Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Four arrested in Co Limerick in vintage car investigation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

But more detail in the mirror,

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/traveller-crime-gang-centre-vintage-13720555

The Irish Sun running something tomorrow too,

https://twitter.com/padraig_reilly/status/1072574080744861698?s=19

Also this,

https://twitter.com/VirginMediaNews/status/1072481124293726208?s=19

Overall it's rather a lot of media interest, probably the unusual subject has piqued their interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Howya Boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Martin Collins of Pavee Point may release a statement tomorrow.!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

The Gardai have appealed for people, particularly in the elderly community, to get in contact if they believe they were deceived or ripped off in the sale of a vintage or classic car.
    That implies that the Gardai found more cars than were the initial subject of their investigation, maybe much more.
    May be worth raising this with any older classic car owners you know, the more complaints the more likely the offenders do real time.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Some lad called me earlier in the year offering me 10 grand for my 924. After a bit of questioning it became clear he didn't really know much about the car, the model, or even seem to care.

Was obviously some sort of scam... wonder if that's the kind of thing they were doing to elderly owners of classics.

A few more ratings for Peter Casey when he hits the airwaves.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Tis our culture boss......

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

But people (here inc.) still go to car boot sales and markets and buy "secondhand" tools from them....ye cant have yer cake etc.....;)