What are your personal experiences with the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Gave me a glass of poteen from a raid of a distillery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

YFlyer wrote: »
    Gave me a glass of poteen from a raid of a distillery.

Fireworks were great also.....

There'd be 100,000 Gardaí on duty?

They all be on the flying squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭pjmn

very poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭wadefuq

The underground car park of my apt block was fleeced a couple of yrs ago, for me it was a bike stolen.. i reported the stolen bike, gard was friendly, went through the motions, as another poster stated earlier the report was taken freehand on a scrap piece of paper so i wondered was there any interest. He told me that there was numerous reports that day from my complex and also the one down the road was fleeced too. That they will be looking at cctv etc.. i got the letter with the report number and a yr later the one sating case closed with out further info of any investigation. Fair enough, they have bigger fish to fry etc
    Well heres the bit that annoys me as a normal law abiding citizen, and i can imagine demorilizes the gardai aswell. A couple of weeks after the event i was chatting with the complex handyman. He said the gards were up looking at the cctv and that they know exaclty who the thieves were, a "syndicate from darndale" but that they're hands were tied and nothing will be done.

On a personal level i knew a few gards syrs ago when i lived at home. They joined my former sporting organisation. All 3 were sound normal lads. I remember being out in town with them one night after a game and all of a sudden some scobe came from nowhere and started hurling abuse at them coz they recognized them as gards. Cant be easy getting abused in work and outside.

Both examples above could give a reason as to why they seem disinterested etc

Fireworks were great also.....

I like a quiet night.

A few years ago, I was almost shoved to the ground (saved by my low centre of gravity) by one, for the crime of walking too slowly past a protest on Kildare Street.

Robocop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

YFlyer wrote: »
    Robocop?

Night rider

Night rider

He reclaimed the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 ✭✭Ning

I've been the victim of various minor incident over the years (bike stolen, minor road accident, etc.), I've always found them completely useless, inept folks - looks like they are just there for the pension. I never see them on the street. The various different scandals involving Garda organisation just confirmed my opinion. Crossing fingers that I am never the victim of something more significant, I have no trust in them doing a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

My son is a guard. Whenever he comes home it's a positive experience. Despite the bs guys, they are human and put up with multiples of the sh*t we deal with. Some bad ones, an organisation of 14,000 of course there is going to be a certain amount assholes in uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭rodneyTrotter.

Had a recent enough experience with a traffic cop on the Finglas bypass . Was appalled by the way he talked to me and intimidated me . My vrt disc had run out by a month and the office had not passed it onto me . I never noticed it and it had only recently had its vrt done so technically it had its Vrt .

He started shouting at me and stood right up to my face . When I started to talk to him he used the ‘ you’re getting aggressive with me line ‘
    Complete power trip .

Got the impression he was a very unhappy man in his job . Left a very bad impression on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

For actual issues I have called them for they have been great and there fairly quickly 2 times in work called them and they were exceptionally efficient at what they did.

BUT!!!

I did have an issue with my neighbor calling the police because my kids were playing football on the field outside our house.

The cops that came one of them was related to him and from a different garda station than our own.

We had an interesting chat they told me I could get an ASBO I told them thats a law in the UK and not Ireland. (they said ASBO, I am aware we have something similar but they used the wording of ASBO)

Basically they were there to bully me at his behest, i played the game and called a mate who is a solicitor and had him on loudspeaker for our little chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

We were buying a car a month ago and I was about to pay to do an online check on car and wife says to me ....

" ring local Garda and ask them to do a check "
    I said you mad ... they're not going to do that!!!!

She grabs phone, calls... within 3 mins she gets a full history of car and it was a car well known to cops.

We walked away . I was very surprised they gave her that Info ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

BBFAN wrote: »
    No-one is going to tell the truth here!
    What do you mean? I'm telling the truth - they were always very pleasant, polite, respectful except once: a routine breathalysing and the guy was very rude, with no cause. I hadn't drunk a drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Toshi101

Was quite drunk a while back walking a few miles home. It was about 3 am, wasn't overly pissed but was fairly knackered at that stage and it was lashing rain. Gardai pull me over, ask me where I'm coming from and where I'm going. It was outside of their district or whatever its called but they offered me a lift back, had a great chat about the League of Ireland and then they dropped me outside my estate. Was extremely grateful for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

paska wrote: »
    I work in Retail with some food offerings. When it comes to shoplifters or unruly kids refusing to leave the premises. They are useless.

