Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Most useless/ disappointing thing you ever bought ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

wrangler wrote: »
    I actually thought they were harder than any thing I'd used before, timber is more dense, I use a post driver all the time.
    I can't get them now, ordered since before Christmas, unfortunately he didn't say which Thursday they were coming, they were supposed to be here last Thursday but alas, still waiting :mad:

Ah it can depend and you can be lucky or unlucky. I got the previous ones off a crowd in Wexford and they were excellent. Unfortunately I lost the name. This crowd were recommended to me but I really didn't like the unevenness in the stake thickness and find some very thin. Re driving with a sledge-it's not ideal but I dig the hole first so wouldn't have normally splintered them. But I might have just got a bad batch as there was a lot of people recommending them. Or maybe I'm stronger then I thought lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I actually thought they were harder than any thing I'd used before, timber is more dense, I use a post driver all the time.
    I can't get them now, ordered since before Christmas, unfortunately he didn't say which Thursday they were coming, they were supposed to be here last Thursday but alas, still waiting :mad:

Yer man is a disaster to deal with , stakes seem okay but time will tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

L1985 wrote: »
    Ah it can depend and you can be lucky or unlucky. I got the previous ones off a crowd in Wexford and they were excellent. Unfortunately I lost the name. This crowd were recommended to me but I really didn't like the unevenness in the stake thickness and find some very thin. Re driving with a sledge-it's not ideal but I dig the hole first so wouldn't have normally splintered them. But I might have just got a bad batch as there was a lot of people recommending them. Or maybe I'm stronger then I thought lol!

That'd be Tommy Williamson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I've spend the last couple of years trying to upgrade the toolshed, nothing beats having the right tool for the job and being able to leave your hand on it, made the mistake of buying a small cheap drillpress last year, it's a silverline brand and i paid about €90 for it, i thought to myself how bad could it be! It sickens my hole everytime i open up the shed to see this yoke looking back at me with a big rusty head on it! Everything on it is cheap and nasty, never again.
    Bought a brand new ricosma sprayer a few years ago, not at all mad on it for the sort of money spent, booms are flimsy as are the valve assembly and i cannot seem to find spare parts for the damn thing.

The old saying cry once when you buy it or cry every time you use it is very true, there are bargains to be found but they are very few and far between.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I agree that bargins are few and far between, there's cheap and there's value but not always in the same product. It's usually wiser to bite the bullet and pay out the first day, nothing worse than buying something cheap and regretting it after. The adage "quality is remembered when price is forgotten" rings very true.

There's a few different items I could add to this thread but my memory seems to have erased some of them, thankfully there's no very expensive examples but annoying none the less. I bought one of those plug in trailer wiring testers during the summer off a certain ethnic minority tool stand. It went against my major rule of buying anything off them, especially anything with mechanical or electrical workings but alas I relented. Once I got home and put in the batteries there wasn't any sign of activity, a score gone and a lesson refreshed in my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

That'd be Tommy Williamson.

Buying them with a while here. Very pleased with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Buying them with a while here. Very pleased with them.

Buying them myself here too.

They do go bleached looking on the outside from weathering but I haven't had one break in the few years I'm using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭9935452

I agree that bargins are few and far between, there's cheap and there's value but not always in the same product. It's usually wiser to bite the bullet and pay out the first day, nothing worse than buying something cheap and regretting it after. The adage "quality is remembered when price is forgotten" rings very true.

There's a few different items I could add to this thread but my memory seems to have erased some of them, thankfully there's no very expensive examples but annoying none the less. I bought one of those plug in trailer wiring testers during the summer off a certain ethnic minority tool stand. It went against my major rule of buying anything off them, especially anything with mechanical or electrical workings but alas I relented. Once I got home and put in the batteries there wasn't any sign of activity, a score gone and a lesson refreshed in my mind.

I have one of those testers at home.
    Press the button and nothing.
    Hook it up to a socket and press the button and it fires up .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I have one of those here with years. The exit from the parlour is about 5 foot wide and 75 foot long and that scraper is a godsend for scraping it. I've even replaced the wheels last year.

Once you adjust the handles for your height, I find it great?

Used to have one of those here. Was a great job. Much faster and easier than what was there before it - just the small one with the handle. Used to be such a pain in the arse scraping with that that it would be left for ages. Wheeled one would get the job done in a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Every ride-on mower I ever bought was like that!!:(

Their crazy money, but a hustler fastrak are a superb lawnmower. My family have one here for last 15 years and it’s still as good as day one. It ain’t wrapped in cotton wool either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Their crazy money, but a hustler fastrak are a superb lawnmower. My family have one here for last 15 years and it’s still as good as day one. It ain’t wrapped in cotton wool either.

