Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It’ll be the same as Moyes, only 1 year if no top 4, two years if sacked before that.

If you weigh up the cost of paying off now against giving a new manager an extra transfer window and 7 months to work with it’s a no brainer.

The only logical explanation is that the manager they are looking for is in a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,311 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

No Pogba again today, serious big statements being sent out there, 90million pound player cant get on the pitch, 50million player cant make the squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Mokuba wrote: »
    I'm not trolling when I say Emile Heskey was as good as Lukaku is.

He is the worst starting centre forward we have had in my 20+ years of supporting Man Utd, by a country f*cking mile.

His touch, his movement, his game knowledge, his aerial ability are a disgrace and he isn't even fast anymore since he decided to become fat.

A complete embarrassment.

He has a formidable record for Belgium, was one of the standout strikers at this year's World Cup, and was one of the Premier League's best strikers when at West Brom, at Everton.

The reason for his woes are obvious when you think about it.

It’ll be the same as Moyes, only 1 year if no top 4, two years if sacked before that.

If you weigh up the cost of paying off now against giving a new manager an extra transfer window and 7 months to work with it’s a no brainer.

The only logical explanation is that the manager they are looking for is in a job.

Or that Woodward honestly doesn't know what to do and is baffled himself at just how bad it's turning out. "It's Jose Mourinho...surely he's going to turn it around in the next game"...that sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

limnam wrote: »
    No Pogba so midfield looks fairly robust.

There'll be no one waltzing around watching the red ghosts drift past them

Lots of waltzing around today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Three certainties in life.

Death, taxes and Robson99 posting after a bad result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

He has a formidable record for Belgium, was one of the standout strikers at this year's World Cup, and was one of the Premier League's best strikers when at West Brom, at Everton.

The reason for his woes are obvious when you think about it.

Andy Johnson and James Beattie had good records at mid/bottom half sides too back in the day.

Doesn't mean they were good enough to play for Manchester United, because they weren't, just like Lukaku isn't.

Him performing adequately against Panama, Tunisia and Japan is now some cause for praise? Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I'd say ye will be looking for a new manager next week lads.

That says alot more of the lads behind him more of lukaku himself

bangkok wrote: »
    Lots of waltzing around today

Waltzing is organised, in tune, vibrant and performed with dedication and enthusiasm.

You do it a major disservice here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

AidoEirE wrote: »
    That says alot more of the lads behind him more of lukaku himself

Yes and no. He's obviously not getting the service. But his inability to actually retain possession for more than half a second is shocking.

Andy Johnson and James Beattie had good records at mid/bottom half sides too back in the day.

Doesn't mean they were good enough to play for Manchester United, because they weren't, just like Lukaku isn't.

Him performing adequately against Panama, Tunisia and Japan is now some cause for praise? Please.

LOL. 'Good records.' Wasn't aware Andy Johnson or James Beattie had 45 goals in 79 games for their country, nor that they were consistently top of the scoring charts for several seasons.

He gets f all service at United. That's the problem. His record last season was respectable given what he was dealing with compared to his rivals. When he plays for Belgium and they need a goal, they have De Bruyne and the two Hazards to supply him. While they could, they choose not to stick Fellaini up top and hoof it to him. Maybe United could try the same and actually buy some creative players to give him a bit of proper service.

Yes and no. He's obviously not getting the service. But his inability to actually retain possession for more than half a second is shocking.

Im not going Bangkok/Pogba man love style but stats like that make Lukaku an easy target. A stat of forward passes made to him id like to see. No doubt 2/3rds of those passes would of been clearances ****ed up to him with nothing on offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

LOL. 'Good records.' Wasn't aware Andy Johnson or James Beattie had 45 goals in 79 games for their country, nor that they were consistently top of the scoring charts for several seasons.

He gets f all service at United. That's the problem. His record last season was respectable given what he was dealing with compared to his rivals. When he plays for Belgium and they need a goal, they have De Bruyne and the two Hazards to supply him. While they could, they choose not to stick Fellaini up top and hoof it to him. Maybe United could try the same and actually buy some creative players to give him a bit of proper service.

International goalscoring records are completely meaningless. Should we have signed David Healy too because he was able to bang them in internationally? Have a LOL because you decided I required one. :rolleyes:.

Unfortunately for "Big Rom", the Premier League is a bit more competitive than being able to score a few against Gibraltar or Estonia or some other shower of rubbish. He has repeatedly shown even with service he is incapable of scoring in the big games, incapable of contributing effectively to the build up, incapable of taking advantage of that one chance when it comes.

It's remarkable isn't it, how so many of our players require 5 other players who play a specific way, or the wind to be blowing at 35 miles per hour, or the sun to be facing north, or some other set of rubbish circumstances in order to be able to perform and for their true talent to be unlocked. He is not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Robson99

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Three certainties in life.

Death, taxes and Robson99 posting after a bad result.

