Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

So I got into an argument at a car park with a cheapskate

12345679»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

CyberGhost wrote: »
    I paid for myself. So I could get through the barrier. Not him.

I'm amazed by the attitude of some people here. So I guess everyone should start doing that and we can only circle around and wait until one person pays for it so we can all get out too?

I'm glad most of the society is not like that. Otherwise there would be no society.

CyberGhost I think you have started an interesting debate!
    I never visit the motoring section but I think this experience you have had of “Dublin living” is not unique, and why so many decent people are fed up working their “butts” off in Dublin whilst others swan around on “the take”.

I lived in Dublin for over 20 years and recently relocated.

One experience I’ve had is somebody in a merc tailgating my husband in to our apartment complex through the security gates.
    The person was not a resident but was coming in to the apartment complex so that he could avail of “our” bins. He wouldn’t pay for his own!
    My husband discreetly watched him empty his boot of bottles and bags and then he drove out of the complex again. So then our management fees were upped and who are the fools that have to pay for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭uncommon_name

Sundew wrote: »
    CyberGhost I think you have started an interesting debate!
    I never visit the motoring section but I think this experience you have had of “Dublin living” is not unique, and why so many decent people are fed up working their “butts” off in Dublin whilst others swan around on “the take”.

I lived in Dublin for over 20 years and recently relocated.

One experience I’ve had is somebody in a merc tailgating my husband in to our apartment complex through the security gates.
    The person was not a resident but was coming in to the apartment complex so that he could avail of “our” bins. He wouldn’t pay for his own!
    My husband discreetly watched him empty his boot of bottles and bags and then he drove out of the complex again. So then our management fees were upped and who are the fools that have to pay for it?

Exactly the same thing as I have stated multiple time's above. People here saying it doesn't effect you so leave them at it. Well it might effect you eventually. So stop them doing it now before it does effect you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

I think society would be much better off if people called out others on 'shabby' behaviour.

Fair play to the OP.

Call it how though? Shouting and screaming in a car park along with name calling? That's not the kind of society I want to live in. I am very much of the opinion that the OP is as bad as the lad in the car, neither covered themselves in glory.
    I'd have been very happy if you called the guards and even got the security involved. Go for it. How are you going to explain what is going on exactly?

And what evidence do you have that he was going to follow you out? Security or Guards will look at fact and not your opinion that he was going to follow you.

Simple. Look at the history. He does it everyday.

His car is blocking the barrier from coming down. So be is already past the limit he should be at.

Finally I ask him if it is his intention for me to let him out and you can hear and audible "yea" in response.

No. I don't care at all. I mind my own business. If he follows somebody out and they let him. That's fine, I'm not a parking cop.

But I won't be paying for you everyday, especially when you are obviously more well of than I so you can pay for your own parking.

I don't owe anything free to anyone.

You are still of the wrong opinion that you are paying for him.
    You're not. Whether he was there or not, you would pay your parking fee.
    You're not giving anyone anything free.
    He is not paying........

I think you're taking it a bit too personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Exactly the same thing as I have stated multiple time's above. People here saying it doesn't effect you so leave them at it. Well it might effect you eventually. So stop them doing it now before it does effect you.

Would it be naive of me to say that similar things happened in the past regarding:
    • Leaving cars off the road out of tax and getting the Gardai to stamp the RF100
    • Being able to tax commercially without too many credentials (commercial Z32 springs to mind!)

Wherein a loophole was exploited until something was done to add extra steps to obtain the previous end results?

I am open to debate on those

bubblypop wrote: »
    No. I don't care at all. I mind my own business. If he follows somebody out and they let him. That's fine, I'm not a parking cop.

But I won't be paying for you everyday, especially when you are obviously more well of than I so you can pay for your own parking.

I don't owe anything free to anyone.

You are still of the wrong opinion that you are paying for him.
    You're not. Whether he was there or not, you would pay your parking fee.
    You're not giving anyone anything free.
    He is not paying........

I think you're taking it a bit too personally

If I'm not giving anyone anything for free, then why are those vultures circling around in their cars waiting for me to go to the machine, pay for the ticket and then follow me?

If we all had that attitude the society would fail.

Why should I pay for parking? Just wait for somebody else to do it. Why should I work? Just let somebody else work and pay taxes. They would've worked anyway so what difference does it make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Hoboo wrote: »
    Not worth getting stabbed over a €4 freeloader, but fair play OP for sticking to your principles.

They aren't his principles at all - he just got his knickers in a knot over some perceived slight by our freeloading friend. It's common or garden road rage, not some crusade for a level parking spot for all men.
    I would've been grand with that. Hell if he approached me in the car park and just asked me if he could follow me out, I'd have said "yes".

OP to be quite honest with you, you sound to me like you have a bit of chip on your shoulder. You lost your shít in a car park because another motorist got too close to you.

