Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Portugal or Spain

• Registered Users Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Yeah - good idea , heard another good one of putting brush handle in there thats longer than your driver - supposed to help prevent damage too
    Yeah, heard that one too. But with most modern drivers and fairway woods having removable heads these days, it's not really necessary anymore. Three carbon fibre shafts cable tied together without the heads is pretty much as strong. There's no off-centre leverage that could cause a break.

Also useful is a few towels packed in around the top of the bag. Keeps everything nice and comfy. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,818 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads old thread.

But was looking for ideas.

Playing in October in vilamoura. Don't want to play - Laguna , Millennium or victoria.

Any recommendations - some fairly high handicap players (28) - is the old course too hard. They have all played a good few courses , but not golfers.

Want to be near vilamoura .

I think Millennium is one I should bring back in.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,871 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Lads old thread.

But was looking for ideas.

Playing in October in vilamoura. Don't want to play - Laguna , Millennium or victoria.

Any recommendations - some fairly high handicap players (28) - is the old course too hard. They have all played a good few courses , but not golfers.

Want to be near vilamoura .

I think Millennium is one I should bring back in.

I think Victoria is better than millennium from recollection. Wasn't Victoria where they had the WGC? Also where I had one of my almost hole in ones! Think they are both in the same clubhouse. Also played one I think called pinhall or pinos altos or something like that rings a bell. That's all I played, but O'Connor and Faldo courses weren't there when I played and I heard both them were alright, still in the same oceanico group so generally a good deal to be had when you go through them.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭thewobbler

Fixd, i'd recommend the Old Course for high handicappers. It plays less than 6,000 yards off normal tees, has very little water and no carries of note. Plus it's a very pleasant walk and has a nice old style clubhouse verandah for getting sozzled in afterwards.

You should probably consider the Vale Do Lobo courses. They're only a 10 minute spin from Vilamoura and transfers will be included in green fee. Neither is that long, and while both have 2-3 holes that will challenge any handicap, they also both have a handful of genuinely straightforward birdie opportunities. If you have the pick one, the Ocean is much the better course, but the Royal par 3 16th is well deserving of its bucket list stature.

I played Salgados 15 years ago when it was very young and it's a good society course. Not overly long, and very flat - but protected by water absolutely everywhere. If washing a few balls doesn't annoy your group, it's worth the 15 min spin.

Best course I've played down there by a clear distance is Quinta Do Lago South. It is a wonderful course in a wonderful setting and has an outstanding mix of holes. Your 28 handicappers won't find it that daunting - it's not cruel - but they might find it long.

thewobbler wrote: »
    Fixd, i'd recommend the Old Course for high handicappers. It plays less than 6,000 yards off normal tees, has very little water and no carries of note. Plus it's a very pleasant walk and has a nice old style clubhouse verandah for getting sozzled in afterwards.

You should probably consider the Vale Do Lobo courses. They're only a 10 minute spin from Vilamoura and transfers will be included in green fee. Neither is that long, and while both have 2-3 holes that will challenge any handicap, they also both have a handful of genuinely straightforward birdie opportunities. If you have the pick one, the Ocean is much the better course, but the Royal par 3 16th is well deserving of its bucket list stature.

I played Salgados 15 years ago when it was very young and it's a good society course. Not overly long, and very flat - but protected by water absolutely everywhere. If washing a few balls doesn't annoy your group, it's worth the 15 min spin.

Best course I've played down there by a clear distance is Quinta Do Lago South. It is a wonderful course in a wonderful setting and has an outstanding mix of holes. Your 28 handicappers won't find it that daunting - it's not cruel - but they might find it long.

That is sort of stuff I was thinking. Thanks wobbler.

They are all ok - 2 would be terrible golfers and got nervous reading some stuff about old being hard.

I picked Old because the 5 or 6 lads that go over need a decent track to keep them happy and I like the sound of the ocean course - and no harm getting a little out of villamoura for a change - particularly if transfer is set up

Can't see these lads walking.

