30 something people still partying all night?

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I had to get up and have a little puke in the middle of the night this weekend after drinking with friends. Grand says I, quick little vom, flush it away, back to the bed.

A couple of "I'm in my 30s" factors combined nastily against me though. Firstly it was a considerably more violent puke than I had any reason to think it'd be. Secondly rather than ye olde pukes of days of yore that were the result of vodka on top of a more or less empty stomach, this was the result of a hape of red wine on top of a hape of roasted beetroot :(

****ing scrubbing mostly digested beetroot and shiraz off the ****ing toilet at 5am so someone didn't get up and think there'd been a murder, **** this!

And bootcut jeans are awful and look bad on everyone, there's pretty much no build they're flattering on and the ones they look worst on are pretty effin prevalent in Ireland. I'm no more worked up about it than I am about say, deciduous trees losing their leaves in autumn, it's just a fact of life.

I am well able to stay out to the small hours of morning but if I'm doing that then I need to have a full stomach and drinks spaced out. These days my max is three pints but I can sip away through a bottle of wine and be grand.

The next day I will be in pieces of course. But you know life is ours to live. So what of you're 50 yrs of age tripping the light fantastic on a regular basis? As long as you're happy :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 282 ✭✭Anthonylfc

i do it every second weekend and not as drastic as op

im a single dad of 2 , so when its not my weekend with them i go out

last weekend was 4 pints on friday and 6 on sat , no nightclub

hardly wrecking the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Peoples age perception is so far off. 24 is so so young, like the previous poster said 24 was prob when nights out and socializing became fun. Before that it was so cringe and it was just about who would score one of the fit birds in Alex’s. We loosened up and had more fun afterwards. I’m 28 now and notice nights tapering off, I never went out much but now I’m not the exception. It still seems very young to stop the good life.

Nightclubs never were a thing maybe for like a year back in 2010 or 2011 when we went that place where United shops used to be. From about 2013 we were going to Krystal everleigh etc. which were just bars. Went to the button factory the odd time but was mostly ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Fella in his mid 50s pals around with a group I’m friendly with (mid to late 20s). They met him through work as far as I know.

Seems to be the life and soul of the party. The type of guy who gets shots for the group. Persuades ppl to go to the nightclub or late bar. Often would do all nighters. Often saw him score women twenty-thirty years his junior. He swings both ways as it happens.

However there is a downside to this. Seems to spend lot of his cash on socialising. His dress sense I would describe as “going out” clothes from early 2000s. He separated from the wife, rarely sees his kids and I suspect she wasn’t as enthusiastic about his partying.

Fella in his mid 50s pals around with a group I’m friendly with (mid to late 20s). They met him through work as far as I know.

Seems to be the life and soul of the party. The type of guy who gets shots for the group. Persuades ppl to go to the nightclub or late bar. Often would do all nighters. Often saw him score women twenty-thirty years his junior. He swings both ways as it happens.

However there is a downside to this. Seems to spend lot of his cash on socialising. His dress sense I would describe as “going out” clothes from early 2000s. He separated from the wife, rarely sees his kids and I suspect she wasn’t as enthusiastic about his partying.

sounds like he needs to cop on to life and get a reality check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Anthonylfc wrote: »

if it makes him happy i dont see the problem. fair play to him pulling women 20 years younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Life goals...

Not so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,755 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Anthonylfc wrote:

Sounds like he may in fact need help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Purely in my opinion, the aim shouldn't be to continue partying like a 19 year old until you are 50. The aim should be to acknowledge at as young an age as possible that a person's drinking/partying "career" should be tapering off by age 24 and to enjoy yourself to the max before that point. Drinking aged 25 and older will very rarely be as fun as it was in the years before then, when you and all your secondary school/college buddies were at the same stage of life, roughly on the same wavelength, the "future" far into the distance and still to unfold, the hangovers more tolerable, most of your friends out and willing to get drunk etc. If you are ok with the thought, from a young age, that your "drinking" drinking career has an early shelf-life, you won't feel let down when you get to 26, 27 and notice that only one or two people out of your friends group still are up for going on mad nights out, or that you feel old in the nightclub now while throngs of 18 and 19 year olds fill the place, living the best days of *their* lives. Like even if you only drank/partied heavily from age 17 to 23 inclusive, that's 7 whole years of "good" partying years where you don't have to pretend to yourself it's still as fun as it used to be. Short and sweet and then the occasional blow out for a stag/work christmas party is the best policy I think.

Do you enjoy porridge, running and a singular bottle of craft at the weekend??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

The bolded bit is a problem. The rest of it, sure more power to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snotboogie

or that you feel old in the nightclub now while throngs of 18 and 19 year olds fill the place, living the best days of *their* lives.

It's easy to stay out till 3am and not end up in a nightclub full of 18 and 19 year olds.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    if it makes him happy i dont see the problem. fair play to him pulling women 20 years younger.

but being such a piss head his wife left with kids and he doesnt bother seeing ??

yeah top guy he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,428 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

LOL at the guy who says you should be tapering off at 24, they must be fairly young to have wrote that. I felt old at 24, but a few years down the line you realise you really are only a baby at that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,034 ✭✭✭Feisar

I tapered her off at around the thirty mark.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Anthonylfc wrote: »
    but being such a piss head his wife left with kids and he doesnt bother seeing ??

yeah top guy he is

I actually know a guy exactly like that (I'm wondering if it's the same guy in fact). He's a nice bloke but to me his lifestyle seems grim AF. Being in a rollover doing coke while you're estranged daughter is having her birthday party, not for me thanks.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I actually know a guy exactly like that (I'm wondering if it's the same guy in fact). He's a nice bloke but to me his lifestyle seems grim AF. Being in a rollover doing coke while you're estranged daughter is having her birthday party, not for me thanks.

lowlifes they are

haven't copped on to reality to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭vetinari

Tapering at 24 seems a bit on the young side alright. By your late twenties though, it is likely to have changed.
    Once everyone starts getting coupled up, nights out can feel a lot tamer. Still fun but restrained in a way.
    You need the likes of a stag party then to get more wilder nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

The aul lads in the pub at half 10 in the morning until closing. They’d dance around with te young students that come in at around 9pm