Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taken Down [RTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,678 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Taken Down is the direct opposite of Love/Hate. This is mainly because it is written for the most part by someone else, because it is in line with RTE's new sanitised agenda for drama and features no iconic character like Nidge or Fran.

Love/Hate pushed the boundaries and went where other dramas were and sadly now are again afraid to. As said before, I do not watch or enjoy the likes of Dancing With The Stars or Daniel and Majella's B&B Roadtrip but do enjoy gritty crime and dystopian dramas. Why then are RTE making crime dramas for the first audience and not for the second? All those who do not enjoy 'torture porn' or whatever they like to call it should stick with Daniel and Majella and the Dancing thing and let crime and dystopian drama fans watch proper stuff and not watered down rubbish.

I think Love/Hate 'pushed boundaries' for people who don't watch much drama tbh.

It really didn't push anything.
    Dramas that successfully 'push boundaries' generally make it big around the world, if not with the public then certainly critically. And L/H, didn't go anywhere near that.

Your continued lament for the lack of graphic violence is bewildering too. This series set it's style early on and it just isn't concerned with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,296 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

One plus which Taken Down has going for it is that the Garda focused setup allows the next series to be a completely new storyline involving a more Love/Hate style drugs gangs instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Gar to underage, trafficked, Flora on her initiation: "Well now, I'm goin to give ye............ an auld lash"

Late Late Show - you really think that's tame??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Taken Down is the direct opposite of Love/Hate. This is mainly because it is written for the most part by someone else, because it is in line with RTE's new sanitised agenda for drama and features no iconic character like Nidge or Fran.

Love/Hate pushed the boundaries and went where other dramas were and sadly now are again afraid to. As said before, I do not watch or enjoy the likes of Dancing With The Stars or Daniel and Majella's B&B Roadtrip but do enjoy gritty crime and dystopian dramas. Why then are RTE making crime dramas for the first audience and not for the second? All those who do not enjoy 'torture porn' or whatever they like to call it should stick with Daniel and Majella and the Dancing thing and let crime and dystopian drama fans watch proper stuff and not watered down rubbish.

Its a crime drama alright but on the seedier side of sex trafficking and not really the same content as Love Hate at all, the only connection being both have brothels in the programme, nether is it dystopian its about present day Dublin. I'm interested to see what the finale brings, I've got a feeling they will have to release Wayne on some technicality.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

You'd wonder how it obviously got a second season before it aired..and who the jaysus called it a new standard of Irish drama or whatever..really, it's like someone decided to do a crossover between roots and the keystone cops and set it some modern day feminist dystopian Dublin..and then said, put one of those ginger Gleeson lads in it..

GDY151

Are they showing what should have been the first episode now, lol, confusing as fook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

This is s*ite

It's so bad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Don Wycherley’s accent is shocking - makes the whole thing look amateurish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Don Wycherley’s accent is shocking - makes the whole thing look amateurish.

male garda are all culchies only women are street wise and sassy

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

male garda are all culchies only women are street wise and sassy

It’s a shocking culchie accent though.

You would kind of wonder about who encouraged the cast to pursue their acting careers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Is that it? Jesus, that was absolutely awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I can get over the poor accents and the shoddiness of some of the "home" acting as I thought the explanation of Esme's death was very well done, and actually emotional.

The poor girl.

Although I don't know how the lead detective would have such a lightbulb moment by Marvellous writing with her left hand for literally the length of the time it took to sign a form. Must have some attention for the finer details.

That was poor enough. I have to confess if they go for a series 2 pitching the Guards against Gar, I’d definitely be up for it.

GDY151

The Gardaí had dashcam footage in the second/third episode showing a man in the passenger side door area of the Passat and they got the reg from that, this never happened in this episode, not a single car passed while he was getting her out of the car, I'm confused, was there a 2nd Passat with another man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Icsics

What a disgraceful ending, won't be watching another series of that.

