Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018/2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    You’re talking like there’s some sort of “us Vs them” in what I’m talking about. There isn’t.

So I am a lurker, but will start by saying I thin you are generally a good poster.

However the "us vs them" thing is interesting as you said only a few posts ago that it was unreasonable to accuse "me and other Liverpool fans" of trying to derail the thread/antagonise on the subjectnof Ole/Poch.

You yourself have raised nothing but reasonable points in a fair manner. The poster who is uninterested in the CL qualification challengers but wants Ole to get the job as he's bound to fail is not like you. You and other Liverpool fans are different. It's not us vs them unless "us" are sound and "them" are not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Any early team news for Saturday? Be interesting to see if some of the injured are back.

Heading to the game, my first since the europa league final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,145 ✭✭✭paulbok

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Any early team news for Saturday? Be interesting to see if some of the injured are back.

Heading to the game, my first since the europa league final.

Bringing the thread back on topic, reported. ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Here's the one quantifiable difference I can see in appointing Ole VS taking a risk (and yes, it would be a risk) on any other candidate:

Ole gets the club he's currently managing. He has a uniquely interesting perspective as opposed to any manager who's come along since Fergie left.

This idea of the United way. Ole has done it all in that sense - player, youth coach - and now caretaker manager.

Other managers had to put their own imprint on the club, and gave player targets, set up their tactics, coached their players in their own mould.

I don't see any risk in appointing Ole, even if it does eventually fail - it's quite clear his strategies align with the ethos of the club and how the fans want and need to see United play.
    It's an added bonus he's been incredibly successful so far in applying that, and is testament I think to his man management skills - as let's be honest here, United have the players to be competing minimally in the Top 4, and with better investment can be back challenging for the title in perhaps 2 seasons or so (and it will take that long).

If Ole does eventually turn out to be a failure in terms of success, the long term fallout won't be as catastrophic as if United bring in a new manager, and spend hundreds of millions in trying to purchase players to suit their style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,010 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I really hate just adding to the nonsense, but just look back over the past few pages at who has derailed it.
    We know exactly who derailed it, the poster who wandered in and left a turd on the floor knowing exactly what he was doing and what he wanted to achieve.
    The only two decent sides faced had ye camping out with a flat back 6 ala Jose which is acceptable to Utd at this moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

We know exactly who derailed it, the poster who wandered in and left a turd on the floor knowing exactly what he was doing and what he wanted to achieve.

Bull****

I like rebel, like gimli he's a gem among the dirt.
    But his vision of how the soccer forum is vs how it actually is are not aligned.

Fewer and fewer posting and posters leaving regularly. Especially in the utd thread.

There are plenty of reasons why that is. Can't be said but the regulars know why ;)

Back to footie, I assume Oles presser is today. Really hope there is some further news on injuries.

I would be happy if the same team lines up against Southampton tomorrow regardless. Keep Fred in the starting 11. I think some are exaggerating on how bad they think he was. Thought it was just match roughness and he steadied and came into the game especially in the second half.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

“As long as it’s done in the right spirit” is important the bit you skipped there.

I’m no fan of anyone setting out to actively antagonise people on any thread, especially when there’s any of the nastiness we often see on boards.

You’re talking like there’s some sort of “us Vs them” in what I’m talking about. There isn’t. I don’t represent liverpool, or the Liverpool thread. I represent me, and my opinions. I don’t like to see people acting the langer in the Liverpool thread. I don’t like to see it in the Chelsea thread. I don’t like to see it in the Utd thread.

So if the roles were reversed in a hypothetical situation and a United fan posted something like this in the pool thread, how do you think it would be received?
    As an opposition fan I genuinely hope OGS gets the job over poch.

OGS doing a great caretaker job but just can't see him being a long term success. The only two decent sides faced had ye camping out with a flat back 6 ala Jose which is acceptable to Utd at this moment but won t be acceptable this time next year.

The posts questioning it are tame to how I would expect a post like that be met in the Pool thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Can we start the man utd thread again??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Southampton tomorrow I still don't feel confident enough to look at such a game as a walkover not just yet wonder will any of the kids get game time with the big one on Wednesday. Pogba to star tomorrow then get the blame on Wednesday for being in the stands.

