Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Well what I took from it was a woman who wants to better herself, she mentioned the kinds of industires she would be intrested in. It just sounded like she needs encouragement.
    As for the financial issues you raise she never did mention if her fiance is working or not.
    But you seem to be implying that all travellers are on social welfare.
    Do you really believe that to be true?

I saw a thing on the internet where John Connors (actor) wanted to get a security guard job. He was getting nowhere so he put on a Dublin (non-traveller accent) he was going to be given the job and his potential employer told him not to let any travellers in.

Does that sound like a fella who wanted to be on the dole?
    I know Connors can talk some sh*te at times, but he seemed extremely sincere about this story and looked visibly hurt when he told the story.

Connors is a professional grievance monger.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Connors is a professional grievance monger.

Have you read the Official John Connors Appreciation Thread?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Well what I took from it was a woman who wants to better herself, she mentioned the kinds of industires she would be intrested in. It just sounded like she needs encouragement.
    As for the financial issues you raise she never did mention if her fiance is working or not.

I saw a thing on the internet where John Connors (actor) wanted to get a security guard job. He was getting nowhere so he put on a Dublin (non-traveller accent) he was going to be given the job and his potential employer told him not to let any travellers in.

I know Connors can talk some sh*te at times, but he seemed extremely sincere about this story and looked visibly hurt when he told the story.

Nice story, I’d say it’s utter bollocks unfortunately. A traveller accent for the most part sounds like any other accent where they were reared, mostly midlands.

Cash got asked why she didn’t work and she cited traveller discrimination as the reason, for some reason nobody asked her how many jobs she applied for, I’d be willing to bet it was a grand total of zero. If she was turned down it is most likely because she is a thick pig ignorant aggressive c*nt and is illiterate by her own choosing of dropping out of school before receiving a basic level of education, just like the rest of them. It’s not because they are discriminated against, it’s because they are useless by their own choice because of their so called culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

sightband wrote: »
    Nice story, I’d say it’s utter bollocks unfortunately. A traveller accent for the most part sounds like any other accent where they were reared, mostly midlands.

Cash got asked why she didn’t work and she cited traveller discrimination as the reason, for some reason nobody asked her how many jobs she applied for, I’d be willing to bet it was a grand total of zero. If she was turned down it is most likely because she is a thick pig ignorant aggressive c*nt and is illiterate by her own choosing of dropping out of school before receiving a basic level of education, just like the rest of them. It’s not because they are discriminated against, it’s because they are useless by their own choice because of their so called culture.

Telling lies is like breathing to travellers so I don't believe a word of Connors story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

That's not what I'm saying at all.

What I'm saying is that their culture means that it's always going to be very hard for them to make ends meet without resorting to handouts from the state. Or worse.

If a settled person spent their days roving the countryside, having 6 and 7 kids and left school before their junior cert I'd be saying that they're after dressing a very, very hard bed for themselves. It's no different.

She was asked a very fair question about how she was planning on managing financially with 6 kids in today's environment when most other people would struggle with 3. That became one of these questions people weren't allowed to ask her. It was very fair.

I happen to like John. I don't know why so many people have a beef with him. He was one of the only celebrities (I use that term lightly) that stayed off the baby-death wagon during the referendum.

Plus I'll bet his he's not running to the dole office begging for money from the taxpayer every week either.

On a final note gormdubhgorm, it's easy for an employer to 'discriminate' against someone without a junior cert.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

On a final note gormdubhgorm, it's easy for an employer to 'discriminate' against someone without a junior cert.

exactly, its not discrimination. it's being unqualified and fairly useless. if I had two settled people apply for a job in a newsagent say, and one had a junior cert and the other didn't, I would hire the one with the junior cert.

now if I had a traveller without a junior cert and a settled person without a junior cert, I would 100% hire the settled person as you could be guaranteed if you hired the traveller he would have the entire contents of the till in his pockets and most likely the cable and plug that its plugged into the wall with too before you could say "get the f*ck out of my shop you thieving gypsy bast*rd"...now that's discrimination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,874 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

That's not what I'm saying at all.

What I'm saying is that their culture means that it's always going to be very hard for them to make ends meet without resorting to handouts from the state. Or worse.

If a settled person spent their days roving the countryside, having 6 and 7 kids and left school before their junior cert I'd be saying that they're after dressing a very, very hard bed for themselves. It's no different.

