I'd have a massive CD / LP collection without Spotify and YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Relikk

buried wrote: »
    Don't forget to show us yer stash if you got em lads. I love looking at collections

https://i.imgur.com/9yCtK2X.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/FywOOQF.jpg

That's most of it, but I have more I just don't have a photo of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Class Relikk, pure den of treasure!

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Why would anybody want to have records/tapes/cds cluttering up the place when you can press a button and put on whatever combination of songs/genre you wish around the house. I say this as somebody who spent months of my life cleaning records, rewinding tapes to hear the song again and so on. Now, I have some lovely space in the house. It's just space. Empty. Nothingness, right there. And it's lovely.

I'll never understand people who cannot see the merit in enjoying space for its own sake - not every space in life needs to be filled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,641 ✭✭✭Cordell

To address that "warm, analog sound".
    That is because back in the day musicians used real instruments, valve amplifiers and, most importantly, analog master Tape. That is where that sound comes from

No, that's simply not true, digital is better that analog, especially the studio grade digital stuff. The warm sound comes from better musicians and better sound engineers that knew better than turning up the loudness knob.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Cordell wrote: »
    No, that's simply not true, digital is better that analog, especially the studio grade digital stuff. The warm sound comes from better musicians and better sound engineers that knew better than turning up the loudness knob.

Vinyl is possibly going to sound better purely because you can't have massively loud brickwalled sources going onto the record - I think the needle can actually jump out of the grooves.

Vinyl is usually mastered separately from the CD/digital etc versions.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've a huge CD and Cassette collection. I love them and would never get rid of them. Some of those CDs have a story to tell about how I acquired them.
    I started collecting CDs years ago at a time when the genre of music I favoured would not be stocked in Ireland. And I listened to such niche parts of the genre, even if record stores stocked the genre, they wouldn't have what I was looking for.
    I traveled to Liverpool and London to buy albums when younger, any trip I'd take would include research of record stores. I even ended up in a really really bad neighbourhood in Pittsburgh on my quest. I'm probably lucky that I made it out of there unharmed as I was shown plenty of guns in waist bands in the brief time I was there....never found the record store either :(

My CD buying has definitely slowed down in the last few years, mainly due to the thrill of hunting for something not required anymore.

Well, no. Analogue tape has characteristics that digital doesn't have, that adds to the overall sound. The loudness war doesn't have anything to do with that. Nothing is recorded that way. The loudness wars are the result of mastering engineers driving the sound as hard as they can, making it louder for digital formats, and destroying the music by clipping it and removing the dynamics and headroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,641 ✭✭✭Cordell

What do analogue have and digital don't? Lower dynamic range? Narrower frequency response? More noise?
    With digital, sound coming out of the speaker matches the one coming into the mic better than with analog, measured by objective instruments, not by subjective ears biased by (false) nostalgia.

But I know this is an argument that I can't win :)

What do analogue have and digital don't? Lower dynamic range? Narrower frequency response? More noise?
    With digital, sound coming out of the speaker matches the one coming into the mic better than with analog, measured by objective instruments, not by subjective ears biased by (false) nostalgia.

But I know this is an argument that I can't win :)

It's not that, really. It's preference. Digital is clean, indeed. But a little too clean for some that were used to listening to music recorded via analogue methods. They both have their characteristics, but neither are "better" than the other.

Film is another example. I've seen people mentioning that the new Coen brothers movie on Netflix looks a little too clean and needs some film grain. It's just preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭mvl

Can this be same as preferring paper books over digital ?
    - Since forever I would be such a paper books collector ... for example, I remember growing up one of my "hobbies" was to count how many books were there in my parents house/bookcases.

