Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should the Metrolink project include an upgrade of the Luas Green Line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,000 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

Qrt wrote: »
    'twas Jervis actually, they put a temporary turnaround on Middle Abbey Street:P

Even better. I never even got a chance to use it when it was going on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Good to see united support behind much need transport investment for Dublin

https://twitter.com/cathmartingreen/status/1070284048193470464

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

marno21 wrote: »
    Good to see united support behind much need transport investment for Dublin

https://twitter.com/cathmartingreen/status/1070284048193470464

Jesus Christ. This kind of misinformation, regarding the 2 years of a closure bit, will totally undermine this project.
    No level crossing at windy arbour, surely this is a good thing as it removes a potential conflict that metro would have to take into account.
    Funny how she doesn’t put a cost on the project going to Rathfarnham. I’d love a metro to rathfarnham,I live there, but that’ll be the metro2 spur.
    I’m sick of the Green Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭D.L.R.

Greens off their rocker. They were getting a first preference from me at the next election. Not any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Alkers

tom1ie wrote:
    No level crossing at windy arbour, surely this is a good thing as it removes a potential conflict that metro would have to take into account. Funny how she doesn’t put a cost on the project going to Rathfarnham. I’d love a metro to rathfarnham,I live there, but that’ll be the metro2 spur. I’m sick of the Green Party.
    It's not really a level crossing, just a pedestrian route that crosses the tracks as at all the other stations so you can travel in both directions, if they get rid of the 'level crossing' they'll have to put in an overpass or underpass so there will be no impact to the local community as the flyer suggests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Dats me

Lads, please email Eamon Ryan as leader of the Green Party and say you're disgusted with his vote mongering, and Ciarán Cuffe as their transport spokesperson. Tell them you can see now it would be pointless voting for green candidates.

They'll only change if they get pushback.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

I find it funny that the first point of the Greens alternative plans is something that is already happening. The next point makes me wonder if one of our esteemed regular posters on here has been emailing the Green party about how they run much more trams on lines in Europe.

Funnily enough, I think that the NTA should respond to this sharpish, the truth will essentially kill off any plan that doesn't involve an upgrade of the Green Line to metro standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,760 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

What exactly is Eamon Ryans game here? Is the south west corridor his constituency and he is just angling for votes? Usually I had the Greens down as solid on any matters of public transport and not prone to using it as a political football, instead preferring to just get on with it and get the job done. But Ryans protests are the opposite of that. We have already had a wasted decade on Metro North and now he is piping up about changing the Metrolink project entirely again. Its a joke, someone needs to wipe that smug look off his face and get this project underway for once and for all.

Its not that I dont have any sympathy with the residents of the south west as I hear their bus service is awful and plagued by bottlenecks. They do indeed need a metro. But the Metrolink as it stands has been in planning for nigh on 10 years now, if we rip up the plans and start from scratch yet again it there wont be any metro till at least 2030.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Muahahaha wrote: »
    What exactly is Eamon Ryans game here? Is the south west corridor his constituency and he is just angling for votes? Usually I had the Greens down as solid on any matters of public transport and not prone to using it as a political football, instead preferring to just get on with it and get the job done. But Ryans protests are the opposite of that. We have already had a wasted decade on Metro North and now he is piping up about changing the Metrolink project entirely again. Its a joke, someone needs to wipe that smug look off his face and get this project underway for once and for all.

Its not that I dont have any sympathy with the residents of the south west as I hear their bus service is awful and plagued by bottlenecks. They do indeed need a metro. But the Metrolink as it stands has been in planning for nigh on 10 years now, if we rip up the plans and start from scratch yet again it there wont be any metro till at least 2030.

His constituency is Dublin Bay South, which takes in both the Luas Green Line, and also those areas that he thinks should be served by the Metro. It's quite a clever, risk free vote getting strategy, to be honest.

He can now say that he's campaigned against works on the Green Line, gaining votes from those areas, and also campaigned for a Metro to other areas, thereby getting votes in those areas too.

The genius part is that he's actually now campaigned for two seperate Metro routes, one out to Rathmines/Terenure, and also a route out to UCD. Votes from two separate corridors, pure genius, if incredibly cynical. Seems to me that everyone is gearing up for a post brexit election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭prunudo

There needs to be one plan and stick to it. All these proposals are stalling tactics and will turn the public against the plan. As much as I like living in a democracy, the constant meddling of politicians is reason we still don't have a single metro even after 40 years of proposals.
    Yes the sw needs a metro line but not at the expense of the current plan.

The green party are effectively anti-environmentalists, they oppose high density development(the greenest way to develop) and they support coal fired electricity generation, at the expense of clean nuclear. Environmentally conscious people should never vote green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Heartbreak Hank

Rethink Metrolink were handing out fliers this morning at the Ranelagh stop. Two people handing them out were quite surprised to hear that I was in favour of the plan as it stands. I was told that the alternative route is around by Terenure etc. and that it will link into Carrickmines and that there won't be any delay as a result of the change.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Rethink Metrolink were handing out fliers this morning at the Ranelagh stop. Two people handing them out were quite surprised to hear that I was in favour of the plan as it stands. I was told that the alternative route is around by Terenure etc. and that it will link into Carrickmines and that there won't be any delay as a result of the change.
    Blatent lies and misinformation. There is no "alternative route", it's Swords-Sandyford. Metro South is a Green Line tie in + upgrade, not a wide scoped South of Dublin Metro project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭D.L.R.

