Who was your favorite wrestler when you were a kid/teen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Razor Ramon, Shawn Michaels, Diesel, Stone Cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Muckka wrote: »
    I liked the honky tonk man, it was just his character and comical behaviour.

He was great, glasses, side burns and saying a-ha in an Elvis voice that’s all he needed. He was just a fat lad in tight shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭LeBash

Ultimate Warrior

Just remembered - The Orient Express tag team. Loved them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭LeBash

Ohh, Big Boss Man or Hacksaw Jim Duggan or even Rowdy Roddy Piper aka hot rod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,784 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

This thread is bringing back some great memories :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Tuco88

I can remember Vader's debut in wwf well, I was thinking "oh great another big dude that cant move much in the ring"

Roll on Vader with a flying moonsault from the top ropes 🀣. He was an epic heel too imo, and Jake the Snake roberts his promos and that DDT classic stuff.

"Oh its time, its Vadaa time"

Surprised nobody mentioned Eddy Guerrero and Booker T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Chris Benoit. That flying headbutt was savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭764dak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Subacio

salmocab wrote: »
    He was great, glasses, side burns and saying a-ha in an Elvis voice that’s all he needed. He was just a fat lad in tight shorts.

One time he woke up in the ring after a nasty bump on his head. He was asking where Priscilla and Lisa Marie were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Subacio wrote: »
    One time he woke up in the ring after a nasty bump on his head. He was asking where Priscilla and Lisa Marie were.

Wasn't he inadvertantly responsible for Jimmy Snuka's retirement?
    Roddy Piper hit Snuka over the head with Honky Tonk's guitar but the Production lads forgot to put a stunt one in and he clocked him full whack with a real guitar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

razorblunt wrote: »
    Roddy Piper hit Snuka over the head with Honky Tonk's guitar but the Production lads forgot to put a stunt one in and he clocked him full whack with a real guitar?

Snuka died a couple of years ago. Was due to stand trial in connection with the death of his girlfriend but developed dementia and was deemed unfit. Died a few days after the charges were dismissed.

I think you're referring to the time Snuka entered rehab. The WWF covered it by saying Piper broke Snuka's neck with a chair.

Also lashed him out of it with a real coconut and scrambled his brain good.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Dean Ambrose for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

Chris Benoit. That flying headbutt was savage!
    As was the double murder suicide that those headbutts brought on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Look at Snuka pump those legs to ensure the set goes down.
    It was as great back then the characters were brilliant it became too polished I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

That was Jake the Snake being hit by Honky Tonk with his real guitar .

Was never the same after that

big syke wrote: »

Samsonite!!!
    I was way off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Mick McManus was a durty fecker in his day

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

big syke wrote: »

Dam near killed him, think it broke about three vertebrae in his neck.

Pat Patterson's boyfriend who was in charge of props for that night was held responsible, he went out and bought an expensive acoustic guitar in a music store, drilled a couple of holes in it and gave it to tonk.

Absolute idiocy. Jake is still very bitter over it.

Pat Patterson's boyfriend who was in charge of props for that night was held responsible, he went out and bought an expensive acoustic guitar in a music store, drilled a couple of holes in it and gave it to tonk.

Dead right too.
    You'd feel awful if you were the person yielding the blow too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

There seems to have been a lot of incidents like that down through the years. When Kurt Angle was flinging Shane McMahon through panes of glass, they were meant to be easily breakable sugar glass, instead they were actual panes of glass. Whatever numpty that made the order for the glass did not know the difference. You can see below at the first attempt, McMahon could have broken his neck. That sort of incompetence just is not good enough. They put their bodies on the line enough as it is. McMahon later said he got such a wallop that he wasn't really able to understand what the referee was saying to him, which was that he was to finish up the match pronto. He continued on, though, and finished things out.

My favourite wrestler back in the day would have been either Bret Hart or the Undertaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

mzungu wrote: »
    There seems to have been a lot of incidents like that down through the years. When Kurt Angle was flinging Shane McMahon through panes of glass, they were meant to be easily breakable sugar glass, instead they were actual panes of glass. Whatever numpty that made the order for the glass did not know the difference. You can see below at the first attempt, McMahon could have broken his neck. That sort of incompetence just is not good enough. They put their bodies on the line enough as it is. McMahon later said he got such a wallop that he wasn't really able to understand what the referee was saying to him, which was that he was to finish up the match pronto. He continued on, though, and finished things out.

