Birth Strike

• 05-03-2019 09:21AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭

This seems to me to be neurotic.

To be living in such fear, to be so daily depressed - anti-natalists wouldn't be much fun as flatmates, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,039 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The way things are going she might have a point.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wouldn't be fair on the child having that as a mother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

The way things are going she might have a point.

I don't agree, but have to go out now, so will argue against in some fashion later on!! :)

I think it is quite sad to see people so hopeless and apparently helpless so young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

The world is gonna blow up one day anyway, it will be around long after humans are extinct.

It can't do both these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,288 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We can all do our bit!
    53048046_2341669582532922_3073162418705137664_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub2-1.fna&oh=0ab167270b85f72116220b202e734539&oe=5CE1BF1B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,781 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Very much a defeatist attitude. There is still hope and a good chance to turn things around.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,591 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Middle class overthinking, don't they realise what's happening.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

It's almost beyond parody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

People who want/have kids generally want them for selfish reasons. Not the most PC thing to say, and I’m sure parents/future parents will probably jump on me for saying it.

Usually when I ask friends who have kids why they decided to have kids, the response is ‘sure who’s going to look after me when I’m old?’

Yeah let’s overpopulate the planet so your kids can visit you in your nursing home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Trathnona2

They also provide good entertainment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Cina

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    People who want/have kids generally want them for selfish reasons. Not the most PC thing to say, and I’m sure parents/future parents will probably jump on me for saying it. .

I agree with this. There are of course many benefits to having children, I doubt most people do it because they're thinking of the future and what those kids can bring to the world.

There is of course, nothing wrong with that, kids can bring joy to people's lives, and security in their older years, that nothing else really can, so of course people will want to do it, and they get the added security of knowing they're bringing life into the world, which probably makes it feel less selfish on their behalf, especially if it's into a good environment.

However crazy that woman may seem though, she does have a point, we have no idea what sort of condition the planet will be in in 30-40 years, all current signs point to it not being a very good one, so I don't blame anyone who doesn't want to have kids.

Personally I'd be happy with a few dogs but the missus will likely want kids to .. c'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

She is a lunatic, but we need more people like her, far far too many people in the world , and it's gonna go absolutely ****ing nuts in the next 50/100 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,079 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Surely a more responsible attitude towards having children is to be applauded?

First thing people should think of is how will they afford a lifestyle with children.

I see so many parents giving out about the expense of having 4 or 5 kids and how it’s hard to make ends meet. No surprise there.

As for the serially unemployed having 5-6 kids, that’s just criminally irresponsible behaviour. Bringing kids into an environment where they must learn to live on handouts in sub standard housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

Nothing wrong with a moral issue with having children, surely. I used to have one my self until I.... uh.... had kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Very much a defeatist attitude. There is still hope and a good chance to turn things around.

There is so much hope, but its being squandered with each passing day. Who is going to turn things around? Nobody gives the slightest ****, people wont step an inch out of line to help the planet in any way if it means any kind of negative impact on their convenience and comfort, just look at the attitude of people on here to anyone suggesting veganism or not driving their cars

The only chance the world has of surviving is in a scenario with much much less humans on it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,411 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

She is clearly a bit off the wall. However there is absolutely no denying that the world is over populated and only getting worse. I'll probably be dead before the **** really hits the fan but it's coming, the planet can't sustain the current population growth.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

"Oh gee... a lots changed since then"
    -Goodspeed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I haven't watched the video, but it's not an unreasonable stance to take.

Climate change is already fncking over the planet and you still have a sizeable group of morons arguing that it doesn't exist and another sizeable group of morons who can't be arsed doing anything about it.

The pessimistic outlook that we're going to get stuck in a tailspin is not irrational, and thus the idea that it is immoral to bring new life into a dying ecosystem is not off the wall.

I'm more of an optimist, I think we can do it by just dragging the idiots along kicking and screaming and adapting to the balls we've made of things. But I don't blame anyone for being pessimistic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

seamus wrote: »
    I haven't watched the video, but it's not an unreasonable stance to take.

Give it a go. I just finished it now. The impression I get is, if they were afraid of water, they wouldn't have kids for fear of them getting wet. One of them is even conflicted that a friend of hers is pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's probably a good idea for these people not to procreate.
    In a generation their ideas will be gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

They're dead right. If a person in their twenties has children now that child is looking forward to their dotage in a society marred by water shortages, land wars over reduced spaces to live, failing vaccines, antibiotic immunisation and people ****ting their ****ing guts out from all the plastic we've been spunking into the oceans. That's the best case scenario, assuming there isn't a nuclear holocaust in the meantime which we have been very lucky to avoid so far since the invention of the atomic bomb

I've been urging my (adult) children to consider adopting over bearing natural kids of their own: It would be an act of speciel treason to bring an unwitting baby into this dying society.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    They're dead right. If a person in their twenties has children now that child is looking forward to their dotage in a society marred by water shortages, land wars over reduced spaces to live, failing vaccines, antibiotic immunisation and people ****ting their ****ing guts out from all the plastic we've been spunking into the oceans. That's the best case scenario, assuming there isn't a nuclear holocaust in the meantime which we have been very lucky to avoid so far since the invention of the atomic bomb

I've been urging my (adult) children to consider adopting over bearing natural kids of their own: It would be an act of speciel treason to bring an unwitting baby into this dying society.

I agree, you can save so many resources for the world by not bringing another child into it. And along with that youll give a child thats already here a loving home. Win win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I suppose all the supporters above are for contraception in the developing world.
    There are a lot more children born there than here.

Somalia has a birth rate of 6.27
    Ireland has a birth rate of 1.92

Shouldn't you guys be out protesting the Somalis for killing the planet?

biko wrote: »
    I suppose all the supporters above are for contraception in the developing world.

Irish children probably use about ten times the amount of resources the average somalian child does

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

Europeans need to start reproducing more as we're heading for extinction. I want to have at least 3 children.

Its the Africans and Asians who need to cop on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

biko wrote: »

They'd have to drop the white saviour complex for that to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

pTsqlbl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

TomSweeney wrote: »
    She is a lunatic, but we need more people like her, far far too many people in the world , and it's gonna go absolutely ****ing nuts in the next 50/100 years.

Have you actually looked at first world birth rates? It would be in steep decline if we weren't importing migrants to top up the population?
    Not one EU nation (Ireland included) has a birth rate above replacement levels without migration. Not. One.

Generally I'd agree that we could probably use fewer first world consumers to ensure resources don't burn out before we develop technological solutions to address climate change issues and alternative energy supplies, but it's not like we actually have to do anything to achieve that bar stop importing people.

As for yer wan, she should look at 50 and 100 years ago if she wants to see a world that was a horror show to bring children into, a world literally at war and succumbing to the Spanish Flu.
    Today's first world children are being born into a world in which they've literally never had it so good.
    I've come across people like yer wan before and they are almost without exception neurotic nihilists that can't 'adult' and extrapolate their own inability to cope by projecting catastrophe on everything else.
    Nihilism has never offered a solution to anything but nihilism, primarily because it's so self-defeating, in that regard yer wan should be encouraged in her thinking because it just means that 'her kind of thinking' should be solved in one generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Reproduction blackmail. Whatever next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

wakka12 wrote: »
    Irish children probably use about ten times the amount of resources the average somalian child does

Actually if you factor in the production, movement & distribution of foreign aid it works out about the same.