Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going for walks in hi vis jackets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

They are also ve ry warm. Our fishermen etc wear them .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,614 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Can't overstate that last part enough... the amount of idiots who drive around in bad weather or dusk/dark with no or minimal lights on is ridiculous! Their cars are practically invisible at times - although manufacturers have to share the blame with DRL implementations.. usually the back of the car is completely unlit while the driver sits oblivious thinking their front DRLs (and lit dash?) are grand.
    i once brought this to the attention of a driver at a roundabout (though i initialyl thought when i saw him that he had no lights on at all); he got confused, and went to get out of the car, and as he took one foot out of the car, it started to roll forward but thankfully he managed to stay upright and he was able to hop back in. for a second or so i was afraid his right leg would slip under the car.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,614 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Graces7 wrote: »
    They are also ve ry warm. Our fishermen etc wear them .
    RSA hi-vis jackets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

magicbastarder; your post came in blank ...

Back tomorrow so maybe then?

valoren wrote: »
    And they are also walking with the direction of the traffic, meaning if a driver did the inside hard shoulder undertake you mentioned, the walker wouldn't even see it coming. At least if they were walking against the traffic and were paying attention they might have that split second to get out of the way.

Worth pointing out that the dangerous behaviour here is a car undertaking on the hard shoulder, in the dark, and at a speed that means they can't stop when they see something in front of them.

Motorists doing this won't last long anyway. It's a hard shoulder. If they're lucky they'll hit someone out walking, if they're unlucky they'll hit the back of parked car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Back roads of were I live is full of oul ones in hi vizs in full march, usually they carry a little stick to fend off a dog attack
    Mum's Army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Mum's Army.

Funnily enough the dads army theme tune used to play in my head when I used to drive by them, myself and a mate would in tears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Maybe they're all just off the building site?

blue note wrote: »
    I just wonder why?

because the govt, Gardai, RSA and media have created a culture of blame around not wearing high vis. If a car hits you it's your fault for not being visible, not the drivers fault for not seeing you. Remember roads are for cars. and similar carry on. There is no need for high vis outside of safety related roles. Get proper lights if you are cycling or bring a torch if you are walking on country roads.

Every little helps, wearing a little light vest won't kill you.

it won't but it dangerises normal activities and they look stupid. why the f*ck should I have to wear one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

"Gloves ya prick"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I'm just back from a walk with the dog. I had torch and was wearing a hi vis vest.

Oh the embarrassment, I looked like builder. How will I ever get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,767 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

because the govt, Gardai, RSA and media have created a culture of blame around not wearing high vis. If a car hits you it's your fault for not being visible, not the drivers fault for not seeing you. Remember roads are for cars. and similar carry on. There is no need for high vis outside of safety related roles. Get proper lights if you are cycling or bring a torch if you are walking on country roads.

What happens if your touch breaks or battery drains?
    This is why you need a high visibility jacket!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I tell my kid whenever he is near a road, or in a car park. To take care of himself and use it like no one can see you. The only issue I have with your comments about the hi viz making a pedestrian show their presence, is that it's a passive activity. They aren't being pushed to think about making sure there is an opportunity for them to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Were those people wearing the hig vis French and did they look a bit angry??

What happens if your touch breaks or battery drains?
    This is why you need a high visibility jacket!

That actually happened to me last week. Where I walk it is dark enough you need torch to see where you are going. It's a pain. We also have reflective strip on the electricity pole outside our house. It's handy to tell taxi drivers where to turn in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Should be compulsory to wear some kind of hi vis if walking on or near a road,especially in rural areas. Just as bad as a car or bike with no lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

People have lost road sense. The amount of people in dark clothes on the roads is frightening, have they no brain? I saw a young one cross the road in front of a stopped bus.

This is senior infant stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭kirving

If you walk on unlit country roads at night with no lights or REFLECTIVE clothing then you have to shoulder much of the blame if you're knocked down in my opinion. Its your responsibility to yourself to be as visible as possible if you're walking at night on country roads.

A torch can run out of batteries, be pointed in the wrong direction, or blind the driver. But if used properly is the best option.

A reflective jacket is a much larger target area, and has few failure modes if it's kept clean. It does require car lights, but the vast majority of cars use headlights while driving on country roads at night.

I drive on country roads at night quite a bit. Reflective clothing makes the world of difference in addition to lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

meeeeh wrote: »
    I'm just back from a walk with the dog. I had torch and was wearing a hi vis vest.

Oh the embarrassment, I looked like builder. How will I ever get over it.

The poor dog......absolutely mortified being in your company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭flatface

Oh god, the Irish obsession with high vis is mind boggling. Sam Browne belt on walking country roads, lights on bikes and cars, all else is way OTT and takes focus off the woeful standard of driving many think is acceptable.

If you walk on unlit country roads at night with no lights or REFLECTIVE clothing then you have to shoulder much of the blame if you're knocked down in my opinion. Its your responsibility to yourself to be as visible as possible if you're walking at night on country roads.

A torch can run out of batteries, be pointed in the wrong direction, or blind the driver. But if used properly is the best option.

A reflective jacket is a much larger target area, and has few failure modes if it's kept clean. It does require car lights, but the vast majority of cars use headlights while driving on country roads at night.

I drive on country roads at night quite a bit. Reflective clothing makes the world of difference in addition to lights.

The topic is not talking about country roads. Instead OP mentioned lit paths.

flatface wrote: »
    Oh god, the Irish obsession with high vis is mind boggling. Sam Browne belt on walking country roads, lights on bikes and cars, all else is way OTT and takes focus off the woeful standard of driving many think is acceptable.

It's not an obsession. Its simply an awareness of safety for yourself and respecting drivers using the road by making yourself visible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I think its a bit over the top if you just go for a walk in around town. Different story on country roads with no foot paths, but I think in the town it's overly cautious. It also sets some sort of precedent as in I could see it becoming the 'done thing' and before you know it if you're not wearing one you're 'irresponsible' and some clowns will be asking for them to be mandatory.

Unless you're walking by the side of roads with no footpaths, if people just used normal caution - like, you know, how you were taught as a child, look where you're going and what's going on before you cross a road and likewise drivers driving with care and not half on 'autopilot' - everything should be grand.

There is a bot of a safety obsession cotton wool thinking these days. The other day I saw five fellas looking into a manhole about 2 foot deep. All wearing high viz and hard hats. I bet they would have sent anyone away if they were going to look into the hole without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I never realised just how visually hard it is to see someone out walking when they’re not wearing a hi vis until I started driving. I’ve had many near misses on rural roads where you’d nearly be on top of the person walking before you see them. Our local school (rural) has asked that all parents wear hi vis jackets while dropping kids to and from school. You might think you can be seen but you can never underestimate how difficult it can be see someone out walking and you can never be too safe.

It's not an obsession. Its simply an awareness of safety for yourself and respecting drivers using the road by making yourself visible.

Do you offen nearly hit people without high vis gear on walking on street lit paths?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Do you offen nearly hit people without high vis gear on walking on street lit paths?

People cross roads

No. But a few times I have had near misses on the unlit rural roads in my area.

Irish road safety stats are actually quite good, fatalities are among the lowest in Europe.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/ireland-fourth-safest-in-eu-for-road-deaths-in-2017-849850.html

What is not as good as on the mainland is pedestrian facilities, a lot due to lower population density. I grew up in a country with less safe driving but I have to take more precautions in Ireland.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The topic is not talking about country roads. Instead OP mentioned lit paths.

We have lit paths. Trees grew into the lights though. So not much makes it down to the path.