Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

st brigid's day, where's all the crosses?

murpho999 wrote: »
    No it's better, as kids should have fun being educated in our schools and not be indoctricated with religious hocus pocus.

I agree entirely. They should be spending hours per day in front of tvs and computers, and passing and listening to advertising everywhere, being indoctrinated by the god of fundamentalist capitalism.

Atheist response to the 0.0000001% of the day being a victim of religious indoctrination: "Oh. My. God. Like. The horror. (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"
    Atheist response to the 99.9999999% of the day being a victim of free market indoctrination: "Look at how advanced I am! (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"

Not one of the fashion following fúckers passing themselves off as "atheist" today - especially this one - would have had the massive, gigantic, gorgeous balls and rebel spirit to pass themselves off as even "anti-clerical" in Ireland in 1932 or 1952 as the handful of communists and socialist-republicans in Ireland of those days did - the incredibly demonised anti-clerical sorts like Jimmy Gralton and Peadar O'Donnell spring to mind. The mass of present-day "atheists" are instinctive conformists; the zealous atheists of 2019 have precisely the same fashion-following conformist impulse of the zealous McQuaidesque papists of 1959.

Long live the handful of real rebels in every Irish generation. Yeah, and this thread makes it very clear that the Brigid's Cross is a wonderful fúck you symbol to all those aforementioned snivelling conformist guttersnipes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Poll Dubh

Lisha wrote: »
    The new principal stopped it due to concerns that the children could pick up Weil’s disease from the rushes. I can understand the principal’s concerns but it’s a pity.

Weil’s disease? What rat infested cesspit were you collecting rushes from.

I am an atheist but I don’t get upset about the crosses - I see them as a unique and interesting part of this island’s history that remind us where we have come from.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I agree entirely. They should be spending hours per day in front of tvs and computers, and passing and listening to advertising everywhere, being indoctrinated by the god of fundamentalist capitalism.

Atheist response to the 0.0000001% of the day being a victim of religious indoctrination: "Oh. My. God. Like. The horror. (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"
    Atheist response to the 99.9999999% of the day being a victim of free market indoctrination: "Look at how advanced I am! (Did I tell you I'm an atheist?)"

Not one of the fashion following fúckers passing themselves off as "atheist" today - especially this one - would have had the massive, gigantic, gorgeous balls and rebel spirit to pass themselves off as even "anti-clerical" in Ireland in 1932 or 1952 as the handful of communists and socialist-republicans in Ireland of those days did - the incredibly demonised anti-clerical sorts like Jimmy Gralton and Peadar O'Donnell spring to mind. The mass of present-day "atheists" are instinctive conformists; the zealous atheists of 2019 have precisely the same fashion-following conformist impulse of the zealous McQuaidesque papists of 1959.

Long live the handful of real rebels in every Irish generation. Yeah, and this thread makes it very clear that the Brigid's Cross is a wonderful fúck you symbol to all those aforementioned snivelling conformist guttersnipes.

Rofl. So edgy.

The daft thing is, Muslims, Hindus and Sikhs probably couldn’t give a flying **** about spending time making a St Bridget’s cross, it’s just the cool dogooders telling them they shouldn’t do it.

Crap like this hinders integration, not encourages it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

I went to an Irish catholic school, so we weren't taught anything about those dirty pagan gods. Apart from they were all going to hell, of course, along with the protestants.

Have any of the other 90% of people on this forum who went to an Irish Catholic school here in Ireland, ever been thought about how the dirty pagan gods and protestants are going to Hell or just this guy?

I don't believe him and think he is telling porkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

I can't rule out the existence of any of the things your have mentioned, but I didn't,.

Ah, this is the standard, "ah yes it's more than likely, but I just don't choose to believe any of it" response. Wow so like waaaay cool, right on, far out etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 33,355 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

OP, I have 3 in my house if you need one.

Also, found out something today that I had never heard before.

The OH said they used to leave them outside on the window sill at night so St. Brigid could bless them.

I didn't realise she came round the houses at night like Santy.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

I made a massive one out of dog wood, it came out fairly well.

It's funny to see all the people who get triggered by an old tradition which is part of history and heritage.

I love the old traditions, I'm pagan myself and love art's and crafts.
    I love old churches and Celtic headstones, but I think it's great to be able to seperate my view on Christianity from Art

Willow weaving is fun too, you should see the pazuzu I put together with willow.

Working on Eddie's head from Iron Maiden at the moment, it's easy and free.

Theology is very interesting, my atheist friends are obsessed with religion and seem to know a lot more about it than the average Catholic.

