Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the Dublin accent dying?

• 01-03-2019 10:32am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭

has anyone noticed the way young girls and boys are not speaking in the strong dublin accents anymore? they either sound very flat bordering on D4 or like most late late toy show kids fully blown D4 or else there half americanised accent. so will we see many dublin accents at all in future? vast majority of dublin gaa and dublin based rugby plaayers now have very little trace of a dublin accent. also seems very hard to distinguish between young people in dublin, meath ,kildare or wicklow accent wise because of the amount of kids born to dublin parents in these counties , they may have never lived a day in dublin in there lives but now definitly dont see themselves as culchies either. so what are these type of people to be called?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

A generation raised on youtube.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Try hanging around North Dublin or even North inner city , you'll find plenty a scumbag/dublin accent.

There is a another craze of kids sounding very British. You can thank that fat **** Peppa pig for that

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Hope so. The worst part of living in Dublin is having to hear that accent. Sounds like someone is after interfering with them from behind.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hope so. The worst part of living in Dublin is having to hear that accent. Sounds like someone is after interfering with them from behind.

Feel free to toddle off back to whatever bog you came up from.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Nope, my 2 yr old Essex born daughter randomly throws up one the best "ah jayzis"s I've ever heard - courtesy of her uncle from the heart of Blanch

We'll continue to fight the good fight from over here!

There is a another craze of kids sounding very British. You can thank that fat **** Peppa pig for that

Yeah, MrsTeal is a bit paranoid that the little 'un already has an English accent (which will be fairly unavoidable depending on how much longer we're over here) but I if you listen to some of the expressions she comes out with it's clear as day that that poxy pig (who is a bit of a bint tbh) is a predominant influence, even though she doesn't watch much telly - thankfully PJ Masks and anything with dinosaurs now are now the flavour of the month.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

It’s not dying at all. Maybe on the south side some Americanised slang is being used. If anything modern accents are harsher than they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Yet its a match winner in the UK and any other country we go to.

Jealous people everywhere :P

Well, my 4-year-old manages to make the English word 'school' into two syllables. I correct her each time and she just makes more of an elongated two syllables out of it for the craic, laughing her heart out. Two days ago as I was driving I corrected her and she took the piss out of it again, only to be followed by her 2-year-old brother in the seat next to her who is now, for the first time, making two syllables out of that word. And laughing through it all.

Feck it; I give up. She can 'done that', 'seen that' and eat 'crips' to her heart's content as seo amach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

It's surge again when the next Methadone clinic opens up.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,469 ✭✭✭micks_address

i wonder what percentage of people living in dublin are actually orginally from dublin at this stage... half the country must have moved here for work

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Feel free to toddle off back to whatever bog you came up from.

Don’t be so thin-skinned. All I said is that the ‘salt o da erth’ Dublin accent is a noise that can be irritating at best, and downright offensive at worst. It’s an accent that gives impression of John Player Blue, a day ‘in da boooookeees’, battering the wife, Ray and chips for dinner, racing pigeons, and never having worked a day in your life.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

Try hanging around North Dublin or even North inner city , you'll find plenty a scumbag/dublin accent.

So you’re a scumbag if you have an authentic accent which originates from where you live, I’d rather have the authenticity of that than this half British/American fake accent which was basically made up to make one sound supposedly more intelligent and used to hide your origins for fear of people looking down on you, so insincere and ridiculous, be real, always the best policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

i wonder what percentage of people living in dublin are actually orginally from dublin at this stage... half the country must have moved here for work

And vice versa for accommodation. Feels like I'm living in Little Tallaght some days.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

Don’t be so thin-skinned. All I said is that the ‘salt o da erth’ Dublin accent is a noise that can be irritating at best, and downright offensive at worst. It’s an accent that gives impression of John Player Blue, a day ‘in da boooookeees’, battering the wife, Ray and chips for dinner, racing pigeons, and never having worked a day in your life.

And what wonderful accent do you speak with? Go on, give us a laugh

• Registered Users Posts: 26,092 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Nothing new there. When I was a chizler in primary school in the 1970s, I was the only child in my class who had two parents both born in Dublin. And even I only had one out of four grandparents born in Dublin.

