Any dinner disasters today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Ahahaha he’s coming out with some smashers now:

“I wouldn’t believe a word of that RTE Guide, I won’t buy it again.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Many moons ago I had Christmas dinner with a boyfriend's family. For some reason he'd told his mother that I said she always boiled vegetables to shíte. I mean, she did, and I did say it, but why he went and told her I have no idea.

So she served me raw veg for dinner, a carrot that was only peeled and cut in half, and whatever other veg everyone was having, but raw.

Then she burned the mash and it tasted like cigarette butts.

The woman could not cook for shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Sister in laws husband? So, your brother?
    Husbands brother and sister would be YOUR brother and sister, or am I missing something!

My wife’s sister is my sister in law. Her husbands family. ;)
    bee06 wrote: »
    Sister in laws husband is OP’s husband/wife’s sister’s husband

Precisely :D
    lawred2 wrote: »
    my head hurts

It’s the tryptophan :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭ConnyMcDavid

troyzer wrote: »
    My Mam forgot to put my vegetarian roast on. I'm the only vegetarian in the family, she also cooked all of the roast potatoes, parsnips etc in animal fat. She normally does vegetable oil.

I basically didn't eat.

There is enough work in a Christmas dinner and you expect her to cook a second? Could you not cook the veg option yourself next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,472 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

troyzer wrote: »
    My Mam forgot to put my vegetarian roast on. I'm the only vegetarian in the family, she also cooked all of the roast potatoes, parsnips etc in animal fat. She normally does vegetable oil.

I basically didn't eat.

There is enough work in a Christmas dinner and you expect her to cook a second? Could you not cook the veg option yourself next time.
    Nonsense, my partner is a vegetarian and I did exactly what troyzer suggested for him :veggie roast which cooked while the turkey rested and the veggies were being prepared and the roast spuds and parsnips roasted in oil. All you have to do is bung it in the oven. No extra work involved at all. I did a veggie gravy too which took 2 minutes from scratch and made it at the same time as the regular gravy.

Went out for lunch and dinner. Two of our favourite meals. Korean BBQ and Thai hotpot. Christmas shopping together and a big nap between those.

Had friends over for meals last Saturday and Sunday so neither of us fancied another session of cooking at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭adocholiday

I had a disaster of different sorts. All set for mammy's dinner with turkey, ham and all the trimmings like I've had every year since I can remember. Came home yesterday and at some point my brother says that at least tomorrow he was looking forward to not being fast asleep after the dinner. I asked him why and he said "oh we're having steak for dinner tomorrow". Devastated isn't the word.

Instead of a lovely big Christmas dinner I got a Saturday night dinner of steak and chips. I'm taking my wife's surname in the new year now, have disowned my family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Made the gravey from the juces of cooked meat forgot to serve it with the dinner:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Made a roast chicken as opposed to a turkey this year as there were only two of us and I can’t really do a proper Christmas turkey safely and nicely in any case. Anywho, the chicken was yum.

Never any culinary disasters on Xmas day wherever I was (usually at the family home, later at sisters, or with family of the ex and with friends once or twice.

But one Christmas a good friend and her then young son were invited to the neighbours, the turkey and roasties were put on, a lot of alcohol was consumed, the food in the oven was somehow forgotten, the oven went on fire and the fire brigade were called out...:eek: So no Christmas dinner for my friend and her neighbours that year.

The lesson - keep a regular eye on the turkey in the oven and don’t get completely plastered until after the dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Qrt

Cranberry sauce got forgotten about.

Sixth year in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Qrt wrote: »
    Cranberry sauce got forgotten about.

Sixth year in a row.

your lucky,
    thats the devils sause:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

None today as I was only cooking for myself. But I do remember when I was 15 when my mum took turkey and ham out before we went to mass. After mass we went to friends house for a few drinks. Came home about 4 or 5 hours later when we were met by our golden lab Ben with that look in his eyes that you know he did something but completely satisfied with himself. All I heard were screams from my mum in the kitchen, little bollix had eaten both turkey and ham in their entirety. All we had were veg.we can laugh now but was a disaster that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We've never really had any major mishaps with the Christmas dinner.
    It's something almost any of use can cook and we'd have smaller versions of it during the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Exactly. There was some GF stuff for our dinner and whoever was having it prepared it themselves beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Yip, 10 people so 2 turkeys.
    One of the turkeys had an abscess.
    I'll stick up a pic of it later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,202 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

blade1 wrote: »

Jesus :(

That sounds vile

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,954 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

blade1 wrote: »

Feck! I only learned about that recently from another thread. Do post a pic, I'm curious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Jesus :(

That sounds vile
    Yep.
    It was on the leg.
    Bought in a supermarket and was discovered Christmas Eve.
    The butcher behind the counter of the shop said it'll be grand just cut the leg off!
    Fair play to the shop owner though,as they had none left he sent some of his staff out around the town to try and find another turkey which they did and the shops supplier will be contacting us.
    igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Feck! I only learned about that recently from another thread. Do post a pic, I'm curious!