What is weather like - can it get very hot in October - midday with the mad dogs and Irishmen.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭Putt it there

You have to be straight as a dye off the tee for most of the old course . Its the best one out there but if you tend to go left or right the trees will have you going mad ! Some holes the gap between tree canopys is 25 yards .
    A good alternative is pinhal - pretty similar to the old course in look but a lot wider fairways etc. A cracking course in its own right .
    Victoria is also a great course but very long with a few 240+ yard carrys over water from tee shots . Very expensive too .
    Weather should be early 20's so not too bad .

Just a side note oceanico recently sold out to dom pedro so all courses are not labeled "dom pedro old course" and "dom pedro pinhal" etc. Courses stay the same but keep an eye on the prices

You have to be straight as a dye off the tee for most of the old course . Its the best one out there but if you tend to go left or right the trees will have you going mad ! Some holes the gap between tree canopys is 25 yards .
    A good alternative is pinhal - pretty similar to the old course in look but a lot wider fairways etc. A cracking course in its own right .
    Victoria is also a great course but very long with a few 240+ yard carrys over water from tee shots . Very expensive too .
    Weather should be early 20's so not too bad .

Just a side note oceanico recently sold out to dom pedro so all courses are not labeled "dom pedro old course" and "dom pedro pinhal" etc. Courses stay the same but keep an eye on the prices

Best website for deals lads.

Some seem sneaky - not sure if cart is included or not.

Think old could be too expensive for these lads too - Pinhal good call ,

First time away - can't see us going back to that part of Portugal - prices are mad. Grand for yourself - but asking lads who don't play much golf to hand over 100 euros is a bit crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭searay

Think old could be too expensive for these lads too - Pinhal good call ,

First time away - can't see us going back to that part of Portugal - prices are mad. Grand for yourself - but asking lads who don't play much golf to hand over 100 euros is a bit crazy.

Just to correct Seve, Victoria has it's own clubhouse. It is where Harrington won the Portuguese masters last year and would be the highlight of the oceanico courses for me. lots of water to contend with but you feel like you are playing a tournament course.

Laguna and Millenium share clubhouses and are both very playable but not necessarily memorable.

The old course is for good low handicappers. The trees make it very tight and frustrating. You hit what looks like a great drive off the tee into the fairway and are then blocked out from hitting for the green. You'd need to play it a few times to master it. I think Pinhal is a fairer challenge for a lot less money.

I don't know the non-oceanico or dom Pedro courses as they are now so can't compare.

You can book a package direct from them for 4 courses which is probably the best way to deal with the dom Pedro courses.

We went to Cascais near Lisbon this year and found it better value and better crack than vilamoura. Worth considering if you haven't committed to vilamoura yet.

Try algarvepackage.com - use them every year and never had a problem . If booking hotel & golf they are very good however if just booking golf you prob should go direct from courses . They have a book for 8 pay for 7 thing going most of the time

no - we are committed to vilamoura and have an unreal deal on accommodation.

We knew we were getting into hassle and expense with the golf. It is just a case of mitigation now.

The new ownership might have changed things but it was the case under Oceanico that the Victoria and Old green fees included buggies, while Millennium, Pinhal Laguna did not. Which, given the buggy prices, if you use a buggy it only left €20 or so in the difference.

The "deals" won't change much between suppliers. The courses set the rates and the likes of VDL, QDL and Oceanico are the ones who ultimately offer the discounts, whether it's reduced rates for two or more rounds at one complex, or discounts for a larger group. You won't shave more than a fiver a round off whoever you use.

Have a look at Vila Sol too Fixd. While not technically in Vilamoura, it's as close to Vilamoura centre as Victoria is. Again the inbuilt transfers with your green fee (as with QDL and VDL) make it a genuine option.

All Oceanico courses booked out as per Don Pedro.

That is a bit of a shocker for me as didn't think it would be booked out in may for October ? :eek:

lads is there a chance that the new company don't have the tee times and a 3rd party have ?

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Dormy

lads is there a chance that the new company don't have the tee times and a 3rd party have ?

Unlikely. We book in Jan most years. This year we left it until Feb and struggled to get tee times. If you are a 4ball you might have a chance but if you require 2 or more tee times you are probably too late for Vilamoura courses. The Old course is almost booked out by Jan every year. Get on to an agent and let them do the donkey work. Algarvepackage.com and Algarvegolfdesk.com are two we have used. Both good. Manuel at Algarvegolfdesk is particularly helpful. This is also the cheapest way to go. Ring them or send an email with your requirements and sit back and wait. I would guess you will have to away from Vilamoura though. This is not the end of the world. Do not accept any tee times after about 2.15pm or you will struggle to finish.
    We have been to the Algarve in October for the last 10 years if you want any more info. October is PEAK season. Particularly for the 1st two weeks of it

Thanks lads for all the help.