You need to chill the fúck out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

I have an all you can eat broadband connection and I let my neighbour use it as she is a single mother and I believe is helping out other people, especially when it's no extra cost to me. I also let my niece and nephew use my Netflix login.

Jesus dude. You make Ghandi look like one of the Kray twins.

Hoboo wrote: »
    Not worth getting stabbed over a €4 freeloader, but fair play OP for sticking to your principles.

They aren't his principles at all - he just got his knickers in a knot over some perceived slight by our freeloading friend. It's common or garden road rage, not some crusade for a level parking spot for all men.
    I would've been grand with that. Hell if he approached me in the car park and just asked me if he could follow me out, I'd have said "yes".

OP to be quite honest with you, you sound to me like you have a bit of chip on your shoulder. You lost your shít in a car park because another motorist got too close to you.

You need to chill the fúck out!

Haha, I really don't. I did not lose anything until he told me to F Off for not letting him out for free.

After months and months I've become an expert in detecting who is queueing up and who is trying to you use you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Best pronounced "knob'ead" with a Manchester accent like Karl Pilkington

Who? :P
    Squatter wrote: »
    Agreed. It almost makes me want to tear up my organ donor card just in case one of those brainless cheapskates should get one of my organs free of charge after I've handed in my cards for the final time! I'd far rather see my widow putting my pre-owned bits up on ebay!

I don't understand the analogy, is it because it's incomprehensible?
    Call it how though? Shouting and screaming in a car park along with name calling? That's not the kind of society I want to live in. I am very much of the opinion that the OP is as bad as the lad in the car, neither covered themselves in glory.

You are entitled to your opinion, however, it is very very wrong.

The tailgater in the OP is quite audacious. I don't understand, too well, the mentality behind it. Why are people so against the idea of paying for something? 4 Euro for a days parking is pretty good for Irish standards. If things are tight, that's understandable, you can explain that and maybe ask for some help. However, if you have a new car I don't think you deserve that right.

The freeloader mentality is just so odd to me, I can't get over why so anybody would support it? Is it because they are freeloaders too? Are they on the scratcher too I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I think jealousy over the fact that the dude drove a 161 is a major factor here to be honest.

I drive a 181 Audi Q8 and have experienced this many times.

Everyone who is saying how generous they are and how great they are and how open hearted. PROVE IT!

Like that Pint person, talks and talks and talks big. But actual actions? None. He is sharing internet with his neighbour whom he knows and compares that to sharing a service with a complete stranger who is demanding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,400 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I think jealousy over the fact that the dude drove a 161 is a major factor here to be honest.

Really? You think the OP being Jealous of the freeloader because of the car he drives is the cause of the problem?

You are really reaching there.

I am not jealous at all. I was just trying to shame him into some decency by highlighting that he drives a new car but has no conscience following out a 20 year old car with a person in it that obviously earns less but will pays for himself. He can afford to pay for the ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

The people who get very wound up about this are the same type of people who don't like being involved in a round in the pub. Always worried that it might not end up exactly equal. Frantically panicking when someone tries to include them in the round. Scurrying up to the bar to get their own bottle of corona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,836 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

fair play to you OP

pity you didn't show his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Not bothered whatever my kids believe in or whatever politics they have etc but one of the things that would break my heart is if they turned into one of the cnuts that are endemic in modern society.

The type that the OP is describing, that turn any trivial situation (where a little civic responsibility is required) into some dramatic struggle for the Human Right to do what they want.

I sometimes wonder what life is like being like that - although I'm sure they probably don't care - the constant effort and concomitant social embarrassnents that kind of brass necked behavior and penny pinching must require on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

The people who get very wound up about this are the same type of people who don't like being involved in a round in the pub. Always worried that it might not end up exactly equal. Frantically panicking when someone tries to include them in the round. Scurrying up to the bar to get their own bottle of corona.

What are you talking about?? Jealous over 161 or 181 cars I'd say it's more likely you wanted to plug your 181 Audi =) and be the type to show that off...

I don't think the OP cares about playing number plate wars with people , sure it could have been a 161 Micra that's hardly an impressive feat is it? You could have a 20 year old Porche for gods sake.

I completely agree with the OP , why should anyone freeload off other people on a daily basis and not be called out on it...anyone who says otherwise if living in a fantasy land, the so called Irish 'Ah sure it's grand' attitude ...lads that's why we never get anything done about anything that upsets us in this country.

I woulnd't be getting as wound up about it , but I absolutely wouldn't have someone tail gate me out like that and me pay there way that would bother me all week...

And no...I actively participate in rounds in pubs ...come on like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Very similar to a driver who has just passed their test........how dare the learner driver drive unaccompanied even though they have been doing it themselves for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

The more ****e you talk, the more I think that you're the tailgater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

We'll stop here as it's getting personal and frankly, a bit ridiculous.