Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018/2019

Ah a nice new thread

Not a smell of lemons anywhere

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Unfortunately can't respond in thread as it's locked but some of ye would seriously wana catch a grip of yourselves.

I was responding a reasonable post from mickjag regarding the merits of ole v poch, giving a point of view from an opposition fan yet the reaction was that of bunch of teenage girls.

I wasn't pissing on your parade after beating palace as quite frankly the race for 4th isn't on my mind at the minute so that result is of zero concern to me

KgeB8vj.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Econ__

Pretty much the Crux of it.

I'd fear utd under Poch whereas i really don't under Ole.

I think some fans are on a honeymoon period with ole and while you might be happy with the performances against Liverpool and psg after having to endure Jose for so long. That won't be acceptable to fans this time next year.

I understand why you would think like that after your harrowing experience with Dalglish, who was given the Liverpool job on a full time basis following a honeymoon period as caretaker.

While Solskjaer may turn out to be just as disastrous a full time appointment as Dalglish, he does have age on his side. While Kenny was a 60 year old hasbeen who hadn't even managed a club in years before getting that gig, Ole is only 46 - still very young in managerial terms, so potentially has a much higher ceiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Well, lets just remind everybody what you said, for clarity's sake.

Point stands
    Quick question..
    Can you see Klopp being a long term success?

You said your can't see Ole being a long term success.. that's your opinion and you are entitled to it..what's deemed success is relative too tho.
    Ole has certainly been a huge success so far; can't see how anyone would disagree at this point in time..
    So I am interested in what you regard as successful..For Klopp to be regarded as successful for example, what does he need to do??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,826 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

You said your can't see Ole being a long term success.. that's your opinion and you are entitled to it..what's deemed success is relative too tho.
    Ole has certainly been a huge success so far; can't see how anyone would disagree at this point in time..
    So I am interested in what you regard as successful..For Klopp to be regarded as successful for example, what does he need to do??

I'm not quite sure I understand your thought process, but it's an interesting enough area to get into I suppose....

We judge any manager through expectation based upon history. Generally speaking, top level clubs hire managers with a higher expectation of success built upon the foundations of their careers to date. Using Klopp as an example, as you mentioned, he achieved success at Mainz, and then Dortmund, and so when he joined Liverpool, fans (and more importantly board members) had a tangible, quantifiable benchmark of what he could do. Is that any guarantee of what he would do? of course not, but on the risk/reward sliding scale, it sets you up for a better chance of getting where you want to be.

So the question of Ole or Poch, looking at the same scale, would lead one to move towards Poch of course. His tangible, long term record at clubs in better quality leagues is obviously superior. What makes it muddy is Ole's short term, but high value success. He's there, right now, doing well. So it feels like a risk to drop a current performer, in favor of a different, but higher rated quantity.

The risk is; do you hope the initial, and largely unexpected, form will continue, as it did (in the champions league at least) for Zidane at Real Madrid. Or does the short term performance-improvement bubble burst when faced with the longer term harsh realities, like Dalglish at Liverpool, and Di Matteo at Chelsea.

On balance, I would say the cold logical decision should be to go with the more-proven-over-time bet of Pochetino. But football doesn't generally follow cold logical thinking, so Ole will get the job. It's not necessarily a bad choice - I don't think there is a bad choice in this situation - but it's the riskier choice.

<Edit> As another way of thinking about it. Let's say you're an oil baron , and you just bought a random premier league club with the intention of pushing the top teams all the way. You need a great manager to take charge of the rebuild, and get your team into the champions league. Do you bring in Ole Gunnar Solskjær, or Mauricio Pochettino? For me, there's only one answer there. For the longer term, I would want someone who had proven themselves at all aspects of top league management, over someone who - while inspiring great form and results - is still untried in many aspects of modern management, as those challenges simply haven't presented themselves yet. Executing long term strategy is about much more than short term motivational improvement. This is where Dalglish and Di Matteo fell down quite quickly after that short term motivation ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,646 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Quick question..
    Can you see Klopp being a long term success?

If Klopp left it the morning it would be considered a success as the bar is low at Liverpool.
    He moved them up the table and got them to a few finals so fans are happy and there is no pressure on him to win trophies.

Whoever is the next full time manager of United will be expected to be winning silverware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,225 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Not sure you understand the concept of boards

Whats the concept of a superthread again?

Anyone?

pjohnson wrote: »
    Whats the concept of a superthread again?

Anyone?

To keep conversation on any given club confined to that thread. There used to be several Utd and Liverpool threads on all sorts of different aspects of the clubs and players, and it pushed other topics off the front page. Putting them all in one thread allowed other discussions to open up on the front page beyond those relating to the most supported teams.

It's very much not to keep fans separated, if that's what you're implying... suggestions to make separate fan sections on boards have been shot down plenty of times to avoid exactly that - there are plenty of dedicated fan forums out there that get to exist as echo chambers. Boards soccer has always looked to be more than that. The problem obviously is sometimes a minority ruin things for others, but in general people crossposting between threads - as long as done in the right spirit - is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    I'm not quite sure I understand your thought process, but it's an interesting enough area to get into I suppose....

