So lads, when are we going to have a beers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Vela wrote: »
    Boards has a different vibe these days to 10 years ago. Even up to 5 or 6 years ago. Back in the day, there was a real sense of knowing other posters - like a wee community. So it was a fair bit of craic. These days with reregs (guilty) and older posters just leaving completely, you have a bunch of people hopping in and out rather than a collective of regular posters to keep a convo and a bit of banter going. Beers used to be a great way to meet some sound people you'd already got to know. It's different now. And I don't think there's a way to get that vibe back, it's just the way boards went. They opened it up more and thus more people joined which is grand, but it lost that community feel.

So, you're saying there's a chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Aongus Von Bismarck might turn up. Perusing the wine list looking for a bottle of something moderately acceptable.

Most boardsies are mere peasants to him so not sure if he'd fly over from Frankfurt for the occasion :P

I'll bring the cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Most boardsies are mere peasants to him so not sure if he'd fly over from Frankfurt for the occasion :P

I'll bring the cans.

Dont forget the big old plastic bag either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Vela wrote: »
    Boards has a different vibe these days to 10 years ago. Even up to 5 or 6 years ago. Back in the day, there was a real sense of knowing other posters - like a wee community. So it was a fair bit of craic. These days with reregs (guilty) and older posters just leaving completely, you have a bunch of people hopping in and out rather than a collective of regular posters to keep a convo and a bit of banter going. Beers used to be a great way to meet some sound people you'd already got to know. It's different now. And I don't think there's a way to get that vibe back, it's just the way boards went. They opened it up more and thus more people joined which is grand, but it lost that community feel.

I cant keep up now with some posters now, with some changing their names regulary, yes I know I have changed mine once, but that was only down to my first choice name becoming available again, after the great server crack/hack incident. Or, people being allowed to permanitly close their account and rereg a week later under a new name.

I might go to one if Outlaw Pete went and it was in Sligo. One of the orriginal best posters on the site, however, down to the above, am not sure if he is the orriginal, or someone else using his name after it became available again.

Have been to a few, one being a private forum meet up, and a regional one. Although both meets, half the talk was about boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭BAM! uhavechlamydia

if there was one local enough, yeah maybe.... but travelling to Dublin or Sligo...not a hope ...and I'd say 90% of posters would feel the same, depending on their own locale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

if there was one local enough, yeah maybe.... but travelling to Dublin or Sligo...not a hope ...and I'd say 90% of posters would feel the same, depending on their own locale

Only if it's in your village then? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

You've had me already, for almost 14 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Do you think? I dunno. I'd say part of it is the change in users. People who would have been up for beers in the past are no longer members so it just stopped being popular. Another reason I think is it needs to come from a mod. If one of the AH mods started a thread to organise a night out then that might work. A third reason is I'd say a fair few posters here attend beers from other forums and private ones.

I do wonder if one was organised now would the only attendees be tumbleweeds.

The cork beers used to be good way back in the day. Only went to the Dublin one once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

There is a core group of us on here that go once every 2 weeks (usually 10 to 12 of us).
    Just kidding, I'm as lonely as you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'd say it'd actually improve the vibe here if everyone met up and had a few lemonades.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

kingtut wrote: »
    There is a core group of us on here that go once every 2 weeks (usually 10 to 12 of us).
    Just kidding, I'm as lonely as you!

How is the meetup group going for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

Feisar wrote: »
    I'd say it'd actually improve the vibe here if everyone met up and had a few lemonades tabs of ecstasy.

FYP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

How is the meetup group going for you?

Flying :) Just back from a weekend in Edinburgh and had a group of 14. Savage craic. Had our first pint at 6am in cork airport lol. A few of us heading to Oktoberfest in September :)

Zorya wrote: »
    Only if it's in your village then? :)

I'd go to Cork..or maybe Limerick... but anything more than that, nope..

• Site Banned Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Dakotabigone

Will the pub have WiFi?

So we can communicate via boards and nobody actually speaks? :p

Succubus_ wrote: »

And we all wear stickers with our names?

I'm going to need a fckin roll of stickers :D

Safer than drinking a dozen pints and insulting everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

And we all wear stickers with our names?

I'm going to need a fckin roll of stickers :D

Mookie is that you :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

What if the Wifi goes kaputt? :D

tenor.gif

mzungu wrote: »
    What if the Wifi goes kaputt? :D

tenor.gif

Everyone leave single file in two minute intervals and avoid eye contact :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

If someone organised it im sure a good few some what normal people would turn up....

The last one I was at the fat weird looking fella from Human Centipede two turned up!

So ya never know who might come....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Do barrack st if you do. Tis handy to fire folk down the hill you don't like, with the old gravity you see.

Feck that Oliver plunkett st, with its flat even surface and trendy pub scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

If someone organised it im sure a good few some what normal people would turn up....

The last one I was at the fat weird looking fella from Human Centipede two turned up!

I'd rather chat to him than you based on the nastiness of that post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I'd rather chat to him than you based on the nastiness of that post.

Sorry I'm lost. Don't know what Human Centipede is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

BBFAN wrote: »
    Sorry I'm lost. Don't know what Human Centipede is?

You don't want to.

Will there be cops at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Only if it has been a REALLY REALLY good night.

Only strippers dressed as cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Only strippers dressed as cops.

Better if its cops dressed as strippers.