Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

So I got into an argument at a car park with a cheapskate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Less of the homophobia please.

I don't understand why people care so much when it doesn't effect them at all.

Even if it was something that would bother you I can't fathom how it would bother you to the point of totally losing the rag and causing a scene and acting like Joe Pesci in goodfellas.

I'm with you Paddy.

WTF do I care if some stranger pays for his car park or not - it's not my carpark. Getting out of your car and picking a row over it is fúcking retarded if you ask me.

Well done OP you managed to make 4 quid for some mystery company who doesn't give a rats arse and certainly would not have covered your expenses if the tight arse target of your moral indignation got out of his car and gave you a good hard kick in the nuts your trouble.

Mind your own god damn business would be my advice!
    I'd be more worried about someone smashing into the back of me rather than moral indignation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Not the same.

If the person was using your electricity the bill would be higher because more kWh would be used.

In this case you pay €4 if they tailgate you or not.

Anyway, its your reaction that I think was OTT. Imagine he had a young child in the car. They would be traumatised by someone shouting foul abuse like that over 4euro.

They should be traumatised that their parent is a cheap ****.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,001 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

ION08 wrote: »
    To be honest, if I saw someone lurking I'd approach them and ask them to go halves on the ticket :D Win/Win

What you'd want to do is get them to go halves on a ticket, then you go out the barrier first and slow down as you go through and the barrier comes down leaving them stuck on the other side, and you with half price parking. Then you put the foot down and shoot up the ramp and out before they can get out of their car to remonstrate with you :pac:

In all seriousness though, I've never actually paid attention to whether or not someone is doing this to me in that carpark. I'm not usually leaving at 5pm though, it would usually be in the middle of the day or in the morning. Next time I'm there I must keep an eye out. They must be some tightarses over the €4 though, I wonder if you got to the ticket machine and pressed the help button and said that the person behind you was trying to tailgate out, would they be able to do anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Oh no! Someone is stealing parking from a corporation. Chop off his hands!

Who gives a scuttery schite? Doesn't effect you in the slightest.

And what happens when they raise prices because of lost revenue from shysters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭uncommon_name

Not the same.

If the person was using your electricity the bill would be higher because more kWh would be used.

In this case you pay €4 if they tailgate you or not.

Anyway, its your reaction that I think was OTT. Imagine he had a young child in the car. They would be traumatised by someone shouting foul abuse like that over 4euro.

Not the OP's fault if there is a child in the car. It is the responsibility of the parent not to put their child in to this situation. It is the same as getting in to a road rage battle with another car with your child in the back. The other person doesn't put your child in the situation, you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It's theft.

It is indeed, but from the carpark operator. Yeah it would piss me off seeing people do this every day but I don't think I'd get into a road rage argument over it. Id probably try and find some genuinely free parking nearby saving myself some money and so I wouldn't feel taken advantage of either.

The carpark operator has cheaped out here too. They should have a fast drop barrier with beams. Not foolproof by any means, but takes a lot more coordination to get around than loops alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

The scald in his 161 car has that annoying dort accent too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

It is satisfying to see people try to enforce moral standards, but have to admit OP went a little overboard to the point of losing emotional control. I applaud him for sure, but not his fight. Will still thank him for the post !

An alternative non-confrontational approach would be to press the intercom on the barrier to tell the staff that you believe the person behind is trying to jump out. They may be able to lower the barrier or just grab their reg number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭sunny2004

Total respect to the OP. You did the right thing. Apart from the other guy not paying, who wants anyone tailgating them under any circumstances. (Apart from the blue oyster bar)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭uncommon_name

No problem at all.

I have an all you can eat broadband connection and I let my neighbour use it as she is a single mother and I believe is helping out other people, especially when it's no extra cost to me.

I also let my niece and nephew use my Netflix login.

Some people just have a different more selfish viewpoint I suppose.

But you choose to let them use your services at your expense. That is your decision.

Now imagine you didn't let them use it. Your neighbor comes over to visit you one day with a cheap bottle of wine from Lidl and takes your WiFi password while you are in the kitchen getting wine glasses. They use it for a couple of months without you knowing and then one day you find out when your WiFi is extremely slow due to her, her new fella, her children, their friends etc. using it or one day you decide to change your plan to a cheaper one and end up over your limit every month not knowing why.
    Then you find out she and everyone else in her house have been using it and that is what is affecting you.
    You would be angry too.

Your comparison is irrelevant because it is not the same thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Daz_

Fair play OP. You lost it a bit there in the end but well done .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

What difference does it make to you OP. Very angry and bitter person. No need for the foul language either.

I would have just laughed at you and tailgate out behind the next person who was probably Irish and wouldn't care.

Um because the OP is by default paying for yer mans parking.

Im Irish and id do the same thing.

Fking freeloaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

You should have taken your dash cam and video'd the entire incident. I absolutely hate tight arses who do things like that.

If he thought somebody might come out with a dashcam and he be plastered all over the internet, he might think twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Ireland and especially Dublin would be a much better place if we had more “CyberGhosts!”
    From Pintman Paddy to Margaret Cash....all these people are spongers who want a free ride at decent people’s expense!

Thanks CyberGhost for taking a stand and calling this crap out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Sure here I know people with 182 s toping them up with 5 euro petrol/diesel
    Putting part worn tyres and skimping on servicing

Doesn't mean they have cash
    Riddled with repayments
    Have to keep up an image

You don't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

No problem at all.

I have an all you can eat broadband connection and I let my neighbour use it as she is a single mother and I believe is helping out other people, especially when it's no extra cost to me.

I also let my niece and nephew use my Netflix login.