Asking Ranelagh commuters to approve a Metro to Terenure instead of... Ranelagh.

Couldn't make it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

If they are there tomorrow ask them to show you detailed plans of the alternative route that the nta have drawn up. Fecking clowns!
    Worst thing about this is people who have no interest in pt will start to believe this.
    I really wish the nta went on a positive spin pr mission for metrolink, sooner rather than later.

Frank McDonald on Newstalk today giving his views on the Luas Green Line. A man who frequently condemns the Metrolink project, you can hear him at the start of this interview giving out about Luas Green Line congestion.

https://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/The_Hard_Shoulder/Highlights_from_The_Hard_Shoulder/242926/At_the_moment_its_just_a_traffic_circus

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/the-problem-with-the-luas-is-everybody-wants-to-get-on-1.3729298

Refreshing article from the Irish Times on Luas congestion that isn't directly related to NIMBYism etc.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Frank McDonald on Newstalk today giving his views on the Luas Green Line. A man who frequently condemns the Metrolink project, you can hear him at the start of this interview giving out about Luas Green Line congestion.

https://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/The_Hard_Shoulder/Highlights_from_The_Hard_Shoulder/242926/At_the_moment_its_just_a_traffic_circus

I can't listen to it now but did someone at least challenge him on his opposition to the metro despite the fact it will alleviate the congestion on the green line?

No. He got a taxi to Ranelagh cos the Luas was full so all was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭prunudo

No. He got a taxi to Ranelagh cos the Luas was full so all was ok.

I had to laugh when he made that comment, he got the taxi as he wouldn't get on a crowded Luas not couldn't. Then gave out because of the cost as he has a free travel pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Its mildly infuriating listening to our D6 social betters who live within spitting distance of the city centre anyway, complaing about getting a new metro service to replace their current Luas service. They should try commuting from Blanch, Clondalkin or Lucan for a day or two and see how lucky they have it.

Green's have definitely lost a vote from me with this carry on too. Sub Mannix Flynn level guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Lord Glentoran

“Ripping up” the Green Line. Suffering Jaysus.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

'Longer trams will cater for the GL until the early 2030s'

Well, the Metrolink will be built just in time for that so, as it will not be on stream until 2027 (and probably late).

We currently have the longest trams in Europe, so how can we get longer trams? Longer trams will block road junctions for longer causing more congestion.

Nuts. And all because Metrolink will cause a problem for Dunville Ave.

Ah yes the "Green" party. A good clue as to what they are smoking

https://twitter.com/RMetrolink/status/1080426171190390785

All those Luas lines and upgrades to solve this major issue of discommoding a few self entitled people! Value for money on the National Childrens Hospital scale.

The notion that luas would 'have to be closed for 9 months' is pure farce the tie in works will be the only part that require closure of a section of the line.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

cgcsb wrote: »
    The notion that luas would 'have to be closed for 9 months' is pure farce the tie in works will be the only part that require closure of a section of the line.

Not quite.

The work at St Raephaela's Road in Stillorgan will require some closure, but they are planning a temporary passing loop through the existing car park. However that work could go ahead now if they wanted - it is needed now anyway.

The tie-in work would take a few months, depending on how and where they choose to do it. I agree that 9 months would be a long time.

I think Metrolink is gaining traction as a political football in the run up to the local elections in May. SF, Greens, and McDowell all seem to think the oroject that has not even got to ABP will cause mayhem in South Dublin for years.

If I lived on the Green Line south of Charlement, I would be out fighting to get a Metro that would get me to the airport in 20 or so mins, and a frequency of a few minutes. What is not to like?

I think Metrolink is gaining traction as a political football in the run up to the local elections in May. SF, Greens, and McDowell all seem to think the oroject that has not even got to ABP will cause mayhem in South Dublin for years.

If I lived on the Green Line south of Charlement, I would be out fighting to get a Metro that would get me to the airport in 20 or so mins, and a frequency of a few minutes. What is not to like?
    I think it's bizarre. Most parts of Dublin are crying out for better public transport, especially in areas with overcrowded services like on the Maynooth line/DART line.

It's when the uninformed majority realise that the Luas will be full in a couple of years at the stops in their suburban areas is when the **** will hit the fan.

Also, it's been proven that increased rail access puts up house prices. Is that not what these people are fearmongering about also?*

(* I'm surprised at how many intelligent people seem to want to drive up the price of their house, especially their home. If it's your home and you don't intend to sell it - the only result of pushing up the price of your house is increased property tax and getting screwed with inheritance tax down the line - what are the benefits of that?)