Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

So I got into an argument at a car park with a cheapskate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

CyberGhost wrote: »
    His child is HIS responsibility not mine. If I went up to someone and bothered them with my child with me, and they told me off, it would be my fault.

Sorry, but your logic makes no sense at all. I do not owe him a free parking at all.

As for electricity, let's say you don't any extra charge, but he has to pay nothing, you pay for both. Is that ok?

No problem at all.

I have an all you can eat broadband connection and I let my neighbour use it as she is a single mother and I believe is helping out other people, especially when it's no extra cost to me.

I also let my niece and nephew use my Netflix login.

Some people just have a different more selfish viewpoint I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,160 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

No problem at all.

I have an all you can eat broadband connection and I let my neighbour use it as she is a single mother and I believe is helping out other people, especially when it's no extra cost to me.

I also let my niece and nephew use my Netflix login.

Some people just have a different more selfish viewpoint I suppose.

Or maybe just dont like taking it up the ar$e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

What difference does it make to you OP. Very angry and bitter person. No need for the foul language either.

I would have just laughed at you and tailgate out behind the next person who was probably Irish and wouldn't care.

You would in your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭TJ Mackie

People try follow me out of this car park all the time. It's rampant here.

You can come to a slow stop right after the barrier, and it will allow the barrier to close without the person following you. The new ramps prevent them from being stuck to you I've found. Best part is they then have to do a reverse of shame.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Or maybe just dont like taking it up the ar$e.

Less of the homophobia please.

I don't understand why people care so much when it doesn't effect them at all.

Even if it was something that would bother you I can't fathom how it would bother you to the point of totally losing the rag and causing a scene and acting like Joe Pesci in goodfellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I knew what carpark it was going to be when I read the first line of your post. It's rife in there, I used to park there daily. It's a lot of effort for €4.

On the other hand, lifes too short and if somebody wants to tailgate me they can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

To be honest, if I saw someone lurking I'd approach them and ask them to go halves on the ticket :D Win/Win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,462 ✭✭✭Homer

The OP was losing the plot and f-ing and blinding because someone tried to get one up on the system. It had no effect on him whatsoever. Total over reaction. I'd worry about someone who gets that angry over something so small. Could end in road rage.

Its theft plain and simple??? If you are condoning it then you are a scrote :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Excellent.
    Those knobs are an insult to cheapskates everywhere. I am a cheapskate, self confessed, but a cheapskate doesn't steal from someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

TJ Mackie wrote: »
    People try follow me out of this car park all the time. It's rampant here.

You can come to a slow stop right after the barrier, and it will allow the barrier to close without the person following you. The new ramps prevent them from being stuck to you I've found. Best part is they then have to do a reverse of shame.
    This is the only answer tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,180 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

It's a dick move trying to get out without paying and when he trys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭fitzparker

Its probably tony Mcgregor who had no coinage, easy mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

sheroman01 wrote: »
    I'm still not sure if you're from Kerry, or Poland, or if maybe you're Al Pacino, but my god I loved that last part of the video - "MOTHERFKCER. FCUK YOUUU!" - haha! Fair play though. Fcuk them.

He must be a Yank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Imagine he had a young child in the car. They would be traumatised by someone shouting foul abuse like that over 4euro.

Jaysus, you've gone full Helen Lovejoy! Never go full Helen Lovejoy. Especially not over an imaginary child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Even if it was something that would bother you I can't fathom how it would bother you to the point of totally losing the rag and causing a scene and acting like Joe Pesci in goodfellas.

I'm with you Paddy.

WTF do I care if some stranger pays for his car park or not - it's not my carpark. Getting out of your car and picking a row over it is fúcking retarded if you ask me.

Well done OP you managed to make 4 quid for some mystery company who doesn't give a rats arse and certainly would not have covered your expenses if the tight arse target of your moral indignation got out of his car and gave you a good hard kick in the nuts your trouble.

Mind your own god damn business would be my advice!

It's a dick move trying to get out without paying and when he trys to argue his case then he's a real donkey. If the op wants to do block him and keep doing then more power to him. The chancer has no shame ,I think the embarrassment would make me reverse and start paying .

I'm with you Paddy.

WTF do I care if some stranger pays for his car park or not - it's not my carpark. Getting out of your car and picking a row over it is fúcking retarded if you ask me.