The reason they are useless for things like that is because the laws are so heavily skewed towards the public, the common shop lifting scum are not worth the hassle of paper work and the potential for wrongful arrest claims.

Nothing but respect for the guards. They are doing a shyt job dealing with alot of shyt people for a fraction of the pay many more useless and corrupt cnuts are getting.

Of course there are some absolute bellpipes of guards that fancy themselves as a Vic Mackey type even though the are based in the arsehole of Roscommon but in the main, I've found that if you don't act like a cnut you don't get treated like a cnut.

Well done AGS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Toshi101 wrote:
    Was quite drunk a while back walking a few miles home. It was about 3 am, wasn't overly pissed but was fairly knackered at that stage and it was lashing rain. Gardai pull me over, ask me where I'm coming from and where I'm going. It was outside of their district or whatever its called but they offered me a lift back, had a great chat about the League of Ireland and then they dropped me outside my estate. Was extremely grateful for it.

My son was involved in a call out several months ago. They offered the people in question a lift. They were told to "**** off". 2 months ago the same couple were involved in an RTA. Walking home in the dark the female was struck by a car and killed. My son at the time told them to get a taxi in future. It's a pity they didn't listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Only dealings I’ve ever had with Garda is when they’ve stamped my passport forms.
    If you find yourself frequented with the Guards more than the average person, well there’s probably a reason for that.

I find this to be quite a sheltered view. I would consider my self an 'average person' and have found myself frequented with guards due no fault of my own, Iv never been in trouble with them and never have I been brought home by them, which pale in comparison to the many examples I have that are lengthy to list.

The most popular would be them hassling me walking home at night either from town or from work as I work a market on a different side of the world. The way they accost you and speak at you (not to you). They dont like educated 'knackers', someone who recites the constitution while refusing to answer a plethora of personal questions while not being attained for any particular reason. I know there are people who say that its easier to just answer them, but when they do this on a regular basis, that point is invalid. The law is there for a reason and it is in place for both the public and the defenders of the public to adhere to, not to abuse.

Yes there are genuine guards, I know someone who would be as perfect example, but one does not outweigh the amount of tools that I have had the unfortunate pleasure in dealing with through the need for them and uncalled for encounters. I have no pre disposition towards them all as a whole but unfortunately Iv had more bad than good to warrant being fully optimistic and having complete fate in them.

Guards & all medical personel etc should be payed more, so that it reflects positively towards performance etc. I know its sh*t but they could look towards a different career path. The choice is theirs alone but I feel that distain clearly shows in certain individual guards in certain situations.

"….they will make a fire with your beautiful oak door."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Good or bad

Ignorant, extremely ignorant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Peter Denham

There was one time I asked for a lift home from an outdoor gig about 2 miles from my house because I missed my lift and I had no light or hi vis or anything. This was in the country and it was pitch black. The guard that had been out at the event just flat out said go away after I asked him. So I set off walking and he drove past me later on. Bit harsh I thought seeing as he was going that way.

Actual calls I've made to them I've found them helpful. No negative experiences at checkpoints or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

The local Garda who involved when I was all but assaulted here ( folk here were so supportive and I was so grateful) acted impeccably even at that distance. ( small island) . He followed up and I was able to give enough info to deal with the attacker. Excellent work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I've been pulled in a few times for speeding

because I was driving too close to the car in front. But sure I was opening a bottle of water and box of panadol at the same time so God knows what I was at.

Hope I never meet you on the road!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

There was one time I asked for a lift home from an outdoor gig about 2 miles from my house because I missed my lift and I had no light or hi vis or anything. This was in the country and it was pitch black. The guard that had been out at the event just flat out said go away after I asked him. So I set off walking and he drove past me later on. Bit harsh I thought seeing as he was going that way.

Actual calls I've made to them I've found them helpful. No negative experiences at checkpoints or anything.