Tbf Pogba already got the blame when he was sent off in the first leg!

Regardless he's not involved now so up to the others to try step up and make a game of it. There is some weird twinge of confidence in the back of my head about the PSG game. Particularly given PSGs history of collapse in the competition before. And our away form has been incredible of late. I think it will be closer than people think. A solid performance would be great for confidence.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Tbf Pogba already got the blame when he was sent off in the first leg!

Regardless he's not involved now so up to the others to try step up and make a game of it. There is some weird twinge of confidence in the back of my head about the PSG game. Particularly given PSGs history of collapse in the competition before. And our away form has been incredible of late. I think it will be closer than people think. A solid performance would be great for confidence.

Possibly without our 3 main midfielders for the PsG game.. not even a tiny hope of a win unless lingard rashford and Martial all play, even then I reckon PSG will just sit back and hit us on the counter which makes it harder for those three to get into the game

astradave wrote: »
    Possibly without our 3 main midfielders for the PsG game.. not even a tiny hope of a win unless lingard rashford and Martial all play, even then I reckon PSG will just sit back and hit us on the counter which makes it harder for those three to get into the game

United won a champions league final without the 2 best midfield players in europe.. scholes and keane.

BELIEVE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Southampton's record at OT is worryingly good. One loss in the post Fergie era I believe. It would be pretty sickening if we drop points tomorrow but this game is certainly not a gimme.

I assume Ole's press conference is in half an hour? The joys of consistency. Would be nice to have Martial back as an option at the very least.

bangkok wrote: »
    United won a champions league final without the 2 best midfield players in europe.. scholes and keane.

BELIEVE

Yes but they had Neville, Irwin and Stam in defense and 4 strikers who had a massive wealth of experience between them..

I'm not saying it can't be done, I'm just saying that to me, I'd be very surprised if it happened

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Southampton's record at OT is worryingly good. One loss in the post Fergie era I believe. It would be pretty sickening if we drop points tomorrow but this game is certainly not a gimme.

I assume Ole's press conference is in half an hour? The joys of consistency. Would be nice to have Martial back as an option at the very least.

Absolutely hate the fixture, they have really stepped up in Stokes absence to be a thorn in Uniteds side.

Man I'm being a downer today..

**** it 4-0 United.. martial Rash and Sanchez all on the scoresheet

Yes but they had Neville, Irwin and Stam in defense and 4 strikers who had a massive wealth of experience between them..

I'm not saying it can't be done, I'm just saying that to me, I'd be very surprised if it happened

Ah yea, in fairness 99 team was class. Beckham played centre mid that night with butt and was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Don't get why people engage if they believe someone is posting just for a reaction.
    Surely if that's what you believe you're just giving them exactly what they want?

If you really believe someone is posting to get a rise I'd suggest just ignoring it and letting them going crazy.

source.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Going to the match tomorrow, last match I was at was the cup match against Derby, let's hope I've not become an unlucky charm. :pac:

Think we will win easy enough... pogba is currently unplayable and wont be playing wed night so i reckon he will get a couple of goals and sanchez will get one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I really hate just adding to the nonsense, but just look back over the past few pages at who has derailed it. Any mention of liverpool has come from Utd fans. The mention of some combined 11 came from a Utd fan. All the derailment of 'fans from t'other side' has come from Utd fans.

Myself and the other liverpool fan were actively trying to have a discussion about the merits of Ole V Poch. And instead of a single post answering any point I raised, there's just complaints that I posted at all.

I have no interest in stoking up 'banter', i post in whatever thread looks a bit active during the Irish night time (or daytime for me).

If people just stuck to the thread title, we'd all be grand.

I've been coasting through the thread so will have a look back at the points. I've written a bit about my views of Poch versus Ole in the past, a lot of points people will disagree with.

Firstly I don't buy the narrative that Ole lacks experience, yes his success and best experience has come in the Norwegian League and with the United reserves, which many don't value but he's been coaching long time (longer than Poch).

