Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the point of producing your licence in 10 days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 .......
    ✭✭✭

galwaytt wrote: »
    question away..... but in the meantime, if you're not prepared to follow the law of the land which were in force btw when you got your licence in the first place, including the requirements with the privelege - not right - to drive on the public road, then maybe you shouldn't be on the road in the first place ??

Indeed. I did. And not once have I suggested people dont do it.

I am simply questioning why we do it at all? There seems to be a blind spot for some people where they just bluntly state "just do it" - but my thinking is on a slightly higher plane where I consider WHY we do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 grogi
    ✭✭✭

how.gareth wrote: »
    How do you expect them to know you have a license? You could be Someone who’s banned from driving and just give the guards your friends details when stopped and ask him to produce them at the station

By the beauty of technology... Shocking, but they should be able to compare the photo as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 Get Real
    ✭✭✭

The ten day thing is actually for the benefit of the driver and is purely discretionary on the guards part.

Op states it's a waste of your time, and the guards time. Grand so, let the govt do away with that particular 10 day law and have a zero tolerance.

You'll just be straight up fined next time for driving while not carrying your licence. But somehow I feel you'd be complaining then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 Bob the Builder
    ✭✭✭

because it is an offence not to carry a licence while driving.

No it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 redcup342
    ✭✭✭

....... wrote: »
    I was stopped recently and asked to produce my licence to nearest Garda Station within 10 days.

I dont get it. What does it achieve? It made work for me having to go up there, find parking, go in and produce it. It made work for the guy in there, recording the details. And it made work for the guy who requested I produce it, checking that it was produced.

But to what end? 3 people have now done some work - for what? For the original guy to just cross out that i did it? Is that all it is - a box ticking exercise?

Surely the Gardai know if I have a valid licence or not from the computer system? And if they dont - why dont they? Why is millions being wasted annually on people traipsing up and showing their licence and 2 Guards wasting time on it?

Is it just make work?

Stop moaning, in Holland it's a 95 euro fine for not having your license on you when stopped.

Forgot your ID as well, that's another 60 euros.

Just carry your license on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 The Bishop Basher
    ✭✭✭

redcup342 wrote: »
    Stop moaning, in Holland it's a 95 euro fine for not having your license on you when stopped.

Forgot your ID as well, that's another 60 euros.

Just carry your license on you.

In holland we can smoke a joint without being arrested.

This isn’t Holland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 martingriff
    ✭✭✭✭

Who gives a damn what the German nation does. Most of Europe look at me like I’ve 10 heads when I say I don’t carry an official ID on me at all times, doesn’t mean we should have to do that either.

No it isn’t, I can’t remember the last time I’ve been asked for it, it’s been years. Bank cards etc on the other hand are used regularly and you simply can’t do stuff without them.

I bet you give a damn what the German nation does if it was a law like speed limits you wanted.

Just because it is not a card you do not get regularly asked for does not mean you dont have to have it. I have plenty cards in my wallet I may only need once in a while.

Put let's put this technology to a test. Guard stops you and it's your other halves car. Ask for you licence. So to then to find your licence they then need to proceed to ask for your name as it appears on your licence and your address (let's not get in to different spellings for local areas) to check up your licence how long will that take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,945 ohnonotgmail
    ✭✭✭✭

No it's not.

It is. It has been for a number of years.

✭✭✭✭

No it's not.

I think you find it is and the 10 days is at the discretion of the garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 GM228
    ✭✭✭

No it's not.

Yes it is since 2003, allowing 10 days to produce is at the discretion of the Guard, granted most do afford you the time, but, they don't have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 The Bishop Basher
    ✭✭✭

Put let's put this technology to a test. Guard stops you and it's your other halves car. Ask for you licence. So to then to find your licence they then need to proceed to ask for your name as it appears on your licence and your address (let's not get in to different spellings for local areas) to check up your licence how long will that take

Are you suggesting the technology would be too slow ? Really ?

The guard should have a pda, phone or some other device by which they can search a database and immediately pull up the details for you, your wife and anyone else they need to find out about.

It should have a picture along with name, address, license, insurance, etc.

There’s no reason in the world (other then cost) why this can’t be done and why it wouldn’t be much more efficient then the current system.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,975 Henry Ford III
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ours is not to reason why.....

p.s. Being obliged to produce your license is a pain that can be easily avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,945 ohnonotgmail
    ✭✭✭✭

Rennaws wrote: »

The guard should have a pda, phone or some other device by which they can search a database and immediately pull up the details for you, your wife and anyone else they need to find out about.

There’s no reason in the world (other then cost) why this can’t be done and why it wouldn’t be much more efficient then the current system.

you have answered your own question.

✭✭✭✭

Rennaws wrote: »

Yes it be slow to do. The garda would need to take down all your details exactly. Then log into the system (the quickest part) and then type in your info. How else do you think they could check it up. How long do you think that would take

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Boom_Bap
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Not to mention integrating all the systems and making them efficient enough to run on a single platform :D

✭✭✭

Yes it be slow to do. The garda would need to take down all your details exactly. Then log into the system (the quickest part) and then type in your info. How else do you think they could check it up. How long do you think that would take

Facebook can do it within seconds... That long. The technology is not a limitation here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ArrBee
    ✭✭✭

Look at you OP!
    All thinking and ****. We'll have none of that rocking the boat nonsense here. Just put your head down and accept it is what it is will ya.

