Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the point of producing your licence in 10 days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

The fine for not producing licence when driving.

It'll be points too shortly if Mr Ross gets his way.

Well the guy said that there would be no fine if I produced it in 10 days, he even went on to joke about it being christmas day in a few days time so if I went up that day i might get some sweets (seems weird now that I write it down but it was fine in the conversation!), so presume not - but if I do I do.

If thats the case then I will take it that it is in fact a revenue stream rather than make work - which would seem more reasonable tbh - at least there is a point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

....... wrote: »
    But why is it? Do you not think we should question these things ?

Seriously?

Perhaps your "but why" query should be directed to here:-

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056353782

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Why not just carry it in your wallet ?

My wallet is full of cards that I actually need on me plus it increases the chances of losing your license if it’s in your wallet.

I leave my license in my main car but I drive multiple different cars so could easily be driving without it, I’ve no problem producing it within 10 days but it would be ridiculous to make it a points offense to not have it on you as it’s a pain in the arse to always have it on you.

GM228 wrote: »
    Seriously?

Perhaps your "but why" query should be directed to here:-

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056353782

Yes absolutely seriously. The rules around having to carry a licence on your person were brought in long before we had computer systems so if you did not produce your licence then there was no other way to check you had a valid one. That is not the case anymore.

Or perhaps you meant that we shouldnt question anything? Why shouldnt we? I can think for myself and having just been through the experience i have posted about I got thinking about it and am struggling to see why it is still being implemented the way it is given the world we now live in. Im sorry if you cant understand the point being made.

Its surprising that if you question something that has become outdated and a waste of time and tax payers money that one is directed to a freemans thread? I dont really understand your reasoning on that one. This thread has nothing to do with being a freeman.

My wallet is full of cards that I actually need on me plus it increases the chances of losing your license if it’s in your wallet.

I didnt have a wallet on me at the time. I was literally driving 5 minutes from my house to do something quickly and go home. I had my keys and that was it. I dont think I even had my phone on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I leave my license in my main car but I drive multiple different cars so could easily be driving without it, I’ve no problem producing it within 10 days but it would be ridiculous to make it a points offense to not have it on you as it’s a pain in the arse to always have it on you.

Well oddly enough the German nation has no problem carrying it . Of course they know they will be penalised for not carrying it . I cannot see the problem at all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

u.

Your licence is ( a card if you change to it) one you actually need on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Stanford

Its beyond belief that a country known for its IT capability cannot produce a "live" database whereby the Gardai, via a hand held device, cannot have access to driving licence data,PULSE, road tax data and insurance data whereby a garda cannot see all the above on the spot. And please don't quote GDPR, we had this problem long before GDPR Regs came in.

Mindboggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Yes absolutely seriously. The rules around having to carry a licence on your person were brought in long before we had computer systems so if you did not produce your licence then there was no other way to check you had a valid one. That is not the case anymore.

The requirement to carry a licence on you when driving came in on 1st January 2003, long after we had computer systems and 4 years after we got Pulse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,449 ✭✭✭✭endacl

On the day in question I didnt have a wallet with me. Mine doesnt fit in a wallet anyway - its the old style one.

I used to keep it in the car but then a Guard told me not to in case the car was stolen.

I’ve the old style one too. Fits fine into my bog standard billfold wallet.

endacl wrote: »
    I’ve the old style one too. Fits fine into my bog standard billfold wallet.

I have mine in a small tri fold Wallet. Each part is pretty much the dimensions of the licence. It's been in there for 9 and a half years and is in grand condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭alan1963

Police Officer no give me producer
    Police Officer no bother give me producer
    Police Officer no give me producer
    Police Offcer no bother give me producer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭jelutong

I didnt have a wallet on me at the time. I was literally driving 5 minutes from my house to do something quickly and go home. I had my keys and that was it. I dont think I even had my phone on me.

You had no form of identity on you so how could the Guard check if you had a valid licence or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

The OPs on to something here. Might as well burn my Passport while I'm at it too :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

Stanford wrote: »
    Its beyond belief that a country known for its IT capability cannot produce a "live" database whereby the Gardai, via a hand held device, cannot have access to driving licence data,PULSE, road tax data and insurance data whereby a garda cannot see all the above on the spot. And please don't quote GDPR, we had this problem long before GDPR Regs came in.

Mindboggling

Completely agree and with the OP.
    If we were designing a new process would we so it this way? There is huge opportunity for effeciency

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Well oddly enough the German nation has no problem carrying it . Of course they know they will be penalised for not carrying it . I cannot see the problem at all .

Who gives a damn what the German nation does. Most of Europe look at me like I’ve 10 heads when I say I don’t carry an official ID on me at all times, doesn’t mean we should have to do that either.
    Your licence is ( a card if you change to it) one you actually need on you.