All accents are developing all the time, and all middle-aged and older people complain that young people are losing their accents/speaking in affected accents/being swamped by foreign accents/whatever. It was ever thus.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I'm (almost) first generation Dub - I say almost as my old man is born and raised in Dublin but nobody would believe you. The mother is Kildare and the grandparents were Kildare, Offaly, Kerry and Mayo. I was regarded as half-bogger by the friends growing up.

The wife's family are Dubs true and true, hiding rebels during the fun times and all.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 PointHop123

Is the DORT accent not a real Dublin accent as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I'm lucky enough not to have to spend a lot of time in Dublin. The accents and general maudlin attitude down in the capital is totally at odds with my own beliefs. For example I have never watched X Factor or ordered a takeaway meal, nor have I cried at any melodramas starring Ryan Gosling.

There is an element of anti-intellectualism and propensity for sentimentality among the populace of Dublin that I think the rather more stoic citizenry of "de country" are fortunate for not sharing and I dread any day I have to go down to the capital.

My son is in college down there though and he loves it. So who knows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Calltocall wrote: »
    So you’re a scumbag if you have an authentic accent which originates from where you live, I’d rather have the authenticity of that than this half British/American fake accent which was basically made up to make one sound supposedly more intelligent and used to hide your origins for fear of people looking down on you, so insincere and ridiculous, be real, always the best policy.

This. The snobbery around accents in this country never ceases to amaze me. We're worse than the English with their supposed class system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Nothing new there. When I was a chizler in primary school in the 1970s, I was the only child in my class who had two parents both born in Dublin. And even I only had one out of four grandparents born in Dublin.

All accents are developing all the time, and all middle-aged and older people complain that young people are losing their accents/speaking in affected accents/being swamped by foreign accents/whatever. It was ever thus.

I was listening to a show on RTE radio about historical Irish weather last night, first broadcast in the 80s. There were lots of accents, none of them too strong, and people generally enunciated better. Accents are not going away.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Norra bleerin' hope is eh dyin'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,947 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

There was a young fella with a Dublin accent used to be a presenter on RTE children's programmes, I think he was about 18 or 19 years old at the time. I remember him as being quiet good and he was so at ease with camera's etc. it looked like he was presenting all his life.

I can't remember his name. I think he disappeared off the TV before that 'rindybout' accent became fashionable.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

The idea that a hundreds of thousands of people are putting on a 'fake accent' is absolutely hilarious and doesn't seem to come up anywhere other than boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭ciarang85

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    There was a young fella with a Dublin accent used to be a presenter on RTE children's programmes, I think he was about 18 or 19 years old at the time. I remember him as being quiet good and he was so at ease with camera's etc. it looked like he was presenting all his life.

I can't remember his name. I think he disappeared off the TV before that 'rindybout' accent became fashionable.

Kevin O'Connell i think

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Well, my 4-year-old manages to make the English word 'school' into two syllables. I correct her each time and she just makes more of an elongated two syllables out of it for the craic, laughing her heart out. Two days ago as I was driving I corrected her and she took the piss out of it again, only to be followed by her 2-year-old brother in the seat next to her who is now, for the first time, making two syllables out of that word. And laughing through it all.

Feck it; I give up. She can 'done that', 'seen that' and eat 'crips' to her heart's content as seo amach.

Just keep repeating it. A four year old has no idea and thinks you're being stupid. Eventually she will take it on board. It usually takes a kid till about the age of seven to get a handle on basic English grammar. Crisps is a horror of a word to say, she just can't pronounce it yet - logjam of consonants!:p

• Registered Users Posts: 16,371 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

You've succinctly summed up the existence of everyone with a Dublin accent with such ease.
    Can't wait for me Ray and chips later, have a lovely tip that I must get down to the bookies to back, but I just have to collect me dole money and pop home and knock the missus about a bit first.

Thanks be to jaysus dem culchies are runnin the place while I have me feet up, dis is de life.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Is the DORT accent not a real Dublin accent as well?
    It is a neutral, artificial to an extent, accent, out of the likes of RTE and through celebs wanting to sound like they are from wealthy areas of South Dublin. You can find it as far away as Galway and Limerick!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,371 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

Mena Mitty wrote: »

Kevo, he was bleedin rapid.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Genuinely proud of my Dublin 9 accent and the only time I will remotely change it is if I'm on air... :)