Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

tuxy wrote: »
    First traveller TD? Maybe Sinn Fein can make it happen! They could coach her on what to say and what not to say!

She’s very pally with the Socialists, AAA PBP or whatever they’re called now. Those on 0% in the last couple of polls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Here's fun:

Jaysus the snowflakes will be up in arms again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

I'm surprised the Journal left the comments open

"He can say what he likes, Pikeys don’t listen to the radio

yeah. They listen to others peoples radios"

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

blanch152 wrote: »
    I have a question for those that support Traveller culture. What are the positive aspects of Traveller culture?

We have long discussed and documented the negative aspects of Traveller culture on this thread. These include:

- a culture of acceptance of criminality and at least tacit support for those engaged in it;
    - a culture of taking girls out of school around the age of twelve;
    - a culture of marrying young girls aged 15/16 off to relatives and turning them into baby factories;
    - a culture of environmental destruction;
    - a homophobic environment for young men and women;
    - a racist attitude to recent immigrants;
    - a culture of tax evasion;
    - a violent culture both in terms of bare-knuckle fighting and violence to women as shown by the womens' refuge statistics
    - poor treatment of animals
    - a welfare dependency culture

However, if Traveller culture is so worthwhile, there must be some positive aspects to it. Some have pointed to the clannish and family nature as a positive aspect but the problem is that only reinforces the negative aspects as it becomes cultish rather than family-based. Where is the music? Where is the art? Sulky-racing?

Now, I am not painting every Traveller with the brush above, and there are many travellers who do not subscribe to the majority of the negative aspects, but taken as a whole, that is the understanding of Traveller culture held by the vast majority of Irish people [BTW, if Travellers wish to be known as ethnically separate and distinct, the rest of us aren't "settled people", we are Irish].

So can someone explain the positive aspects of Traveller culture, or are we just supposed to accept the list above?

About the only thing any poster has come up with round here is how they kept Irish music alive.
    And that equates to the Fureys, Margaret Barry and a few pipers.

Notice how quiet people go when they are asked to give positive examples of traveller culture or their contributions to Irish culture.
    CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Some interesting stuff, though i know nothing about the writer or the site. How credible are they?

The following jumped out at me

Up until the mid-1990s FÁS (now Solas) operated 26 Senior Traveller Training Centres (STTCs) providing specialized training for Travellers. The Task Force recommended in 1995 that the control of these STTCs be transferred to the Department of Education because FÁS training, geared towards employment, was not “culturally appropriate.” One of FÁS’ targets was progression of its trainees to employment and the failure of Travellers to progress to employment was affecting their performance metrics so they gladly handed over control of the STTC’s to the Department of Education."

In other words civil servants and politicians decided that training towards actual employment was not "culturally appropriate" for travellers.
    The state officially does not expect them to work and the state is fine with that. :mad:
    FFS.

Why do the authorities of this state actually foster this toxic septic lifestyle?

I think there is a seismic shift coming and Peter Casey's vote was the first example of it.
    A lot of people are past tolerating a one sided take take interaction with shag all benefits to the greater society in return.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

I have it on good authority the council have privately purchased a 3 bed house in Old Bawn that she will move into in the new year. Its on the basis she doesnt go to the media about it

Can they not stick her in Jobstown or somewhere else please

Be arsed with that creature and her breed as neighbours.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I doubt it. She needs a 4 bed house. Her 6 sons cannot be put in one room.

She needs a good kick in the hole, and to learn a bit of humility.

She also needs to learn how to make a positive contribution to society and not be shouting her big mouth off about what she feels entitled to.

Lots of folk work very hard and don't net what she gets on free handouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,869 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

jmayo wrote: »
    About the only thing any poster has come up with round here is how they kept Irish music alive.
    And that equates to the Fureys, Margaret Barry and a few pipers.

Notice how quiet people go when they are asked to give positive examples of traveller culture or their contributions to Irish culture.

In other words civil servants and politicians decided that training towards actual employment was not "culturally appropriate" for travellers.
    The state officially does not expect them to work and the state is fine with that. :mad:
    FFS.

Why do the authorities of this state actually foster this toxic septic lifestyle?

I think there is a seismic shift coming and Peter Casey's vote was the first example of it.
    A lot of people are past tolerating a one sided take take interaction with shag all benefits to the greater society in return.

I had forgotten about the Fureys.

Strike 1 for positive aspects of their culture but how specific were the Fureys to Traveller culture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Here's fun:

Brilliant, there's no craic on NT since Hook and Paul Williams left. If I hear Ciara Kelly talk sh*te one more time...

blanch152 wrote: »
    I had forgotten about the Fureys.

Strike 1 for positive aspects of their culture but how specific were the Fureys to Traveller culture?

Isn't Tyson Fury a traveller too? Although I don't know if you could class that as a contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

She needs a good kick in the hole, and to learn a bit of humility.

She also needs to learn how to make a positive contribution to society and not be shouting her big mouth off about what she feels entitled to.

Lots of folk work very hard and don't net what she gets on free handouts.

True but that will never happen

She left school at 12, got married at 15, has seven kids by age 28, never worked in her life, is 100% dependent on the taxpayer to fund her but yet the gubberment is robbing her

Also she doesn't care what people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Is she going to take it? I'd imagine she'd want a 4 bed for all the kids.

