If Gerry Ryan was still alive ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Jay Zee

Tell that to Martina Fitzgerald

She would have got reassigned if she hadn't thrown her toys out of the pram

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

Jay Zee wrote: »
    She would have got reassigned if she hadn't thrown her toys out of the pram

Martin Fitzgerald?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Didn't he do a song once where he extoled the dangers of cocaine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭patrickc

the real question is would Lottie have gotten a job on 2fm without nepotism being alive and well in Montrose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Jay Zee

Remember the way he'd randomly ask female callers what size bra they wore ? That would cause a #metoo backlash now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Considering Tubridy still (and will always) have a career at RTE, I'm fairly certain Gerry Ryan's job was safe, had he lived.

edit - Though saying that draws a similarity between the two. There wasn't really. Like him or loath him, Gerry Ryan was a great light entertainment radio and tv presenter and a fine interviewer. He had that thing that all good interviewers have, a curious mind and an understanding of getting to the core of the person involved. I remember a fantastic segment he did on his show one morning, interviewing one of the survivors of the plane that crashed in the Andes in the early 70's. A delicate subject but he handled it very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

The self righteous disdain being shown here for someone because they took coke is absolutely ludicrous and completely out of touch with reality.
    It’s everywhere- if you’re not doing it then I can guarantee at least one of your close friends or family are and just don’t tell you.

Like it or lump it- drugs are very common in Ireland these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

ZX7R wrote: »
    I would like to have tough he would be still on air.but I believe the PC bergade would have someone to say about that

vot is a bergade pliss tanking you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

If he was still alive, he'd be trying to claw his way out of his coffin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,905 ✭✭✭Bullocks

patrickc wrote: »
    the real question is would Lottie have gotten a job on 2fm without nepotism being alive and well in Montrose?

Probably not , any idea what kinda money she is on ? She does seem to be covering a few of the daytime shows . I don't think she is on mega bucks though .
    Gerry would still be there but would probably have moved to night time to keep his chat show going .
    Boylan would have a kinda similar show but way worse so I reckon if he can stay on air Gerry definitely would have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭its_steve116

He'd still be presenting Operation: Transformation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,905 ✭✭✭Bullocks

He'd still be presenting Operation: Transformation.

That was a good one -he was swelled himself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭TCM

Sometimes I wonder what keeps me coming back to Boards, and then sometimes

Its not inconceivable that the gerry would be hosting the Late Late Show now. Was more tech savvy than Tubbs too. Gerry was more head on as well against violent Criminal.

He'd have a white christmas every night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

If he was alive today

He would be 26 stone and still about to host Operation Transformation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

ozzy jr wrote: »
    Once you get a job in RTE you seem to have it for life, no matter how good or bad a presenter you are.

So far as I know Gerry worked for RTE not in RTE, ie he was managed and promoted independently of RTE and his manager negotiated Gerry's wages & contract with RTE.

I was a big fan of Gerry's, read his book too. Like a proper fanboy I even had it autographed lol.. He did himself no favors by writing the book and certainly would not have endeared himself to a reader.

After reading it I thought he was a pompous, arrogant, greedy, glutinous arsehole.

A memory.

Coming home from work & listening to the radio one day and Gerry was talking about people's freedom to comment on celebrities via social media and he picked out boards.ie and used the legendary Degsy's posts on himself (Gerry) and Bono as an example of what he was talking about.

He seemed very familiar with Degsy lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭YoungRogerian

He'd still be the most annoying man on Irish broadcasting.

True, but he was talented. I’d say though he would now be on RTE 1

Are we talking about the same man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

If me Aunt had balls she be me Uncle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Gerry Ryan was one of the best broadcasters Ireland has ever had. Loved his morning radio show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Are we talking about the same man?

There’s always one.

Crap on TV, great on radio. RTE has a lot of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

If me Aunt had balls she be me Uncle!

Transphobic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Probably would have been "taken out" for saying something "offensive" by this stage.

Aye, comments like the following if made today would no doubt have the perpetually offended falling over themselves to be the first to tweet about how it's a perfect example of how we live in a culture which enables child abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Like a lot of RTÉ peeps, he started off as an employee of RTÉ but became a contractor with an agent (same agent has a stable of RTÉ staff) in order to command bigger fees.

Most of the household names did the same around the mid 90s and never looked back.

Like a lot of RTÉ peeps, he started off as an employee of RTÉ but became a contractor with an agent (same agent has a stable of RTÉ staff) in order to command bigger fees.

Most of the household names did the same around the mid 90s and never looked back.

One of the exceptions was Derek Davis. They tried to shaft him towards the end of his career and he was like "That's grand. Ye still have to pay me."

There’s always one.

Crap on TV, great on radio. RTE has a lot of those.

I don't listen to Radio much so I'll take your word for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Gerry Ryans health was going downhill and had he not died probably would have his contract terminated (perhaps a first for RTE) as he would no longer be able to perform with any reliability, the absences from his radio show and time it took him to get his sh!t together in the morning on his radio show towards the end should have been the major clue, the long term effect of drug and alcohol abuse caught up with him and I remember reading interviews with people close to him in the weeks before his death that to me describe behaviour indicative of cocaine induced psychosis. There is also the issue of debt from the construction bust which would have added additional stress.

Long-Term Side Effects of Cocaine Abuse.

Ryans only chance of survival would have been to drop out of the limelight and get treated, knowing what you do about the guy, was that ever a realistic option?

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭roroliam

He'd be working for the Hutchs or the Kinahans now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Gerry Ryans health was going downhill and had he not died probably would have his contract terminated (perhaps a first for RTE) as he would no longer be able to perform with any reliability, the absences from his radio show and time it took him to get his sh!t together in the morning on his radio show towards the end should have been the major clue, the long term effect of drug and alcohol abuse caught up with him and I remember reading interviews with people close to him in the weeks before his death that to me describe behaviour indicative of cocaine induced psychosis. There is also the issue of debt from the construction bust which would have added additional stress.

Long-Term Side Effects of Cocaine Abuse.

Ryans only chance of survival would have been to drop out of the limelight and get treated, knowing what you do about the guy, was that ever a realistic option?

You knew by listening to him he was cabbaged going on air some mornings

One morning he spent five minutes guzzling water telling the listeners how magic it tasted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

roroliam wrote: »
    He'd be working for the Hutchs or the Kinahans now.

Why because he bought drugs? By that standard, they'd be the biggest employer in the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Joe prim wrote: »
    vot is a bergade pliss tanking you ?

What's that in English