Now I am glad I have my own house where there is more room to buy paper books and vinyls.
    - Started my vinyl collection from last year - don't have anything spectacular to show yet - but give me few years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

i was thinking about this too. i must put a count on the CDS i have. i love taking them out, and playing them to the kids. i think they enjoy it. i love to walk buy and hear them humming "its coming down" by cake or something similar.
    i have boxes and boxes and cases of CDs still stored since i moved house 8 years ago. im a definite hoarder of CDS, wont ever let them go.

i mainly youtube and bluetooth the music to the stero now, but still go and pull out a CD for a listen now and then.

still buy CDS, but its getting harder to remember what you own from way back when......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

as one user said no its better not to even think how much cds/vinyls/dvds one spent money on that are worthless now.

and listening or skipping over 10 tracks to get to single hit no thanks. there's no superiority in sound, plus cds do degrade over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Weirdly my 11 year old loves listening to vinyl.

I got her a little portable record player last year and she's been listening to my record collection. I think she likes the whole ceremony of taking out the records and putting the needle in the groove - maybe it some early onset of hipsterism.

Her favorite albums are Hunky Dory, The Queen is Dead and Green.

I'm so proud,

of myself obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

A major difference is that people used to listen to full albums, which could be an immersive experience for 40-50 minutes. Records like The Beatles' Sgt Pepper or Van Morrison's Astral Weeks are integrated experiences, musically and lyrically. They were meant to be listened to as albums.

Now people tend to listen to individual tracks on Spotify or whatever, so they hear 3 minutes of this and 3 minutes of that. It's just not as rich an experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

sugarman wrote: »
    I don't get the attachment to physical media.

I ****ed a few hundred CDs and DVDs into the local charity shop and never looked back. As I did with cassettes and VHS before that.

Possession, I believe is the main thing. No ads would be another major factor for me.

Subscription services can be great, but you don't own anything and once cancel most of these services, you have no access to any version of the service. It's bloody expensive per month if you have Prime, netflix, office, adobe, spotify and whatever else there is out there.

Her favorite albums are Hunky Dory, The Queen is Dead and Green.

Steve Hillage's Green or R.E.M.'s Green? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Possession, I believe is the main thing. No ads would be another major factor for me.

Subscription services can be great, but you don't own anything and once cancel most of these services, you have no access to any version of the service. It's bloody expensive per month if you have Prime, netflix, office, adobe, spotify and whatever else there is out there.

Definitely agree.

You can still do a one-time purchase of Office but I fully expect that option to be phased out eventually in favor of the monthly or annual subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

at first glance I saw the post title as "massive CP collection"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I put on a CD or LP when doing housework, and it's a ritual I enjoy. It's the only time I listen to an album in full.

I enjoy putting on albums I haven't listened to in years too. Recently I rediscovered Smashing Pumpkins' debut album Gish. Half that album is completely forgettable - the other half is sublime though. I like seeing how my tastes have changed.

I have got rid of some CDs and records but the rest I won't get rid of for a long time, if ever. They've their own shelves along with the record player (recently upgraded to one of those new ones with an mp3 converter), old CD player (with a banjaxed tape deck) and music related books. I love Spotify and YouTube - it's unparalleled to be able to listen to absolutely anything you want, any time. It's my teenage self's dream come true.

But I love my little physical library also.

Same with books - doesn't have to be just Kindle or physical. I'm glad to have both options. Ditto films. Still have a DVD collection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I've got the disks but not the hardware anymore. I just checked how many single tracks I have on my hard drive "MP3" folder - 1200 plus 82 downloaded full albums and the HHGTTG :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I have to have a physical copy. I want to have the artwork, packaging, I want to read the album credits; who mixed it, who helped out, who the artist thanks, the lyrics...

I could google all that but it just feels more real I guess. Had a laptop with a ton of music ripped onto it once, it got fried and then I had no way to listen to music except for my phone, which I don't like doing, so was glad I had the physical copy to use.

Love record stores, find them very peaceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

I hate this streaming music, there is no sense of ownership like you get when you have a decent CD version with good booklet etc.
    Good sound system essential too!

