can a guard demand my name at a filling station? ]

• 28-01-2019 12:02PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭

ask for my name and address at a petrol station and if i refused could he arrest me for not giving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,079 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

LeoHughes wrote: »
    ask for my name and address at a petrol station and if i refused could he arrest me for not giving it

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Why wouldn't you give it, if asked by the Gardai??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Shelli2

I wouldn't think so, unless he has reason to believe and offence is being comitted and I thought he would have to explain this to you?

More context is needed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

What are the actual full facts ?

Write it up as a "theoretical" post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

The Guard can make a legal demand for your information under certain circumstances and arrest you to establish your identity if you refuse to give it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,598 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

In a petrol station? No! The Garda can't do this.

See, Petrol Stations are a place where all Garda authority disappears. In fact, i'm very surprised that a Guard was even able to be on the premises. Patrol stations to Guards are like Churches to Vampires...... they can't frequent them lest they burst into flames!

Mod
    MrStuffins - this forum is for legal discussion, rather than nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you arrived at the petrol station as the driver of a vehicle, yes.

Otherwise, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭uncommon_name

You need to give a lot more information here, why is the guard looking for this information?, what did you do?, what does he think you done?, why are you there? Why is he there (to look for someone/you)?.
    If he came up to you randomly when you were doing absolutely nothing then I think no, but if he saw you do something he thinks was against the law then yes he can. Just ask him why does he want your information what did you do, he should just tell you and then if there is a reason then you have to give it.

I suppose if he wants the information he can just make something up so you legally have to give it to him.

So moral of the story is, just give the information to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,904 ✭✭✭✭Victor

There are specific pieces of legislation which could be invoked.

I think you would be detained, not arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

seamus wrote: »
    If you arrived at the petrol station as the driver of a vehicle, yes.

Otherwise, no.
    What if the op walked but there is a history of crime in the local area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

No, but a Garda could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭uncommon_name

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    No, but a Garda could.

Good point, was it a security guard or a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Was he wearing his hat? ðŸ˜

What if the op walked but there is a history of crime in the local area?
    Irrelevant.

If you are walking down the street a Garda can ask for your name and address but you are not generally obliged to provide it.

Different laws empower Gardai to demand a name and address under specific circumstances. From the driver of any vehicle is one of them. If they believe you have committed an offence is another.

However, the latter requires some level of evidence. "You're a young lad and I heard young lads were causing trouble in the park yesterday", is not good enough.

That said, why anyone would ever refuse their name and address is beyond me. You haven't done anything wrong, so don't waste everyone's time because you have some idealised version of yourself as Che Guevara. We don't live in a police state.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

A petrol station is a public place. A garda may stop any vehicle in a public place and demand of the driver:- a driving licence, evidence of NCT and Insurance. If any of these are not produced the garda can then demand the person's name and address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

4ensic15 wrote: »
    A petrol station is a public place. A garda may stop any vehicle in a public place and demand of the driver:- a driving licence, evidence of NCT and Insurance. If any of these are not produced the garda can then demand the person's name and address.

107/109 road traffic act 1961

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

seamus wrote: »
    Irrelevant.

If you are walking down the street a Garda can ask for your name and address but you are not generally obliged to provide it.

Different laws empower Gardai to demand a name and address under specific circumstances. From the driver of any vehicle is one of them. If they believe you have committed an offence is another.

However, the latter requires some level of evidence. "You're a young lad and I heard young lads were causing trouble in the park yesterday", is not good enough.

That said, why anyone would ever refuse their name and address is beyond me. You haven't done anything wrong, so don't waste everyone's time because you have some idealised version of yourself as Che Guevara. We don't live in a police state.

Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭LeoHughes

ok will filling diesel and went into shop to pay and get sandwiches, GF said a cop pulled up beside her and asked for her name and address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

ok will filling diesel and went into shop to pay and get sandwiches, GF said a cop pulled up beside her and asked for her name and address.

Is your GF hot?

4ensic15 wrote: »

so could they ask you, say in a lidl car park?

Is your GF hot?

she alright lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

she alright lol

Your GF is going to break up with you and date a policeman shortly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Could they, would they, in a park?

What's the problem?
    I've never even seen you, or your alright looking soon to be ex girlfriend and I'd say your name is Leo Hughes! :D

Could they, would they, in a park?
    They could and they would if they had a reason. I got done for speeding after I had pulled into a car park and parked up. Cop pulled in behind me and told me he'd clocked me out on the main road.

A public place is any place that "members of the public have or are permitted to have access, whether as of right or by express or implied permission, or whether on payment or otherwise".

So it's pretty broad. Any car park for use by the public, is a public place, whether or not it has barriers, whether or not it's on private land, and whether or not it closes at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Was he wearing his hat? ðŸ˜

Was he on his oath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Never understand why someone doesn't give their name and address to the police if asked. If you have done nothing wrong then I don't know why you should be worried.

Obviously the police in Ireland at the moment don't have a great reputation with the public what with all the corruption etc...however i believe most cops are decent and only want to do their jobs as best as they can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭dalta5billion

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Never understand why someone doesn't give their name and address to the police if asked. If you have done nothing wrong then I don't know why you should be worried.

Obviously the police in Ireland at the moment don't have a great reputation with the public what with all the corruption etc...however i believe most cops are decent and only want to do their jobs as best as they can

I think it's fair to ensure they've got a jolly good reason for requesting it. Not being personal here, but are you a man? I think women have to deal with creeps and stalkers a lot more so are more cautious of this sort of request.