GDY151

Episode 3, at 3 mins there's a different Passat with man scene, not what was shown tonight as no vehicle passed him tonight...
    https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/taken-down-30006504/10965665/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭prunudo

Episode 3, at 3 mins there's a different Passat with man scene, not what was shown tonight as no vehicle passed him tonight...
    https://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/taken-down-30006504/10965665/

Thats some pretty poor continuity if it was supposed to be the same car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭spurshero

Very disappointing end show . If that’s meant to leave ya excited for next series it’s in big trouble

GDY151

They didn't even show an ad after the credits for the DVD release Friday week, do they think it bombed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

They didn't even show an ad after the credits for the DVD release Friday week, do they think it bombed?

I think so-plus there's been a recent shift away from dvd boxsets (by the likes of RTE, and others such as the Simpsons). They're more inclined to do digital boxsets similar to Netflix.So no more physical boxsets, but I saw they're advertising the 'boxset' on the RTE player- as in no physical copies.

Decided to watch the last episode. I've missed it since episode 3. And it continued to disappoint. (Did the lead miscarry? Was there something about the loss of a baby? Seemed the male actor was more upset than she was... terrible acting).
    There was some good scenes-the death of the girl sequence for one was well shot.
    Why couldn't the rest of the show be like that-the supporting cast were often the best thing about the show-the main cast were awful. (And Don Wycherley popped up to play the most stereotypical 'c'ntree' Garda chief ever. He was terrible in it. Hard to believe the crap material he's gotten since Batchelor's Walk).

I checked twitter-the majority of the praise for the show came from people who worked on the show. Others were making comments like 'Was there an ending edited out of that show?' and others noting how slow it was. The last episode could have been a one off mini-film. Not a series. It didn't need a series.

But they did something soooo stupid--they planned for another series. It's arrogance to assume you'll get another series based on the first one.
    And just to highlight how little faith RTE had in the series, they were already advertising another mini-series, Resistance, when not allowing the finale to supposedly 'sink-in'.
    (And it will also star the lesser Gleeson in that one-so that was confusing).

It's a damn shame-the 'non-Irish' characters were completely let down by the supposed protagonists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Christ that was turgid.

The big 'twist' is your woman signing the form with her left hand, and then we just get a giant big flashback of what actually happened. No drama, no suspense, nothing.

Pure and utter ****e.

Watchable but not great and you'd not be bothered if the second series doesn't materialise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

I found the first series of Love/Hate was quite hammy in parts with John Boy and Hughie. Only really got into it from series 2
    Nidge and Fran were absolutely stand out characters

Laneyh wrote: »
    I found the first series of Love/Hate was quite hammy in parts with John Boy and Hughie. ...........

Indeed, first series wasn't at all as good as the rest.
    John Boy as a dapper dan type drug gang leader wasn't overly credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Is this thread going to be "TAKEN DOWN "now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭jay0109

I don't think many will be surprised to see that the Irish Times liked it

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/tv-radio-web/taken-down-killer-is-revealed-in-the-series-where-everyone-has-blood-on-their-hands-1.3726195
    Good TV drama takes us to places we ordinarily never see. The best kind makes it feel vividly real....
    ....Jo Spain and Stuart Carolan’s show, with its eye-opening depictions of the stultifying conditions within Direct Provision, often seemed just as attentive.....
    ....Taken Down may have used dramatic licence, but it knew whereof it spoke....
    ...Its keener impact actually came in quieter moments, like director David Caffrey’s melancholy shots of Dublin at dawn, the sun rising over stalled cranes and idle scenes. That inertia bolstered a creeping feeling, one brought about by leering opportunists and inhumane systems, that here was a murder drama in which the lives of the most vulnerable barely mattered.

I wouldn't be a fan of RTE either, but "leering opportunists" is probably a bit harsh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Decided to watch the last 3 episodes to keep up to date with this. Episodes 4 and 5 were absolutely awful just like episodes 2 and 3. Episode 6 was way better but the ending was an anti-climax. Episode 6 felt more like Love/Hate and was clearly written by Stuart but it felt more like an early season episode than a climax.