If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Answering the front door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭marketty

There's a lad going round here door to door trying to sell RTE subscriptions, he has me plagued, trying to get my name, wants to come in and look around as well, weirdo. Does be on about seeing me in The Court, sure I haven't even had a night out in Naas for years. Had to stop answering the door to him, now he's sending me letters. Freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,297 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

A locked double glazed porch is my safety net . I can open the door and assess if I open the porch or not

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Opened the door yesterday and the local drunk wanted 20€. Which I gave him.

Same thing happened me! Turns out it was my wardrobe and I was talking to the mirror

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

If you have issues opening your own front door it might be time to talk to someone.

Jesus lads.

Kinda defeats the purpose of not opening the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Could be the TV inspector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Very rarely open it unless I'm expecting someone.

Purely laziness and also I live at home so it's probably not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

My mother used to hate answering the door and used to drive my father mad by refusing to do so or answering the phone etc.. She would have been diagnosed with Depression and some sort of autism if she went to the doctor and psychiatrist but people of that age were terrified of psychiatrists and being "locked up" for having even minor levels of mental abnormalities.

I was diagnosed with autism and I had to get training to interact with people or answer the phone in a business setting. My father was always very critical of my phone technique and inability to tell white lies and think of quick answers to awkward questions from people on the other side of the phone.

I make it a point to never accept any offer from callers either at the door or on the phone and I have a routine answer for these people of never accepting unsolicited offers over the phone. If they get nasty I usually quote some law about abusing telecommunications and reporting them to OFTEL if they don't bugger off. Likewise with people at the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

You'd be surprised to learn what some of these people earn. It's not unheard of for door to door salespeople to earn €40k+, with flexible hours. This is higher than the average industrial wage.

No I get that, I just mean the conditions of it, having to trudge from door to door, essentially interrupting peoples lives/evenings and probably enduring a fair amount of crap as well for it.

Not knocking it, just saying for me it'd be a horrible way to earn a living. But there's something for everyone.

There's always great money to be made in jobs that most people don't want to do. More power to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Never, but hey if they want to climb thru the window and checkout my gun collection that's cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

I had a package delivered that was for a neighbor and three decking evenings in a row I called over and she wouldn't answer her door. Caught her on her way in and told her I had it. Bit ch didnt even say thanks, just mumbled some rsbdome like of an excuse why she didn't answer the door 3 evenings running ( like 7 pm).

So yea. Sad reflection on society that people commonly justify very poor and pathetic reasons for not answering doors. It's a basic function of society, done since the dawn of time but now for some reason people are so socially awkward that can't even handle basic ad hoc human interactions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

Zorya wrote: »
    Generally I answer any knock to the door. It's a pain when it's Jehovah's Witnesses or farmers selling GAA tickets.

Having said that, I do feel somewhat trepidatious by times. I am 5 foot and a few inches, female and live alone during the week in a very very isolated place. So, if it is dark and I do not recognise the person, I answer the door with my unseen hand holding a baseball bat. Hopefully I will never have to use it. Horrible to have to feel even that bit of fear. I would love a lady-sized pistol for concealed-carry and to come back as a tall strong man in my next life.

Reality here.

Your lady-sized pistol is useless when the person is within 2 feet of you. Stick to the baseball bat. It requires gross motor skills to operate.

Did you swing and miss? Lift bat up and swing again. Did you swing and hit? Lift bat up and swing again. As easy as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,297 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I had a package delivered that was for a neighbor and three decking evenings in a row I called over and she wouldn't answer her door. Caught her on her way in and told her I had it. Bit ch didnt even say thanks, just mumbled some rsbdome like of an excuse why she didn't answer the door 3 evenings running ( like 7 pm).

So yea. Sad reflection on society that people commonly justify very poor and pathetic reasons for not answering doors. It's a basic function of society, done since the dawn of time but now for some reason people are so socially awkward that can't even handle basic ad hoc human interactions.

Socially awkward or just simply nervous or feel vulnerable ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,076 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I recommend a gate alarm. I have a cheap pir hidden behind the gatepost. It rings a buzzer in the house so I know when someone is approaching the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

While I agree with some of the sentiments around people being more insular than in the past, why the f00k are we all expected to answer our doors at any given time? Marketeers and religious nuts are basically invading your privacy, but people are meant to tolerate them regardless? Fcuk them and the horse they rode in on

It also depends on where you live. My parents still live in a rural area, and its perfectly normal for their friends, or randomers from the town, to call to the house for a cup of tea or to sell lotto tickets for the local GAA club

But where I live, I've had only two unexpected knock on the door in the last few years. One was a neighbour needing to use my phone, they knocked, I looked out the widow to see who it was, all good. The other was a pair of joyriders who had crashed across the street after being chased by the cops. I watched them get arrested from the safety of an upstairs window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

I've a very funny story about answering the door actually. My parents are off an age that they think if someone bangs the door down then it must be the Gardaí and someone is dead so when the door was being banged down about 7am one morning my father went to answer it whilst my mother was pulling on her tights.

Some scumbag pushed past my father ran up the stairs, straight into Mam's bedroom and into the wardrobe. Followed shortly by 5 Gardaí so they were close enough. We have a great laugh about it now cause Mam was mortified at all the Gardaí in her bedroom but it could have gone a lot worse I suppose. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

A thread over in the Emergency Services forum brought up something that I never understood about certain people. Answering the front door. Some people I know outright refuse to answer it whatsoever, under the impression that if it's important enough the person will have their phone number and contact them that way. Others won't if they are on their own, while some won't go near it after a certain time in the evening.

I've never understood this, I find it quite ignorant really. It's ironic that you'd expect somebody to go to the extra bother of having to phone you when you can't be bothered to get up off your hole and answer the door.

