover their own appalling parenting
    But despite all that I lean towards the opinion that Madeleine was taken due to the stupidity and reckless actions of her parents .. I don't think her parents harmed her or dumped her

Something Else
    SusieBlue wrote: »
    But they had already been caught leaving their kids alone, everyone had found out about it, so they had no reason to lie or protect the McCann's.

They were guilty of the exact same negligence as Kate & Gerry, only luckily for them none of their children disappeared.

There was nothing to protect, because they had already been caught.
    So I don't see what motivation they'd have had to lie to cover Kate & Gerry. The damage was done.

Perhaps there was....maybe the checks weren't as regular, maybe the kids had been sedated, maybe the checks were not actually seeing the kids in their beds, maybe a few of them didn't check all the apartments.

Once they had made a statement to paint themselves in the best light regarding the checks, they couldn't have gone changing it.

There is also a lot of conflicting reports about who checked when and who was at the table at certain times too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Something Else
    If you want to keep talking about sedation, go ahead. There is no evidence of sedation I don't understand why you keep saying that she was sedated. No need to re-post my comments, just point me to the evidence.

Now I'll spell it out S l o w l y

No where in my comments - was it mentioned as you said previously that the mother sedated the child or that I believe the child was sedated.

You said you didn't believe that the mother asked for her children to be tested to check if they had been sedated.

I showed you where it is recorded in the PJ files that Kate McCann did make this request and the parents both believe the child might have been sedated.

Now stop digging, put down the shovel and take a good look at that hole before you fall in ...

Something Else
    iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I most certainly would not be pro Mc Cann . I think they let the child down . I think they were selfish parents and reckless with their childrens safety . I think they lied to cover their own appalling parenting
    But despite all that I lean towards the opinion that Madeleine was taken due to the stupidity and reckless actions of her parents .. I don't think her parents harmed her or dumped her

I respect your opinion and can see how you could think that way.

I don't but I don't think other people in this thread should stupidly come out and slam the other theories when there is no evidence.

They just make themselves out to be idiots!

Perhaps there was....maybe the checks weren't as regular, maybe the kids had been sedated, maybe the checks were not actually seeing the kids in their beds, maybe a few of them didn't check all the apartments.

Once they had made a statement to paint themselves in the best light regarding the checks, they couldn't have gone changing it.

There is also a lot of conflicting reports about who checked when and who was at the table at certain times too.

But that still doesn't explain why they'd cover up Kate & Gerry being responsible for Madeleine's disappearance.

They could have made statements to the PJ painting themselves in the best light regarding checks etc, and there'd still be no need to cover for the McCann's.

Its a very big ask and a very big lie. The police and media already knew they had also left their children unattended.
    So why would they lie on behalf of Kate & Gerry when there was nothing to gain from it?

If your friends were responsible for their toddler disappearing into thin air, would you lie to the police to cover for them?

I respect your opinion and can see how you could think that way.

I don't but I don't think other people in this thread should stupidly come out and slam the other theories when there is no evidence.

They just make themselves out to be idiots!

There's no evidence either way, that's why its such a divisive case.
    I see as little evidence of the parents being responsible as you see them of being guilty. Its just different perspectives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

gozunda wrote: »
    Now I'll spell it out S l o w l y

No where in my comments - was it mentioned as you said previously that the mother sedated the child or that I believe the child was sedated.

You said you didn't believe that the mother asked for her children to be tested to check if they had been sedated.

I showed you where it is recorded in the PJ files that Kate McCann did make this request and the parents both believe the child might have been sedated.

Now stop digging, put down the shovel and take a good look at that hole before you fall in ...

you said, he said, she said. I don't know why you keep referring to sedation. Doesn't exist, never happened, move on.

Next point to be dismissed please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Something Else
    Not as strange as the idea that the parents were involved in the death/disappearance and have some how managed to fool Portuguese Police, FBI and Scotland Yard with all their resources and years of police investigation experiencing as you have pointed out? Do you not think it's strange that the police don't consider them a suspect but that all the keyboard detectives have managed to crack the case from the comfort of their computer screens but the Portuguese Police and Scotland Yard haven't despite their years of experience and direct involvement in the case?
    Do you not think it's strange the seven people who were at dinner that night, who were all supposed to be involved in a cover up and lied to the police have not come forward and told the police what really happened or that the FBI, Scotland Yard and Portuguese Police have not been able to get them to turn on one another and poke holes in their story?Do you not think it's strange that the parents have successfully lobbied for Scotland Yard to re-investigate the case in which they were supposedly responsible to the disappearance?

