Are you having a work Christmas party? Share your stories (good, bad or indifferent)

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Mine was on tonight! No Thanks. A load of teachers with nothing in common except work and kids. Well the couple of lads like sport and at least talk about that but the rest of them, going by the staff room conversations, will be currently having the dryest night in living history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Had ours last Friday, was fairly sh!te tbh. Food wasn’t great and the after party was a bit of a disappointment as very few showed up (although to be fair, there was a good distance between the two locations - a big downside of living in a big city).
    Work for a large well known pharma multinational and over the years they’ve got extremely anal about the Christmas party, in that they make it very clear every year they want absolutely nothing to do with any after party. One of the girls in work sent out a meeting invite to everyone for the after party and HR made her send out a cancellation of the meeting with some wording about responsible consumption of alcohol and that the after party was “canceled” (nudge, nudge, wink, wink). The company doesn’t want any of their fingerprints on anything to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭griffin100

I had my departmental one last week but decided not to go - I had to sack a team member a couple of days beforehand but she still insisted on going to the party so I decided that alcohol and an irate unstable middle age woman was a dangerous combination.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Work Christmas parties should be illegal.

Ho Ho Ho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭harr

Last place I worked was a big multi national company and would have a huge party with free bar. No One really went mad for the first few years I went ,but then company got very busy and a lot of younger workers were hired.
    Things got messy then and the free bar and big Xmas party stopped.
    The last one resulted in one lad getting his jaw broken when he fell down a stairs and successfully sued the company for providing a free bar ( settled out of court) same night HR supervisor stripped completely and taught it was a good idea to send a naked photo in a group mail to all mangers in her contacts ...she didn’t even bother to turn up to work after the Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Don't like the shagging things. Especially if the company is small they're used as an opportunity by the management to suss out the newbies. There was one I went to where I felt they were turning up the heat on me after a couple of pints. Didn't like that experience one bit and I reckon it could have contributed to my contract not being renewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

A girl I knew years ago got plastered. Missed work the next morning. Slept with a married guy (she was engaged herself). Gets sacked for missing work, wrecks a marriage, her own engagement over. Few months later finds out she is pregnant from one night stand and the guy wants nothing to do with so abortion it ended up.

Everyone's a winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Had it last night. Started with a few drinks. Moved on to a local restaurant where we had a three course meal and after dinner went to a bar where we reserved an area and had music. It was a great night. Always is really and no drama that I noticed anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

mvl wrote: »
    Well got invited to two departments this year, but decided to go to none.
    don't have the luxury to go party-ing these days.

But in past had some good ones, and a really bad one.

My worse was years ago: got sad drunk cause of Someone who was at the same party. Cause party was work related, put on a face and danced to forget about it; then drank more, and I got really vulnerable.
    Managed to get some bruises on my legs/bum from falling couple of times while I got dragged to another disco in town. Some groping involved on same route, but arrived home ok eventually.

From then, I don't drink at all in work events; but try to mind others that do/make sure they have a lift home.

Had a great night. Tore the new suit, got sick and all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,191 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Ours is on tonight, giving it a miss this year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I got absolutely wrecked last night and don’t remember f*ck all bar one of my managers stuffing a load of gear into himself in the jacks and the other one off his head on yokes by night’s end.

Grand evening with no hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Have had a few interesting ones over the years, one was hosted in a sex museum, another had a burlesque theme with dancers included, another involved a trip to Amsterdam where we had a red light tour and got to meet the oldest pro working there and get some stories from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Was at one where I was chatting to the new guy and overcame the CEO and our department MD. The MD introduced us and the CEO went how is it going and the new guy replied 'Sh ite' and then proceeded to ask the MD if he could just take a new software that had been delivered that cost about 5 grand. The CEO burst out in laughter and just walked away with our boss very red faced replied 'No'

On the 28th of December he just started a night shift, he stood up from his desk said fook this and walked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭mvl

jester77 wrote: »
    Have had a few interesting ones over the years, one was hosted in a sex museum, another had a burlesque theme with dancers included, another involved a trip to Amsterdam where we had a red light tour and got to meet the oldest pro working there and get some stories from her.

only been to such museum out of my own pocket - but now that you said it ... curious what type of job/business you were while having such fine work sponsored entertainment :)