I can possibly see it from a safety POV of somebody not wanting to expose themselves to a burglar or whatever, but surely they're more likely to break in if they think nobody's home? You can always come to the door and speak to them without actually opening it. And what if they were knocking to tell you that your chimney was on fire? Or you'd left the key in the latch or your headlights were still on? Wouldn't you prefer to know? (I've done all three, by the way)

What say you, Boardsies? If I knocked on your door, would I get an answer?

Everyone I've ever answered the door to in my current abode has been a nuisance. God botherer, politician, charities, salespeople, neighbour being annoying. Why the hell would I answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,148 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Seriously, what is the added value of opening the door to randomers? Be honest now.

Neighbours either side have our numbers and will WhatsApp if anything is needed. Family and friends have the politeness gene and will text to see if we are in if they are passing close by etc.

Neighbour will take in parcels or we collect at the depot.

I think the energy involved in getting rid of cold callers is just not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

I never answer the door to a "cold knock"! The kids are to young to be out on their own. The wife has her own key. Anyone coming to visit I'll be expecting. After that, you're on your own out there.
    Sure what good could come from it. The Lotto don't come knocking to your door.

Patww79 wrote: »
    Everyone I've ever answered the door to in my current abode has been a nuisance. God botherer, politician, charities, salespeople, neighbour being annoying. Why the hell would I answer?

You need more friends.

Neighbour will take in parcels or we collect at the depot.

I think the energy involved in getting rid of cold callers is just not worth it.

See, this is where we differ. I think the energy involved in getting to the sorting office to collect a parcel far outweighs getting up off your hole once in a while to answer the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

Knocked on a door the other week at about 9pm to tell the householder that the lights on the car were left on. The owner came to the door in his jocks. I was very glad it was his car after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

See, this is where we differ. I think the energy involved in getting to the sorting office to collect a parcel far outweighs getting up off your hole once in a while to answer the door.

"Getting up off your hole" is such an evocative phrase. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

We don't have a doorbell or knocker, forgot when we were building, so no one ever knocks, 🀣😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Rezident

I answer the door every times here is a knock. Sure, it could be anyone. Could be the Gardaí knocking to tell me that something has happened to a loved one, in which case I sure as **** would want to know.

Or it could be a burglar knocking to check if anyone is home, in which case I sure as **** would want him to know I am home.

Or. It could be Jehovah’s Witness, knocking to see if I have found God, in which case i’ll Just politely tell them i’m not interested.

Why the **** wouldn’t people answer the door. Weirdos.

I don't answer the door, it's annoying and mostly it is people looking for money isn't it? And some of those 'charity' people are just scammers keeping the money for themselves. In 41 years the Guards have never called around to tell me something has happened to a loved one, you would get a call if it was important.

If someone does not have my mobile number then chances are I do not want to talk to them at the door. I have wasted lots of time answering the door to people looking for money in the past which is why I don't do it anymore. You are wasting your time, do you not value your time?

In the long-term you will spend days or weeks talking to jehovah's witnesses and door-to-door salespeople while I will be spending that time having fun and with loved ones. It is a Plan, instead of just reacting like a dog to every time a salesman rings your doorbell. Think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Minnie Snuggles

yeah. dont see the problem. we live in a quiet area so dont get the sales, Jehovahs, weirdos too often to care.

I live in a country area too, I arrived home after collecting my son from school to find a car load of strangers. Four children jumping on our trampoline and two adults standing up watching them, they were passing around some bible studies leaflets.

There was a problem a few years back where one person would ring the doorbell and while the owner of the house was at the hall door there was someone else gone in the back door to rob the place.

I used to be nervous about answering the door after dark, but then we two dogs, so no problem answering the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭baldbear

listermint wrote: »
    Ah now its a bit weird not answering the door, all this guff about having your phone number and that is a cop out.

People dont like talking to people anymore.

People have gotten an awful lot less communicative in a world thats more connected than ever.

Weird.... o's

Just answer the door and deal with whatevers in front of you like a normal person or lose the ability of speech to another human.

But the majority of people who knock on the door want money ultimately. Do you want to set up a direct debit for a charity,do you want to change energy providers bla bla bla.

No I ducking don't and if I did I'd do it myself and not hand my details over to some random bollox knocking on my door when I'm trying to chill out. Now piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭Feisar

I live in a country area too, I arrived home after collecting my son from school to find a car load of strangers. Four children jumping on our trampoline and two adults standing up watching them, they were passing around some bible studies leaflets.

There was a problem a few years back where one person would ring the doorbell and while the owner of the house was at the hall door there was someone else gone in the back door to rob the place.

I used to be nervous about answering the door after dark, but then we two dogs, so no problem answering the door.

Don't expect Fido to bust out cans of whoop ass, most dogs won't/don't unless trained.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭surrender monkey

I don't answer my front door anymore. It's not because I'm antisocial or anything like that. People saying others are ignorant etc are wrong in my opinion.... you just dont know what others have experienced in life. Every time my door bell rings I'm terrified to answer it because of my own past experience.

I'm female and live alone and for a fair few years I was targeted by traveller teenagers. If they called to the front door there were others at the back of the house coming over the wall. Im not talking one or two im talking 5 or 6 of them. They used to order takeaways to my house and when the poor driver would knock they would dive out from behind a wall and batter him on my doorstep for their food and his money. If i asked them to leave my front garden and stop kicking my door they would all circle around me to intimidate me. They were relentless.

Kinda hard to get over the fear of living like that. The guards advised me to never ever answer my door to unsolicited callers and now even years later I make sure I stick to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,461 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Guy called this evening. didn't know him, clip board in hand. Just ignored him and he went away. Simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭CPTM

Here's something for the psycho-analysts. I went from the absolutely "Never" category straight to the "Always" category as soon as I got married. It was like a switch.