My favourite wrestler back in the day would have been either Bret Hart or the Undertaker.

No mention of that here

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

No mention of that here

No idea why they don't mention it.

Below is the first item on Google search.
    The original plan was for Angle to suplex Shane through a few panes of the glass. However, the glass installed was safety glass -- not sugar glass, which breaks more easily. So, instead, after suplexes didn't break the glass, Angle simply threw McMahon through the panes.

Reflecting on the match, Shane McMahon said that Vince, who was at the gorilla position, was instructing referee Mike Chioda to tell his son and Angle to wrap up the match. However, Shane noted that he never really grasped what Chioda was saying.

"He's saying gibberish because I got knocked in the head a couple times," Shane McMahon recalled. "Vince thinks that I'm shooing him off, that I'm disobeying an order that I'm getting through Chioda but I never really got the order."

Meanwhile, as Shane learned later, his father was "going ballistic" at the gorilla position.

"He was so mad, again, because he felt I had disobeyed an order. ... I didn't get the message," Shane said. "He said something very nice to me, put the match over, that'll stay private, but he said 'Don't you ever blanking do that ever again.' "

Shane then recalled the reaction when he and Angle finally made their way to the back -- which entailed getting a standing ovation both from the fans in attendance and the wrestlers in the locker room.

"As we walk in the back, there's a whole line of guys, all the boys were applauding and as you know when you pop the monitor like that and all the boys are giving you a standing 'O' in the back, that is the ultimate high that you can ever get, followed by quickly the ultimate low," McMahon said, recalling turning the corner for the trainer's room to see his wife, Marissa, "just eyes bawling. She has no idea, because I didn't tell her anything. That's when I get huge heat. I said, 'Look this is going to be rough' but she had no idea it was going to be like that. She had no idea if I was going to be OK, she had no insight into the business, she had no communication so she came back and just saw me gushing and everything."

Earlier in the podcast, when discussing his leap off the top of Hell In A Cell at WrestleMania 32, Shane noted that he had told his wife about the spot prior to the match because he "made the mistake once of doing something and not smartening her up and I was in the doghouse forever."

The aftermath of the match saw both Shane McMahon and Angle making trips to the hospital.

Link: https://www.fightful.com/wrestling/shane-mcmahon-vince-nearly-stopped-kotr-street-fight-vs-kurt-angle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I watched wrestling during the Attitude era, never had access to WCW at home.

Favourite wrestlers were Stone Cold, The Hardy Boys, Undertaker/Kane, The Rock. I absolutely hated HHH and always rooted for whoever he was wrestling, just goes to show how great of a heel he is.

I've no interest in it these days tho, it just seems so 'clean' with no character and nothing is ever a surprise anymore. I used to remember the shock of big reveals or wrestler comebacks, these days everyone seems to know weeks in advance when someone is coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Pyr0 wrote: »
    I watched wrestling during the Attitude era, never had access to WCW at home.

Favourite wrestlers were Stone Cold, The Hardy Boys, Undertaker/Kane, The Rock. I absolutely hated HHH and always rooted for whoever he was wrestling, just goes to show how great of a heel he is.

I've no interest in it these days tho, it just seems so 'clean' with no character and nothing is ever a surprise anymore. I used to remember the shock of big reveals or wrestler comebacks, these days everyone seems to know weeks in advance when someone is coming back.
    Yeah the internet ruined it. Nothing is a surprise anymore.

Also back then there was more adherence to the wrestling principle of Kayfabe.

Nobody in the industry talked about how the matches were scripted to outsiders and wrestlers rarely did any any media work out of character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Eddie Guerrero and his 5 star frogsplash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Wrestling in the 80s was Big Daddy & Giant Haystacks, with Dickie Davis presenting

This and only this. Although I did get a little laugh from hulk hogan rowdy roddy piper and that ringside eejit the mouth from the south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

The Rock, Stone Cold, or The Undertaker.