I have an idea that, rightly, they are not allowed to give lifts. If they were called on en emergency with a lay person aboard? There are taxis ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

It has become less a police force and more of a fines enforcer these days. Heard a story on here around a year ago about a woman who called them over travellers or scumbags trespassing on her property which they never responded to due to no patrol car been available. Turned out they were literally down the road breathalysing drivers.

If you remember it please link it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭tritriagain

We were broken into about 6 years ago. They came in through a back window. Guards arrived and did the usual and I went outside with one of them leaving my wife and daughter crying in the kitchen. He was really arrogant and totally uninterested. Then he came out with the Whopper that I was leave the window open and not to touch it until forensics come down but that could be a couple of days. I basically told him to cop the f##k on. My wife was distraught and it was January. The female guard agreed
    with me cos the chances of catching them were zero. I was told we would be brought in to make a statement on what was stolen , never happened. I actually had to contact them to get reference no. For insurance. If it happened again I would just look for reference no. Cos the res was just them going through the motions

It has become less a police force and more of a fines enforcer these days. Heard a story on here around a year ago about a woman who called them over travellers or scumbags trespassing on her property which they never responded to due to no patrol car been available. Turned out they were literally down the road breathalysing drivers.

If you remember it please link it.

And now you understand what happened in the ' breathalyser scandal'
    Gardai, detailed for duty on breathalyser check points, told by management that they had to be done, if they were not completed, big trouble for individual gardai.
    Same time, dispatchers are screaming for gardai to attend calls, that are stacking up........
    So, some gardai, claimed they did more tests than they did.
    They didn't have much option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

I live on a farm in rural Ireland and have had problems with travellers on and off over the years and the gardai are absolutely useless.

I have had 2 RTAs, both of which were the fault of the other drivers.
    In the first one, the gardai forgot to serve the summons because one of them left it in the door of the squad car, it had to be reissued but we were nearly out of time.
    In the second one, I was rear ended by the wife of a garda. 4 squad cars came to the scene, 8 gardai altogether and yet somehow, no witness details or statements were taken from the many many other drivers who were at the scene (it happened on a very busy roundabout). The other driver lied about what happened and the only thing that saved me was the 3 photos I had taken on my phone. I wasn't even going to bother taking photos because I figured with all the gardai there, it wouldn't be necessary but something in the back of my mind warned me.
    The other driver continued with her lie for 5 weeks and I was battling the gardai, knowing she was married to one, the insurance company etc, until eventually, she conceded that she had lied. That was a terrible time in my life.
    After these 2 experiences, I developed a very negative attitude towards the gardai.
    However, recently, I have learned that they're not all bad.
    I have been in touch with gardai in the vulnerable persons unit in 2 counties as they investigate a historical sex abuse complaint I've made against my brother. These gardai have been absolutely brilliant. They are so well trained and skilled at their jobs, trained to be really sensitive but still so skilled at getting the information and memories out of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Mixed, almost like it’s a large non homogeneous organization made up of individuals. When I was younger it would’ve been overly negative, but now most are just straight forward formalities at checkpoints. Think I’ve had one bad experience and one where a Gard has gone above and beyond.

Similarly I deal with them on a daily basis professionally and it’s also mixed. If they are looking for information they are very polite and helpful and easy to contact. But if you reverse the role and suddenly they are on leave for days and nobody can contact them.

Some are also very quick to try and pull rank if they don’t get their own way, then get annoyed when it doesn’t work in that environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

I got stopped on Monday at 12.30pm in local village, 2 guards checking every vehicle both ways. My guard was non Irish, pleasant enough checked everything, tax etc, tyres, asked was I a fully licensed driver then breathalysed me, first time ever. Had to blow around 4 times as I hadn't a clue. Scared the crap out of me,i knew I was fine as I had nothing to drink the night before but it certainly made me think about driving the day after a few.

I've a good few friends who are guards and honestly I think it's a horrible job. One has been moved into city and its scary what's going on with some people, I don't know how she does it. Another 2 friends were involved in the case of a very violent double murder and suicide a couple of years ago. They said seeing that home and what they had to do, no counselling would ever help. We tend to forget all the suicide scenes they have to go to, car crashes etc. It really does affect them and it changes them. They have to try and hide their feelings while dealing with extremely traumatised families.

I know another guard and he is just an ignorant pig, on and off duty. So there's all kinds, as with everything..