Feel sorry for the guy,. but........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Ah, the journal..

"In its submission, the security firm believed that the security man’s was so fundamental as to render the security man’s continued engagement as impossible."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

an 'innocent motive to help' is a pitiful excuse.
    i think he deserved to be fired. imagine the hand-wringing after the fact if something serious had happened.
    would he have been so willing to let a male steward through? maybe he shoukd have been thinking with his brain and doing his job properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

an 'innocent motive to help' is a pitiful excuse.
    i think he deserved to be fired. imagine the hand-wringing after the fact if something serious had happened.
    would he have been so willing to let a male steward through? maybe he shoukd have been thinking with his brain and doing his job properly.

What is the worst that could've happened? An illegal migrant enters the USA? Big deal.

Dave0301 wrote: »
    And if you are trained so Y shouldn't happen, but you do let it happen you get fired :pac:

I think MrMusician18's post probably provides the reason for why he was fired. He enabled the flight attendant to get somewhere in the airport she should not have been able to get.

Have you ever done something in work other than that you were trained to do? Sometimes, circumstances happen.

So, if one genuine response to a situation that you may or may not have been trained to deal with, goes against process, does that mean you should get fired?

Hardly. If that was the case most people in Ireland would be out of a job.

He enabled the flight attendant to get somewhere in the airport she should not have been able to get.

And why might that be? Maybe because some management eejit further up the line didn't do their job properly. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

What's the point in arguing? Some think he should have been fired, some don't.. grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭Dave0301

And why might that be? Maybe because some management eejit further up the line didn't do their job properly. :)

So if he opened a door with an access code that she didn't have, it is management's fault?

I think we'll have to agree to disagree at this stage.

So if he opened a door with an access code that she didn't have, it is management's fault?

I think we'll have to agree to disagree at this stage.

Not that he opened that door-But that two people got through that door, under the one code.

I would have thought security was tighter at Dublin Airport- as I imagine the Americans did also. it's not rocket science. Just a simple electronic control.
    Hence my comment that he's a fall guy for failures made much further up the line. QED really. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Not that he opened that door-But that two people got through that door, under the one code.

I would have thought security was tighter at Dublin Airport- as I imagine the Americans did also. it's not rocket science. Just a simple electronic control.
    Hence my comment that he's a fall guy for failures made much further up the line. QED really. :)

The guy fired WAS security. He has access to doors that regular people dont. You seem unable to comprehend that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Sorry what he used a security code to get her through. Even if it was one at a time he could have given the security code to go herself. It was his job which he is trained in to make sure people do X and Y. If he does not do it its his fault not some managers fault. I bet you believe if some worker steals from a shop they should not be fired as management should be responsible for him stealing.

The guy fired WAS security. He has access to doors that regular people dont. You seem unable to comprehend that.

I comprehend that very well. You on the other hand, haven't comprehended my posts. But that doesn't surprise me. :)

S I bet you believe if some worker steals from a shop they should not be fired as management should be responsible for him stealing.

What a totally stupid comment that has no bearing on the discussion to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I comprehend that very well. You on the other hand, haven't comprehended my posts. But that doesn't surprise me. :)

well your point seems to be that it is managements fault that he didnt do what he was trained to do. Which is a bit stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

What a totally stupid comment that has no bearing on the discussion to date.

Actually it does you are complaining that it was not his fault but managerial fault that he is able to do that so in my example the management would be at fault as they allowed him to be able to do it. How do you think management would be able to stop what happened here. Herd everyone into 1 corridor so everyone can only go 1 way