Bloody Sunday paratrooper says he feels no guilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Pkiernan wrote:
    Funny how truth and reconciliation is a one way street for modern day Fenians.

Not a Fenian dude all murderers whether they wore a uniform or not should face justice, their age also irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

He's nothing but scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Funny how truth and reconciliation is a one way street for modern day Fenians.

Can you please elaborate on what you mean by modern day fenians?

I don't understand the meaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

There are of course gonna be hardline republicans who demand justice regarding Bloody Sunday or Ballymurphy yet who aren't so vocal when it comes to provo atrocities - but it's disgusting to address anyone who is critical of the likes of Bloody Sunday or Ballymurphy as if they're a ra-head, and it's also disgusting to downplay and dismiss said atrocities, and to be more concerned about getting a "what about" dig in. As if the families aren't hurt enough.

Irish people using terms like "paddy" disparagingly, and "fenian" - who are they trying to impress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭klaaaz

The SDLP and the Alliance party have condemned Bradley's insulting remarks
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/0306/1034721-bradley-northern-ireland/
    SDLP leader Colum Eastwood accused the Secretary of State of "publically interfering with the rule of law".

He said she had "a responsibility to apologise to families of state violence, as well as setting aside time to read a book on the history of Ireland".

The leader of the Alliance Party, Naomi Long, was also highly critical. She described the comments as "appalling" and "an unwarranted and unjustifiable act of political interference".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

The British are a cold people.

Oh here's another one desperately needing to let it be known that they're not one of those nationalist plebs.

Any views on the Bloody Sunday atrocity? Any compassion for the victims' families? On the injustice of the whole thing?

I often think only people who this effected only know what it really was like to live up there.

Daily harassment by the Ruc, UDA and Paras.

My own grandad got a hammering for only making his own moonshine and after my grandmother kneeling down at his side bawling her eyes out the bstrds took his hooch.

I know a lot about that conflict and it wasn't nice ill say that for sure.

I know nothing about what the other side had to put up with, and you can be damn sure innocent protestants and other Anglican religious majority were innocently picked out too.

But the problem was you didn't know who you were up against so it was each person for themselves.

Some of the most psychotic lads and ladies on both sides of the road were really angelic lookin and quit easy on the eye...

But it was nearly always the rough and ready who were the unlucky one's.

Spiderman was a big slang word in Derry back in the days, draw your own conclusion where that evolved from...

Mad_maxx wrote:

Governed by idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Mad_maxx wrote: »

They've never had to face up to the reality of what the Empire did or up to how recently it was doing it. One can say the same of most if not all European colonial empires, with the possible exception of the Germans.

Governed by idiots.

They have qualities as well for sure but fundamentally are a cold people, ulster unionists are the same

I think the British seem like a great bunch of lads - they're so ethnically diverse anyway, with many many of Irish heritage.

Don't make the mistake of pigeonholing the way a bunch of dinosaurs and thick squaddies would.

Any unionists I've met (all younger generation I will concede) are super sound.

Odhinn wrote: »
    They've never had to face up to the reality of what the Empire did or up to how recently it was doing it. One can say the same of most if not all European colonial empires, with the possible exception of the Germans.

Ultimately they view us Irish as lesser and thus atrocities committed against were relatively unimportant

Mad_maxx wrote:
    Ultimately they view us Irish as lesser and thus atrocities committed against were relatively unimportant

They've had the same attitude in every country they have committed atrocities in, India, South Africa, Kenya etc. They should be taught their less glorious activities in schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Would be great to see him inside for two years but I wouldn't be holding my breath. The British judicial system has proven itself to be totally and uttelry incompetent when it comes to anything troubles related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Sure let's hear from the Provos and see their level on the Remorse-o-meter.

I wonder do the Provos who set out to kill, planned to kill and did kill two RUC men in Derry just three days before Bloody Sunday ever feel any guilt? The RUC men killed were people two, one was Catholic and the other was Protestant, and they had families too.

The British soldiers were in a tense situation and at the receiving end of a riot. Did any of them plan and set out to kill anyone? If the boot was on the other foot, and our own security forces were attacked and killed and there were riots here, what would they have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Edgware wrote: »
    I have no doubt but plenty of our own "freedom fighters" haven't an ounce of remorse for Birmingham, Enniskillen, The Hanna Family massacre etc.
    Dirtbirds are dirtbirds whatever flag they operate under

This

This
    It's definitely more important than the actual atrocity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Edgware wrote: »
    52% voted for Brexit. Just because Paddy the slave of Europe thinks its a bad idea doesnt necessarily mean that it is. If we had a Border Poll in the morning with a 52% Yes to a united Ireland Paddy would be very quick demanding that the democratic wish of the people be recognised

Uugghhh.