You'll never again be curious when you see it.
    It could put some people off turkey completely I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

No disaster. Everything was cooked to perfection. Just far too much of everything. Obscene really.

I make "too much" deliberately as cooking for one is .....Then I " plate" up at least 2 meals and freeze them as ready meals when I need them.

Eating dinner now, one of those microwavable turkey dinners. Added my own touch to it and put some brussel sprouts in. 5 minutes and done.

They are great. I use the ready meals all year...

My sympathies.

They are great. I had one in the freezer in case of need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

My first Christmas in Ireland was a total fail food wise. We all celebrated together at the In-laws, we talked about the timing of the ovens a week beforehand.
    I am really not into Turkey or Ham but that's what they cook, fair enough. I told them I'll make a smaller roast too.
    Thing is, they can't cook sh1t and apparently food is a sad affair every year. The day before Christmas the MIL, a lovely person, got really territorial over the kitchen even though she didn't do a single thing for Christmas because for some reason it's the FIL cooking, who can just about fry an egg at every other day of the year and even that he burns sometimes.
    I offered to help where I can but I was met with disapproval.

So the timetable was meticulous, when suddenly they had guests and decided they need to whack on a whole load of finger food in the oven my roast was cooking in. So it was constantly open and closed for around an hour.
    Then while the ham was getting to the critical stage of finishing, same as the turkey, FIL decided he needs to visit his sisters now and fecked off for two hours without telling anyone. So myself and himself were in the kitchen alone and had to finish all of it, it was super stressful and if they'd just told me it would have been fine.

Then MIL and her brother started an argument over gravy, they bought a tub of M&S gravy as every year and the uncle didn't understand why they wouldn't just do it themselves, it's so easy. MIL said over and over again, that FIL went into town just to buy the gravy so it will be used. All the juices went down the drain that day.

Christmas dinner was somehow magically put together, and while cleaning up my FIL sent all my roast drippings down the drain because he doesn't understand that it's tasty and you can do a lot with it.
    I was in tears after that horror show of a day.

Needless to say, we now celebrate Christmas apart, it's better for everyone involved, it's too much of a culture clash.

Hoboo wrote: »
    Went to sister in laws, her turn this year. No stuffing, no roasties, sloppy mash with no herbs or seasoning, mushy brocolli, tinned peas. I'm no food snob but Jesus H.

Ah they gave you the best they had and what they liked best. No one could do more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

No, bar my mum forgetting to soak the peas.

When I was a kid I remember her leaving the ham and turkey out overnight on Christmas eve and the cat ate them. I still recall her chasing the poor cat all over the house with a sweeping brush on Christmas morning lol!
    I love this post:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Everything went perfect apart from having to tell my mean and greedy father in law that 'them sprouts are for everyone not just you' as he was shovelling them off the platter onto his plate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

A few years ago myself and my girlfreind cooked a goose for xmas dinner. We got a funny taste from the meat so i checked the goose and found a steel wool brillo pad with soap inside stuck to bottom of the bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Follow up to Christmas dinner disasters is the traditional Stephen’s Day greeting of “Jesus Christ! Who gave the dog sprouts?”

Collie D wrote: »
    Follow up to Christmas dinner disasters is the traditional Stephen’s Day greeting of “Jesus Christ! Who gave the dog sprouts?”
    Maybe you could pick up some gas masks in an army surplus shop. Do those places have stephen's day sales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

The only disaster was that my parents spent 10 hours in the kitchen making it. They "love" cooking and it was amazing. Prep started at 7:30am and didn't stop until after 5. They didn't leave the kitchen all day. They had gone to midnight mass for the first time, so they obviously decided to push the boat out with the extra hours.

Starter was a homemade cranberry quiche (homemade pastry). Frangipane mince pies for dessert, again, all from scratch. The main course was faultless, the brussel sprouts alone probably took as much effort as a normal dinner. Some kind of herb encrusted wonderment and I hate sprouts.

Only issue, while they "love" cooking, they hate it as well...or to be more exact, they try to be too exact. Stress levels were high all day and some kind of normality only descended after 5pm, when dinner was finally served up. We ended up clearing off (with our kids) for most of the day.

An absolutely amazing feast but a bit of a waste too. Everyone on eggshells for the day and they were wrecked by 7.

I hold myself to blame, I had hinted a few weeks back that we might start a new tradition and have dinner at home (young family). I really had no intention, just wanted an invite rather than presuming we would be calling over. I think my Mother went "Ultimate Irish Mammy" yesterday as a result.. let's see if he tries to go it alone after this.

Very fortunate that that was as close to a disaster that we got.

^^^^^
    Think it's time to start that new tradiation!