I don't think Ole get's enough credit from some who say he's only there because he's an ex player, certainly a factor but saying that does him an injustice I think. It's funny enough that Poch's career or breakthrough really came from him being an ex-player thrown into a manager role of his club, with no previous experience I believe.

I rate Poch a lot, really like him but I would much rather we continued with Ole and see where this goes than completely changing ship again. It's been talked over and over but there's no denying he has some great experience tapping into the knowledge of Fergie, knows the club and what the fans want, managed a lot of the players at underage so already has had relationships with them and knows what their capable of, and he's built a great team around him. His analytic brain when it comes to the game has been noted previously before he got the job as extremely impressive (years on the bench I suppose!) and I've posted many times but Beckham around 7-8 years ago mentioned he could be a future United manager after Fergie.

He's won over the players, implimenting style and formation to get the best out of them and generally improving them. This isn't the first time he's rebuilt a former club that he played for and coached youths for, so for me I feel it can be sustainable.

Our fanbase, dressing room and overall feel has been divided and up and down since Fergie left. For once in those years we've had a great consistent stretch of optimism and a feel good factor where things are looking to improve. I think making a change now would ruin the work that has been done and set us back to a rebuild mode from scratch. New manager, brings in his own staff and will need to build relationships with the players again and go through the period of deciding who's staying, who's going and who's our targets. Ole has been afforded time to do this already.

In my opinion it's not worth scraping the progress that's being done in fear that Ole can't continue it or that he isn't a big enough name. People might refer to it as pre-emptive but he's most certainly done enough already to warrant the job in my eyes.

I always wanted poch... my number one choice. One of the best young managers around, but the job ole has done, the feel good factor, zero bull****, respect the players have for him, the backroom team, i think he should be given the job in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

As a Liverpool fan I can tell you my view has changed from hoping Solsjkaer gets the job to hoping he doesn't. Genuinely think he should be in the mix for manager of the year, certainly if he gets them into the CL or heaven forbid wins the thing. Utd at Anfield this year was the worst performance I remember from them there. He's breaking records with the same team. Ultimately it may not work out, football's a fickle business but I don't think there's a serious debate that he won't be given the chance.

Looks like no change on the injury front. :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Looks like no change on the injury front. :(

https://twitter.com/SimonPeach/status/1101421821990133761

Everyone else was already announced as being out for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Absolutely hate the fixture, they have really stepped up in Stokes absence to be a thorn in Uniteds side.

Man I'm being a downer today..

**** it 4-0 United.. martial Rash and Sanchez all on the scoresheet

F**k it, yeah I think we will win with a bit to spare.
    I know their record against us is good.

But tbf they've lost twice to Cardiff in the last few months.

Even a patched up United team should be too good for them.

Rom will be full of confidence after Wednesday night. Marcus possibly back in the starting XI.
    And Pogba will definitely play.

2-0 United.

And hopefully a draw in the North London derby :)

A front line of rashford Sanchez and lukaku should be more than enough... I hope martial is left out completely and let recover fully and be used then on wednesday

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

A front line of rashford Sanchez and lukaku should be more than enough... I hope martial is left out completely and let recover fully and be used then on wednesday

Might be wise to hold back Rashford from the start as well.

https://twitter.com/SimonPeach/status/1101421821990133761

Everyone else was already announced as being out for a few weeks.
    Here was Ole's initial quote.
    I don’t think there will be many changes. We have got the last session today, but w are not going to risk anyone if they are not 100 per cent. So let’s see tomorrow when we wake up.

The squad will be looking similar, still. Maybe one third of it will be Academy kids - maybe even more. So that is a good point to take out of it.

He then followed it up with this which I had not seen.
    It's the last session today but we're not going take any risks. Maybe Anthony, but it might just be a few more days before he's ready, so probably the squad will look similar to what it did at Wednesday.

But to me that reads as we are more than likely going to have the same squad tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

DM_7 wrote: »
    Might be wise to hold back Rashford from the start as well.

I was dissapointed to see him come on against Palace..... He should of been rested.