What are your personal experiences with the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

With only a few individual exceptions, most dealings I've had with them over the years have been negative.

Most have been varying degrees of apathetic, ignorance, confrontational and you see them abusing their positions daily - whether it's speeding down the motorway without cause only to find them setting up a speed trap a few km later, or illegally parked outside the shops or chipper (a regular thing when I lived in Blanch).

As I've said before, the problems with AGS are far beyond a "few bad apples" or the scandals in the news in my opinion, the entire culture and approach is rotten and unless the force is restructured RUC/PSNI style from the ground up, it'll continue to be amateurish, corrupt and not fit for purpose, rather than the modern, professional police force it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I got stopped on Monday at 12.30pm in local village, 2 guards checking every vehicle both ways. My guard was non Irish, pleasant enough checked everything, tax etc, tyres, asked was I a fully licensed driver then breathalysed me, first time ever. Had to blow around 4 times as I hadn't a clue. Scared the crap out of me,i knew I was fine as I had nothing to drink the night before but it certainly made me think about driving the day after a few.

I've a good few friends who are guards and honestly I think it's a horrible job. One has been moved into city and its scary what's going on with some people, I don't know how she does it. Another 2 friends were involved in the case of a very violent double murder and suicide a couple of years ago. They said seeing that home and what they had to do, no counselling would ever help. We tend to forget all the suicide scenes they have to go to, car crashes etc. It really does affect them and it changes them. They have to try and hide their feelings while dealing with extremely traumatised families.

I know another guard and he is just an ignorant pig, on and off duty. So there's all kinds, as with everything..

reminds me of one Easter night around 1 am when got stopped by a plain clothes garda backed up by others in uniform... When I wound the window down his breath ( alcohol) nearly knocked me out.

He was making little sense and I did not have my licence etc with me.... Finally I gave him a false address and never heard any more..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I know it's easy to have a go at the Gardaí and people do deserve a professional service but there's some things that I think should be kept in mind. A recent study showed that Up to 11 per cent of serving gardaí may meet the clinical criteria for a diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder, while one quarter are showing symptoms of trauma at levels that are “a cause of concern” Only in the last couple of years has a counselling service been brought in and attending it is voluntary. The Garda suicide rate last year was about 6 times the national average.

As an example, I know a Garda who recently attended a fatal accident in the early hours of the morning. Was with the victim as he passed. Broke the news to the wife and kids. The personal circumstances of that family were particularly heart breaking. Went to the morgue with the family to identify the body. Back to the station for all the paperwork. 3 hours sleep then into an investigation conference to be given jobs to complete. Home for 6 hours and expected to be in for regular work at 9pm that night. That's a tough ask of anyone.

i say this not for sympathy or as an excuse because the public deserves a well mannered professional Garda. I simply want to give a bit of an insight into why a Garda might not seem like he is treating your stolen bike with enthusiasm or why he might be pissed off at a traffic stop. It's very unlikely to be a personal slight on you and it's very unlikely it's because he only wants the pension. The fact of the matter is Garda management, the GRA and the government has completely failed it's members when it comes to resources and mental health care and the cracks are well and truly showing at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I know it's easy to have a go at the Gardaí and people do deserve a professional service but there's some things that I think should be kept in mind. A recent study showed that Up to 11 per cent of serving gardaí may meet the clinical criteria for a diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder, while one quarter are showing symptoms of trauma at levels that are “a cause of concern” Only in the last couple of years has a counselling service been brought in and attending it is voluntary. The Garda suicide rate last year was about 6 times the national average.

As an example, I know a Garda who recently attended a fatal accident in the early hours of the morning. Was with the victim as he passed. Broke the news to the wife and kids. The personal circumstances of that family were particularly heart breaking. Went to the morgue with the family to identify the body. Back to the station for all the paperwork. 3 hours sleep then into an investigation conference to be given jobs to complete. Home for 6 hours and expected to be in for regular work at 9pm that night. That's a tough ask of anyone.

i say this not for sympathy or as an excuse because the public deserves a well mannered professional Garda. I simply want to give a bit of an insight into why a Garda might not seem like he is treating your stolen bike with enthusiasm or why he might be pissed off at a traffic stop. It's very unlikely to be a personal slight on you and it's very unlikely it's because he only wants the pension. The fact of the matter is Garda management, the GRA and the government has completely failed it's members when it comes to resources and mental health care and the cracks are well and truly showing at this stage.

Thank you for this. It needs saying and more than saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

I remember walking up Crumlin Road before and witnessed an accident. A couple of young lads on a moped coming out of the side road (Old County Road) at the tire place. A taxi knocked them off their bike. Wasn't too bad of a crash and taxi driver got out to see if they were alright. The lads were groaning quite loudly so I thought the quickest way to get help would be to run across to the Garda station, directly across the road.