Some people just have a different more selfish viewpoint I suppose.

Everyone over to Paddy's gaff to wear his clothes when he's out at work. He's not using them, so it no skin off his nose, and therefore not his business what we do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Farfromhome02

GavRedKing wrote: »
    You don't though.

Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I enjoyed that more than I should have :)

I only hope the cheapskate in the 16 reg car is reading this. Someone who uses that place should if they have a passenger or is a passenger should jump out and film these chancers from the other side of the barrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Can't understand people saying OP was in the wrong. :confused: When I lived in a city with a metro system, the amount of people who would follow me through was unreal and it really pissed me off because, as OP says, you've paid for it, they haven't. I don't care if someone jumps the barrier, I'd just hope they get caught, but that's the company's problem for having bad barriers. If someone's following me through on MY ticket, I'm going to say something. Price increases happen for a reason.

I once watched a guy follow me around a few of the barriers while I pretended to be thinking about which one to use, before darting to the other end and he couldn't follow me. He still got the same train as me, but it's nice to make those knobheads free rides a little less smooth. Another guy took his bike through the big doors with me when I brought my suitcase, got it caught in my wheel from following me so closely, and had the nerve to tell me to be careful! So OP's video was very satisfying to watch. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Canard wrote: »
    Can't understand people eh idiots saying OP was in the wrong. :confused:

Fixed that typo for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Less of the homophobia please.

I don't understand why people care so much when it doesn't effect them at all.

Even if it was something that would bother you I can't fathom how it would bother you to the point of totally losing the rag and causing a scene and acting like Joe Pesci in goodfellas.

Do you steal from shops?

Why not? Why is it OK to steal services provided by a company but not goods?

Would you call a tradesman to do work in your house, then trick him in to going outside, shut the door, laugh at him and refuse to pay?or is that service not ok to steal? Where's the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

ondafly wrote: »
    Bravo Sir - and I particularly enjoyed your use of "Knobhead" - its not used enough anymore :)

Best pronounced "knob'ead" with a Manchester accent like Karl Pilkington

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

I was in a car with a travelling rep who has a fob for the toll roads. As we approached the slip road to the automatic reader at a toll booth a car zipped in ahead of us. My mate immediately slowed his car almost to a stop. When I asked him why he said it was a thing for chancers to jump in ahead of of people heading for the automatic teller when they don't have one themselves. The reader is a good 80 yards back from the barrier so the chancer hopes to get through when the the fob in the legit car is read.

I found it hard to believe to be honest, it would be so blatant. Has anyone ever experienced anything like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,373 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Deise Vu wrote: »
    I was in a car with a travelling rep who has a fob for the toll roads. As we approached the slip road to the automatic reader at a toll booth a car zipped in ahead of us. My mate immediately slowed his car almost to a stop. When I asked him why he said it was a thing for chancers to jump in ahead of of people heading for the automatic teller when they don't have one themselves. The reader is a good 80 yards back from the barrier so the chancer hopes to get through when the the fob in the legit car is read.

I found it hard to believe to be honest, it would be so blatant. Has anyone ever experienced anything like that?

All the time.

Most of them get caught out though from my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,373 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Canard wrote: »
    Can't understand people saying OP was in the wrong. :confused:

I was thinking the same.
    But then you realise he says there are obviously a good few people doing this.
    So good chance some of those spongers are on boards.
    Gobsh1ts who genuinely don't not see that what they are doing is wrong. Who actually believe it is the right thing to scam when they can.

I wouldn't be surprised if one of the anti few here (maybe even paddy himself) is probably the culprit in the videi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Do you steal from shops?

Why not? Why is it OK to steal services provided by a company but not goods?

Would you call a tradesman to do work in your house, then trick him in to going outside, shut the door, laugh at him and refuse to pay?or is that service not ok to steal? Where's the line?

I don't steal from shops.

I don't go around accosting shop lifters.

I mind my own business, that's what I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,293 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

the fact that he was willing to argue/question the op just shows what a moron he is. he and anyobe like him should be ashamed.
    its not beating the system or getting one over on anyone. its stealing. at its most simple level.

you use the car park - you pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I don't steal from shops.

I don't go around accosting shop lifters.

I mind my own business, that's what I do!

Way to selectively answer.

Why is it OK to steal form some businesses and not others?

If your neighbours see someone breaking in to your house or car should they mind their own business and keep out of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Haven’t read the thread.

I just watched the video and wanted to say nice one op..

We need more people like you who aren’t afraid to stand up and tell scroungers to go and sh1te..

I applaud you sir !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

CyberGhost wrote: »
    I park my car at a public paid car park when I go to work.

I noticed that there are few people who work around in the area who park there, and then at around 6-ish when people are leaving work they wait and circle around in their cars looking for someone to exit the car park and then they tailgate them out avoiding the parking fee. And they do it every single day.

What's funny is that these cheapskates are driving really nice, new cars, are nicely dressed, obviously they can afford a parking ticket... but they don't mind or care about tailgating out anyone just so they avoid paying the fee.

I got tailgated out many times and finally had enough. So I said I would not let anyone tail gate me out anymore, especially because I know they work in that area, this is not just some stray car that entered the parking by accident. They know exactly what they are doing.

Today as I was going to my car from work, I noticed this guy sitting in his car and by the time I paid for my ticket and I got into my car he was circling around and got into the position to chase me out. What he did not expect is that I would not let him out.

What's amazing is the level of entitlement. I told him I was not letting him out and he is still trying to follow me out. It's astounding.

Sorry for the profanity in the video, but I simply have had it with these people.

https://streamable.com/8uwq2
    In fcuking real,pity dashcam doesent do behind also,shame the bastards