We judge any manager through expectation based upon history. Generally speaking, top level clubs hire managers with a higher expectation of success built upon the foundations of their careers to date. Using Klopp as an example, as you mentioned, he achieved success at Mainz, and then Dortmund, and so when he joined Liverpool, fans (and more importantly board members) had a tangible, quantifiable benchmark of what he could do. Is that any guarantee of what he would do? of course not, but on the risk/reward sliding scale, it sets you up for a better chance of getting where you want to be.

So the question of Ole or Poch, looking at the same scale, would lead one to move towards Poch of course. His tangible, long term record at clubs in better quality leagues is obviously superior. What makes it muddy is Ole's short term, but high value success. He's there, right now, doing well. So it feels like a risk to drop a current performer, in favor of a different, but higher rated quantity.

The risk is; do you hope the initial, and largely unexpected, form will continue, as it did (in the champions league at least) for Zidane at Real Madrid. Or does the short term performance-improvement bubble burst when faced with the longer term harsh realities, like Dalglish at Liverpool, and Di Matteo at Chelsea.

On balance, I would say the cold logical decision should be to go with the more-proven-over-time bet of Pochetino. But football doesn't generally follow cold logical thinking, so Ole will get the job. It's not necessarily a bad choice - I don't think there is a bad choice in this situation - but it's the riskier choice.

<Edit> As another way of thinking about it. Let's say you're an oil baron , and you just bought a random premier league club with the intention of pushing the top teams all the way. You need a great manager to take charge of the rebuild, and get your team into the champions league. Do you bring in Ole Gunnar Solskjær, or Mauricio Pochettino? For me, there's only one answer there. For the longer term, I would want someone who had proven themselves at all aspects of top league management, over someone who - while inspiring great form and results - is still untried in many aspects of modern management, as those challenges simply haven't presented themselves yet. Executing long term strategy is about much more than short term motivational improvement. This is where Dalglish and Di Matteo fell down quite quickly after that short term motivation ended.

What he said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭manufan16

The influx to the thread leads me think Liverpool recently won a game again that was comfortable , nerves have dissapated and confidence is high and mighty throughout. I missed MOTD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

manufan16 wrote: »
    The influx to the thread leads me think Liverpool recently won a game again that was comfortable , nerves have dissapated and confidence is high and mighty throughout. I missed MOTD.

Wait till Everton beat them on the weekend.

manufan16 wrote: »
    GSPfan wrote: »

Ye're complaining about people posting in a thread - when those people are posting on-topic opinions. While your own posts have nothing to do with the thread at all. What's the point, like?

I wouldn't say anything i've said is unfair, or even particularly biased, so if you disagree, lets have a chat about it and see where we end up. Isn't that the whole point of the site? It's a quiet work day over here, and i've a bit of time.

Or even if ya want to ignore it entirely, then at least bring something else up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭xtal191

GSPfan wrote: »

I wish but must be 10 years or something stupid since they've beaten them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,819 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Welcome to the new Manchester United super thread, you'll never walk alone.

Glazers Out!

yabadabado wrote: »
    If Klopp left it the morning it would be considered a success as the bar is low at Liverpool.
    He moved them up the table and got them to a few finals so fans are happy and there is no pressure on him to win trophies.

Whoever is the next full time manager of United will be expected to be winning silverware.

Klopp may not have won anything but come on, he's completely revolutionised them. Same as he did with Dortmund. I don't see the problem people in here have with admitting that Liverpool are a great team right now. I hate them as much as anyone and hope they give us reason to laugh by the end of the season but it's a bit hollow with United being an average team.

People say the bar is low at Liverpool. The bar has been well and truly lowered at United the last 5 years. They are finishing higher reasonably consistently despite spending much less and selling well too.

Fact is that despite the good run United are on they are still worse in nearly every position than Liverpool. Pogba would automatically get in their team and Rashford too maybe. Any others would be debatable at best.

They were shíte last week though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Liam O wrote: »
    Klopp may not have won anything but come on, he's completely revolutionised them. Same as he did with Dortmund. I don't see the problem people in here have with admitting that Liverpool are a great team right now. I hate them as much as anyone and hope they give us reason to laugh by the end of the season but it's a bit hollow with United being an average team.

People say the bar is low at Liverpool. The bar has been well and truly lowered at United the last 5 years. They are finishing higher reasonably consistently despite spending much less and selling well too.

Fact is that despite the good run United are on they are still worse in nearly every position than Liverpool. Pogba would automatically get in their team and Rashford too maybe. Any others would be debatable at best.

They were shíte last week though.

Don't think many pool players would get in our first 11 tbh. Just shows how bad our management has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,365 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

nullzero wrote: »
    Welcome to the new Manchester United super thread, you'll never walk alone.

Mod note: Don't post that in this thread again.

Is what I would say if I was a mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    Don't think many pool players would get in our first 11 tbh. Just shows how bad our management has been.