Yes the system can be streamlined with technology if someone took the time to prioritise the need to.
    But I don't get a sense that improving the efficiency of things is really a high priority in Ireland. Just as critical analysis and constructive criticism is often misinterpreted as trouble making. :P

✭✭✭✭

grogi wrote: »
    Facebook can do it within seconds... That long. The technology is not a limitation here.

Yes once its entered it will be quick. You are not even taking note of my points of taking down the persons information. Entering it in the system correctly. I type on my phone all day and it's a pain the the ass. If it wasn't for predictive text I be a hell of a lot slower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 galwaytt
    ✭✭✭✭

No it's not.

you're another lad that maybe needs to revisit his suitability on the road if you don't know the rules either.

It is an offence to not carry your licence whilst driving. The reason you don't get fined on the spot is due to the good graces and at the discretion of the Garda in question.

Don't take my word for, jus read the RTA.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1994/act/7/section/25/enacted/en/html

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 Edward M
    ✭✭✭

....... wrote: »
    Indeed. I did. And not once have I suggested people dont do it.

I am simply questioning why we do it at all? There seems to be a blind spot for some people where they just bluntly state "just do it" - but my thinking is on a slightly higher plane where I consider WHY we do it.

Because its the law.
    It's good to see you regard your thinking above most others.
    Realistically, why question it, its not the worst law we have by a long shot.
    There's a lot of repercussions for not having a licence or producing it if you haven't.
    Insurance is a biggie and not having a licence invalidates most of it.
    Say even you get away with giving a false name and getting the other person to produce your licence, is that other person insured on the car your driving?
    It's part of detecting other offences as well, as the garda has your insurance details it's easy to check if the licence holder is named on the insurance
    I think it's data protection that stops gardai having access directly to your licence details.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Boom_Bap
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Facebook has been designed that way and has a staff of many.

To do what is proposed means making a few different systems talk to each other. That involves different languages, interfaces and platforms and channel them into a singular device that is expected to get this info instantly...without the staff power of Facebook behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 iamwhoiam
    ✭✭✭✭

What is it with people who just cannot abide by the law and find a way to do that .Its not bloody rocket science to find a way to carry a driving licence . Yes we have the card now and its handy in a wallet but back in the day we also had the paper one and managed just fine to have it always on us . Honestly do some people get up in the morning and try to figure out how to thwart and be stubborn .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 DavyD_83
    ✭✭✭

You're right, the rule is to carry your license while driving. The gard should just fine you on the spot for driving unlicensed and save effort for everybody.

I'm partly being facetious, because you're complaining that the gard is giving you a break and applying discretion. But, I also believe it should be the case.
    My repeated opinion on here regatdimg Road laws is: enforce laws, or get rid of then.

If fines and penalties start being issued to people who don't carry their license, people will start carrying them (as they should be already).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 AtomicHorror
    ✭✭✭

I think OP is right on the technology front. Though it's not as simple to implement and validate as implied, it's something that really should be in place. However, I think what's getting most people's backs up is not whether OP is right or wrong about the tech, it's that OP is only raising the issue cynically, as a way of shifting the blame for a screw-up on someone else.

Your shame, frustration and embarrassment are your own fault. I say this as someone who has been caught in the same circumstances at least twice. I counted myself lucky the guards didn't feel like making my day worse instead of letting me present the licence later.

I don’t carry a license,
    I don’t need to carry a license,
    **** off and catch some criminals will ya,
    I’ll produce it at yore mas.

These are just a handful of the lighthearted comments from jokers who like to make life hard for those pesky Gards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 AtomicHorror
    ✭✭✭

Facebook spends tens of billions per year developing and maintaining that technology and collects a worrying amount of personal data in the process.

It's not an insurmountable technology problem but please let's not go making crazy comparisons.

✭✭✭

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Facebook has been designed that way and has a staff of many.

To do what is proposed means making a few different systems talk to each other. That involves different languages, interfaces and platforms and channel them into a singular device that is expected to get this info instantly...without the staff power of Facebook behind it.

Don't be ridiculous. A read-only integration is very easy - can be even done over air gap, as in many cases the data doesn't need to be real-time.

✭✭✭✭

Don't be ridiculous. A read-only integration is very easy - can be even done over air gap, as in many cases the data doesn't need to be real-time.

Of course it must be real time.. how would you know its revoked etc otherwise. You have to talk with all systems that have the data to make sure all is up to date. It ain't as simple as you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 Captain Obvious
    ✭✭✭

Ops main grievance seems to be that Gardaí do not have access to licence details without the need to produce. Same could be said for insurance. There is no real reason why this information cannot be made available to Gardaí other than a failure to modernise.

✭✭✭

Of course it must be real time.. how would you know its revoked etc otherwise. You have to talk with all systems that have the data to make sure all is up to date. It ain't as simple as you want.

And here's the core of the problem - over-complicating things that could be just good enough while being simple.

By massively simplifying the solution - which improves data security, integration complications etc - everyone would be able to live with a 24h delay. I wonder how many times over the years a driver was stopped by Gardai the same day his license was actually revoked and was asked to produce...? Dozen?! Those 12 "fortunate" would slip the system... It is a cost of simplicity - IMHO the society should be fine with it when the benefits would be much bigger.

There are things that should never be delayed - registers of arrest warrants, stolen cars etc. They need to be RT - but those sets are much smaller at the same time than the drivers license validity.

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.