I doubt it. Why not hold out for a mansion like all the other travellers are doing at the moment

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

I doubt it. Why not hold out for a mansion like all the other travellers are doing at the moment

Every tine I read about that story about the demands for lands etc I hear Keeping Up Appearances and the sister with "swimming pool and room for a pony".

Isn't Tyson Fury a traveller too? Although I don't know if you could class that as a contribution.

Andy Lee is and he's a gem.

Omackeral wrote: »

Francie Barrett, etc. I think we can agree Irish boxers from a traveller background have done us proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Omackeral wrote: »

I consider these lads gems also

Your man has a fine woolly jumper too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Your man in the middle or on the left ?

On the left, light weight jumper good for boxing in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭eastwest

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    eastwest wrote: »
    This is a very considered piece by Felim O'Rourke that puts its finger on the nub of the problem. Worth reading.
    https://www.theburkean.ie/articles/2018/08/19/irelands-traveller-policy-an-inherent-contradiction-2

Some interesting stuff, though i know nothing about the writer or the site. How credible are they?

The following jumped out at me

"The Program for Prosperity and Fairness (2000) committed the Government to setting up a “Working Group” to discover the causes of high unemployment among Travellers despite labour shortages in the then booming economy. The Departments of Enterprise, Trade and Employment and Justice and Equality were both reluctant to take responsibility for the Working Group. In 2002 the Department of Enterprise reached an agreement with Pavee Point that the Working Group not be set up but no reasons were ever given for this decision...

Up until the mid-1990s FÁS (now Solas) operated 26 Senior Traveller Training Centres (STTCs) providing specialized training for Travellers. The Task Force recommended in 1995 that the control of these STTCs be transferred to the Department of Education because FÁS training, geared towards employment, was not “culturally appropriate.” One of FÁS’ targets was progression of its trainees to employment and the failure of Travellers to progress to employment was affecting their performance metrics so they gladly handed over control of the STTC’s to the Department of Education."
    I don't know anything about the writer or the site, but I found it when I was looking for detail on the issue of the continuing high levels of unemployment among the traveller community.
    The writer raises a question that I have often wondered about -- why we tolerate a lifestyle choice of idleness in sectors of the population who nonetheless demand housing from us, while at the same time they refuse to get involved in working in the construction sector where even unskilled jobs are hard to fill. We import workers from eastern Europe to build homes for Irish citizens who couldn't be bothered to work, and then naturally we have to provide education, health care and housing fir the families of these immigrants, services we're already providing to the people who refuse to engage.

Is that a man in a bear suit or a bear in a man suit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

I have it on good authority the council have privately purchased a 3 bed house in Old Bawn that she will move into in the new year. Its on the basis she doesnt go to the media about it
    Wow, Old Bawn is a nice quiet private area, that's unreal. While everyone else is trying to buy a nice house in a private area she gets one for free.

If this is true you wont hear another word from her ever again.

rafatoni wrote: »
    Wow, Old Bawn is a nice quiet private area, that's unreal. While everyone else is trying to buy a nice house in a private area she gets one for free.

I guess that's the whole point. If true it's bribery to keep her quiet as too many people have been listening to her and she is overdue another publicity stunt.

I wouldn't bet on it. That type is never satisfied - another 5 or 6 childer and she'll be all over the papers showing 4 of the poor childer sleeping to a room, and their little human rights being violated by not having a bedroom each (and room for a few ponies).

Gravelly wrote: »
    I wouldn't bet on it. That type is never satisfied - another 5 or 6 childer and she'll be all over the papers showing 4 of the poor childer sleeping to a room, and their little human rights being violated by not having a bedroom each (and room for a few ponies).

Wait till the first grandchilder is due. They'll want the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

My daughter tried to buy in Old Bawn , two good salaries and both hard workers . They were priced out and couldn't afford Old Bawn .

In 3 or 4 generations she'll fill the entire country.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    My daughter tried to buy in Old Bawn , two good salaries and both hard workers . They were priced out and couldn't afford Old Bawn .

There's the problem right there.

What age is her eldest? He will be starting his family at 16 as not doing so would be an insult to his culture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Skip to 38 minutes unless your trying to identify whether that is actually your stolen Samsung galaxy tab that’s being used to record the spectacle
    Black shorts gets comprehensively beaten by the missing link who puts on a rather fine display of showboating after winning signing off with his trademark triumphant announcement “I’m off to get drunk now woooohooooo”

What age is her eldest? He will be starting his family at 16 as not doing so would be an insult to his culture.

Eldest 2 are 11 and 10 so watch this space. Grandmother of ten before she's 40 you mark my words.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    True but that will never happen

She left school at 12, got married at 15, has seven kids by age 28, never worked in her life, is 100% dependent on the taxpayer to fund her but yet the gubberment is robbing her

Also she doesn't care what people think

Probably not, but there's fault there, and someone or something is responsible for it.

If it's a "cultural" thing perhaps that needs to be dealt with? Perhaps society is no longer happy to fund the lives of people like Margaret Cash who never ever tried to contribute and are just happy to take and take and take and then steal?

p.s. That isn't a racist view btw. It applies equally to those of the settled community too.