VVD
    Robertson
    TAA
    Mane
    Salah

And that's just off the top of my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

VVD
    Robertson
    TAA
    Mane
    Salah

And that's just off the top of my head.

VVD,
    Salah.

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    VVD,
    Salah.

Are you telling me you wouldn't have TAA and Robertson(Who is probably the best Left back in the league this season) get in ahead of Shaw and Young(?) no idea who the starting FB's you would be referring to in a strongest XI then.

I may be wrong but isn't one of the main positions that most United fans want a new signing in Full Backs?

Utter Madness and extreme bias

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Are you telling me you wouldn't have TAA and Robertson(Who is probably the best Left back in the league this season) get in ahead of Shaw and Young(?) no idea who the starting FB's you would be referring to in a strongest XI then.

I may be wrong but isn't one of the main positions that most United fans want a new signing in Full Backs?

Utter Madness and extreme bias

Whatd you expect hah. Id say winnaldum would be 50/50 with herera for that spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭SScope

Here, how about you take your Liverpool love in to the Liverpool thread and **** off out of here?

This all started because of a Liverpool fans noncence, if you want to do combined 11's get the Utd vs Pool match thread reopened.

The ****housery from blow ins here is a joke

SScope wrote: »
    Here, how about you take your Liverpool love in to the Liverpool thread and **** off out of here?

This all started because of a Liverpool fans noncence, if you want to do combined 11's get the Utd vs Pool match thread reopened.

The ****housery from blow ins here is a joke

Calling someone a blow in with 146 posts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭SScope

Not a blow in just comment when I feel like it. As opposed to talking ****e for the sake of it

SScope wrote: »
    Not a blow in just comment when I feel like it. As opposed to talking ****e for the sake of it

The only one talking sh1te is you. The rest were actually just discussing something like the way the forum works..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

How the f@ck do you lads get away with posting sh1te in a Utd thread over and over?

Dozyart wrote: »
    How the f@ck do you lads get away with posting sh1te in a Utd thread over and over?

I really hate just adding to the nonsense, but just look back over the past few pages at who has derailed it. Any mention of liverpool has come from Utd fans. The mention of some combined 11 came from a Utd fan. All the derailment of 'fans from t'other side' has come from Utd fans.

Myself and the other liverpool fan were actively trying to have a discussion about the merits of Ole V Poch. And instead of a single post answering any point I raised, there's just complaints that I posted at all.

I have no interest in stoking up 'banter', i post in whatever thread looks a bit active during the Irish night time (or daytime for me).

If people just stuck to the thread title, we'd all be grand.

FYI. I'm not a Liverpool fan. I was just merely posting thoughts after a United fan stated Liverpool players wouldn't get into the team.

It was not to derail the thread it was a reply to a United poster and I even posed the question about fullbacks as it's always been a position United fans have been looking to upgrade.

Which is why I found the post baffling to begin with.

I really hate just adding to the nonsense, but just look back over the past few pages at who has derailed it. Any mention of liverpool has come from Utd fans. The mention of some combined 11 came from a Utd fan. All the derailment of 'fans from t'other side' has come from Utd fans.

Myself and the other liverpool fan were actively trying to have a discussion about the merits of Ole V Poch. And instead of a single post answering any point I raised, there's just complaints that I posted at all.

I have no interest in stoking up 'banter', i post in whatever thread looks a bit active during the Irish night time (or daytime for me).

If people just stuck to the thread title, we'd all be grand.

I actually believe that. Good poster IMO.

Still though, the other poster you're trying to defend dropped this classic...

"I wasn't pissing on your parade after beating palace as quite frankly the race for 4th isn't on my mind at the minute so that result is of zero concern to me."

...so please understand if I don't take your endorsement of their contributions seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,225 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

To keep conversation on any given club confined to that thread. There used to be several Utd and Liverpool threads on all sorts of different aspects of the clubs and players, and it pushed other topics off the front page. Putting them all in one thread allowed other discussions to open up on the front page beyond those relating to the most supported teams.

It's very much not to keep fans separated, if that's what you're implying... suggestions to make separate fan sections on boards have been shot down plenty of times to avoid exactly that - there are plenty of dedicated fan forums out there that get to exist as echo chambers. Boards soccer has always looked to be more than that. The problem obviously is sometimes a minority ruin things for others, but in general people crossposting between threads - as long as done in the right spirit - is a good thing.

I assume this has the caveat that cross posting in one thread is forbidden if that team say lost a CL final. Different rules for each superthread I guess.

pjohnson wrote: »
    I assume this has the caveat that cross posting in one thread is forbidden if that team say lost a CL final. Different rules for each superthread I guess.

“As long as it’s done in the right spirit” is important the bit you skipped there.

I’m no fan of anyone setting out to actively antagonise people on any thread, especially when there’s any of the nastiness we often see on boards.

You’re talking like there’s some sort of “us Vs them” in what I’m talking about. There isn’t. I don’t represent liverpool, or the Liverpool thread. I represent me, and my opinions. I don’t like to see people acting the langer in the Liverpool thread. I don’t like to see it in the Chelsea thread. I don’t like to see it in the Utd thread.