No it isn’t, I can’t remember the last time I’ve been asked for it, it’s been years. Bank cards etc on the other hand are used regularly and you simply can’t do stuff without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,204 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

if the law states that you should carry your licence when driving then going 5 minutes down the road/driving different cars usnt a valid excuse or even any excuse for that matter.

its very simple. . just have it on you

yes the technology should be there to verify if the person stopped is legal/whatever but id say police wise we are decades behind most developed countries.

Just do a license app for the phone and it would make it all very simple so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

I personally agree with the rule that everyone should have some form of photo id on them at all times.

Although unlikely, supposing you get in an accident in a town where you are not known and end up in a coma or worse, who can identify you and let your next of kin know if you don't have any ID.

At least with ID they might be able to tie something back to your locality and track down someone.

Again I know that is a very 'out there' example which may never happen but there is always a chance.

No it isn’t, I can’t remember the last time I’ve been asked for it, it’s been years. Bank cards etc on the other hand are used regularly and you simply can’t do stuff without them.

Yes, it is.its required when driving. It's super simple stuff.

And if you decide the law doesnt apply to you, don't nitch and moan if you have to produce.

The revenue don't ring asking you for tax every time you earn, but you still have to pay it.

Yes, it is.its required when driving. It's super simple stuff.

And if you decide the law doesnt apply to you, don't nitch and moan if you have to produce.

The revenue don't ring asking you for tax every time you earn, but you still have to pay it.

In fairness I did say in my post I have no problem with being asked to produce the license within 10 days. I probably have my license on me about 70% of the time I drive but I don’t want to have to face an absolutely pointless and needless fine and points if I don’t when I could simply be asked to produce it in 10 days instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,818 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

On the day in question I didnt have a wallet with me. Mine doesnt fit in a wallet anyway - its the old style one.

I used to keep it in the car but then a Guard told me not to in case the car was stolen.

Hilarious; you have an old style licence with a photo stuck to it. What computer system could they use to check that licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Vologda69

Gardai do not have access to NVDF (driving licence database) based out of Shannon. Gardai who present at NDLS offices looking for information about particular drivers are asked to email RSA for permission to access data. Never goes down well. And photos are only recorded on driver files since October 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

It's like trying to explain colour to a blind man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

jelutong wrote: »
    You had no form of identity on you so how could the Guard check if you had a valid licence or not?

Asking him to produce a license to a different guard within 10 days does nothing to sort that situation.

I agree with OP here..

I do keep my license in the car but wouldn’t have it when driving other cars. It’s insane that we don’t have an integrated database for licenses, tax and insurance but I suppose we’d have months of blue flu and pay rise demands if anything new was to be brought in.

Remember the introduction of pulse ?

It’s probably just not worth the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Torcaill

Troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

I was stopped recently and asked to produce my licence to nearest Garda Station within 10 days.

I dont get it. What does it achieve? It made work for me having to go up there, find parking, go in and produce it. It made work for the guy in there, recording the details. And it made work for the guy who requested I produce it, checking that it was produced.

But to what end? 3 people have now done some work - for what? For the original guy to just cross out that i did it? Is that all it is - a box ticking exercise?

Surely the Gardai know if I have a valid licence or not from the computer system? And if they dont - why dont they? Why is millions being wasted annually on people traipsing up and showing their licence and 2 Guards wasting time on it?

Is it just make work?

That's life, carry your licence.
    If you're going abroad you bring your passport, you wont get away with producing it in 10 days.
    It's perfectly reasonable for a garda to ask you to produce your licence if you don't have it with you.
    They usually ask for your details, date of birth and type of licence. Hard to remember someone else's details off the top of your head.
    If you are on a learner permit you should have L plates and be accompanied by a qualified driver. if you're on a novice licence you should have N plates, these things are all possible offences and producing a licence puts all this to bed one way or another.
    If you carried your licence in your wallet for instance, then there'd be no need for posting your unhappy guff, no extra work for anybody and the garda would have more time for something else.

Edward M wrote: »
    ...there'd be no need for posting your unhappy guff...

People are so NICE on forums arent they?

Well its clear a few sensible folk see the point I am making so Ill leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Just do a license app for the phone and it would make it all very simple so.

cue for
    • my battery is flat
    • my screen is broken
    • I forgot my phone
    • have you a charger handy

just carry the licence.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

It might have been more relevant in a past age when they didnt have access to computer systems, but it seems a bit outdated now.

I just see the whole thing as a total waste of time and money. From the make work of having to produce it to the nonsense of actually taking someone to court if they dont produce it - youre looking at huge costs to the state to take someone to court (how many people involved - wages etc..) and it just boils down to someone forgot to bring their licence that day - its hardly the crime of the century is it?

question away..... but in the meantime, if you're not prepared to follow the law of the land which were in force btw when you got your licence in the first place, including the requirements with the privelege - not right - to drive on the public road, then maybe you shouldn't be on the road in the first place ??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”