Dublin City Fight

• 15-02-2019 02:08AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭

Not sure if I can post videos here but I just watched an 8 minute long video of a fight on O'Connell Street. Looks semi organised, with guys on crowd control. About 50 people standing around watching in a pretty big circle, not like it was hard to spot. People who think there's no problem with how Dublin city centre is policed need to watch it. Anyone who tries intervene is pushed away or threatened. Buses passing by, people going about their business and then this going on as if it's normal. I'm not being sensational about it, the video is literally 8mins long and no Garda show up whatsoever. One of the "referees" even shouts to the crowd "if the Garda come don't let them in". That is ridiculous in the centre of our capital city, in the middle of the main Street, at what looks like a pretty busy time of day. It's almost surreal to watch when you consider location etc.

*Edit*

There's the full video for anyone interested. The fight isn't worth watching, but just to show the lack of any intervention

Was it of us knockin' seven bells outta the Black'n'Tans by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Vid is a let down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭areu4real?

tupenny wrote: »
    Vid is a let down
    Yea terrible "fight" to be fair, but it's about the lack of any police presence. Pretty mad for where it happened. The video I have is 8 mins uncut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Tourists would think that was hilarious,.like all the myths about 'The Fighting Irish' are true... :-)

Are you for real? I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My favourite Dublin fight video (apart from the infamous "AH HEYOR!!! LEAVE IT BLEEDIN' OUUU" on Talbot Street of course) is the hilarious fight on Dame Street, involving chairs, tables, chalkboards and other furniture being appropriated from the Trinity Inn beside the central bank, and used as projectiles in a fight which spanned the entire width of the street.

What makes this even more beautifully poetic is the fact that it was filmed out of a double decker tourist bus, which as far as I know departed from just outside Trinity - so this could very well have been one of the first things a foreign tourist visiting Ireland saw, just minutes after boarding their scenic tour of the city :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭areu4real?

Are you for real? I think not.

What does that mean? I am for real I assure you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Great advert for visitors to Ireland. Not !

My favourite Dublin fight video (apart from the infamous "AH HEYOR!!! LEAVE IT BLEEDIN' OUUU" on Talbot Street of course) is the hilarious fight on Dame Street, involving chairs, tables, chalkboards and other furniture being appropriated from the Trinity Inn beside the central bank, and used as projectiles in a fight which spanned the entire width of the street.

What makes this even more beautifully poetic is the fact that it was filmed out of a double decker tourist bus, which as far as I know departed from just outside Trinity - so this could very well have been one of the first things a foreign tourist visiting Ireland saw, just minutes after boarding their scenic tour of the city :D:D:D

The funniest part of that video is the reaction to the Mondeo, as it just randomly appears around the corner, with no lights or sirens.

Before the siren even goes on, at the mere sight of the yellow stripe, 70% of the hard men, like something out of a sketch show on tv, run as fast as they can immediately, nearly falling over each other, to get away from what will likely be a single garda with nothing but a small baton and a walkie talkie to take on the large group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Natural selection. They are generic scummers. I found it funny when they were telling people to get out of the way and to move. They are on the capitals main street ....... or do they know what a street is. I hate these degenerates.

"….they will make a fire with your beautiful oak door."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Pair of fcukin ballerinas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

sugarman wrote: »
    Got a laugh at that alright! ...Its like when someone runs towards a flock of birds and startles them into wildly flapping in every direct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

that's some wanker in the blue jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Hopefully they each get a free house now.

Be wrong not to.

EVENFLOW

that's some wanker in the blue jacket

Would it shock you if I told you I know him from prison? Good to see him staying out of trouble and making something of himself :pac:

Ah the mighty football "firms" of Dublin scattering when one police car shows up. They've a little bit more bottle in this one but not much more.

areu4real? wrote: »
    I'm not being sensational about it, the video is literally 8mins long and no Garda show up whatsoever.
    Yeah, it's a bit mad that it happened where it did, but complaining that Gardaí weren't called and hadn't arrived on the scene within exactly 8 minutes? Not sure about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

They should put a cage in the middle of O'Connell St. in Dublin, with the Spire going through it as a means of escape and have Hell in the Cell/ Last Man Standing type matches. O'Connell St. is a kip as it stands, might as well get some entertainment out of it, plus it would cull the population hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Yeah, it's a bit mad that it happened where it did, but complaining that Gardaí weren't called and hadn't arrived on the scene within exactly 8 minutes? Not sure about that.

Their point is there should be constant patrols on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,622 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

I wonder out of all those involved how many are paying taxes or a mortgage, crazy rent but yet all live a nice life in the capital where they have free run, free money every week and a xmas bonus

Wonder if they were fighting for a foreva home

Their point is there should be constant patrols on the street.
    There is always a Garda Presence on O'Connell Street during the day and at evening time, at the GPO. But having Gardaí standing around at night time doing nothing?

If à fight broke out in Capel Street or on Dame Street, you'd have people complaining that there are Gardaí standing with their hands in their pockets on O'Connell Street. I'd be fairly confident that Garda management look at crime statistics and deploy their officers accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Hopefully they each get a free house now.

Be wrong not to.

a foreva home ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

What a bunch of incredibly ugly people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Sponsored by North Face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Shame to have missed this. Last time I was on O'Connell St. all I got was some random Deco talking the ear off me about how he was only out of prison and hoped to never return. Also something about his Missus being "prego". Fair play to him for learning Italian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

thats what ya get when you make the likes of Conor McGregor a role model

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭garv123

What a **** fight. One fella backing away for 8 minutes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Shame to have missed this. Last time I was on O'Connell St. all I got was some random Deco talking the ear off me about how he was only out of prison and hoped to never return. Also something about his Missus being "prego". Fair play to him for learning Italian.

what was she welcome for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

"Build it and they will come" - Field of dreams.

Let it (city centre) go to rack and ruin and they (lowlife) will come.