Well done OP you managed to make 4 quid for some mystery company who doesn't give a rats arse and certainly would not have covered your expenses if the tight arse target of your moral indignation got out of his car and gave you a good hard kick in the nuts your trouble.

Mind your own god damn business would be my advice!

Well said.

Well said.

Ah now, I wouldn't get into a fight over 4 euro but I would stop the donkey trying to tailgate me. It would be no bother shaming him into paying aswell .
    Got to love the key board warriors trying to fight the man 4 euros at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Dick move - yea certainly is, but so what? I don't go through my life on some crusade to put arseholes in their places.

It doesn't cost the OP anything, it hasn't saved him anything, it doesn't and wont effect in him in anyway whatsoever. It's nothing short of stupidity to get so worked up over it.

If he had of gotten the kick in the nuts I wouldn't be overflowing with sympathy and thinking "brave hero gets wounded defending carpark from fraud" I can in fact sum up my thoughts in 2 short words "interfering gobshíte"

There are enough real problems to deal with in this world don't go looking for more. It was a stupid and absolutely pointless thing to be doing in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,193 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

CyberGhost wrote: »
    Sorry for the profanity in the video, but I simply have had it with these people.

You do know that the laws of the universe dictate that you are now going to run in to this guy at every occasion. In the lift, at the pay machine (you'll be paying he'll be walking past) and so on. :D

Fair play, many would see this and complain about it and tell their friends what they 'might' do about it some day. You did it. Kudos.

Dick move - yea certainly is, but so what? I don't go through my life on some crusade to put arseholes in their places.

It doesn't cost the OP anything, it hasn't saved him anything, it doesn't and wont effect in him in anyway whatsoever. It's nothing short of stupidity to get so worked up over it.

If he had of gotten the kick in the nuts I wouldn't be overflowing with sympathy and thinking "brave hero gets wounded defending carpark from fraud" I can in fact sum up my thoughts in 2 short words "interfering gobshíte"

There are enough real problems to deal with in this world don't go looking for more. It was a stupid and absolutely pointless thing to be doing in my opinion.

Nonsence,him tailgating could hit his car that would be my first concern if it was me. Suppose it would be alright then for the chancer to put in for a claim then aswell. Sure it's the insurance company paying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Farfromhome02

Sure here I know people with 182 s toping them up with 5 euro petrol/diesel
    Putting part worn tyres and skimping on servicing
    Doesn't mean they have cash
    Riddled with repayments
    Have to keep up an image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,399 ✭✭✭✭kippy

It does effect them......in this instance it should be fairly obvious why it effects the OP.

Fair enough on yourself sharing your broadband and netflix logins with people you know. That's a totally different scenario to what the OP has experienced.
    It seems that the same people are abusing the good nature of others on a regular basis in this car park - why should they continue to get away with it at the potential expense of the OP?

Granted, getting too worked up over these kind of things is never good, however sometimes you just have to release some steam and in this case it was totally justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Tailgating someone out would be worth about a €1000 of after tax income every year, or just shy of €2000 pre tax income.

Not excusing the behavior obviously but I can definitely see the motive.

Can't see for a second why the OP would allow himself to lose his temper over this!
    Getting out to argue with someone that didn't pay some company money, unless the OP owns the car park company he is not losing any money.
    Report his Reg to the company.
    Hardly worth losing the rag over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,193 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Tailgating someone out would be worth about a €1000 of after tax income every year, or just shy of €2000 pre tax income.

Not excusing the behavior obviously but I can definitely see the motive.

It's theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,399 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Live and let live is a grand way to go through life. Better for the stress levels as well.
    However sometimes you just have to remind people not be to kants.

People not paying for services they have received has a knock on effect.

It's theft.

Oh no! Someone is stealing parking from a corporation. Chop off his hands!

Who gives a scuttery schite? Doesn't effect you in the slightest.

Oh no! Someone is stealing parking from a corporation. Chop off his hands!

Who gives a scuttery schite? Doesn't effect you in the slightest.

Well, I can't argue with that logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭paddydriver

kippy wrote: »

People not paying for services they have received has a knock on effect.

Exactly my thinking.. price of the service goes up for all those honest fee payers. Just exited that car park in last hour and saw the ramps they have put down. Have seen tailgaters come out behind me too.. tempted to drop the parachute and then see their panic. If I've my kids in the car and these pr1cks are racing out up my arse then I would be having words with them too.

Fair play OP.. I admire your principles.