- And even better with vinyl I'd imagine ! but vinyl before my time.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I had 1,000's of records, CDs and tapes that I hauled between 3 or 4 flat moves - boxes and crates of them. The prospect of doing it a 5th time just broke my heart so I skipped the lot and don't regret it for a second.

Spotify + Sonos + the occasional CD for the car is my lot now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, digital is different. I think CDs in particular got a bad reputation in the 80's, because everyone threw out all the old "rubbish" from the 70's and went with all the fancy, new, all digital gear. Back then CDs had three grades. AAD, ADD and DDD, with the latter being the "best" because it means it was digitally recorded and mixed and the medium was digital.
    And a lot of them sounded very stark, cold and industrial. That works for some stuff, but not for others.
    This led to bands and musicians like Lenny Kravitz and the White Stripes going back to all analog Studio Setups to recapture that "old" sound.
    My argument was, the physical medium is of secondary importance to that "warm" sound, but the recording process is everything. All digital and all analog works works differently for different bands.
    Loudness wars is an entirely different subject, but it is true, it has resulted in some extremely crappy CD releases.
    But to vinyl fanatics I can only say that there are just as many extremely crappy vinyl releases, especially later releases of popular albums that were put out hastily and cheaply to make a quick buck and they sound atrocious.

What works best for all the old releases is to digitise the master tapes track by track, clean them up via good software, mix it down on the computer and render the final track from there. And release a high resolution audio file of that.
    And then take that digital copy and use a nail to scratch it in some plastic for that "analog" sound. :rolleyes:

Now, I'm talking mostly about old music, because I'm an old geezer and to me "new" music is from the 90's and anything from this century is just weird and scary to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

I have two LP copies of DJ Shadow's 'Endtroducing' here in the gaff, one from the 90's and one I bought about three years ago when Universal took over the rights to a lot of the 'MoWax' record releases, I bought the second copy because the first copy I burned the arse out of it, but you can clearly tell the difference even though the first one is burnt to bits, the Universal release is just the CD version cut to the vinyl. All of the big labels are doing that for the bigger releases from the past, you look at vinyl copies in the shops of 'The Beatles' and all that sort of stuff, it's guaranteed to be the same. Aphex Twins SAW2 was re-released on vinyl not so long ago and that's the same too I think, you have to be careful and find out are the tape recordings the original ones cut to wax and who is doing the cutting because the things are expensive. You do also need proper sound set up too. I'm listening to the 'Actress x London Contemporary Orchestra' lP here at the minute, it sounds fantastic

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

This paying for music when its free is absolute madness. 10er a month if you want no ads with super easy access to all songs and use youtube if you cant find a song.. overall miles better. I've been getting music for free for so long I can't justify paying for it

Greyfox wrote: »
    This paying for music when its free is absolute madness. 10er a month if you want no ads with super easy access to all songs and use youtube if you cant find a song.. overall miles better. I've been getting music for free for so long I can't justify paying for it

The same with video games, I can't settle for anything less than a physical copy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

I haven't bought a CD in years and don't even have a player but I will never, ever get rid of my CDs, they're a souvenir of my musical discovery years. I buy records where I can, don't understand the mentality of not wanting to pay for music. If you give a crap about music, pay for it

I dumped my cassettes in a charity shop years ago- felt bad because I remember where and when and why I purchased each one. But cassettes are just a pain but in years to come I’d say they’ll be collectors items probably because everyone else is doing the same thing.
    But I’d never dump my CDs and records.hopefully they’ll always make CD players but I have a couple of good sound systems to keep me going for a few years yet.

I still buy records from time to time, maybe a dozen a year but not CDs.

But yeah, Spotify- I just can’t fault it and if I were one of those melenial people I wouldn’t consider buying music. Why would you, it’s all out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭mvl

actually I prefer listening music radios to spotify.
    - one of my favorites these days is a french station, fip.fr

nicer feeling listening to their live djs, not only music.