Me: *knocks on glass at counter*
    Guard: *opens door and says 'Yes?'*
    Me: There's been an accident across the road
    Guard: Where?
    Me: Just literally across the road
    Guard: What happened?
    Me: Couple of lads knocked off a moped, think they're hurt.
    Guard: And where did it happen?
    Me: Right across the road. If you look out the window you'll see it. At the tire garage.
    Guard: Which garage?
    *One of the young lads runs in*
    Young lad: I've just been in an accident.
    Guard: Where did this happen?
    Me: For f*ck sake. *walks out and continues onto pub*

I couldn't believe it. Did he just not want the work? Probably nearly finished shift. Would have been quicker ringing 999 than expecting a Guard across the road to help.

Wheety wrote: »
    I remember walking up Crumlin Road before and witnessed an accident. A couple of young lads on a moped coming out of the side road (Old County Road) at the tire place. A taxi knocked them off their bike. Wasn't too bad of a crash and taxi driver got out to see if they were alright. The lads were groaning quite loudly so I thought the quickest way to get help would be to run across to the Garda station, directly across the road.

Me: *knocks on glass at counter*
    Guard: *opens door and says 'Yes?'*
    Me: There's been an accident across the road
    Guard: Where?
    Me: Just literally across the road
    Guard: What happened?
    Me: Couple of lads knocked off a moped, think they're hurt.
    Guard: And where did it happen?
    Me: Right across the road. If you look out the window you'll see it. At the tire garage.
    Guard: Which garage?
    *One of the young lads runs in*
    Young lad: I've just been in an accident.
    Guard: Where did this happen?
    Me: For f*ck sake. *walks out and continues onto pub*

I couldn't believe it. Did he just not want the work? Probably nearly finished shift. Would have been quicker ringing 999 than expecting a Guard across the road to help.

In Crumlin the guy at the hatch is generally also the guy minding the cells which are just behind where the hatch is. He's not allowed leave if there's anyone there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

For fairly obvious reasons the Member in Charge ie. the guy at the hatch cannot leave his post and run out onto the road to attend an RTA.

The MIC is responsible for the station. They can call on another Garda to deal with an incident as described but if there is nobody there the response will be delayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Got a few punches in the middle of the day in Eyre Square from a wino from Fairgreen hostel. I made a statement and so did a witness and heard nothing. I posted a letter to Mill Street even addressed to the seargent and got no reply

Motorbike vandalized and we found the panel they ripped off. Was taken to Phoenix Park for fingerprints and they lost it. I guess I could have claimed off AGS but didn’t bother

Got burgled. Amazing swift reaction time but the promised “scene of crimes” people never came. I found a cigarette lighter from the scrote and asked Ballyfermot station for advice what to do. Still waiting for my callback

I know they can be brilliant. Minister Alan Shatter got burgled the same night and got a Garda outside his house, the people in white suits and detectives picking up suspects

Me? I do not matter at all :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

I was walking home from work and a Garda drove out of the my local Garda station he turned right went not more than 100m down the road got out the car and put a few letters in the post box. Back in the car and drove to the station again. He was let's say a very heavy set man and I thought to myself you fat useless bastard lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

bubblypop wrote: »
    And now you understand what happened in the ' breathalyser scandal'
    Gardai, detailed for duty on breathalyser check points, told by management that they had to be done, if they were not completed, big trouble for individual gardai.
    Same time, dispatchers are screaming for gardai to attend calls, that are stacking up........
    So, some gardai, claimed they did more tests than they did.
    They didn't have much option.

That's a bit like saying the Titanic got a bit of a scratch sure what harm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

In Crumlin the guy at the hatch is generally also the guy minding the cells which are just behind where the hatch is. He's not allowed leave if there's anyone there.

Well I expected a bit more of a reaction out of him. He wasn't the only Guard in the station.

He wasn't even taking any notes while asking these questions. Wouldn't have been surprised if he just said "Right, that's my shift over. Goodnight" and closed the hatch.

Only dealings I’ve ever had with Garda is when they’ve stamped my passport forms.
    If you find yourself frequented with the Guards more than the average person, well there’s probably a reason for that.

Victim blaming much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

I remember a few years ago I was with my dad when he had to go the station about his passport. The Garda there was pure rude and ignorant. Dad was having none of it and challenged him on it. Eventually he apologised and admitted he'd been at a bad accident the day before that had left him shaken.

There's no doubt there's some assholes in the Gardai but a majority are just trying to do a job the same as the rest of us. A job where they're under resourced, under payed and under supported.

Well I expected a bit more of a reaction out of him. He wasn't the only Guard in the station.

He wasn't even taking any notes while asking these questions. Wouldn't have been surprised if he just said "Right, that's my shift over. Goodnight" and closed the hatch.

I don't think there are any excuses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

No issue with na Garda Siochana. Its a thankless job they have dealing with dregs of society and their money grubbing lawyers looking to get their clients off on a technicality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,033 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I'm afraid I don't have good experience.

