Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Drumpot wrote: »
    So let’s say united lose heavily against pool. Will fans who have been supporting him turn against him ?

Which fans (apart from the neutrals) are supporting Mourinho as Man United manager? Even you claim that Mourinho has to be sacked if I understand your position correctly. The only faction that views Mourinho in a somewhat favourable light are the auld lads who think military conscription ought to be reintroduced and the only respectable haircut is a short back and sides. There is a grim loyalty to the merits of hardship, suffering and misery.

If draws against Crystal Palace, Southampton, Wolves and defeats against Brighton and West Ham aren't enough to disabuse them of their faith in the martinet methods of Mourinho, then a defeat to the leaders of the Premier League is hardly going to be an issue. The excuses are already built in.

Mourinho is here for the duration, until whatever calculations the board employs finally align with reality. While Mourinho is the most pressing and immediate problem for results, the board is incredibly lethargic when it comes to recognising the manager has failed and needs to be replaced. They seem content to write off entire seasons, when more active decisions makers could have nipped this trainwreak in the bud either in the summer or at least in either of the international breaks. The season could still have been arguably rescued, with a new manager able to evaluate the squad and achieve a top 4 finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Ibra not signing for AC Milan could we convince him to come back for a few months and dig us out of this hole

Absolutely not, dug ourselfs in this hole, we need to be more than capable to get the **** out.

Any word on Martial?

Lukaku will start, i actually feel sorry for him, the video against Valencia was harsh. He's played ****e, i get that, but since he joined and his to him has been an absolute joke. This has been an ongoing problem since he joined. How the **** anyone can play that way is anstonishing. He's a solid striker, needs to be the bog bollix in the box. Highlighted so much, even in that valencia game video, he came for the ball so deep he had to pasd back as their was no1 around. Thing is he held up the ball, which is what people give about him but there was **** all around him to pass to. Rewatch it

Rashford has to keep playing and start, his mentality out of all the squad is the strongest, keeps on going and pushing opposite defence even though ot doesnt work every time.

Lingard could start, should play more this season imo, bags of energy going forward.

Mata the bloody genius, fact he knows he does thr have the legs makes him so smart of the game, cant see him starting though on the wong against that front 3. Never a player better suited as a no.10 than we have now.

Game will be won in midfield. Has to be on point.
    Woukd have Matic and Hererra in centre ahead of those two, **** knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Sand wrote: »
    Which fans (apart from the neutrals) are supporting Mourinho as Man United manager? Even you claim that Mourinho has to be sacked if I understand your position correctly. The only faction that views Mourinho in a somewhat favourable light are the auld lads who think military conscription ought to be reintroduced and the only respectable haircut is a short back and sides. There is a grim loyalty to the merits of hardship, suffering and misery.

If draws against Crystal Palace, Southampton, Wolves and defeats against Brighton and West Ham aren't enough to disabuse them of their faith in the martinet methods of Mourinho, then a defeat to the leaders of the Premier League is hardly going to be an issue. The excuses are already built in.

Mourinho is here for the duration, until whatever calculations the board employs finally align with reality. While Mourinho is the most pressing and immediate problem for results, the board is incredibly lethargic when it comes to recognising the manager has failed and needs to be replaced. They seem content to write off entire seasons, when more active decisions makers could have nipped this trainwreak in the bud either in the summer or at least in either of the international breaks. The season could still have been arguably rescued, with a new manager able to evaluate the squad and achieve a top 4 finish.

I’ve got splinters from my position on Mourinho. I don’t see it as black and white as you suggest and don’t feel strongly about him remaining or being sacked. Perhaps it’s an apathetic response to a club that I don’t think is going anywhere fast with any manager while it’s such a sh*theap.

I’m not looking for him to be sacked but I’m not sure how things can go on the way they are. If the board aren’t going to support him in January like they haven’t in other football matters over the last 5 months then I don’t see what good it is that he is kept as manager.

I actually think good can come from this season if the w*nkers at the top have been shocked into change. Whether you like or hate him, Jose has shaken the club and no player can be sitting as comfortable in mediocrity like they had been under Moyes or LVG. Woodward also prob got a bit of a shock and I don’t see how that’s a bad thing if he fecks off back to flogging the club to noodle companies in Asia and we get proper football people into bigger positions.

If the Glazers run united like they do their American football team (which so far it looks like they have) then sacking Jose could actually make things worse. The presumption has always been that sacking him will make things better cause he’s the cancer and some other manager is just the tonic we need. Maybe we needed a world class manager like Jose to f*ck sh*# up and challange the failed club structure and already under performing squad and signings.