Looks like we have to bus out of Vilamoura

Anyone know or have played any of these - also are they any good -

Benamor
    Espiche
    OConnor
    Faldo
    Quinta da Cima
    Quinta da ria

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭celtic_oz

Faldo will be too difficult for your group. Very hilly, lots of tough greens.

O'Connor is in the same complex and is a much more sedate affair. You'll recognise a lot of the styling and shapes from his Irish courses, except there's a barrenness between holes instead of rolling green hills. Off the forward tees it'll be playable for just about anyone.

Wonderful clubhouse there though it is in the back of beyond. Afaik buggies are included in the green fee.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭searay

Benamor
    Espiche
    OConnor
    Faldo
    Quinta da Cima
    Quinta da ria

If you aren't going to play in vilamoura, it might be worth staying elsewhere. The accommodation isn't the most expensive part and it would be a pain to be stuck in a bus.

The ones I know:

O'Connor and Faldo are both part of the one complex which was part of the oceanico group. Just off the motorway and accessible from villamoura. You can usually stay there and get an unlimited golf deal.

espiche is way too far from villamoura (more than an hour). Really tight course and not for beginners.

I really liked Palmares near Lagos.would play it twice on a trip. Great views, great layout with big greens. Would suit all levels and still a challenge.

Pinto and gramacho are owned by pestana who do package deals with accommodation. Fine courses, I preferred Gramacho.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Dormy

Benamor
    Espiche
    OConnor
    Faldo
    Quinta da Cima
    Quinta da ria

Benamor is cheap and cheerful. its fine. 40 mins east of Vilamoura.

Espiche is tight and hilly with lots of blind shots. I've heard it grows on you when you have played it a couple of times but hard at first. 1 hour west of Vilamoura

O Connor and Faldo are both fine courses on the same site. Faldo is harder but you could play from friendly tee boxes. Expensive if not staying onsite although Buggies are included. 30 mins west of Vilamoura

Quinta da Ria/ Quinta da Cima are good courses. One of them is very good but I cant remember which. I'm guessing QDR. 45 mins east of Vilamoura(very near Benamor)

I would agree with Searay about Palmares. Excellent site with 27 holes. It does get very busy though. There are deals if you play 2 rounds and also 1 free in 8. Its 45 mins west of Vilamoura

Salgados, Silves, Gramacho and Pinta are all enjoyable courses within 30-40 mins of Vilamoura.

Be prepared for slow rounds. approx. 4.5 - 5 hours would be normal in October

Fixd, I just booked a group of 20 golfers for next June. 
    Like yourself I was determined to stay in Vilamoura, but the numbers made much more sense to move out of it and travel in each night. We are staying in Formosa Hotel near San Lorenzo (about 8 miles/ €5pp in a taxi).
    3 nights bnb out there, plus rounds at San Lorenzo, Laranjal and Pinheiros Altos is £299 of our money.
    Not sure if this is any help to you and your shorter window, but it has to be worth considering.

Thanks for all the advice - to great relief we are sorted for good times at Benamor and Quinta da Ria - it was touch and go for a while and would have taken Deer Park and Elm Park (in portugal) when things got real bad.

I am going to get in touch with them a few more times and try catch a cancellation and not play Benamor as I know it is not the best. But, I'm delighted I have golf - Buggies and transfers sorted. (200 euro)

So lesson learned - hard to get a bunch of lads commited and booking 1 year out like you are Wobbler. fair play - some of these lads couldn't tell you if they are going somewhere on Saturday.

So happy for the moment - thanks again. The lads wouldn't be looking for top of the range golf. Mad place vilamoura (price wise).

Getting serious **** over the transfers. (lol)

Not too sure vilamoura deserves its "very expensive" tag . We go for 5 nights every April , play three rounds , get to and from airport , get to and from courses all for about €450 . Thats 5 nights in a hotel by the way with breakfast . We book early september . Good value there if you know where to look .

