Have you all your christmas shopping done yet

• 23-12-2018 05:51PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

Not me, the torture of heading into town and nearly getting stampeded is not appealing to me today, hangover doesnt help either:(:(
    tomorrow ill get it sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I have, ya.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭Carlingford Locked

I must be the only person who doesn't do any Christmas shopping. I could never understand why you all buy into this nonsense of spending sh*t loads of money for no reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The shops will be closed for one day, what shopping do ye want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭xabi

I must be the only person who doesn't do any Christmas shopping. I could never understand why you all buy into this nonsense of spending sh*t loads of money for no reason.

You and me both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

No. Sure I'll start about 16.30 ish tomorrow. Should be finished by 17.00 ish.

Sure be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Bubblegummers

If I told the misses that I’d be at a soup kitchen tonight and a hostel tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

No you arent. There are a lot of other miserly bastards around

Edgware wrote: »
    No you arent. There are a lot of other miserly bastards around

I hope you choke on a turkey bone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭august12

I'm with you on this, the stress people put on themselves buying presents that people generally don't want or need.

august12 wrote: »
    I'm with you on this, the stress people put on themselves buying presents that people generally don't want or need.

Exactly, people on the scratcher taking out loans etc. To buy a load of rubbish that'll just end up in a landfill. I find the whole thing disgusting, just hyper consumerism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Neames

Done and dusted.

I only buy for my wife and daughter and they'll be well treated this year.

I used to buy for all my brothers and sisters and their kids. It wasn't appreciated so I stopped, I got as much thanks when I gave them nothing. Saves me a load of time, money and hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Far more people than you realise don't go mad at Christmas. A small gift for each grandchild and it's done. Have eventually persuaded everyone that I don't need stuff. It's very liberating.

Food may be slightly more elaborate than every day but none wasted and not facing leftovers for days. Sometimes join one of the family for dinner and so relieved of that chore.
    Love to give unexpected gifts when someone needs help or cheering up. Why confine spreading happiness to one day in the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Nope. Done a little today in town and may just get the rest tomorrow. Not going mad only a few presents to get this year.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

wildwillow wrote: »
    Love to give unexpected gifts when someone needs help or cheering up. Why confine spreading happiness to one day in the year?

All for this, good on you wildwillow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

My own family don't bother with Christmas anymore, so I should be free from the pointless buying. But I have one aunt, her husband and son who refuse to stop buying me stuff despite many requests (and while the thought is much appreciated it's always stuff I won't use), so I feel obliged to buy in return. She is the most awkward person to buy for and complains at a later stage about everything. I've resorted to money and a token gift the past few years just to feel I've fulfilled the obligation. She also has a thing for "nice" cards and that's nearly the most awkward to find. I'm mostly sorted for them now but unfortunately one item from England hasn't arrived and there's no tracking info on it. There's no way I'm going looking for a replacement tomorrow though so a box of sweets will have to do temporarily.

I also changed jobs this year and unfortunately buying gifts for colleagues seems to be a thing in the new place. Took me by surprise, and I've had to shell out €120 on last minute rubbish last week. I don't plan to be still here next Christmas so hopefully that'll be the last of that.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Aw what? Christmas gifts for work colleagues?
    Screw that, the season is hard enough.
    How utterly vapid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Dont go mad on spending My teenage kids ask me what i want for xmas but the truth is i dont need anything and my other half is the same.

Have got enough food to last christmas and boxing day

Would rather wait until the stampede is over and go out for a look around the sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

lulu1 wrote: »
    ...and boxing day

How very dare you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭mvl

gifts - yes. food & drinks - tradition is that i'm allowed another round tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

Buy f**k all myself barring something for my 2 nephews. 3 mins in Smyths and i was done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

How very dare you!

Oh yes boxing day as well organised is my middle name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Food shop tomorrow for tues/Wed (so the normal way of going on)
    That's it
    And even that I'm not looking forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Other half bought a 13 pound turkey today, its just herself, her mother and myself for dinner.

Why do women go nuts at Xmas?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Me in the morning running around trying to finish it off .

tenor.gif?itemid=5847868

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

I was wrapping presents and writing cards earlier when I realised I had forgotten a restaurant voucher for my parents.
    I'll head into town tomorrow, pick that up, and then I'm done. There are presents for my nephews, nieces and God children under the tree, a kitchen full of food and booze. Tis great this time of year.

Need to buy a litre of milk tomorrow. That will be the height of my Christmas Eve shopping.

Saw some crazy pic of a Tesco in the Uk. Crazy line of people with their shopping trolleys queuing to get into the shop! Dread to think what the queue was like to get into the car park.

Here it is
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10156382491650376&set=a.10150100686230376&type=3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Advertising does this to people who are taken in by the frenzy.

All you need is grub and grog. Could be done on any weekend really. The oul Freezer is your friend. But off ye go and enjoy.

Steeeeephenzes Day is a doddle. Can't wait for that. Mad isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Presents were done and dusted by the end of November and we did the grocery shop this morning. Its happy Beermas tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,291 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I really enjoy Christmas and post a lot on the Christmas forum.
    Regarding presents we just keep it in the family and the odd person here and who'd get little gifts and a visit at Christmss.
    You could have a lot of your shopping done also.
    This week's shop for us was a little bigger than normal but we had to get a Turkey, cream, etc
    The dinner is another thing people make an awful ordeal out of. It's basically a big dinner and fairly simple to do. Even some of the one's who buy everything in Mark's and Spencer and it only requires a heating makes an order out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Presents are all done. Groceries were last Friday and just a slightly bigger shop than usual. Ham is soaking and turkey will be collected in the morning.