Is that a zero turn, we've a Husqvarna here, all wheel drive, crazy money too but everlasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭LeoHughes

purchased a welder in china, got it shipped and was using it and 5 minutes later saw a puff of smoke and that was the end of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

LeoHughes wrote: »
    purchased a welder in china, got it shipped and was using it and 5 minutes later saw a puff of smoke and that was the end of it

Ffs

Is that a zero turn, we've a Husqvarna here, all wheel drive, crazy money too but everlasting

Ya, that’s them. Great machine, real heavy steel in them, go forever. Separately the worst thing I ever bought was a new landrover discovery. The first time she had to sit in heavy traffic, the clutch started burning. Land Rover wanted to know nothing about it, and the dealer threatened me with a 2k bill if they took it apart and found nothing, even though it was only a few months old. found out later it was a well know issue and fault with that model and year. The electronics in it used to malfunction at will and was just put together really poorly. I just had no faith in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

sure didn't the chinese invent fireworks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭9935452

ganmo wrote: »

sure didn't the chinese invent fireworks
    Expensive fireworks and probably disappointing

9935452 wrote: »
    Expensive fireworks and probably disappointing

If I see something handy on the lidl/aldi catalogue I go to the nearest tool shop and they generally have something similar and some time it's even cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Replacement handle for my small angle grinder. €1.90 on e-bay from China. Must get in touch with Mr. Sum Tin Wong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

And then I’ve a Chinese welder I bought second hand of a lad who picked it up when his neighbor died. He’d left it sitting on the earth floor of an open lean to for about 18 months until I showed up gave him €100 and what welding I’ve done with it has bate all. Made a car trailer with it and a few big doors on the farm, even an upright for a shed along with about 3 years of farmyard maintainence, hanging gates and what not
    It’s taken a few falls off roofs and out of the grab of the telehandler, been rained on and splattered with sh1te. It makes some desperate funny noises and sparks from funny places but by god she’s still going.

Only replaced it with a small inverter last month because the leads on the Chinese were quite short and built in so no replacing them with longer ones. I was welding the top of the workshop door and had to put the welder up on the roof. Welder slipped off unknown to me and took ladder and all with it when she went. I decided ‘‘twas time for a upgrade then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

TheFarrier wrote: »
    And then I’ve a Chinese welder I bought second hand of a lad who picked it up when his neighbor died. He’d left it sitting on the earth floor of an open lean to for about 18 months until I showed up gave him €100 and what welding I’ve done with it has bate all. Made a car trailer with it and a few big doors on the farm, even an upright for a shed along with about 3 years of farmyard maintainence, hanging gates and what not
    It’s taken a few falls off roofs and out of the grab of the telehandler, been rained on and splattered with sh1te. It makes some desperate funny noises and sparks from funny places but by god she’s still going.

Only replaced it with a small inverter last month because the leads on the Chinese were quite short and built in so no replacing them with longer ones. I was welding the top of the workshop door and had to put the welder up on the roof. Welder slipped off unknown to me and took ladder and all with it when she went. I decided ‘‘twas time for a upgrade then

You can get connectors to extend the cables

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Reggie. wrote: »
    You can get connectors to extend the cables

Didn’t realize that. Realistically it was time for a change anyway. The Chinese was fine but it was heavy and awkward especially after the wheels fell off. I don’t know myself with the new inverter. Welder leads, rods gloves and mask inside in one heavy duty bag, whole lot light enough to hang off the shoulder up a ladder. A Jefferson 140amp.
    The day I bought it I turned her up to the last and burned 2 rods back to back, safe to say I’ll never hit the duty cycle at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

No big single purchaces that it can think of that i've been very disappointed with, but it's all the small things, useless, wellies/boots, old tat from car boot sales you think will be usefull sometime when you're spending 10 euro here and there it does'nt be long adding up.
    Your time is the most valuable thing.
    As an example i bought a cheap tap and die set and the first time i used one of the taps it broke off half way down a hole, i then spent several hours persuading the damn thing out of the hole! If i bought a half decent set in the first place the tap probable would'nt have snapped and i could have spent those several hours braking something else.

been very disappointed with, but it's all the small things, useless, wellies/boots,

When is someone going to make a pair of wellies from material that don’t easily cut and Leak ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dunedin

What do you term ‘crazy’ money.

Will be in the market for a new mower this year.

Dunedin wrote: »
    What do you term ‘crazy’ money.

Will be in the market for a new mower this year.

Ours is twelve year old and was twice the price of an ordinary one that time.
    i do another big lawn as well as our own and there's a dangerous hill in it hence the all wheel drive,
    Ours is smilar to this and has a 112cm deck, great power but no grass collection, they have one with grass collection, i think an auger fills the grass box.

https://www.husqvarna.com/ie/products/riders/r-316t-awd/967151901/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Ours is twelve year old and was twice the price of an ordinary one that time.
    i do another big lawn as well as our own and there's a dangerous hill in it hence the all wheel drive,
    Ours is smilar to this and has a 112cm deck, great power but no grass collection, they have one with grass collection, i think an auger fills the grass box.

https://www.husqvarna.com/ie/products/riders/r-316t-awd/967151901/

How much - jayus even a ball park figure

Dunedin wrote: »
    How much - jayus even a ball park figure

Looked up the accounts there it was €5,700 in 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Looked up the accounts there it was €5,700 in 2007

It’s shot up since.....

How much. I'd say the one with the powersteering and grass box is some price.
    Wouldn't mind but the lawn with the big hill is a charity job, a graveyard of about an acre, I don't get involved in anything else in the parish so that is enough for the community, Being born C of I It's a small community.
    I'm also an Athiest but I love church music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

It’s shot up since.....

How much. I'd say the one with the powersteering and grass box is some price.
    Wouldn't mind but the lawn with the big hill is a charity job, a graveyard of about an acre, I don't get involved in anything else in the parish so that is enough for the community, Being born C of I It's a small community.
    I'm also an Athiest but I love church music
    You Truely are your own man, fair play! Your a great character I’d say