As I said, I’m not sure what’s the best thing right now but I don’t necessarily think our misery ends with Jose leaving. I hope I am proven wrong but I don’t trust the powers that be to make the call the first team needs so whether Jose stays or goes I think they aren’t doing it for football reasons which means nothing has changed. It will be a moving around the deck chairs, maybe nicer football but top 4 and the odd minor cup win will be our ambitions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Ibra not signing for AC Milan could we convince him to come back for a few months and dig us out of this hole

**** no!!!!!!

bangkok wrote: »
    **** no!!!!!!

Why not? All people do is complain about Lukaku or we have no leadership and steel , be good to have him around for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

If people think Lukaku's lack of effort or movement off the ball is bad then I shudder to think what they would make of the now age 37, Ibra.

Still, at least he knows how to control and trap a football. :P

He can sure hold up a ball though, and create magic out of no where. 37 year old Ibrahimovic aint like any other 37 year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Sirsok wrote: »
    Why not? All people do is complain about Lukaku or we have no leadership and steel , be good to have him around for a few months.

He is past it. Said it himself. Grand in america, but not for premier league anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,878 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Bring back Henrik Larsson I say:D

The temperament and leadership (by example)of zlatan would be immense help on it’s own. It’s the biggest problem this season. Pogba is a senior player with immense talent and players acting like him are toxic to a dressing room particularly when they have the kind of support from the board and some players. It infects others with insecurities that lead to the kind of split squad we have. There doesn’t seem to be any real strong leaders within the squad so there is no counter to Pogbas mutinous actions , I think Zlatan could be a decent balance to this and a sort of meditator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,605 ✭✭✭✭rob316

He can sure hold up a ball though, and create magic out of no where. 37 year old Ibrahimovic aint like any other 37 year old.

It's an awful admittance that the club has no clue though bringing back a 37 year old.

rob316 wrote: »
    It's an awful admittance that the club has no clue though bringing back a 37 year old.

How is that admittance? I just dont get it, brought back scholes from retirement and that was screwd , as was bringing in Larsson...

Out of all the signings since fergie left, he arguabley was the best, great attitude and professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,952 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Jesus you'd swear Zlatan would be seen as a long term signing not just a stop gap like Larsson was. Then again people were saying Zlatan was past it when we actually signed him in the first place!

He'll be here a few months if he joins. Given Lukakus woeful form getting another striker in for fcuk all for a short period is a great opportunity.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,525 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I've just deleted a load of posts from a couple of days ago that were essentially bickering about and amongst other users. To those involved, grow up - this is about United, not you, and any more of that and I'll be dishing cards out

Any questions PM me - do not respond to this post in thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,321 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Zlatan is a Jose man

If the club back him and he wants it then fine.

But if the club plan on moving on from Jose or are not sure of the future then they should consider how bringing in Zlatan would impact the future plans of Lukaku, Martial and Rashford.

You can tell them to suck it up, be professional, but the club and mamagent showing such an obvious lack of faith would be a blow, imo, and for a short term (couple of months) gamble that might achieve nothing.

Not really showing a lack of faith at all., let alone an obvious one. Think this comes back to what Jose said about players not having maturity, if someone like zlatan is brought back to the club, they should treat it as an oppurtunity to learn and grow, not a knock on them and something to be upset about.

Anyway i dont see it happening, but i can see more obvious pluses then negatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

If Zlatan is being considered which I hope is just papers reporting then it's pretty indicative of the thinking within the club. Major overhauls are needed from scouting to boardroom with the main one being the manager. I highly doubt we will even finish within Europa league qualification places but I don't care as long as there is some sort of long term vision going forward

Not really showing a lack of faith at all., let alone an obvious one. Think this comes back to what Jose said about players not having maturity, if someone like zlatan is brought back to the club, they should treat it as an oppurtunity to learn and grow, not a knock on them and something to be upset about.

Anyway i dont see it happening, but i can see more obvious pluses then negatives.
    OK, you think you could be first choice up front but we'd prefer to go with the 37 year old who said the PL had become too much for him over a year ago, for two months cause we really feel he is still better than you.

But we still think you're great.

Zlatan is a Jose man

If the club back him and he wants it then fine.

But if the club plan on moving on from Jose or are not sure of the future then they should consider how bringing in Zlatan would impact the future plans of Lukaku, Martial and Rashford.

You can tell them to suck it up, be professional, but the club and mamagent showing such an obvious lack of faith would be a blow, imo, and for a short term (couple of months) gamble that might achieve nothing.

I agree to a degree. It’s once again you back or sack Jose, I want the owners to pick a side and support it. Looks like they don’t know what to do and are just hoping everything sorts itself out somehow.

Personally I don’t see how Pogba and Jose remain after January. They are incompatible and there looks to be no salvaging anything. Doesnt Matter whose fault anybody thinks it is, it’s clear Pogba won’t play for Jose and Jose has given up trying to work with him. So one of them needs to go to give the other a chance to salvage something from the season. We all have our sides on that but I think retaining both after January just guarantees a continuation of what we have gotten this season.