Nothing worse than an Irish person who uses the term "paddy".

I suppose you think we should be the slave of Britain? Read the Sindo? Vote for John Bruton? Are you against fluoride?

If the Gammons voted for Brexit because they think they're capable of restarting their empire, quite simply you and them are thick.
    End of story.

52% of British voted for Brexit.

A survey once found that 60% believe the British empire was a good thing.

Their "democracy" is irrelevant when their populace is ignorant.

janfebmar wrote:
    The British soldiers were in a tense situation and at the receiving end of a riot. Did any of them plan and set out to kill anyone? If the boot was on the other foot, and our own security forces were attacked and killed and there were riots here, what would they have done?

You point your weapon at an unarmed civilian's back and pull the trigger, logic dictates you mean to cause serious injury possibly death. As for the rest what if my aunt had b*lls.

Augme wrote: »
    I hope people remember this the next time the poppy issue comes up about James McClean and anyone else who refuses to wear it.

Remember this the next time our Taoiseach wears a poppy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

janfebmar wrote: »
    I wonder do the Provos who set out to kill, planned to kill and did kill two RUC men in Derry just three days before Bloody Sunday ever feel any guilt? The RUC men killed were people two, one was Catholic and the other was Protestant, and they had families too.

Maybe you should read the article. The paratrooper said he felt that day was a job well done. Seems to me he enjoyed what he did and wouldn't change a thing.

Remember this the next time our Taoiseach wears a poppy

You're not serious

The British soldiers were in a tense situation and at the receiving end of a riot. Did any of them plan and set out to kill anyone?

If the boot was on the other foot, and our own security forces were attacked and killed and there were riots here, what would they have done?

1) It was not a riot, it was an equal rights peaceful protest.
    They planned and set out to murder people.

2) If our security forces murdered 13 or so people, they would be imprisoned and not regarded as "heroes".
    Also, those paratroopers were not killed.....

steddyeddy wrote: »
    The paratrooper said he felt that day was a job well done.

Maybe he was just glad he was not killed, like the 2 RUC men just 3 days previously in Derry? It was a riot on Bloody Sunday and tensions were high.

Do not forget Bishop Daly was there that day, as everyone knows. He testified to having seen an IRA gunman -or a Republican gunman - fire three times at soldiers who apparently did not spot him. “This didn’t make me the most popular person in town,” he said.

If you were a young British soldier and felt under threat, under all the noise during the riot, and believed you were being shot at like the 2 RUC men who were killed only days previously, I can understand how in those early days of the troubles some British soldiers would have fired back if they felt they were being fired upon. Perhaps matters that day were not as black and white as some would like to believe.

Maybe he was just glad he was not killed, like the 2 RUC men just 3 days previously in Derry? It was a riot on Bloody Sunday and tensions were high.

Do not forget Bishop Daly was there that day, as everyone knows. He testified to having seen an IRA gunman -or a Republican gunman - fire three times at soldiers who apparently did not spot him. “This didn’t make me the most popular person in town,” he said.

If you were a young British soldier and felt under threat, under all the noise during the riot, and believed you were being shot at like the 2 RUC men who were killed only days previously, I can understand how in those early days of the troubles some British soldiers would have fired back if they felt they were being fired upon. Perhaps matters that day were not as black and white as some would like to believe.

If he said he was proud he helped murder innocent people, it is black and white.

janfebmar wrote:

Fired back against unarmed civilians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,159 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Maryishere used to make that argument too. But she was wrong and this man's comments show she was wrong.

We all know what happened that day was wrong and was criminal. But this man is saying 'it was a good day's work'.

I would be doing him for incitement as well.

1) It was not a riot

Then why did Bishop Daly testify to having seen an IRA gunman fire three times at soldiers who apparently did not spot him? Personally, I would believe Bishop Daly as an eyewitness. He said it even though as he said himself "“This didn’t make me the most popular person in town”

I also think the British soldiers should not have killed anyone. There were innocents killed which was and is indefensible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

a cold blooded murderer refuses to express regret.
    wow! that must be a first.

There was no excuse for it.

They shot young and old civilians in the back, quite frankly they went postal on them.

There was black flags flying afterwards from one end of the country to the other.

Afterwards masses of people emigrated down to Shannon town in Clare to get jobs in the airport and the industrial estate.

I went to school with lads from Derry and Belfast, they were shell shocked from the troubles.