She was asked a very fair question about how she was planning on managing financially with 6 kids in today's environment when most other people would struggle with 3. That became one of these questions people weren't allowed to ask her. It was very fair.

I happen to like John. I don't know why so many people have a beef with him. He was one of the only celebrities (I use that term lightly) that stayed off the baby-death wagon during the referendum.

Plus I'll bet his he's not running to the dole office begging for money from the taxpayer every week either.

He has the same attitude towards Guards though calling them scum on national TV.

https://twitter.com/IrishUnity/status/1040719960467759104

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,066 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Connors wanted to be a security guard ha ha.
    Fox minding the henhouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

These lads are from a traveller background. I'd have no problem hiring them. This is their way out. Proper trades. They are hard grafters.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=743426142691197&id=100010714543560

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

I see that Facebook have restored her post about Wishing Leo a painful death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Penny's should have done a special.....

Even having cash as a customer we are so good that she believes we're a steal.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    “But there are more opportunities now to meet people in other places through Facebook and the like so it’s something that we are seeing a change in.”

I would imagine the change is minuscule

Majority of travellers will still marry travellers

Look at the attitude in the AMA

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057383006&page=2

“Out of interest, why do you have no interest in marrying outside of the travelling community?”

“Because a settled man could leave you at anytime and no other man in the traveller community would look at you.”

Yet apparently that fact that you can meet people outside the community busts the 'myth'

About having kids

"I want six myself but if I have more I would be happy. My parents only had 4 kids and my partner has nine siblings."

Only had 4 .... "ONLY" .:rolleyes:

Jesus Fuc*king christ.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

If she's on the internet all day, every day why doesn't she do an online course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

If she's on the internet all day, every day why doesn't she do an online course?

lots o putn mesgs on facebuke n dat ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Serious question....

How do I become a traveller? I Read that the irish ones have no different genes or bloodline to any romany tinklers etc

so how did these people gain their status?

I wouldnt mind having some of their added rights and protection that oridnary citizens dont get.

If I turn up an pauvee and ask to be one of them, would/could they refuse me?

I have never lived in a caravan but neither have 99.9% of them now, infact they all have their own houses provided free by the state.

Only concern is that I am working and dont have a criminal record, I worry I maybe rejected on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,037 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Serious question....

How do I become a traveller? I Read that the irish ones have no different genes or bloodline to any romany tinklers etc

I wouldnt mind having some of their added rights and protection that oridnary citizens dont get.

I have never lived in a caravan but neither have 99.9% of them now, infact they all have their own houses provided free by the state.

Only concern is that I am working and dont have a criminal record, I worry I maybe rejected on this

travel back 100 years and adopt the lifestyle of a tinker. simples.

Serious question....

You could just say you identify as a traveler and every liberal dimwit will bend over backwards to accommodate your every whim in exchange for facebook likes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,037 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

You could just say you identify as a traveler and every liberal dimwit will bend over backwards to accommodate your every whim in exchange for facebook likes

I bet they wouldn't.

travel back 100 years and adopt the lifestyle of a tinker. simples.

Leave Shane McGowan out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Odelay

Serious question....

Do your cousins know about this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Serious question....

Shure they'd have to accept you, to do otherwise would be racist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Ah the I hate K****kers thread. That'll solve everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Ah the I hate K****kers thread. That'll solve everything!

Would ya go away outta dat Matt.

You have 17 posts in this thread already! You didnt just find it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

well I have no issues with travellers. I have issues with the way the majority of them choose to live.

So I would not hate all of them, just the ones that this thread highlights which would seem to be the majority. 84% is quite a common percentage when finding facts about their lifestyle choices...

Wonder was she sorting out her husband and his mates or most likely brothers with shirts from Penny's also as it seems to be all the fellas actually wear.

They look hilarious in their high viz and shirts and filth all over them from doing the oaps and their drives etc.

Seems poor Margaret had a feed of beers last night lol

"I feel so sick

Pain in me head is unbeliveable

Never agin"

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Seems poor Margaret had a feed of beers last night lol

"I feel so sick

Pain in me head is unbeliveable

Never agin"

I hope she’ll be ok to lead the yellow vest protest Saturday.

I'm sure she will be lol

Will anyone honestly call her out for the scam artist she is????

In the media?

Nah that couldn't happen