Win or loose our football and manager are toxic, And I'm not the only one who thinks the same honey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,640 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

The loose ball got our goal today gods help us tomorrow when we get Barca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,319 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

F all that could buy us. I do reckon a deal to the Saudi Prince was under way but that was nixed when he has someone murdered.

Peter Lim and the Co92 boys would love to do it but I can't see them getting near the 4billion it would probably take.

Honestly, I don't forsee a buyer that Coul d buy us and not put us under more debt, just like the glazers.

International goalscoring records are completely meaningless. Should we have signed David Healy too because he was able to bang them in internationally? Have a LOL because you decided I required one. :rolleyes:.

Unfortunately for "Big Rom", the Premier League is a bit more competitive than being able to score a few against Gibraltar or Estonia or some other shower of rubbish. He has repeatedly shown even with service he is incapable of scoring in the big games, incapable of contributing effectively to the build up, incapable of taking advantage of that one chance when it comes.

It's remarkable isn't it, how so many of our players require 5 other players who play a specific way, or the wind to be blowing at 35 miles per hour, or the sun to be facing north, or some other set of rubbish circumstances in order to be able to perform and for their true talent to be unlocked. He is not good enough.

David Healy's international record is nothing like Lukaku's so have another LOL back.

You can dimiss any striker's international record by pointing out some goals come against lesser opposition. Lewandowski and Robbie Keane scored goals against Gibraltar. Does that mean they were no use? His record for Belgium is excellent, and a damn sight better than most of his international rivals.

And you make no sense anyway as it's already been pointed out that his record in the Premier League for West Brom and Everton was great and he scored against all the big sides. Chelsea were after him at the same time as United. Recall the whole Lukaku or Morata debate from last season.

Anyway, I'm worse for trying to speak sense to someone who compares Lukaku to Heskey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭SteM

Why? You don't think new owners will want to maximise a return on their investment?

David Healy's international record is nothing like Lukaku's so have another LOL back.

You can dimiss any striker's international record by pointing out some goals come against lesser opposition. Lewandowski and Robbie Keane scored goals against Gibraltar. Does that mean they were no use? His record for Belgium is excellent, and a damn sight better than most of his international rivals.

And you make no sense anyway as it's already been pointed out that his record in the Premier League for West Brom and Everton was great and he scored against all the big sides. Chelsea were after him at the same time as United. Recall the whole Lukaku or Morata debate from last season.

Anyway, I'm worse for trying to speak sense to someone who compares Lukaku to Heskey.

Thats a nothing debate and if he actually feels that way your wasting your time. His whole argument is laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭Damien360

I wouldn't celebrate that. Utd was bought with leveraged debt. Concidering utd's true market value, it is highly likely to be bought as leveraged debt again. From the Gillet and Hicks experience at Liverpool, leveraged debt is toxic. Better the devil you know at the moment. Unless a buyer comes in and wipes all debt or on very low interest rates as has happened at Liverpool, Utd will continue as is.

On the manager debate, I think the board is hoping to grab Poch from Spurs. The time to get him though was this summer when he got no money, same team with high expectations. Utd missed that boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

That goals conceded stat is a killer. We've let as many in now as we did all last season.

Jose has us set up to park the bus game after game, killing all creativity in the process and yet we are haemorrhaging goals at a mid table club rate.

Our game plan today was long balls to Lukaku who's got the first touch of a trampoline. Many here predicted during he week exactly how the game would go, almost little threat with Liverpool pressing an outplaying us. Its so damn predictable but we set up like this almost every week and will continue to do so.

We are no longer a UTD side, we are a stiff defense focused side who offer practically no attack and can't defend for sh1t. Jose has driven us off a cliff, he needs the chop in the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Lukaku isn't playing well but his goalscoring record for club and country is far from shabby. All he's receiving at the moment is hoofs upfield. Zero quality going into him

What ive been shouting about, yup has big flaws, but dont play and setup to those flaws. Jose has them setup to play lukaku ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,127 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Are the Glaziers even a problem?

Its not like they are starving the club of cash, they have provided plenty to spend in recent seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It would surely cost a fortune to get Spurs to agree to let Pochettino leave, who do they replace him with?

I think the 40 million in the papers is about half of what we would need to get in a room with Levy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

The World cup appears to have compounded the problems caused by Jose's intense environment and overly negative way of playing.

Some examples would be:

Pogba went away and found a much better atmosphere got to play with a better mix of players sent out to get the best from them as a group. Same for Lukaku.

Martial missed out on a world cup winning squad and probably blames Jose.

Rashford got to play and be part of what appeared to be one of the most focused and positive England squads ever.

Then they come back and guys like Lindelof get their confidence ripped apart by Jose flat out saying they are not good enough, over and over.

It is clearly a toxic place to play football right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭secman

Lukaku has a terrible first touch, horrendous, terrible movement, he wouldn't get into any of the top 5 teams, we will never have to worry about losing him to top Spanish giants, or any top European side, if he's not good enough for any of those, How in God's name is he good enough for us.