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭Ronney

thewobbler wrote: »
    Fixd, I just booked a group of 20 golfers for next June. 
    Like yourself I was determined to stay in Vilamoura, but the numbers made much more sense to move out of it and travel in each night. We are staying in Formosa Hotel near San Lorenzo (about 8 miles/ €5pp in a taxi).
    3 nights bnb out there, plus rounds at San Lorenzo, Laranjal and Pinheiros Altos is £299 of our money.
    Not sure if this is any help to you and your shorter window, but it has to be worth considering.

Did roughly the same trip last October and have to say it was fantastic value and well enjoyed. Booked it through yourgolftravel. San Lorenzo is top class.

Formosa park is tied in with the courses and runs a free shuttle bus too. (To San Loranzo and Pineiros didnt play Laranjal so not sure)

Ubers are fairly popular in the Algarve and are dirt cheep. Formosa to Bars in Quinta €4/5 euro and similar to the Beach bars Marias/Julias

Free Breakfast each morning too and all rooms are apartments with kitchen for cooking if you want or stocking a fridge with beers

Lads used here to get a great trip last time so thanks.

The guys I play with want to go to Spain.

Of the lads I go with about 1/2 of them would want decent golf and the other 1/2 would want the party.

We did vilamoura and had a great time - and did consider going back there , but it is a bit of a rip off and a few of us have been there 3 times now. We played Old course etc and it was big money and I think the courses were a little too good- but they kept the golfers happy.

So flights to Malaga this time.

I don't think we would like these all you can drink and stuck in a resort thing with a load of lads from a pub society.

We are renting a villa and trying to get near to a decent town any ideas ?

And any pros or cons on that coast ?

A few thing Fixd.

CDS doesn’t have a golfing hub town in the way Vilamoura serves the Algarve. As a result everything is a little less integrated / more disjointed. That doesn’t make it difficult to organise; only that it takes more thought. Plus, Spanish people just aren’t as welcoming of tourists as the Portuguese.

Also as there’s a much bigger retired population in CDS, every course seems always busy, all of the time. I can’t remember ever having a clear run at it on CDS, but I’ve played plenty of 5.5 hr rounds there.

As a rule of thumb, the closer you get to Marbella, the more you will have pay for the same thing: beds, golf, food, drink.

10 years ago the Casino at torremolinos needed a passport to get in.

Don’t play El Chapparal unless you enjoy playing golf in the middle of housing estates and crossing busy roads between every hole.

Do play Santana as it’s a lovely course and unusually for the area, is an easy walk.

Each of the 3 La Cala courses are enjoyable and short enough.

Los Naranjos is good. Alhaurin is okay as long as you are happy enough with huge elevation changes.

Lads any more info on Portugal V Spain

We are down to Near Malaga or Alvor

I'd imagine they are very different golf holidays ?

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Eaglebridie 32

Lads any more info on Portugal V Spain

We are down to Near Malaga or Alvor

I'd imagine they are very different golf holidays ?

Our group (12) have travelled to Alvor for the past 2 years, going again February next.
    5 golf & 7 nights B&B. €440 , return flights €80 , own clubs €80 total €600

Courses - Gramacho,Pinta,Alto& Silves x2

All courses were in top condition, 2 of them used for Euro Senior Tour School the previous 2 weeks.

This is a pestana offer, so all these are Pestana owned Courses, hence the reasonable price. Was a bit concerned last year about the course reviews on Tripadvisor (overcrowding mainly) but no issues at all. 41/2 hour rounds which is pretty good.

More courses available locally, Penina,Palmares, Morgado.
    Can't help to compare with Malaga as haven't been

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Not too sure vilamoura deserves its "very expensive" tag . We go for 5 nights every April , play three rounds , get to and from airport , get to and from courses all for about €450 . Thats 5 nights in a hotel by the way with breakfast . We book early september . Good value there if you know where to look .

How's it going?

Sorry to dig up old thread, but where do you look for this kind of deal??

Cheers..

How's it going?

Sorry to dig up old thread, but where do you look for this kind of deal??

Cheers..

Algarvepackage.com . Although to be fair we were told last year that prices were going up 20% and they certainly did . The general consensus from all is that its Still great value this year though