Dublin City Fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭trashcan

fryup wrote: »
    gets what ya get when you make Conor McGregor a role model

Was just thinking the exact same thing. Two McGregor wannabes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

what was she welcome for?

I've asked myself the same. His linguistic skills maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

trashcan wrote: »
    Was just thinking the exact same thing. Two McGregor wannabes.

Christ would you even called that a fight . Embarrassing !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I've asked myself the same. His linguistic skills maybe?

maybe they were cunning?

He did have a tongue like a snow shovel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Benny Biscotti

It was only a cultural re-enactment for Seachtain na Scangerí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Disgraceful behaviour, they should be stripped of their boxing licenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Great advert for visitors to Ireland. Not !

O'Connell Street, the main thoroughfare in the country is a disgrace and has been a disgrace for over a decade now. The undesirables are just left to harass, pester and rob unsuspecting tourists at their own free will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,367 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Always something uncomfortable about watching an unsanctioned fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭areu4real?

Yeah, it's a bit mad that it happened where it did, but complaining that Gardaí weren't called and hadn't arrived on the scene within exactly 8 minutes? Not sure about that.

8 mins is a long time for no police to show up on the main Street in the capital city yes. In reality it was more than 8 mins as the "ring" was already formed, referees in place, all the cameras out and recording. Not exactly the middle of the night judging by the amount of people/buses etc around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

tupenny wrote: »
    Vid is a let down

Were they travellers? I watched the first minute or two and it was the same ****e as the videos the traveller lads put up. Glorified dancing with the odd arm vaguely swung in the direction of the other guy. Round and round till someone gets tired and a half arse punch lands.....

areu4real? wrote: »
    8 mins is a long time for no police to show up on the main Street in the capital city yes. In reality it was more than 8 mins as the "ring" was already formed, referees in place, all the cameras out and recording. Not exactly the middle of the night judging by the amount of people/buses etc around.

the video is eight minutes long but at what point were the gardai called? I imagine most people just walked on by.

Not being argumentative but imo there should be no need for a call. They should be around. Looking at the background, it's not far from the GPO. I'm not blaming Garda only for this btw, the fact these knuckle draggers have the neck to take over a huge section of the footpath and do this says a lot in itself. So much wrong here, AGS can only be where they're asked to be, I understand that but I suppose it's a show of how under resourced and badly organised things are

call that a fight?

Not one single windmill involved.

No wonder you Irish don't do football hooliganism, you'd be ****e at it ;)

Not being argumentative but imo there should be no need for a call. They should be around. Looking at the background, it's not far from the GPO. I'm not blaming Garda only for this btw, the fact these knuckle draggers have the neck to take over a huge section of the footpath and do this says a lot in itself. So much wrong here, AGS can only be where they're asked to be, I understand that but I suppose it's a show of how under resourced and badly organised things are

Thats fair enough. There should be more of a presence on the main thoroughfare of the capital. Where exactly on O'Connell street did it take place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Aegir wrote: »
    call that a fight?

Not one single windmill involved.

No wonder you Irish don't do football hooliganism, you'd be ****e at it ;)

From the short bits I've seen both guys look like they have some boxing experience. Not great or anything but fairly structured stance and footwork.

Thats fair enough. There should be more of a presence on the main thoroughfare of the capital. Where exactly on O'Connell street did it take place?

Not 100% sure but it looks like up the O'Connell bridge end between the GPO and the Liffey somewhere

Where exactly on O'Connell street did it take place?
    Seems to be opposite Eason, at the intersection with Abbey Street and O'Connell, just up from where Clery's used to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Omackeral wrote: »
    Would it shock you if I told you I know him from prison? Good to see him staying out of trouble and making something of himself :pac:

We all secretly aspire to be a "fair play man" I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'd say the gardai were aware and there were some nearby. But they'd probably want backup before going in. two lone gardai trying to disrupt a crowd that big could go wrong very quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Actually, I just skimmed the video. is it just me or does it look like the two lads might be friends? they don't look like two lads trying to beat the crap out of each other. I don't have sound but it looks like they were smiling at each other a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭reg114

Zero garda presence in the city centre these days, the criminals and miscreants have free rein to drink openly, take drugs, assault other and generally terrorise retailers and regular law abiding citizens with their lawless behaviour. We need a zero tolerance approach to the scourge of low lifes taking over our streets coupled with a three strikes approach to sentencing and community service. Bail laws need total overhauling as does the postcolonial wig wearing judiciary which is completely out of touch with reality.

On the lack of gardai presence for the 8 mins, I wonder if it would be the same around Tower Bridge in London or around The Eiffel Tower in Paris as far as response time goes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭10fathoms

Ah good old Dublin. The greatest kip this side of the Irish sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

garv123 wrote: »
    What a **** fight. One fella backing away for 8 minutes!!

It was a fairly regulated and calm fight. I was expecting kicks and head butts. This was Queensbury rules, if the rules were updated to not hit anybody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Grayson wrote: »
    Actually, I just skimmed the video. is it just me or does it look like the two lads might be friends? they don't look like two lads trying to beat the crap out of each other. I don't have sound but it looks like they were smiling at each other a lot.

I don’t think a punch landed.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I don’t think a punch landed.
    Shirtless guy got tagged a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Those spectators were very brave holding their phones like that for everyone to see,.they could have got robbed!?

Maybe that was the plan. The scumbags, they are evolving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Looked like a show of power to me. The fight itself was obviously a non-event. The point was they were showing that they could do it, set up an organised fight right there in the middle of O'Connell Street, and nobody would do a thing.

And they were right. I'm normally as left wing as it gets on this forum, and not a fan of the hang em and flog em solutions people usually suggest. But this was clearly taking a liberty, it was designed to show their contempt for the law. What was needed were fifteen big bog-trotting guards straight out of Templemore with full riot gear, shields, and batons, to let them know whose street it is. Everyone's.