Talk about Irony ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

NIMAN wrote: »
    OP, I have 3 in my house if you need one.

Also, found out something today that I had never heard before.

The OH said they used to leave them outside on the window sill at night so St. Brigid could bless them.

I didn't realise she came round the houses at night like Santy.

She could be sneaky like that so she could. She tricked one local king into giving her loads of land for her settlement by saying she would only take what land her cloak would cover. And lo and behold the thing took on a life of its own and covered nearly an entire county! Yer man was fairly pissed off I'd imagine ....

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭topnotch

The Country Life Museum in Turlough Park House near Castlebar in Mayo is a fantastic free attraction. Definitely worth a visit for anyone interested in Irish crafts, skills and traditions. Lots of items from beehives and baskets to lobster pots were made using straw, rushes and willow. The techniques wouldn’t be a million miles away from the humble St Brigid’s Cross.

https://www.museum.ie/Country-Life

gozunda wrote: »
    She could be sneaky like that so she could. She tricked one local king into giving her loads of land for her settlement by saying she would only take what land her cloak would cover. And lo and behold the thing took on a life of its own and covered nearly an entire county! Yer man was fairly pissed off I'd imagine ....

Ah she was very clever, the king had a parchment mapp of the country on his oak table and she threw the map on the table and covered the map...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

,|_
    ¯|

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

If a catholic school then they Should’ve done the crosses

Then they should’ve sat down the non Catholics attending the school and given an in-depth explanation why their religion is wrong

Then invite them to be baptised as Roman Catholics.

I agree with some of your post.
    They should've sat the non Catholics down and explain why we make these beautiful crosses and invite them to join in.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I agree with some of your post.
    They should've sat the non Catholics down and explain why we make these beautiful crosses and invite them to join in.

Crosses are for nailing / tying Christians to, esp. annoying ones :

aGnB7Ij.png

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭uptherebels

It ok man let it all out. The bad atheists can't get you here on the internet, but be wide for that capitalism guy, he is everywhere.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Trump Is Right

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Kids came home today with no brigid's crosses, asked teacher when went to do second collection and she said they don't do it anymore as its against schools inclusion policy. It's a catholic school!!!

I'll give you a bridge to cross... just promise not to burn it after you make it to the other side!! :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

We're going to see more of this in Ireland. It's mad that a fun activity is stopped because some foreigners might not like the Christian symbol of the cross.

Um you know Brigid’s cross isn’t a Christian cross right? It far predates Christianity.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

You can almost smell the rage and uncontrollable anger from this post.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You can almost smell the rage and uncontrollable anger from this post.

I'm surprised the 'West Brits' aren't blamed for this.

Who are the west Brits ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Muckka wrote: »
    Who are the west Brits ?

They lost a rugby match to England today.

iguana wrote: »
    Um you know Brigid’s cross isn’t a Christian cross right? It far predates Christianity.

i doubt it, i wouldn't trust Wikipedia either

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

i doubt it, i wouldn't trust Wikipedia either

It does. Ireland had its own religions before the sand religions were imposed on us...

• Site Banned Posts: 79 ✭✭Robert Wolfe

Genius!

The Muslamics is stealing our rushes and stopping our kiddies making crosses!!!!

Nah just countless terror attacks across Europe, no go zones, rape gangs in England, mass sexual assaults in Sweden and Germany etc

But hey, it's the religion of peace!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Muckka wrote: »
    Who are the west Brits ?

People from Devon and Cornwall.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,294 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Of course you are, with a username like that. We all know what's on your mind, ya dirty fecker

Not really sure what point you were trying to make, but you've clearly never read The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. The character of Hotblack Desiato actually got their name from this estate agent.

As for the whole thing about the crosses, I went to primary school in the 70s and never once made them. I vaguely remember my sister coming home with one one year, and I'm pretty sure my brother made none either. This was in a Catholic primary school in Dublin, so not everywhere felt the need to continue such "traditions".

People from Devon and Cornwall.

I thought so too, but the Cornish seems to think otherwise...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Poll Dubh

Zaph wrote: »

As for the whole thing about the crosses, I went to primary school in the 70s and never once made them. I vaguely remember my sister coming home with one one year, and I'm pretty sure my brother made none either. This was in a Catholic primary school in Dublin, so not everywhere felt the need to continue such "traditions".

Probably because it is easier to get rushes in rural areas

• Registered Users Posts: 993 ✭✭✭rightmove

Poll Dubh wrote: »

Like rush

Poll Dubh wrote: »

still doing them yokes down here, they must be doing different stuff in the cities,