OK, you think you could be first choice up front but we'd prefer to go with the 37 year old who said the PL had become too much for him over a year ago, for two months cause we really feel he is still better than you.

But we still think you're great.

Dont think its a problem to have him at the club at all, if you deserve to be first choice you will be first choice, regardless of tenure or age. I think Zlatan would be a good guy to have around. Maybe not a starter but an option and presence.

If your a player and you get upset, that is the wrong reaction and not one Manchester United needs. You pull your socks up and show why you deserve to play for Manchester United. If Zlatan cant hack it in a game, and maybe he cant, i still think having him around is a good thing.

Dont think its a problem to have him at the club at all, if you deserve to be first choice you will be first choice, regardless of tenure or age. I think Zlatan would be a good guy to have around. Maybe not a starter but an option and presence.

If your a player and you get upset, that is the wrong reaction and not one Manchester United needs. You pull your socks up and show why you deserve to play for Manchester United. If Zlatan cant hack it in a game, and maybe he cant, i still think having him around is a good thing.

Do you really feel Jose picks 100% on merit? Do you not feel he has favourites that are given way more time?

Yeah pretty much i think he does. He is the one at the training ground everyday , seeing the players, seeing things we as fans dont see. Even seeing things in a match that we dont see, we can harp on about matic all we want, m but Jose trusts him, for a reason. Do you think Jose doesnt pick his team to win? Do you think he doesnt want to succeed at United?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

He would definitely not be an answer to the problems at the club at the minute. But there was certainly a better feeling about the club when he was there. You actually seen players smiling and enjoying the football on the pitch, now they look as if the 90 minutes cant go quickly enough . He gave a sense of comradary when he was on the pitch.

Yeah pretty much i think he does. He is the one at the training ground everyday , seeing the players, seeing things we as fans dont see. Even seeing things in a match that we dont see, we can harp on about matic all we want, m but Jose trusts him, for a reason. Do you think Jose doesnt pick his team to win? Do you think he doesnt want to succeed at United?

It’s funny aswell how former footballers seem to rate matics performances higher then the average fan here. The amount of times I see fans complaining about him or other players in games where they aren’t actually playing poorly is quite remarkable. Reminds me of how Madrid fans didn’t rate makele as much as his teammates.

I think we have gone long periods where Matic, Lukaku should have been removed from the side. But they have been run into the ground continually. I think valencia had the same treatment previously.

I think bailly, Shaw and Martial have been out of the team for Jose not liking them rather than performance.

Sanchez hasnt deserved a start at any point.

Drumpot wrote: »
    It’s funny aswell how former footballers seem to rate matics performances higher then the average fan here. The amount of times I see fans complaining about him or other players in games where they aren’t actually playing poorly is quite remarkable. Reminds me of how Madrid fans didn’t rate makele as much as his teammates.

"I'm smarter than the average fan"

He would definitely not be an answer to the problems at the club at the minute. But there was certainly a better feeling about the club when he was there. You actually seen players smiling and enjoying the football on the pitch, now they look as if the 90 minutes cant go quickly enough . He gave a sense of comradary when he was on the pitch.

Implication being he was the reason for that? Don't agree. Jose wasn't as consistently negative and down on all the players. This season jose's attitude has been a disgrace.

"I'm smarter than the average fan"

I am smarter then the average fan but Point taken ... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

Implication being he was the reason for that? Don't agree. Jose wasn't as consistently negative and down on all the players. This season jose's attitude has been a disgrace.

Maybe. But a player like him is great to have around a club. I remember being at old Trafford's and ibra started to warm up to come on, you could hear the noise increasing and the sense of something great was about to happen. King Eric had the same effect. Jose is by a mile not the only problem at the club at the minute as I said ibra will not solve this but might bring a small spark of something back into the team.

I think we have gone long periods where Matic, Lukaku should have been removed from the side. But they have been run into the ground continually. I think valencia had the same treatment previously.

I think bailly, Shaw and Martial have been out of the team for Jose not liking them rather than performance.

Sanchez hasnt deserved a start at any point.

But do you think he sets up his team to win and succeed, was pretty much the original question.

We can harp on about luke shaw who the previous manager, and previous england manager had an issue with. Or Martial getting upset losing his number or getting upset Sanchez came.

I didnt like seeing Valencia playing yet it was a necessity. Also would dropping one player result in spuring them on like it should or would getting them to play themselves back into form. These are little intricate things of manager tgat change from player to player.

Jose i believe sets up his team to win, the players who he believes will be the best or have proven to be undroppable will play.

Do you believe he wants man u to win?