Been anything but.

Although that's cause they don't arrive when getting burgled or Need them

That video of that Galway fight outside the Garda station summed up Guards to me. Not even come out outside their own premises

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Peter Denham

Graces7 wrote: »
    I have an idea that, rightly, they are not allowed to give lifts. If they were called on en emergency with a lay person aboard? There are taxis ;)

There were no taxis unfortunately.They are allowed to give lifts if they deem it necessary. Letting someone walk home in the dark with no light or reflective gear and then pass them on the road just seems a bit harsh. It was a short car ride in the direction he was going. But whatever.

I've no other negative experiences though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I don't think I've had any real dealing with the Gardai.
    Apart from the public threading them badly I think some Gardai loose interest because of how people get sentenced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

I don't think I've had any real dealing with the Gardai.
    Apart from the public threading them badly I think some Gardai loose interest because of how people get sentenced.

That reminds me actually. My cousin is married to a Garda. He was telling me once how there was a string of burglaries in his area. After a bit of digging they eventually discovered it was one fella behind it all. They caught him in the act and arrested him.

On his day in court his mother told some sob story to the judge about about how she was afraid she'd be left on her own if he went to jail. He was back home that very night.

When stuff like that happens it's not hard to wonder why Gardai even bother.

He just puts the details of the call into the computer and someone else dispatches a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

opfleet wrote: »
    A lot of Gardai will never reach their full potential because of zero resources, poor training and lack of respect from the public which causes low morale over time. The same can be said for nurses, teachers etc. Just because a crime goes unsolved does not mean that nothing was done..Yes, some Gardai may be in a bad mood when you deal with them, but bear in mind they may have just come from a suicide, sudden death etc. The only difference between them and you is the uniform. Just trying to do a job.

Bingo you've got it.

There's a few bad apples along the way.. Martin Callinan you crook take note, but most are trying to do their best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

After living in the UK the Guards were a shock to me. I always found the UK police to be courteous & empathetic. For example I got stopped for no rear lights & the Police helped me fix them. I sometimes dealt with them when I was rescuing wildlife & they were always so helpful - even closing the M25 once.

The Gardai are just so grumpy. There is no small talk, no empathy, or politeness. They are too militaristic - barracks instead of police station. Many seem to have a huge chip on their shoulder & forget that they are there to serve the public.

There was a local checkpoint & a mum was stopped taking the kids to school. Her tax was a month out & the Guard insisted on seizing the car, leaving her & the children by the roadside including a baby. He could of given her a ticket to produce rather than seizing.

Yes it can be a tough job but it's what they sign up to.

Bingo you've got it.

There's a few bad apples along the way.. Martin Callinan you crook take note, but most are trying to do their best.

I disagree. You don't take your "bad mood" out on the public. You are supposed to be a professional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Did she know her car must be taxed? Did the Gardai stop her from taxing her car on time? And why does it matter if she has kids if she’s breaking the law?

It reminds me of a few years ago late November or early December the Gardai had an early morning checkpoint near a local primary school and there was uproar on Facebook that the Gardai were targeting mothers at Xmas time

Discodog wrote: »
    I disagree. You don't take your "bad mood" out on the public. You are supposed to be a professional.

I also disagree with that part , but you can understand if that they're not happy sunshine the whole time

Did she know her car must be taxed? Did the Gardai stop her from taxing her car on time? And why does it matter if she has kids if she’s breaking the law?

It reminds me of a few years ago late November or early December the Gardai had an early morning checkpoint near a local primary school and there was uproar on Facebook that the Gardai were targeting mothers at Xmas time

The Guard has discretion as to whether to seize or issue a 10 day producer. It was wrong to turf & mum & young children out onto the roadside. Yes we can all be sanctimonious do gooders but some people actually struggle to fund an essential car.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

They're fine if they take your issue seriously. Ring the Gardai at home and there will be five patrol cars very nearby.

Major issue is the inconsistency of their own behaviour and what they will and won't investigate/take seriously/treat as too minor. They also come across as very insular and not very adaptable.

I also disagree with that part , but you can understand if that they're not happy sunshine the whole time

I have never met one that's "happy sunshine". I think that smiling is banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The Guard has discretion as to whether to seize or issue a 10 day producer. It was wrong to turf & mum & young children out onto the roadside. Yes we can all be sanctimonious do gooders but some people actually struggle to fund an essential car.
    It’s not wrong though. He’s acting within the law. It’s a consequence of driving without tax. She would have known that when she made that choice and decided to do it anyway. It’s a crap thing to happen, but she knew the risks when she decided to put her kids in a car that shouldn’t have been on the road. Being a mum doesn’t grant her discretion on which laws she wants to obey

I have never met one that's "happy sunshine". I think that smiling is banned.

I don't have the perfect Opinion on the guards, but I think you're subjectively projecting tbf.