The whole lock, stock and barrel cabbodle is strange. Tbh there isn't a straight line in the entire story. There's very little about this case which makes any sense whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Accident happened, parents hid body

They where suspects by the Police in the country and town it happened,

Why have Scotland yard said the case can only be viewed as abduction that is against police ethics ,

The 7 people at dinner where only suspected of lying about timelines not involved in anything sinister ,None of there stories match and none have ever giving another interview

Iss been quite obvious from the start the McCann are not your average couple, there are numerous missing English kids that have never got the help the McCanns have, They obviously have friends in high places

Your very silly to rule them out,

Can I ask why are you 100% convinced it was not them ?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

you said, he said, she said. I don't know why you keep referring to sedation. Doesn't exist, never happened, move on.

Next point to be dismissed please.

This is a discussion board, not a place to dismiss others opinions.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

iamwhoiam wrote: »

I agree with you. I definitely believe it's more likely she was abducted.

Those lies though... I can certainly see why people think the parents were involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Can someone explain to me please and I am just wondering not picking any fight here. How exactly, do you instruct a Police force to not consider something.

So I call the Garda about say a drink driver, but instruct them not to follow that line and maybe follow the line the driver might have been speeding.

What I am saying is. Would that not imidiately set of a red flag with even a lad out of Templemore. That lad was murdered there Garda, but sure look John definitely didn't do it so do not look into it. The Garda would I hope be looking into it!

Necro wrote: »
    I agree with you. I definitely believe it's more likely she was abducted.

Those lies though... I can certainly see why people think the parents were involved.

If your daughter was abducted on holidays.

Why would you tell lies?

Why would you refuse to answer police questions?

Why would your statements change?

Would you hire a company with no expirience of finding missing children?

Would you background check who you employed instead of spending hundreds of thousands on what are now convicted criminals?

Would you try to discredit the people trying to help you?

Would you drink brandy with a pedophile and be happy to hear the dogs can't be used in court?

Would you encourage your friends to stop talking to the police?

Would you allow a man making sexual comments about your daughter bath your kids?

Would you be happy that information was withheld from the porutuguse police for months?

Just a few issues that we can brush under the carpet?

Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

TallGlass wrote: »
    Can someone explain to me please and I am just wondering not picking any fight here. How exactly, do you instruct a Police force to not consider something.

So I call the Garda about say a drink driver, but instruct them not to follow that line and maybe follow the line the driver might have been speeding.

What I am saying is. Would that not imidiately set of a red flag with even a lad out of Templemore. That lad was murdered there Garda, but sure look John definitely didn't do it so do not look into it. The Garda would I hope be looking into it!

I have wondered that too ? Is it common to tell detectives what to consider or not
    Or who would even have that power ?

cnocbui wrote: »
    You are not telling the truth.

Oh yeah?

Arguido status given in September 2007.

McCanns left portugal September 2007

Which part was not true?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

If your daughter was abducted on holidays.

Why would you tell lies?

Why would you refuse to answer police questions?

Why would your statements change?

Ignoring (not because it's not relevant, but for the purposes of my point) all the other questions you mentioned there - the first three are the most baffling of all to me.

Ok, so let's accept Madeline was abducted for the purpose of this scenario.

One of the worst things has happened, the parents are already going to look terrible for their actions.

You want her found safe and brought back, no matter the personal cost, right?

So - and here is why I struggle with the abductor angle - why tell lies and change statements and disrupt investigations into finding her.

That is not what parents truly concerned for finding their children do. It just isn't.

And that's why - despite me thinking it more likely that she was abducted - I can see why people doubt the Mc Canns.

Their actions are baffling to me, as a parent myself but even as simply just a person who just cannot comprehend the crass stupidity and baffling resistance to assisting investigators with the entire truth. It is just beyond comprehension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,125 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Oh yeah?

Arguido status given in September 2007.

McCanns left portugal September 2007

Which part was not true?

My apology, you were correct, I had my years mixed up.

Necro wrote: »

So - and here is why I struggle with the abductor angle - why tell lies and change statements and disrupt investigations into finding her.

Their actions are baffling to me, as a parent myself but even as simply just a person who just cannot comprehend the crass stupidity and baffling resistance to assisting investigators with the entire truth. It is just beyond comprehension.

Absolutely

Then leaving the country as soon as your made a suspect.

They pretty much straight away were more concerned for themselves instead of their child

This and the rest of the bizarre behavior is not the action of a "traditional" concerned parent

How anyone can ignore this and blindly assume innocent is really beyond me.